61 Pages«<34567>»
NASA moves to the Supreme Court
#81 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 3:39:57 PM

Ngalaka wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
Anyway this 2017 election presidential results has brought the best of some people here in Wazua. smile

indeed. and the petition has even brought more of that. some here are so much against the petition. like they wanted raila to call for mass action and for some people to be killed by the police as a result. ngalaka on the other hand has gone on as far as to suggest that stringent measures ought to be put in place to stop people from filing petitions. would have been funny if it wasn't so tragic and sad.

For starters, cool it man. Congrats are also in order, now that you have finally found your voice!

It is now mmmm.. fairly okay that Raila the main challenger to Uhuru in the election is the person going to court to challenge his victory.

The prudence of that decision - vis a vis the margin of votes that separates the two, the pronouncements of observers, local and international alike, the composition of IEBC, the events of the last one year in the run up to the elections including the pushing out Hassan and team, the managing of emotions of his followers etc – is a story for another time.

You know they say democracy is expensive, and in general I have no argument with that mantra, but there has got to be limits.

As it were, we might just be told by the enlightened one that it is time for Chebukati group to go and replace them with yet another lot. Remember as we speak today – for the month of August 2017 we are paying two sets of commissioners – Hassan group and Chebukati group, may be by November we will be paying a third group all to massage someone’s ego!
But you wont talk about that, or will you!

Back to going to supreme court. As a country and serious people, keen to manage our resources prudently and let our institutions run optimally, guarded against abuse and or frivolous interference in their calendar, there ought to be some valves, some sort of a sieve to ensure we are not co-opted into a jokers’ web.

Handling of Presidential election dispute at the Supreme Court should not be open to jokers. A requirement to deposit Ksh. 10m for instance would filter the jokers out, while on the other hand any presidential candidate with a good case and fair chance of winning the petition would not be impeded by that amount – I mean even his support base can raise that in one hour - Mpesa till No...

Someone like Okiya Omtata can pitch a tent at the high court and churn out litigation after litigation on whatever pleases his heart, but his ilk can not or should not be allowed to keep the nation on tenterhooks – merely, so that some busybody may have kicks.

Now show me how such guards imperil democracy while balancing it with not subjecting the country to absurdity and buffoonery

i get it. you don't want 'your victory' (Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ) tainted by legal challenge. please note that access to judicial remedy is one of the hallmarks of a democratic society. and our constitution is very clear on that. only those bent on mischief would want to limit citizen's access to judicial remedy. i would bet that okiya omtata has contributed more to our legal system and our society through his pitching of tents than you shall ever contribute in your life. a genuine way of genuinely dealing with frivolous cases is not to bar people from filing them but to hit them with costs (punitive even) once the courts decide that they are frivolous.
#82 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 3:45:44 PM

Ngalaka wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
Anyway this 2017 election presidential results has brought the best of some people here in Wazua. smile

indeed. and the petition has even brought more of that. some here are so much against the petition. like they wanted raila to call for mass action and for some people to be killed by the police as a result. ngalaka on the other hand has gone on as far as to suggest that stringent measures ought to be put in place to stop people from filing petitions. would have been funny if it wasn't so tragic and sad.

Oh by the way, isnt it tragic that you are insinuating that there can only be two options;-
Going to court or mass action(euphemism for Violence).
Wouldn't that mean Raila is not a democrat - otherwise what happened to the civility of good old concession.

Respect the voice of the people, concede and allow your supporters to heal.

Be truthful and honest!

mass action is a constitution right available to all citizens. unfortunately as any reasonable kenyan knows it mostly results into violence and death - more so immediately after elections.
whereas nasa has every right to chose whether to call for mass action or go to the supreme court following the 2017 elections , in my opinion the former is dangerous and reckless and the latter is very much welcome - even if only to create jurisprudence on presidential election disputes. the 2013 decision was nothing to write home about.
safariant
#83 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 3:49:54 PM

If baba wins the case is he going to resign as Sonko is now Nrb governor
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#84 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 3:59:33 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Ngalaka wrote:
mkenyan wrote:

Oh by the way, isnt it tragic that you are insinuating that there can only be two options;-
Wouldn't that mean Raila is not a democrat - otherwise what happened to the civility of good old concession.

