Westgate aftermath – What to do
Gathige wrote:Mukiri wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:Urgently close down ALL the refugee camps in northern Kenya. Let UNHCRassist them from within their own country. Those camps have been fertile recruitment grounds.
Lean really hard on those easich fellows to reveal the bad apples in their midst. Close down their businesses if we must if that's what it'll take to get the info.
Stop dilly-dallying and shuffling around officers who don't perform, simply sack them. I know a fellow, quite senior in the provincial admin. Every single station he head served in, he had had to be transferred due to his connivance in allowing illegal immigrants from Somalia, his most recent posting having been garish. Why we keep transferring such an officer around beats me. Simply sack the damn fool and take him to court to answer for his misdeeds.
Endeleza mjadala... I'm of the opinion that refugees are much as victims as we are. They who would much rather flee than bandwagon with terrorists. Take for instance PEV, or the Ugandan Kony. Kenyans, victims, chose to flee. Picture yourself fleeing, then having your host(in your suggestion) sending you back to die? Let's resort to decisions free from emotions. Decisions that we can live with in years to come. @Mukiri, Yes that is the point. Refugees are normally ordinary citizens running from a calamity and looking for a temporal haven. It would be inhuman to lock your door to someone being pursued by terror at your door. Imagine people from Syria being denied entry by Turkey when Assad was busy gassing them!  The thought is appalling! I'm sure the good doctor has understood.
marko wrote:Honestly, I have been a very angry man over the past 3 days. Very angry. Knowing what I know now about the events leading to Sato makes me very angry. This is not the forum for this but if any body needs reform..nay..overhaul..nay...a whole new organisation is the POLICE FORCE..from the top to the bottom. If anybody needs anything, it is you my brother. You need to calm down before you give yourself a hernia; a win for the terrorists and a strain to our medical resources that would be better used elsewhere.
My solutions:
- Close down Dadaab. You cannot create a country within a country. More than 650,000 refugees? And they are giving birth everyday? - Sack people. What do you do to employees who do not work to your satisfaction? Sack them! It's the only way to show that you mean business. Some people in the NSIS, the bribe-taking police and the immigration department are letting us down big time. How can you catch a terrorist and then they disappear under your custody? Sack people! How do immigration officials allow someone who we deported and hired a plane to take them to their nation back into the country? How did we end up spending 200 Million of Kenyan taxpayers money on some lazy Jamaican lazy ass who was allowed into the country by the bribe-taking immigration officials? Sack people!
Again, people should be made to do their jobs. So Kimaiyo boys could not do their work and KDF had to be called into action? The work of the police is not to fire teargas canisters at crowds and solicit for bribes. but then we can understand them. They are trained and prepared to handle such cases. In short, then cannot do the job which they're hired to do. How bad and ineffective can the police get? Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
murchr wrote:I think its time we stopped pointing fingers at others. Trouble lies within our selves, we never report anything, not even anonymously how many times have you walked out of something fishy that you have seen? How many times have you bribed that immigration official to get a passport or even the police? We have to instill a culture within ourselves of being a brothers keeper..these ammunition passed thru someone, someone rented/sold out their car to some people he had doubts about. And the big one MONEY LAUNDERING I saw a post somewhere online yesterday but nimeitafuta siioni. What the poster was basically saying was that in his neighborhood was a young man he'd known since his childhood days. At some point after high school, the young man had disappeared from the scene for around 4-5yrs and when he reappeared, he seemed to have acquired unexplainable riches, was driving around in expensive cars, bought himself a fleet of matatus and hang out with some questionable characters. At some point, the young man and the poster had gotten into an altercation and he reported to the kenya police station but no action was taken. If anything, the young man now began giving him death threats and fearing for his life, he reported the same to the local A.P station (at the D.O's office) since he figured the A.Ps were supposedly not as corrupt as the K.P. And then the shock hit him. The officer to whom he was making the report promptly whipped out his phone and called the young 'mysterious' man 'live-live, informing him of the report against him. Shortly afterwards, the young guy and his minions check in and guess who's right on time to receive them? The A.P. commander. While our poster is wondering what's up, the young dude hako hapo nje wanasalimiana na commander zile za niaje? umenitupa sana mtu nguyas... Shortly, the cops asked the young man to write a statement on the basis of which our poster was accused and locked up for 2 days, all for being daring enough to raise his suspicions. Put yourself into this poster's shoes and tell me, would you ever bother to report anything to them again? Would you even dare trust a cop, knwing full well at the end of the day, they'll rat you out to the bad guys? Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Rankaz13 wrote:murchr wrote:I think its time we stopped pointing fingers at others. Trouble lies within our selves, we never report anything, not even anonymously how many times have you walked out of something fishy that you have seen? How many times have you bribed that immigration official to get a passport or even the police? We have to instill a culture within ourselves of being a brothers keeper..these ammunition passed thru someone, someone rented/sold out their car to some people he had doubts about. And the big one MONEY LAUNDERING I saw a post somewhere online yesterday but nimeitafuta siioni. What the poster was basically saying was that in his neighborhood was a young man he'd known since his childhood days. At some point after high school, the young man had disappeared from the scene for around 4-5yrs and when he reappeared, he seemed to have acquired unexplainable riches, was driving around in expensive cars, bought himself a fleet of matatus and hang out with some questionable characters. At some point, the young man and the poster had gotten into an altercation and he reported to the kenya police station but no action was taken. If anything, the young man now began giving him death threats and fearing for his life, he reported the same to the local A.P station (at the D.O's office) since he figured the A.Ps were supposedly not as corrupt as the K.P. And then the shock hit him. The officer to whom he was making the report promptly whipped out his phone and called the young 'mysterious' man 'live-live, informing him of the report against him. Shortly afterwards, the young guy and his minions check in and guess who's right on time to receive them? The A.P. commander. While our poster is wondering what's up, the young dude hako hapo nje wanasalimiana na commander zile za niaje? umenitupa sana mtu nguyas... Shortly, the cops asked the young man to write a statement on the basis of which our poster was accused and locked up for 2 days, all for being daring enough to raise his suspicions. Put yourself into this poster's shoes and tell me, would you ever bother to report anything to them again? Would you even dare trust a cop, knwing full well at the end of the day, they'll rat you out to the bad guys? Yes, Doc I would! My Bible tells me that I have not been given a spirit of fear, but of power, of love and a sound mind! Are you saying that, now that terrorists have staged an attack, we let them have their way? Or do you find it easier hiding in a crowd and cower when its personal?
Rank: User Joined: 9/6/2013 Posts: 1,446 Location: In a house
simonkabz wrote:First things first! Heads must roll!!! Send some cops packing n some immigration follows to the cooler. Then we can start talking! No high ranking official will go. I can bet on that
Rank: Member Joined: 2/7/2013 Posts: 447 Location: Nairobi
McReggae wrote:Magigi wrote:We should do nothing! What did we do after that accident at Mahi Mahiu - Narok road and almost the same number of people perished? Let us move on>>
We should have blood and MPesa drives each time we are affected as a nation, remember 'When our 40 soldiers were killed in baragoi, When the poor kenyans died in city to city bus, When the suffering kenyans died in sinai fire, When the poor died in sachangwan fire......we didn't have such massive drives for help!!! yes shows the BIG divide....but hope it will be #weareone forever...SMH You cant win, unless you first begin....
Mukiri wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:murchr wrote:I think its time we stopped pointing fingers at others. Trouble lies within our selves, we never report anything, not even anonymously how many times have you walked out of something fishy that you have seen? How many times have you bribed that immigration official to get a passport or even the police? We have to instill a culture within ourselves of being a brothers keeper..these ammunition passed thru someone, someone rented/sold out their car to some people he had doubts about. And the big one MONEY LAUNDERING I saw a post somewhere online yesterday but nimeitafuta siioni. What the poster was basically saying was that in his neighborhood was a young man he'd known since his childhood days. At some point after high school, the young man had disappeared from the scene for around 4-5yrs and when he reappeared, he seemed to have acquired unexplainable riches, was driving around in expensive cars, bought himself a fleet of matatus and hang out with some questionable characters. At some point, the young man and the poster had gotten into an altercation and he reported to the kenya police station but no action was taken. If anything, the young man now began giving him death threats and fearing for his life, he reported the same to the local A.P station (at the D.O's office) since he figured the A.Ps were supposedly not as corrupt as the K.P. And then the shock hit him. The officer to whom he was making the report promptly whipped out his phone and called the young 'mysterious' man 'live-live, informing him of the report against him. Shortly afterwards, the young guy and his minions check in and guess who's right on time to receive them? The A.P. commander. While our poster is wondering what's up, the young dude hako hapo nje wanasalimiana na commander zile za niaje? umenitupa sana mtu nguyas... Shortly, the cops asked the young man to write a statement on the basis of which our poster was accused and locked up for 2 days, all for being daring enough to raise his suspicions. Put yourself into this poster's shoes and tell me, would you ever bother to report anything to them again? Would you even dare trust a cop, knwing full well at the end of the day, they'll rat you out to the bad guys? Yes, Doc I would! My Bible tells me that I have not been given a spirit of fear, but of power, of love and a sound mind! Are you saying that, now that terrorists have staged an attack, we let them have their way? Or do you find it easier hiding in a crowd and cower when its personal? Missed the message. Our police need to do something in order to gain the trust of the citizens. Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
