wazua Tue, Dec 3, 2024

5 Pages«<345
Cambridge Analytica- Changing face of politics?
#81 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2018 7:26:52 PM

So, did CA have an effect in the American elections?

It depends on who you ask and when you ask!
#82 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2018 9:09:17 AM

We are asking you Masukuma today on 22nd March 2018
#83 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2018 10:31:51 AM

Wakanyugi wrote:
So, are we saying UK wasted 500M since CA was useless/ineffective and local radio stations did more?

Perhaps they created the content for the stations?

I can answer this one.

No they did not.

The messages that vernacular radio carried in Mt Kenya were not crafted during the elections. They were restatements of themselves that had been trending since back in 2013/14.

For instance that 'Uthamaki' campaign that seems to have so scared NASA bloggers was actually first crafted against Kidero way back in 2014 when it was used to encourage strategic voter registration. The message was "we need to retake the Nairobi sit. You voters in Kiambu, Muranga, Nyeri have nothing to defend over there and you should register here to help bring back Uthamaki to the city."

We saw a similar strategy used for Nixon Korir in Langata, what is Uthamaki in Kale?.

I don't mind you guys giving credit to a mzungu if it makes you feel better. After all Baba seems to think all our problems can only be solved by white men, including holding credible elections.

But my fren, CA says they ran Uhuruto campaigns in 2013 and 2017. I think you're scared the white man was running Tyranny and you bought it hook, line and sinker. LOL

Scared?

You think Jubilees win somehow means less now that a Mzungu is claiming credit for it? Please. If it did why do you guys want a share of it?

The real disaster, as I see it is NASA's 2017 incompetence as compared to 2013 and the predictable disaster they have since become. It didn't need a Mzungu to beat Raila in 2017. His own flaws, dumb advisers, and Ruto's 'mzee wa kitendawil' rants were more than enough.

Many of us said NASA was on a loosing streak from the word go and RAO was the weakest link. But of course you let hope triumph over sense yet again. And now you want to use a Mzungu to make yourself feel better? Be my guest.

Relax, calm downnnnnnnnnnnnnn, take a breath, not everything is Jubilee/Nasa/your tribe/my tribe etc. That's just how the white man has brainwashed you....try to look beyond that...LOL
#84 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2018 12:36:06 PM

ah... I don't know! I think they may have had an effect... not a material effect lakini. Between the Russians, CA and organic content of fake news... who knows which gave the best results
#85 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2018 1:41:05 PM

ah... I don't know! I think they may have had an effect... not a material effect lakini. Between the Russians, CA and organic content of fake news... who knows which gave the best results

Maybe we are asking the wrong questions, because if we are asking whether CA had a decisive advantage over all the other techniques used, then we'd be racking our brains for nothing.

For one, if all techniques were for helping one candidate, then the candidate would choose their proportion and context of use.

The only time I suspect we can know the truth is if we knew for sure that a candidate was on the losing end, and he/she could win by getting a certain target block that were easy to sway for one reason or the other.

And that by the addition of CA tactics only, a portion of the target moved to the candidate.

It's obviously difficult for most of us to prove this to be the case for CA.

But, it is not improbable that such a case can happen in an election. And that CA can in fact help a candidate win an election - by strictly using targeted information on known profiles.

So a correct question is; Can CA profile tactics help a candidate win an election, other factors held constant?
#86 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2018 1:42:58 PM

Are there other issues raised by CA that we're not asking?

For example, what are the legal implications of their actions?

What are the political implications?
Wakanyugi
#87 Posted : Thursday, March 22, 2018 11:01:12 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
So, are we saying UK wasted 500M since CA was useless/ineffective and local radio stations did more?

Perhaps they created the content for the stations?

I can answer this one.

No they did not.

The messages that vernacular radio carried in Mt Kenya were not crafted during the elections. They were restatements of themselves that had been trending since back in 2013/14.

For instance that 'Uthamaki' campaign that seems to have so scared NASA bloggers was actually first crafted against Kidero way back in 2014 when it was used to encourage strategic voter registration. The message was "we need to retake the Nairobi sit. You voters in Kiambu, Muranga, Nyeri have nothing to defend over there and you should register here to help bring back Uthamaki to the city."

We saw a similar strategy used for Nixon Korir in Langata, what is Uthamaki in Kale?.

I don't mind you guys giving credit to a mzungu if it makes you feel better. After all Baba seems to think all our problems can only be solved by white men, including holding credible elections.

But my fren, CA says they ran Uhuruto campaigns in 2013 and 2017. I think you're scared the white man was running Tyranny and you bought it hook, line and sinker. LOL

Scared?

You think Jubilees win somehow means less now that a Mzungu is claiming credit for it? Please. If it did why do you guys want a share of it?

The real disaster, as I see it is NASA's 2017 incompetence as compared to 2013 and the predictable disaster they have since become. It didn't need a Mzungu to beat Raila in 2017. His own flaws, dumb advisers, and Ruto's 'mzee wa kitendawil' rants were more than enough.

Many of us said NASA was on a loosing streak from the word go and RAO was the weakest link. But of course you let hope triumph over sense yet again. And now you want to use a Mzungu to make yourself feel better? Be my guest.

Relax, calm downnnnnnnnnnnnnn, take a breath, not everything is Jubilee/Nasa/your tribe/my tribe etc. That's just how the white man has brainwashed you....try to look beyond that...LOL

Whatever boils your potato man!

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)