Be truthful and honest!

mass action is a constitution right available to all citizens. unfortunately as any reasonable kenyan knows it mostly results into violence and death - more so immediately after elections.
whereas nasa has every right to chose whether to call for mass action or go to the supreme court following the 2017 elections , in my opinion the former is dangerous and reckless and the latter is very much welcome - even if only to create jurisprudence on presidential election disputes. the 2013 decision was nothing to write home about.

Show us where in the constitution that mass action is stated
Wakanyugi
#85 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 4:13:42 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Ngalaka wrote:
mkenyan wrote:

Be truthful and honest!

Public protest is protected as a right, whether you call it mass action, demonstration, Kamukuji or whatever. What is not protected is behavior that denies other people the right to enjoy their own rights.

One day Kenyans will learn to protest without harming others or themselves. Hopefully, with the coming end of the combative grievance politics that RAO espouses, this day may come in our life times.

Otherwise look for all future governments to continue investing in riot control assets as a given
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#86 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 4:42:39 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
Ngalaka wrote:
mkenyan wrote:

Be truthful and honest!

Public protest is protected as a right, whether you call it mass action, demonstration, Kamukuji or whatever. What is not protected is behavior that denies other people the right to enjoy their own rights.

One day Kenyans will learn to protest without harming others or themselves. Hopefully, with the coming end of the combative grievance politics that RAO espouses, this day may come in our life times.

Otherwise look for all future governments to continue investing in riot control assets as a given

Mass action = destruction of private property per the interpretation of the common man.

Peaceful demonstrations are protected by law
#87 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 4:48:31 PM

Has the petition been filed?

Relax, they (wed'oh! )have until Saturday to do so smile

But from yesterdays presser* (new word being peddled around on twirra) you guys had water tight evidence.
#88 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 4:49:12 PM

[quote=hardwood]Kenya may have had its fairest election yet. So says the respected Washington Post newspaper. And it tells baba to stop his nonsense.

https://www.washingtonpo...;utm_term=.40878deda442[/quote]

As a Trump supporter, I'm shocked you're referring to WP as a respected newspaper yet we all know its fake news
#89 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 4:55:34 PM

safariant wrote:

@safariant, You cannot use Baba and Win in the same sentence.
vky
#90 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 4:56:25 PM

Official truth galore in here.. Lemmings!
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
#91 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 5:01:19 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Given Baba's past performance, his attention to details etc, he will lose.

Also the 2013 Presidential petition created a precedence that will be quoted in this one. Which essentially raised the bar on the complainant so high that it is unlikely to be met.

Essentially to get the court to overturn the election, NASA not only have to prove that the process was flawed, but that such flaws could have affected the final result of the ENTIRE six elections, not just Presidential.

It will be easier to get 100 of their MP's to resign that to meet such a high threshold of proof, IMHO.

Applause Good observation
#92 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 5:14:28 PM

We await the circa 900 pages of evidence to be presented
#93 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 6:02:22 PM

Shak wrote:

more like 846... coz 56 pages of Logs are already out!
popat
#94 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 6:20:36 PM

Gathige wrote:
safariant wrote:

@safariant, You cannot use Baba and Win in the same sentence.

Hii script ya BABU ya Canaan iko on point.Ati after the book of Joshua is the book of Judges.
#95 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 7:34:01 PM

Shak wrote:

Kwani hata wewe unatumia Algorithm to calculate.

900 - 56 is 844.
#96 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 7:46:18 PM

Shak wrote:

900 - 56 is 844.

Last time we presented two volumes and the court only accepted vol l and rejected vol ll. This time round tuko gangari .... Expect a 2k page dossier with photos etc
#97 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 7:50:30 PM

Shak wrote:

900 - 56 is 844.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly natumia Logarithm!!
#98 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 8:14:19 PM

Shak wrote:

900 - 56 is 844.

Last time we presented two volumes and the court only accepted vol l and rejected vol ll. This time round tuko gangari .... Expect a 2k page dossier with photos etc

photos of hackers or newspaper cuttings? Laughing out loudly
#99 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 8:14:40 PM

When is the deadline to file? Kesho?
#100 Posted : Thursday, August 17, 2017 8:29:31 PM

When is the deadline to file? Kesho?