VAT BIll 2013 Politics
You can't purnish law abiding citizens so that you correct a deficiency on your systems!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Member Joined: 4/6/2010 Posts: 741 Location: Nairobi
InnovateGuy wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Lolest! wrote:@innovateguy, are you Jaindi Kisero. Your views look like a summary of his article last week. But from a political angle, this sounds wrong esp because it comes from the same guys who promised us cheaper life. Jubilee was opposeds to wage increment preferring prices reductions. You cannot hit low income earners that hard. Life is hard enough. I find it unbelievable that Uhuruto allowed this to get to parliament. If we want more money, increase VAT rate to 18 Very disappointed by UhuRuto. They promised and I was actually expecting they would reduce the cost of living which is already ridiculous as it is! How do you reduce cost of living by increasing taxes on basic commodities? This is a classical 'mtado?' moment! One fellow here says that the poor don't use these BASIC commodities - like unga [Kenya's staple food is ugali], pads, milk etc. This bullcrap argument on two levels. First, because they do - common sense! Secondly because it is preposterous to argue that because there are some Kenyans who cannot afford some of these BASIC needs we should make them even more expensive! Seriously? Another fellow argues that the government needs money to operate. Of course it does and that is why we are already paying taxes through the nose. But didn't the former Finance Permanent Secretary say we loose a whooping 40% of revenue through corruption? Seal those loopholes and you have more than enough. Equity Bank introduced a system that sealed loopholes and saved 3B [Yes, Billion] a year in corruption related losses in Masai Mara alone. We all know how that ended! Haven't we all seen the county budgets? You want me to finance that with the 2/3 of my salary after the goverment GRABBED 1/3 at source. Should I finance the laptop project? Car grants for Mpigs? Their house and car loans? Kibaki's office? Ruto's re-modeling? Refurbishment of PERSONAL several houses belonging to governors? 53 million for entertainment for one governors office? Kabogo's 1.7 Billion for "office of the governor" [on clear explanation what it will be used for!] We need to stop looking for simple solutions to complicated/compound problems. If you give your son 20k pocket money per term and it is still not enough because he uses the money on alcohol, drugs, gambling and women, do you dip into your savings or get second job because your son "needs money to 'operate'"? The government is not making life unbearable for its citizens. The government is cushioning the out of pocket expenditures on things like education and medicines. The only hing the people will probably spend more money on is food. The rest is being taken of. Ohhhh Myyyyyy Goooooooddddd!!!!!
chepkel wrote:InnovateGuy wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Lolest! wrote:@innovateguy, are you Jaindi Kisero. Your views look like a summary of his article last week. But from a political angle, this sounds wrong esp because it comes from the same guys who promised us cheaper life. Jubilee was opposeds to wage increment preferring prices reductions. You cannot hit low income earners that hard. Life is hard enough. I find it unbelievable that Uhuruto allowed this to get to parliament. If we want more money, increase VAT rate to 18 Very disappointed by UhuRuto. They promised and I was actually expecting they would reduce the cost of living which is already ridiculous as it is! How do you reduce cost of living by increasing taxes on basic commodities? This is a classical 'mtado?' moment! One fellow here says that the poor don't use these BASIC commodities - like unga [Kenya's staple food is ugali], pads, milk etc. This bullcrap argument on two levels. First, because they do - common sense! Secondly because it is preposterous to argue that because there are some Kenyans who cannot afford some of these BASIC needs we should make them even more expensive! Seriously? Another fellow argues that the government needs money to operate. Of course it does and that is why we are already paying taxes through the nose. But didn't the former Finance Permanent Secretary say we loose a whooping 40% of revenue through corruption? Seal those loopholes and you have more than enough. Equity Bank introduced a system that sealed loopholes and saved 3B [Yes, Billion] a year in corruption related losses in Masai Mara alone. We all know how that ended! Haven't we all seen the county budgets? You want me to finance that with the 2/3 of my salary after the goverment GRABBED 1/3 at source. Should I finance the laptop project? Car grants for Mpigs? Their house and car loans? Kibaki's office? Ruto's re-modeling? Refurbishment of PERSONAL several houses belonging to governors? 53 million for entertainment for one governors office? Kabogo's 1.7 Billion for "office of the governor" [on clear explanation what it will be used for!] We need to stop looking for simple solutions to complicated/compound problems. If you give your son 20k pocket money per term and it is still not enough because he uses the money on alcohol, drugs, gambling and women, do you dip into your savings or get second job because your son "needs money to 'operate'"? The government is not making life unbearable for its citizens. The government is cushioning the out of pocket expenditures on things like education and medicines. The only hing the people will probably spend more money on is food. The rest is being taken of. Ohhhh Myyyyyy Goooooooddddd!!!!! So spending more on food is ok with you...guys are really struggling out there abd then you expect them to pay more for food... possunt quia posse videntur
