5 Pages«<345
MP Waruguru vs Sunshine Hotel Kericho
#81 Posted : Wednesday, July 18, 2018 9:30:34 PM

Marriage is also a very private institution, or say, holy institution, truth and honesty is what keeps it, indeed our katiba recognizes a private agreement as constituting a marriage, and many have lived that way. This is what the hotel is trying to teach, and they have a duty to teach. NOTE, am a polygamous oriented individual.

Never ever marriage is a traditional rite in African culture & never private. Boss where do you live?

Its a covenant, we wrote the bible in my culture, in primitive snake worshipping in history groups it is a 'rite' where anybody can jump in.

A simple test will be for the hotel to produce their customer booking list over time & proof of to the hotel of their marital status. I wish the gal relaxed & pursued this professionally.
#82 Posted : Wednesday, July 18, 2018 9:41:10 PM

Njunge wrote:
[quote=murchr][quote=hardwood][quote=murchr][quote=hardwood][quote=murchr]

They are private owned enterprises licensed to offer services to members of the public. Only private members clubs have own membership rules and regulations and only allow paid up members. No law abiding paying customer should be chased away from a restaurant or hotel.

really? So your local restaurant allows you to carry your mothokoi and busaa to their premises?

So did mheshimiwa carry her own bed to the hotel? A restaurant is licensed and expected by law to sell food and drinks to members of the public. So they cant turn around and refuse to sell food to a reasonable member of the public. Also the customer is not expected to carry his own food to eat at the restaurant. Just like mheshimiwa isn't expected to carry her bed and food to sunshine hotel.
#83 Posted : Wednesday, July 18, 2018 9:46:07 PM

Njunge wrote:
[quote=murchr][quote=hardwood][quote=murchr][quote=hardwood][quote=murchr]

They are private owned enterprises licensed to offer services to members of the public. Only private members clubs have own membership rules and regulations and only allow paid up members. No law abiding paying customer should be chased away from a restaurant or hotel.

really? So your local restaurant allows you to carry your mothokoi and busaa to their premises?

So will we soon see wazuans being refused to board public service vehicles just because the matatus and taxis are privately owned and the makanga (management) has the right of admission?
#84 Posted : Wednesday, July 18, 2018 10:04:07 PM

We have forgotten how Ubako came "shivering" in front of the whole country, to explain that some yellow yellow calling herself "his wife" was not because he had sworn to a more beautiful and intelligent ka-blacky Lucy, msichana wa pastor in Church before Jah. Kama it is polygamy, every marriage certificate nowadays is printed so you can choose.
A New Kenya
#85 Posted : Wednesday, July 18, 2018 10:21:59 PM

Even if she went to court. Mgt reserves the right to admission. Too bad

So Martin luther King and other blacks should have kept quiet and moved on after being denied accommodation by white racist hotel owners because the management had a right of admission?

Do you let everybody in your house?

My house is a private property. The hotel on the other hand is a public facility whose proprietors sought a license from the authorities and were subsequently offered one to offer accommodation and food/drinks to members of the public for a fee. You cannot thus deny a member of the public who has paid and has behaved reasonably like any citizen as envisaged by the terms of the said licence given to operate the hotel.

Also no hotel is expected to discriminate any individual in terms of race, tribe, gender, marital status etc.

Hotels, restaurants and clubs are private enterprises and are well within their rights to formulate their regulations. It is argued by them that they are catering to a particular section or class of society and as such entry of someone not falling within that bracket may cause inconvenience or discomfort to the other guests.

The Members of the public must meet a certain criteria.

If you cannot afford a room your are "discriminated" according to your wallet. Likewise, you should follow the criteria used on coupling. They should show proof of marriage. Last Name kwa kitambulisho, ama certificate issued by govt

#86 Posted : Wednesday, July 18, 2018 10:55:31 PM

So Martin luther King and other blacks should have kept quiet and moved on after being denied accommodation by white racist hotel owners because the management had a right of admission?

My house is a private property. The hotel on the other hand is a public facility whose proprietors sought a license from the authorities and were subsequently offered one to offer accommodation and food/drinks to members of the public for a fee. You cannot thus deny a member of the public who has paid and has behaved reasonably like any citizen as envisaged by the terms of the said licence given to operate the hotel.

Also no hotel is expected to discriminate any individual in terms of race, tribe, gender, marital status etc.

Hotels, restaurants and clubs are private enterprises and are well within their rights to formulate their regulations. It is argued by them that they are catering to a particular section or class of society and as such entry of someone not falling within that bracket may cause inconvenience or discomfort to the other guests.

The Members of the public must meet a certain criteria.

If you cannot afford a room your are "discriminated" according to your wallet. Likewise, you should follow the criteria used on coupling. They should show proof of marriage. Last Name kwa kitambulisho, ama certificate issued by govt

Really? WAB hotel in Buru failed flat on this. Googlesmile
Pierce
#87 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2018 11:42:08 AM

People here are making Waruguru's marriage seem like it's very unusual.

Yet even Murang'a Rep Sabena Chege is in a polygamous relationship! Separate the person and how she looks like and your feelings against her from the issue.

The issue is why block a married couple from accessing their room? Why not block them at the point of booking?

The question on booking may end up being the weightiest determinant.

Ceteris paribus, the terms and conditions for admission are presumed to have been met as evidenced by the fact that the couple had already made and gotten a confirmed booking.
#88 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2018 12:09:34 PM

She is pretty anyway.

#89 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2018 1:44:22 PM

A hotel is a place to serve the public kaka... your house is not! When you start a business to serve the public you can run into very choppy waters if you decided not to serve other people based on a policy like that. People fail to understand that you can and should be able to separate a bad act from the person who it was subjected to. it's a problem with our schooling - we are never taught critical thinking. If a prostitute is beaten up - most of us will by default fall over and say... "she deserved it"... if the same action is taken on a nun - it becomes something else. Same crime... different responses - not by the law!
Anyway... naona watu wako na machungu sana... let the lady continue doing whatever she is doing watu wakasirike zaidi since they have been unable to separate the person from the act.
#90 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2018 4:13:53 PM

She should sue them to the last cent...

https://citizentv.co.ke/...f-kericho-hotel-207022/

Waruguru claimed the incident came only hours after they had booked a room at the hotel.

“This is my registration card which is clearly filled… it has Mzee’s name and has my name and I was given room 402,” said the legislator.

“After dinner, we came back to the hotel at around 9 – 10pm only to be rudely shown the door to be told we did not produce a marriage certificate.”

According to Waruguru, she had visited her in-laws in Kericho County together with her husband and had planned to spend the night in the county.

She further stated that the management refused to listen to her pleas despite interventions by area leaders.

“I have watched like 10 couples walk into this hotel and I didn’t see any one of them producing marriage certificates,” she added.
#91 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2018 4:52:41 PM

She should sue them to the last cent...

https://citizentv.co.ke/...f-kericho-hotel-207022/

Waruguru claimed the incident came only hours after they had booked a room at the hotel.

“This is my registration card which is clearly filled… it has Mzee’s name and has my name and I was given room 402,” said the legislator.

“After dinner, we came back to the hotel at around 9 – 10pm only to be rudely shown the door to be told we did not produce a marriage certificate.”

According to Waruguru, she had visited her in-laws in Kericho County together with her husband and had planned to spend the night in the county.

She further stated that the management refused to listen to her pleas despite interventions by area leaders.

“I have watched like 10 couples walk into this hotel and I didn’t see any one of them producing marriage certificates,” she added.

She's not about to sue anybody.