Shocking police story
tycho wrote:Swenani wrote:tycho wrote:Swenani wrote:tycho wrote:That we expect a government plane to be always available for an emergency may not be reasonable, especially when the probability of such an event is low.
Again, what's the intention behind our 'investigation' and 'criticism'? To expose incompotence in high office? Then what? Sack and replace? You know we also have a responsibility to those we throw to the bin.
There's a risk of this critical frenzy being worse than corruption; or a more sinister form of corruption. What is your expectation of the government(police) plane and why should they have a plane in the first place? Why a plane? For fast and convenient transportation in regular events at a sustainable cost. Is the use of a vehicle not fast, convenient mode of transportation at a sustainable cost? A plane is not convenient and sustainable considering the number of airports in Kenya and the cost of maintaining and flying a plane.Thus is kenya police own a plane, I believe it should be there on standby mode for emergenciesI'd expect the plane to have students for example, following a program, and who pay to offset costs and maintain the plane. I'd even expect it to be used by other government departments and officials. Government is not in the business of making money or trying to offset expenses with revenues,It's the other way round It is in the business of spending money and looking for ways to offset revenue with expenses.In economics,the government shouldn't involve in activities which can be provided by the private sector, they should provide a conducive environment for the private sector to operate @Swenani, I agree that the plane should be used for an emergency and should be on standby. But what does being on standby entail? Not flying at all unless there's an emergency? That's wasting a resource. I doubt if it's possible for this to happen, even if you were in charge. I'm not saying the plane shouldn't be flying;To me standby means that when you have a national emergency,you do not fly a plane for un-official/private/low priority errands knowing very well that most of the other planes/helicopters have been grounded.In such a case, the plane should be ready to be deployed to the area of emergency even if a request has not been made. If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Swenani wrote:tycho wrote:Swenani wrote:tycho wrote:Swenani wrote:tycho wrote:That we expect a government plane to be always available for an emergency may not be reasonable, especially when the probability of such an event is low.
Again, what's the intention behind our 'investigation' and 'criticism'? To expose incompotence in high office? Then what? Sack and replace? You know we also have a responsibility to those we throw to the bin.
There's a risk of this critical frenzy being worse than corruption; or a more sinister form of corruption. What is your expectation of the government(police) plane and why should they have a plane in the first place? Why a plane? For fast and convenient transportation in regular events at a sustainable cost. Is the use of a vehicle not fast, convenient mode of transportation at a sustainable cost? A plane is not convenient and sustainable considering the number of airports in Kenya and the cost of maintaining and flying a plane.Thus is kenya police own a plane, I believe it should be there on standby mode for emergenciesI'd expect the plane to have students for example, following a program, and who pay to offset costs and maintain the plane. I'd even expect it to be used by other government departments and officials. Government is not in the business of making money or trying to offset expenses with revenues,It's the other way round It is in the business of spending money and looking for ways to offset revenue with expenses.In economics,the government shouldn't involve in activities which can be provided by the private sector, they should provide a conducive environment for the private sector to operate @Swenani, I agree that the plane should be used for an emergency and should be on standby. But what does being on standby entail? Not flying at all unless there's an emergency? That's wasting a resource. I doubt if it's possible for this to happen, even if you were in charge. I'm not saying the plane shouldn't be flying;To me standby means that when you have a national emergency,you do not fly a plane for un-official/private/low priority errands knowing very well that most of the other planes/helicopters have been grounded.In such a case, the plane should be ready to be deployed to the area of emergency even if a request has not been made. Fair enough. Only, we don't have a clue as to when and where the emergency will arise, and whether the plane will be needed. Odds are high that moments of inefficiency will arise. And there'll be no plane for an emergency.
Interesting how the blame has now shifted to the police airwing guy and his daughters. Everyone seems to have forgotten that:
1. when the fleeing students arrived at the KDF barracks (next to the campus) at 6am and reported that they had been attacked, they were made to KNEEL for 1hr as the soldiers confirmed that the university had really been attacked.
2. Nkaiserry and IG of police flew to garissa in a police helicopter. What was difficult in them (immediately after arrival) sending the chopper to ruiru to pick recce? That helicopter was packed there at garissa the whole day.
