6 Pages«<3456>
July deadline for ban on cash for bus fare
#81 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 1:46:43 PM

wazuaguest wrote:
By the way, were the Matatu owners part of the deal when these new rules were drafted?

yes they were part of the deal.Their reasoning is that they will stop losing money to conductors, mungiki, police...etc

So who is complaining?

Common man smile Just like he's complaining now that he cant travel by bus at night

And that makes you happy?
#82 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 2:21:13 PM

wazuaguest wrote:
By the way, were the Matatu owners part of the deal when these new rules were drafted?

yes they were part of the deal.Their reasoning is that they will stop losing money to conductors, mungiki, police...etc

So who is complaining?

Common man smile Just like he's complaining now that he cant travel by bus at night

If its the business owners supporting it, us the pedestrians will have no option but to comply. Somehow, the business owner has a choice to chose how you pay him/her. If they insist that you have to pay in a certain way, then it will happen.

What they can do is come up with creative ways to increase how people can pay them.
#83 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 2:25:21 PM

A laughable proposal at best, will not work and people will just ignore. Remember the street lights with camerasaround Nairobi. Has anyone seen any working? its now 30 days since their launch date.

This is all about someone getting a contract to supply useless gadgets and businessmen and wananchi being forced to part with their hard earned money to enrich one politically correct individual.

The test on whether its good would be to allow it to run concurrently with cash payment and in the classic capitalist way, the better option wins.

#84 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 2:31:05 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
A laughable proposal at best, will not work and people will just ignore. Remember the street lights with camerasaround Nairobi. Has anyone seen any working? its now 30 days since their launch date.

This is all about someone getting a contract to supply useless gadgets and businessmen and wananchi being forced to part with their hard earned money to enrich one politically correct individual.

The test on whether its good would be to allow it to run concurrently with cash payment and in the classic capitalist way, the better option wins.

#85 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 3:16:38 PM

wazuaguest wrote:

So who is complaining?

If its the business owners supporting it, us the pedestrians will have no option but to comply. Somehow, the business owner has a choice to chose how you pay him/her. If they insist that you have to pay in a certain way, then it will happen.

What they can do is come up with creative ways to increase how people can pay them.

I dont see how this will stop theft, especially for short haul routes unless all matatus carry nyaparas to count the passengers boarding and alighting. If I board at Uthiru and alight at Westlands and the conductor says 'wee lete mbao tumalizane' and I comply, how will the owner be wiser?
Ole Lenku
#86 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 3:22:21 PM

quicksand wrote:
wazuaguest wrote:

So who is complaining?

I dont see how this will stop theft, especially for short haul routes unless all matatus carry nyaparas to count the passengers boarding and alighting. If I board at Uthiru and alight at Westlands and the conductor says 'wee lete mbao tumalizane' and I comply, how will the owner be wiser?

My expectation is that someone will come up with a law compelling all matatu owners to install cctv cameras. The purpose of the cameras will be to ensure no cash transactions take place. Only matatus that comply will be allowed to operate. All people opposing the law will be told to shut up and stop being analogue.
#87 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 3:23:18 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Applause
#88 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 3:30:17 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:
quicksand wrote:
wazuaguest wrote:

So who is complaining?

My expectation is that someone will come up with a law compelling all matatu owners to install cctv cameras. The purpose of the cameras will be to ensure no cash transactions take place. Only matatus that comply will be allowed to operate. All people opposing the law will be told to shut up and stop being analogue.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Like seriously???
iller
#89 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 3:53:04 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

cashless transactions to pay fare is not a bad idea but making it mandatory is. deadline ni yao, it wont work
#90 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 3:56:48 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:
quicksand wrote:
wazuaguest wrote:

So who is complaining?

In Kenya, which one. This is taking ndigital too far .... wait and see; tuone.
#91 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 4:06:43 PM

wazuaguest wrote:

So who is complaining?