chepkel wrote:InnovateGuy wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Lolest! wrote:@innovateguy, are you Jaindi Kisero. Your views look like a summary of his article last week. But from a political angle, this sounds wrong esp because it comes from the same guys who promised us cheaper life. Jubilee was opposeds to wage increment preferring prices reductions. You cannot hit low income earners that hard. Life is hard enough. I find it unbelievable that Uhuruto allowed this to get to parliament. If we want more money, increase VAT rate to 18 Very disappointed by UhuRuto. They promised and I was actually expecting they would reduce the cost of living which is already ridiculous as it is! How do you reduce cost of living by increasing taxes on basic commodities? This is a classical 'mtado?' moment! One fellow here says that the poor don't use these BASIC commodities - like unga [Kenya's staple food is ugali], pads, milk etc. This bullcrap argument on two levels. First, because they do - common sense! Secondly because it is preposterous to argue that because there are some Kenyans who cannot afford some of these BASIC needs we should make them even more expensive! Seriously? Another fellow argues that the government needs money to operate. Of course it does and that is why we are already paying taxes through the nose. But didn't the former Finance Permanent Secretary say we loose a whooping 40% of revenue through corruption? Seal those loopholes and you have more than enough. Equity Bank introduced a system that sealed loopholes and saved 3B [Yes, Billion] a year in corruption related losses in Masai Mara alone. We all know how that ended! Haven't we all seen the county budgets? You want me to finance that with the 2/3 of my salary after the goverment GRABBED 1/3 at source. Should I finance the laptop project? Car grants for Mpigs? Their house and car loans? Kibaki's office? Ruto's re-modeling? Refurbishment of PERSONAL several houses belonging to governors? 53 million for entertainment for one governors office? Kabogo's 1.7 Billion for "office of the governor" [on clear explanation what it will be used for!] We need to stop looking for simple solutions to complicated/compound problems. If you give your son 20k pocket money per term and it is still not enough because he uses the money on alcohol, drugs, gambling and women, do you dip into your savings or get second job because your son "needs money to 'operate'"? The government is not making life unbearable for its citizens. The government is cushioning the out of pocket expenditures on things like education and medicines. The only hing the people will probably spend more money on is food. The rest is being taken of. Ohhhh Myyyyyy Goooooooddddd!!!!! i should go on that weed thread and see if someone has been getting innovative with the herb Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
@mahegoat had some other ideas in another thread! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
butterflyke wrote:chepkel wrote:InnovateGuy wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Lolest! wrote:@innovateguy, are you Jaindi Kisero. Your views look like a summary of his article last week. But from a political angle, this sounds wrong esp because it comes from the same guys who promised us cheaper life. Jubilee was opposeds to wage increment preferring prices reductions. You cannot hit low income earners that hard. Life is hard enough. I find it unbelievable that Uhuruto allowed this to get to parliament. If we want more money, increase VAT rate to 18 Very disappointed by UhuRuto. They promised and I was actually expecting they would reduce the cost of living which is already ridiculous as it is! How do you reduce cost of living by increasing taxes on basic commodities? This is a classical 'mtado?' moment! One fellow here says that the poor don't use these BASIC commodities - like unga [Kenya's staple food is ugali], pads, milk etc. This bullcrap argument on two levels. First, because they do - common sense! Secondly because it is preposterous to argue that because there are some Kenyans who cannot afford some of these BASIC needs we should make them even more expensive! Seriously? Another fellow argues that the government needs money to operate. Of course it does and that is why we are already paying taxes through the nose. But didn't the former Finance Permanent Secretary say we loose a whooping 40% of revenue through corruption? Seal those loopholes and you have more than enough. Equity Bank introduced a system that sealed loopholes and saved 3B [Yes, Billion] a year in corruption related losses in Masai Mara alone. We all know how that ended! Haven't we all seen the county budgets? You want me to finance that with the 2/3 of my salary after the goverment GRABBED 1/3 at source. Should I finance the laptop project? Car grants for Mpigs? Their house and car loans? Kibaki's office? Ruto's re-modeling? Refurbishment of PERSONAL several houses belonging to governors? 