Market
Technical
First timer-Cars
amga wrote:sorry for asking but apart from the customs, excise duties, VAT, shipping line and port charges. are there more items when i am importing a car that i need to prepare for? Delivery Order Fee (around 7500), MSS Levy (around 1500), Radiation (around 1000, Import declaration Fee (around 5k)and registration (around 7500?) Some of those charges would vary with the size of the vehicle. I have put rough charges for a small vehicle. 1300cc
Rank: Member Joined: 8/16/2010 Posts: 149 Location: hapa Kenya
@prime thanks for the info, i imported a demio in nov 2012 and april 2013 but the port charges and the shipping line were way too different and higher in the latter import. i want to guess the delivery order fee is the agency fee?
amga wrote:@prime thanks for the info, i imported a demio in nov 2012 and april 2013 but the port charges and the shipping line were way too different and higher in the latter import. i want to guess the delivery order fee is the agency fee? I imported a demio 1340cc in August last year. The charges were as follows. IDF 5K, Registration 7k, duty 166,053, port charges 22k, delivery order fee(DOF) 7k, Agency fee 10k. in oct same year, I imported a nissan march 1240 cc. Charges were as follows: IDF 5k, port charges 19,881, MSS levy 1100, registration and release 2k, duty 165,263 (I think its merged with registration), Agency fee 10k, DOF 7k. This week im clearing a passo 1000cc and the charges are as follows: IDF 5K,Registration 7360,DOF 7500/Usd 82, port charges 20k, mss levy 1500, Radiation 1000, Agency 8k, duty 188k. On asking my clearing guy why the charges differ, he told me that MSS levy and registration differ for the different cars he told me that the value is pegged on the exchange rate. I am not sure of that bit. But port charges would differ between 18k and 30k depending on size of the car and duration at the port. and they have no control over the amount paid. Hope that helps a little. Tho I have not verified his information. But as a general rule for me... i budget 50k above the duty to get the car cleared and fueled to nairobi. As for the service i only change the oil in mombasa, of course depending on its condition
Rank: Member Joined: 8/16/2010 Posts: 149 Location: hapa Kenya
@prime, thank you for your reply, comparing the several units imported and their costs, i understand since the agency talked of dollar value which brings about the difference
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
amga wrote:@prime, thank you for your reply, comparing the several units imported and their costs, i understand since the agency talked of dollar value which brings about the difference To add on to that, an agent pal once to me that on the duty estimate, it's best to underpay (just a little bit) so that once KRA determines the proper duty using their calculations, you simply top-up to the right amount. On the other hand, if after their valuation calculations it's found that you overpaid, they don't refund the difference. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Rankaz13 wrote:amga wrote:@prime, thank you for your reply, comparing the several units imported and their costs, i understand since the agency talked of dollar value which brings about the difference To add on to that, an agent pal once to me that on the duty estimate, it's best to underpay (just a little bit) so that once KRA determines the proper duty using their calculations, you simply top-up to the right amount. On the other hand, if after their valuation calculations it's found that you overpaid, they don't refund the difference. But duty is not so much of a rough approximation. You are supposed to know the exact duty you should pay beforehand. The duty info is available on the KRA website and made easier by guys like dutycalc.co.ke (requires simple registration). The figure you get should act as the preliminary duty figure. use extrapolation to arrive at approximate value. Eg, in the CSRP list only a 1500 cc demio is listed. To arrive at the CRRP for the 1340 cc one, you would use simple maths. Say if 1500=value y, then 1340=?...(value y*1340)/1500. The figure you would get would be what you would take to the valuation template. Now to get the EXACT duty, your agent types in the datails into KRA's simba system (the authorized agents have usernames and passwords). The output would be the E-SLIP which shows the exact duty to be paid to KRA. The IDF figure which you should have paid earlier also reflects in their system. I insist on a copy of the E-slip do avoid over or underpaying. While at it Liaise with your agent to have a CFS that gives longer storage. e.g. 15 days. that way you can pay and clear your car while it is already in the CFS. And issues of numberplate delays or system breakdowns will not give you sleepless nights. NB: you have to notify a change in the CFS immediately you make the payment so that it will be reflected in the Bill of lading.
