wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

10 Pages«<34567>»
2015 world athletics championships Beijing
#81 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 9:43:04 AM

must say.... it feels nice to be Kenyan this year! by the way.... Eunice Sum and Co. wanakimbia lini?

Sum will be on the semi final today, Asbel Kiprop and co will do their 1500M SF tomorrow. I still expect a minimum of two Gold medals. Kenya will be the world champions. The maximum Gold's Jamaica may get in my opinion is 6, we are already their and are superior in the other medals count.
#82 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 9:53:03 AM

must say.... it feels nice to be Kenyan this year! by the way.... Eunice Sum and Co. wanakimbia lini?

Sum will be on the semi final today, Asbel Kiprop and co will do their 1500M SF tomorrow. I still expect a minimum of two Gold medals. Kenya will be the world champions. The maximum Gold's Jamaica may get in my opinion is 6, we are already their and are superior in the other medals count.

where is Australia , russian and china? kumbe swiming and gymnastics huwa zinasaidia watu hivyo?
#83 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 9:55:44 AM

Alba wrote:
keraka wrote:
Shak wrote:
Two of our athletes caught doping. Hope all the winners are clean
All the winners are clean.Its sweet victory n corporate sponsorships should be directed at this and Malkia strikers and stop wasting funds in football as in comparative advantage talk.

But Malkia strikers have lost all their matches at the ongoing world cup.

Anyway if you want succesful sports teams, then throw money at grassroots and youth levels. Don't concentrate all the money at the top.

call me when football gets to that level hata kama ni kucharazwa zote! hata round 2 qualifications tumewahi fika of late? I remember siku za fabish tulifika once...
#84 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 10:00:21 AM

where is Australia , russian and china? kumbe swiming and gymnastics huwa zinasaidia watu hivyo?

Yeah, they thrive in those funny field events!!!!
#85 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 2:05:23 PM

Alba wrote:

at least they qualified for the world cup, corporate sponsorship is not involved at the grassroots - that's the work of the federations, the companies come in when the teams are well exposed to reap max benefits and at the same time benefiting the team especially financially.

I believe you are mistaken on this. Do you remember Copa Coca Cola and Safaricom sakata ball?

These were tournaments that involved youth at the grassroots and unearthed a lot of talent. The likes of Johana Omollo who is now based in Belgium was unearthed in sakata ball.

Its a model that could have also been adopted to other sports like basketball and volleyball.

But Nyamweya ruined it by demanding kitu kidogo from Safaricom

Those had escaped me, lakini they are not sustainable because they are mostly csr (woishee) projects. smile

Volleyball seems to be doing ok without those events, we can't even qualify for afcon despite all the cash dumped into football.

Lakini let me not veer away from the current topic, our athletes are doing great job.
#86 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 2:07:35 PM

Alba wrote:
keraka wrote:
Shak wrote:
All the winners are clean.Its sweet victory n corporate sponsorships should be directed at this and Malkia strikers and stop wasting funds in football as in comparative advantage talk.

Anyway if you want succesful sports teams, then throw money at grassroots and youth levels. Don't concentrate all the money at the top.

call me when football gets to that level hata kama ni kucharazwa zote! hata round 2 qualifications tumewahi fika of late? I remember siku za fabish tulifika once...

wacha world cup, we are unable to compete hata in the region.
Alba
#87 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 3:26:41 PM

Alba wrote:
keraka wrote:
Shak wrote:

OK I will give you a call.

Anyway I think you missed the point. For Kenya football to excel, we need to focus on grassroots and youth development.

Kenya is one of the last vestiges where youth development is completely non-existent in virtually all team sports.

Note: Kenya thrives in volleyball not because Kenya players are better or because we have good organization. Kenya volleyball thrives precisely because it is taken more seriously at grassroots level than in most African countries.

The culture of school volleyball is taken very seriously especially at schools in western province. Thats why I am saying we must build from grassroots and youth, instead of pouring money at the top
Alba
#88 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 3:34:43 PM

Those had escaped me, lakini they are not sustainable because they are mostly csr (woishee) projects. smile

Volleyball seems to be doing ok without those events, we can't even qualify for afcon despite all the cash dumped into football.

Lakini let me not veer away from the current topic, our athletes are doing great job.

Again you & Masukuma seem not to be aware of why Kenya dominates African volleyball.

Volleyball does well because at school level, volleyball is taken more seriously in Kenya than it is in most African countries. Schools like Mukumu, Malava, Lugulu etc have for the last 40 years had very serious volleyball programs where talented players are recruited specifically to play volleyball. Also it just so happens that these schools have decent coaches who can mould young players.

Grassroots tournaments are sustainable if well organized. In fact grassroots teams like Kariobangi Sharks and Jericho All stars are bigger crowd pullers than KPL teams like Sofapaka and Tusker and KCB.

If you have ever been to any of these grassroots tournaments you will be amazed at the passion that fans have for their neighbourhood teams.

If well organized, such tournaments can even get television contracts. There is a ready built in fan base unlike KPL which is full of teams like Stima and posta that have no fan base.

Thats why Safaricom poured so much money into sakata ball. It gave them very good publicty. Crowds were large and public interest was very high.

There is another grassroots tournament called extreme super 8 sponsored by businessman Hussein Mohamed. The total prize money is ksh 1.4 million.