53 million for entertainment for one governors office? Kabogo's 1.7 Billion for "office of the governor" [on clear explanation what it will be used for!] We need to stop looking for simple solutions to complicated/compound problems. If you give your son 20k pocket money per term and it is still not enough because he uses the money on alcohol, drugs, gambling and women, do you dip into your savings or get second job because your son "needs money to 'operate'"? The government is not making life unbearable for its citizens. The government is cushioning the out of pocket expenditures on things like education and medicines. The only hing the people will probably spend more money on is food. The rest is being taken of. Ohhhh Myyyyyy Goooooooddddd!!!!! i should go on that weed thread and see if someone has been getting innovative with the herb Ati everything else is taken care of??? This fellow is definitely high! The only thing the government does for me personally is roads. And for that I have to part with 75% in taxes when I buy a car to drive on that road and >40/= per litre in taxes every time I fuel the car to actually use it on the said road! And all this is from the 2/3 that remained after they grabbed 1/3 at source! For everything I'm by myself. Even basic things like medicare and security! I can go to Kenyatta but I'll most probably die on the bench. I can take my kids to a public school but we have seen statistics - a majority of pupils who even after sitting for KCPE cannot be able to handle class three maths. I can decide not to organize my own security but we all know how that will end and how fast! Where does this @InnovateGuy live? Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:butterflyke wrote:chepkel wrote:InnovateGuy wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Lolest! wrote:@innovateguy, are you Jaindi Kisero. Your views look like a summary of his article last week. But from a political angle, this sounds wrong esp because it comes from the same guys who promised us cheaper life. Jubilee was opposeds to wage increment preferring prices reductions. You cannot hit low income earners that hard. Life is hard enough. I find it unbelievable that Uhuruto allowed this to get to parliament. If we want more money, increase VAT rate to 18 Very disappointed by UhuRuto. They promised and I was actually expecting they would reduce the cost of living which is already ridiculous as it is! How do you reduce cost of living by increasing taxes on basic commodities? This is a classical 'mtado?' moment! One fellow here says that the poor don't use these BASIC commodities - like unga [Kenya's staple food is ugali], pads, milk etc. This bullcrap argument on two levels. First, because they do - common sense! Secondly because it is preposterous to argue that because there are some Kenyans who cannot afford some of these BASIC needs we should make them even more expensive! Seriously? Another fellow argues that the government needs money to operate. Of course it does and that is why we are already paying taxes through the nose. But didn't the former Finance Permanent Secretary say we loose a whooping 40% of revenue through corruption? Seal those loopholes and you have more than enough. Equity Bank introduced a system that sealed loopholes and saved 3B [Yes, Billion] a year in corruption related losses in Masai Mara alone. We all know how that ended! Haven't we all seen the county budgets? You want me to finance that with the 2/3 of my salary after the goverment GRABBED 1/3 at source. Should I finance the laptop project? Car grants for Mpigs? Their house and car loans? Kibaki's office? Ruto's re-modeling? Refurbishment of PERSONAL several houses belonging to governors? 53 million for entertainment for one governors office? Kabogo's 1.7 Billion for "office of the governor" [on clear explanation what it will be used for!] We need to stop looking for simple solutions to complicated/compound problems. If you give your son 20k pocket money per term and it is still not enough because he uses the money on alcohol, drugs, gambling and women, do you dip into your savings or get second job because your son "needs money to 'operate'"? The government is not making life unbearable for its citizens. The government is cushioning the out of pocket expenditures on things like education and medicines. The only hing the people will probably spend more money on is food. The rest is being taken of. Ohhhh Myyyyyy Goooooooddddd!!!!! i should go on that weed thread and see if someone has been getting innovative with the herb Ati everything else is taken care of. This fellow is definitely high! The only thing the government does for me personally is roads. And for that I have to part with 75% in taxes when I buy a car to drive on that road and >40/= per litre in taxes every time I fuel the car to actually use it on the said road! And all this is from the 2/3 that remained after they grabbed 1/3 at source! For everything I'm by myself. Even basic things like medicare and security! I can go to Kenyatta but I'll most probably die on the bench. I can take my kids to a public school but we have seen statistics - a majority of pupils who even after sitting for KCPE cannot be able to handle class three maths. I can decide not to organize my own security but we all know how that will end and how fast! Where does this @InnovateGuy live? Tokyo.....Japan!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
If basic things includes, unga, milk, textbooks etc my layman argument is that the cost of things goods have been going up as long as i can remember and its not because of VAT. I would therefore support the Bill if the Government shows a clear road map to plug other loopholes on lost taxes e.g. KRA,
willin2learn wrote:If basic things includes, unga, milk, textbooks etc my layman argument is that the cost of things goods have been going up as long as i can remember and its not because of VAT. I would therefore support the Bill if the Government shows a clear road map to plug other loopholes on lost taxes e.g. KRA, So an overnight increase of 16% doesn't matter huh???? ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
when tax exemptions are granted they normaly dont trickle down to the consumer. The best best is to expand the Vat net and leave market forces to sort out pricing I may be wrong..but then I could be right
VAT BIll 2013 Politics