And that makes you happy?

What is funny is that you wakili thinks the common man has his place very funny
#92 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 4:08:52 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:
quicksand wrote:
wazuaguest wrote:

So who is complaining?

I can see it happening too, not because its practical or right, but because there is a windfall to be made here. Corrupt, connected individuals will jostle and position themselves as the 'licensed suppliers' of this equipment, push for it to be compulsory and mint billions. And the political establishment knowing it needs full war chests for the next elections, will allow it to happen.
#93 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 6:35:22 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

This for me is the evidence that its a stupid and ludicrous idea. Mcreggae and masukuma are in agreement regarding a jubilee govt policy. luckily for Kenya, this info will most likely get to bwana itumbi, and assuming ha has a real job, it will get to UMK.
#94 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 6:43:15 PM

Its not a proposal
#95 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 6:51:26 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

This for me is the evidence that its a stupid and ludicrous idea. Mcreggae and masukuma are in agreement regarding a jubilee govt policy. luckily for Kenya, this info will most likely get to bwana itumbi, and assuming ha has a real job, it will get to UMK.

the problem with UMK is that he has never taken a ma3 in his life! a guy panda's a ma3 in Uthiru and alights at Kinoo or hapo mbele - ako na time gani ya kulipa na M-PESA? watu wanaota mchana! afadhali bebapay and having kiosks for bebapay all over issuing free cards e.t.c. but even that will take a while before catching on, hii ingine ni dreams machana!
#96 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 7:05:49 PM

I guess we can dedicate this thread as an IQ test of sorts come April 2014 when i am sure this thing will be in high gear, leave alone July deadline. Incentives! I remember back in 2003 thereabout EABL made me a full, employed working adult carry bottle tops in my pocket for weeks on end. Equity are just taking advantage of the gap, i am sure all banks are free to.

Please watch Mr. Mwangi's new year message, 0.40 hope it sinks in your head
A New Kenya
#97 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 7:32:36 PM

since we now know that itumbi resides here and his minions can call others lower IQ's coz they aren't digital, let me throw a spanner in the works

What will happen when someone stands in a crowd and says that this idea is only to make the Kikuyus at equete rich?

I don't see why I should be forced by the gov't to use equete anything or safaricom anything. I want to use gov't issued tender to pay my bills.
#98 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 7:34:52 PM

since we now know that itumbi resides here and his minions can call others lower IQ's coz they aren't digital, let me throw a spanner in the works

What will happen when someone stands in a crowd and says that this idea is only to make the Kikuyus at equete rich?

I don't see why I should be forced by the gov't to use equete anything or safaricom anything. I want to use gov't issued tender to pay my bills.

EXACTLY!!
#99 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 8:14:59 PM

EXACTLY!!

I wonder why all the bile, yet if you dont want to pay fare the way the owners and govt wants you can just ride your bike/walk or drive yourself to wherever. Its that simple
#100 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 8:22:33 PM

EXACTLY!!

I wonder why all the bile, yet if you dont want to pay fare the way the owners and govt wants you can just ride your bike/walk or drive yourself to wherever. Its that simple

As usual murchr you are always wrong.

If the owners want me to pay using beba pay, that's ok. It's their mbus. I will choose not to enter their mbus and use another non-digital analogue one.

But for the gov't to make it a law, hell no! That is making me a slave to equete shareholders and safariconmen

If you can't see the problem here, then you are Mr. Goggles Original on wazua.

The gov't has no business telling me how to pay my bills.

If they feel that paying cash is such a bother, then they should resign now and let us elect Equity or Safaricom to run the legal tender in this country.

Even the worst economist in the world can tell you that the moment the gov't says that its currency is useless and please use USD dollars to pay your bills, its the beginning of the end.

The worst thing is that the gov't is saying that the kenya shilling is worse than mpesa and google wallet. Why not just tell us to pay using bangra pesa?

Only in Kenya.