InnovateGuy wrote:Mukiri wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:murchr wrote:I think its time we stopped pointing fingers at others. Trouble lies within our selves, we never report anything, not even anonymously how many times have you walked out of something fishy that you have seen? How many times have you bribed that immigration official to get a passport or even the police? We have to instill a culture within ourselves of being a brothers keeper..these ammunition passed thru someone, someone rented/sold out their car to some people he had doubts about. And the big one MONEY LAUNDERING I saw a post somewhere online yesterday but nimeitafuta siioni. What the poster was basically saying was that in his neighborhood was a young man he'd known since his childhood days. At some point after high school, the young man had disappeared from the scene for around 4-5yrs and when he reappeared, he seemed to have acquired unexplainable riches, was driving around in expensive cars, bought himself a fleet of matatus and hang out with some questionable characters. At some point, the young man and the poster had gotten into an altercation and he reported to the kenya police station but no action was taken. If anything, the young man now began giving him death threats and fearing for his life, he reported the same to the local A.P station (at the D.O's office) since he figured the A.Ps were supposedly not as corrupt as the K.P. And then the shock hit him. The officer to whom he was making the report promptly whipped out his phone and called the young 'mysterious' man 'live-live, informing him of the report against him. Shortly afterwards, the young guy and his minions check in and guess who's right on time to receive them? The A.P. commander. While our poster is wondering what's up, the young dude hako hapo nje wanasalimiana na commander zile za niaje? umenitupa sana mtu nguyas... Shortly, the cops asked the young man to write a statement on the basis of which our poster was accused and locked up for 2 days, all for being daring enough to raise his suspicions. Put yourself into this poster's shoes and tell me, would you ever bother to report anything to them again? Would you even dare trust a cop, knwing full well at the end of the day, they'll rat you out to the bad guys? Yes, Doc I would! My Bible tells me that I have not been given a spirit of fear, but of power, of love and a sound mind! Are you saying that, now that terrorists have staged an attack, we let them have their way? Or do you find it easier hiding in a crowd and cower when its personal? Missed the message. Our police need to do something in order to gain the trust of the citizens.  It might be you who's missing out. Read what @Murchr writes carefully. Ask not what your country can do for you - ask what you can do for your country ~ JFK
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
Gathige wrote:Mukiri wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:Urgently close down ALL the refugee camps in northern Kenya. Let UNHCRassist them from within their own country. Those camps have been fertile recruitment grounds.
Lean really hard on those easich fellows to reveal the bad apples in their midst. Close down their businesses if we must if that's what it'll take to get the info.
Stop dilly-dallying and shuffling around officers who don't perform, simply sack them. I know a fellow, quite senior in the provincial admin. Every single station he head served in, he had had to be transferred due to his connivance in allowing illegal immigrants from Somalia, his most recent posting having been garish. Why we keep transferring such an officer around beats me. Simply sack the damn fool and take him to court to answer for his misdeeds.
Endeleza mjadala... I'm of the opinion that refugees are much as victims as we are. They who would much rather flee than bandwagon with terrorists. Take for instance PEV, or the Ugandan Kony. Kenyans, victims, chose to flee. Picture yourself fleeing, then having your host(in your suggestion) sending you back to die? Let's resort to decisions free from emotions. Decisions that we can live with in years to come. @Mukiri, Yes that is the point. Refugees are normally ordinary citizens running from a calamity and looking for a temporal haven. It would be inhuman to lock your door to someone being pursued by terror at your door. Imagine people from Syria being denied entry by Turkey when Assad was busy gassing them! It could also be possible that amongst the refugees are former soldiers (think FDLR for instance, etc) with military skills. Wouldn't it be in perfect order for the host country to screen such with a view to keeping tabs on their subsequent activities? After all, it is not inconceivable that they may wanna recruit from amongst themselves for whatever reasons. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Westgate aftermath – What to do