With regard to money being dumped on football, it is being dumped in the wrong place. Money should be pumped into youth development and grassroots not to FKF where Nyamweya can siphon it into his bank account.
#89 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 4:05:48 PM

#90 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 5:18:27 PM

Those who insisted Gatlin aka Dopelin will upstage Bolt owes me an apology
#91 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 7:28:36 PM

Alba wrote:

Again you & Masukuma seem not to be aware of why Kenya dominates African volleyball.

Volleyball does well because at school level, volleyball is taken more seriously in Kenya than it is in most African countries. Schools like Mukumu, Malava, Lugulu etc have for the last 40 years had very serious volleyball programs where talented players are recruited specifically to play volleyball. Also it just so happens that these schools have decent coaches who can mould young players.

Grassroots tournaments are sustainable if well organized. In fact grassroots teams like Kariobangi Sharks and Jericho All stars are bigger crowd pullers than KPL teams like Sofapaka and Tusker and KCB.

If you have ever been to any of these grassroots tournaments you will be amazed at the passion that fans have for their neighbourhood teams.

If well organized, such tournaments can even get television contracts. There is a ready built in fan base unlike KPL which is full of teams like Stima and posta that have no fan base.

Thats why Safaricom poured so much money into sakata ball. It gave them very good publicty. Crowds were large and public interest was very high.

There is another grassroots tournament called extreme super 8 sponsored by businessman Hussein Mohamed. The total prize money is ksh 1.4 million.

With regard to money being dumped on football, it is being dumped in the wrong place. Money should be pumped into youth development and grassroots not to FKF where Nyamweya can siphon it into his bank account.

Kenyans are good at athletics, women volleyball and rugby 7's when they feel like it, that's where greater focus and effort for investment and improvement should be.

Football hata tupatie dream team ya akina mj, bob, julie, mwagi, waiguru, keitanny, add to that @McReggae na hata tuongeze @masukuma hapo nothing much will change, we do not have much talent hapo, ama maybe haijatafutwa vizuri.

Never understood why we encourage five foot four tall young men to even play football, and our best goal-keepers would look like dwarfs if placed next to akina buffon.
#92 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 7:30:12 PM

freiks wrote:

taja majina, ama its just one of those feel good statements smile
Alba
#93 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 7:49:15 PM

Kenyans are good at athletics, women volleyball and rugby 7's when they feel like it, that's where greater focus and effort for investment and improvement should be.

Football hata tupatie dream team ya akina mj, bob, julie, mwagi, waiguru, keitanny, add to that @McReggae na hata tuongeze @masukuma hapo nothing much will change, we do not have much talent hapo, ama maybe haijatafutwa vizuri.

Never understood why we encourage five foot four tall young men to even play football, and our best goal-keepers would look like dwarfs if placed next to akina buffon.

This is just dead wrong. The only sport that Kenyans are naturally good at is long distance running.

Whether a country does well in a team sport depends on how seriously it is taken and how well it is organized and whether the culture of that sport exists.

You really think Kenyans are naturally better volleyballers or rugby players than Uganda and Tanzania? The answer is no. The culture of Rugby is barely existent in Tanzania and rugby is not well organized in Uganda as it is in Kenya.

Kenya was not always good at rugby sevens either. Back in the 1990s they used to get clobbered by teams like Tunisia. But they got better organized and corporate sponsorship came in and made a difference.

None of this happens by accident.

If Kenya got its act together in football, they can go to the world cup. Some countries like Japan used to be useless at football as recently as the 1990s. They got organized and became a world power. Now they are a power in women's football too.

Most importantly: There is no country that dominates a team sport because of talent alone. It is culture and organization that determine how well a country does.

Alba
#94 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 7:51:45 PM

Using basketball as an example, Nakujua would say Kenya has no basketball talent which is why we do poorly.

However if you look at the Kenyans doing well in basketball overseas, you quickly realize that Kenya has a lot of basketball talent, enough to challenge Africa's best.

This is what the Kenya basketball team would look like if they incorporated diaspora based talent
#95 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 8:55:57 PM

Alba wrote:
Using basketball as an example, Nakujua would say Kenya has no basketball talent which is why we do poorly.

However if you look at the Kenyans doing well in basketball overseas, you quickly realize that Kenya has a lot of basketball talent, enough to challenge Africa's best.

This is what the Kenya basketball team would look like if they incorporated diaspora based talent

All those have to catch this home grown boy just from high school here in kenya

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02cvjYPwjTk
D32
#96 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 11:52:16 PM

They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
Alba
#97 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 12:42:21 AM

They should have administered alcoblow to that mlevi segway driver.
#98 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 9:56:15 AM

freiks wrote:

I am one of them, I have to admit that people like Bolt and Kemboi are not just good but are big stage performers!!!!
#99 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 11:22:01 AM

Alba wrote:

sasa you are going overboard.smile ati basketball talent in Kenya - I might be wrong lakini those you claim to be doing well are just Americans with kenyan passports.

Its like saying usa has talent in 5000 and 1500 meters just because Bernard Lagat is American smile
#100 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 11:25:38 AM

freiks wrote:

I am one of them, I have to admit that people like Bolt and Kemboi are not just good but are big stage performers!!!!

Kemboi ni baba yao smile -