wazua Thu, Jul 2, 2026

6 Pages«<3456>
Kidero: maybe we voted wrongly?
#41 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 8:03:50 PM

Who should do what????
#42 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 8:20:11 PM

shhhhh,CORD governors are implementing CORD's manifestosmile

Ok,on a serious note,give the dude time.
D32
#43 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 9:05:50 PM

The problem is not the number of vehicles in roads, rather, it's the poor road network design and capacity. There are much bigger cities around the world handling much more traffic.

Find out how they are doing it.

It's ok to ask for help from those who've been there and done it well.
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#44 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 9:21:14 PM

kollabo wrote:
Traffic is the first step he should take, you'd be surprised to see everything else fall into place easily.

Remember Kimunya's moratorium on registration of 14 seaters? Shelved for populist reasons. Lets now pay the price.

What causes jams? the 14seater matatu or the personal car that is driving one person to wherever?

If jams are to be cleared in Nrb, make it very expensive to drive..raise parking fees as per the time peek time make it over 500 to park, the county needs the revenue, then deal with the transport sector

Start by dealing with the transport sector. Ensure there is a regular means of transport in and out of town (like the trains and tramps in Europe that have scheduled timings and will move even if empty)then the rest will take care of itself. For this to happen public transport has to be the responsibility of the government.

Right now, Nairobi is well connected...there's a bus that goes any/everywhere

Boss unajua venye ni stress...ama itakuwa better if we live cars at home and use this buses?
#45 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 9:34:06 PM

kollabo wrote:
Traffic is the first step he should take, you'd be surprised to see everything else fall into place easily.

Remember Kimunya's moratorium on registration of 14 seaters? Shelved for populist reasons. Lets now pay the price.

What causes jams? the 14seater matatu or the personal car that is driving one person to wherever?

If jams are to be cleared in Nrb, make it very expensive to drive..raise parking fees as per the time peek time make it over 500 to park, the county needs the revenue, then deal with the transport sector

Start by dealing with the transport sector. Ensure there is a regular means of transport in and out of town (like the trains and tramps in Europe that have scheduled timings and will move even if empty)then the rest will take care of itself. For this to happen public transport has to be the responsibility of the government.

Boss unajua venye ni stress...ama itakuwa better if we live cars at home and use this buses?

Nairobi si stress kukosa kuwa na gari there's a bus everywhere. I've been to cities where if you don't have a car you literary cant survive, but i've never seen a traffic jam because the roads are super and if you have to get into their cbd kuna park and ride.

I've not been to NewYork yet but I understand people there dont drive...walk, cycle and ride on cabs or buses. If you look at upperhill with all the buildings coming up, think of all those people working there and hio jam itakuwa aje?

Kidero needs money and parking fees should be his first fishing net. Then the roads ministry can have toll roads in place.

CLK
#46 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 10:17:30 AM

chepkel wrote:
So its been 6 months of endless speeches, talking, statistics, stories, speeches, forums, etc etc.

Traffic is worse, garbage still not collected, City Council harassing citizens and businesses.

I agree one needs time to settle, but in 6 months at least one agenda item should show signs of progress.

I am scared, we voted a big mouth with no real admin skills.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

looks like you are in my shoes. Njaa Mingi!!!!!!

Chepkel, kweli njaa imezidi
CLK
#47 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 10:56:48 AM

kollabo wrote:

Nairobi si stress kukosa kuwa na gari there's a bus everywhere. I've been to cities where if you don't have a car you literary cant survive, but i've never seen a traffic jam because the roads are super and if you have to get into their cbd kuna park and ride.

I've not been to NewYork yet but I understand people there dont drive...walk, cycle and ride on cabs or buses. If you look at upperhill with all the buildings coming up, think of all those people working there and hio jam itakuwa aje?

Kidero needs money and parking fees should be his first fishing net. Then the roads ministry can have toll roads in place.

I have friends who work in Washington DC and most of them live in the nearby states like Maryland, they drive to the train station, park their cars and take a 2hr train ride to DC and back in the evening. Am imagining this is like living in Naivasha and working in Nairobi.
These trains are the only solutions, alternatively restore the old bus mechanism, a 46 ma3 will go all the way to Huruma from Kawangware, a 32 one all the way from Kibera to Dandora, this way i do not want to imagine walk around town from one bus stop to another.
Kenyans have a way of accepting and moving on, you start charging 1000 bob a month, they find a way of factoring it in their monthly budgets.
Dont forget the banks are willing to give car loans to anyone with a payslip atleast, meaning a fresh graduate with a 50k salo can actualy drive a car, na kuna pesa mingi sana ya magendo Kenya.

When i bought my first car, it made sense since my bus fare plus the cost of taking a taxi over the weekends after a night out was almost equal to the amount of fuel i could spend the whole month. i pegged the extra costs of maintaining the car to the cost of the comfort i got from the car, ie sinyeshewi, i dont have to endure bad odour and loud music in a mathree etc.

Dont forget there is a generation out here who do not have and do not intend to have kids, sasa pesa iko kwa wingi....
#48 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 11:10:49 AM

Anyone who knows how this "Gather-enuff" amassed his wealth?
#49 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 12:05:33 PM

Prob the same way you Prezzo's family did...from your pockets!

LOOOOOL
Tokyo
#50 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 1:36:23 PM

Nairobi traffic issues and jam is a result of people failing to follow rules and regulation. Not number of cars or Road conditions
work to prosper
6 Pages«<3456>