3. The kdf soldiers were surrounding the campus for a whole 10hrs. Surely they should have stormed the place immediately after the attack occurred at 5.30am. The whole country shouldn't be waiting for recce to be ferried from ruiru whenever there is an attack.
4. The decision to send recce was made at 1pm. They were to use the cessna which was already parked at wilson airport. They were stuck in nbi traffic for 1hr, took another 1hr to get to garissa and another 1hr to be briefed, before storming the campus. Some recce officers went by road and actually arrived before the ones who flew to garissa.
jaggernaut wrote:Interesting how the blame has now shifted to the police airwing guy and his daughters. Everyone seems to have forgotten that:
1. when the fleeing students arrived at the KDF barracks (next to the campus) at 6am and reported that they had been attacked, they were made to KNEEL for 1hr as the soldiers confirmed that the university had really been attacked.
2. Nkaiserry and IG of police flew to garissa in a police helicopter. What was difficult in them (immediately after arrival) sending the chopper to ruiru to pick recce? That helicopter was packed there at garissa the whole day.
3. The kdf soldiers were surrounding the campus for a whole 10hrs. Surely they should have stormed the place immediately after the attack occurred at 5.30am. The whole country shouldn't be waiting for recce to be ferried from ruiru whenever there is an attack.
4. The decision to send recce was made at 1pm. They were to use the cessna which was already parked at wilson airport. They were stuck in nbi traffic for 1hr, took another 1hr to get to garissa and another 1hr to be briefed, before storming the campus. We have so many problems...woiii possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
This is bad. Is he entitled to such benefits for his job? If not,let him be surcharged for the airfare and also face any other consequence that goes with that act. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,335 Location: Masada
Bigchick wrote:This is bad.
Is he entitled to such benefits for his job?
If not,let him be surcharged for the airfare and also face any other consequence that goes with that act. Your Jubilee gaaament which you overwhelmly voted for blindly and tribally will transfer him to Mandera. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Bigchick wrote:This is bad.
Is he entitled to such benefits for his job?
If not,let him be surcharged for the airfare and also face any other consequence that goes with that act. Does the company surcharge you when you drop your daughter at school (in company car) on your way to work in the morning? Are "those benefits" on your employment contract?
tycho wrote:Swenani wrote:murchr wrote:Lolest! wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Wainadi wrote:tycho wrote:Being 'whining machines' is seriously boring. I know it makes one feel 'intelligent' and 'responsible' but it's such a tragic lie!
Pooh! What if the whiners find fulfillment in whining? Imagine he was a woman and your wife. You'd be kwisha kabisa. Now you know why men spend the whole night kwa bar...going home at 4am. It is to escape the whining. I thought this was from somebody like @murchr, but @tycho? Low blow!!@tycho, @jagger Wewe @Lolest what do you mean? Explain in details with illustrations  Okay for me, while I knew that I was responding to @alma, my attack was to us in general. That's why I used 'whine' on another thread. All the same any offence to any person is unjustifiable, especially if I take an air of deluded superiority. Am sorry. Please say it properly. "I am sorry." Or "I'm sorry." What is "Am sorry"?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Muriel wrote:tycho wrote:Swenani wrote:murchr wrote:Lolest! wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Wainadi wrote:tycho wrote:Being 'whining machines' is seriously boring. I know it makes one feel 'intelligent' and 'responsible' but it's such a tragic lie!
Pooh! What if the whiners find fulfillment in whining? Imagine he was a woman and your wife. You'd be kwisha kabisa. Now you know why men spend the whole night kwa bar...going home at 4am. It is to escape the whining. I thought this was from somebody like @murchr, but @tycho? Low blow!!@tycho, @jagger Wewe @Lolest what do you mean? Explain in details with illustrations  Okay for me, while I knew that I was responding to @alma, my attack was to us in general. That's why I used 'whine' on another thread. All the same any offence to any person is unjustifiable, especially if I take an air of deluded superiority. Am sorry. Please say it properly. "I am sorry." Or "I'm sorry." What is "Am sorry"? Now whine about grammar.
Nothing in our incompetent security forces will shock me. ION, I hear Karangi will retire and be appointed the national security advisor or head of homeland security or whatever cosmetic 'reforms' they are considering. Has this guy not done enough damage to the credibility of our security operations? Just asking Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Shocking police story