Prime wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:amga wrote:@prime, thank you for your reply, comparing the several units imported and their costs, i understand since the agency talked of dollar value which brings about the difference To add on to that, an agent pal once to me that on the duty estimate, it's best to underpay (just a little bit) so that once KRA determines the proper duty using their calculations, you simply top-up to the right amount. On the other hand, if after their valuation calculations it's found that you overpaid, they don't refund the difference. But duty is not so much of a rough approximation. You are supposed to know the exact duty you should pay beforehand. The duty info is available on the KRA website and made easier by guys like dutycalc.co.ke (requires simple registration). The figure you get should act as the preliminary duty figure. use extrapolation to arrive at approximate value. Eg, in the CSRP list only a 1500 cc demio is listed. To arrive at the CRRP for the 1340 cc one, you would use simple maths. Say if 1500=value y, then 1340=?...(value y*1340)/1500. The figure you would get would be what you would take to the valuation template. Now to get the EXACT duty, your agent types in the datails into KRA's simba system (the authorized agents have usernames and passwords). The output would be the E-SLIP which shows the exact duty to be paid to KRA. The IDF figure which you should have paid earlier also reflects in their system. I insist on a copy of the E-slip do avoid over or underpaying. While at it Liaise with your agent to have a CFS that gives longer storage. e.g. 15 days. that way you can pay and clear your car while it is already in the CFS. And issues of numberplate delays or system breakdowns will not give you sleepless nights. NB: you have to notify a change in the CFS immediately you make the payment so that it will be reflected in the Bill of lading. I imported my last unit in Nov. 2010. At that time, what I was informed used to happen was that some importers would collude with their exporters to undervalue the car with the intent of reducing their tax liability. So, whenever KRA suspected such, what they'd do is revalue the car based on its local (Kenyan) market price then levy duty on that figure. At that time, wale watu waliumia sana were those who'd imported Toyota Ist and some Subaru models. Perhaps things might have since changed though. Thanks for that detailed response. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
nakujua wrote:jguru wrote:1. Keep distance. You should drive "3 seconds" behind a car while driving at all speeds.
2. Carry a first aid box, a fire extinguisher, 2 safety triangles, spare, jack and wheel spanner in your car at all times. Plus an empty jerrican (ya kubebea mafuta ikiisha). Accidents and emergencies can happen at any time.
3. Learn how to dim lights at night especially when approaching other cars or pedestrians. Some of us see poorly at night, so when you shine lights onto our eyes, even with our walking sticks, we'll stagger into a ditch.
4. Keep left unless overtaking. Don't overtake on the left. I think this is the most abused rule on our roads. Does the Highway Code still exist? Do people know that a rule called Lane Discipline exists? wait until you come across the guys who love taking their sweet time on the inner lanes, you will wait forever for a chance to overtake I see KeNHA has put big road signs all along Thika Highway saying "Keep Left Unless Overtaking". But who is following this rule anyway? Kenyan drivers cannot read road signs! Or completely ignore them! At KCA University there was a trailer doing 20kph on the rightmost lane. Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
jguru wrote:nakujua wrote:jguru wrote:1. Keep distance. You should drive "3 seconds" behind a car while driving at all speeds.
2. Carry a first aid box, a fire extinguisher, 2 safety triangles, spare, jack and wheel spanner in your car at all times. Plus an empty jerrican (ya kubebea mafuta ikiisha). Accidents and emergencies can happen at any time.
3. Learn how to dim lights at night especially when approaching other cars or pedestrians. Some of us see poorly at night, so when you shine lights onto our eyes, even with our walking sticks, we'll stagger into a ditch.
4. Keep left unless overtaking. Don't overtake on the left. I think this is the most abused rule on our roads. Does the Highway Code still exist? Do people know that a rule called Lane Discipline exists? wait until you come across the guys who love taking their sweet time on the inner lanes, you will wait forever for a chance to overtake I see KeNHA has put big road signs all along Thika Highway saying "Keep Left Unless Overtaking". But who is following this rule anyway? Kenyan drivers cannot read road signs! Or completely ignore them! At KCA University there was a trailer doing 20kph on the rightmost lane. They've always been there even on the section between Kenol-Thika but nobody seems to bother. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Rank: Member Joined: 2/7/2013 Posts: 447 Location: Nairobi
jguru wrote:nakujua wrote:jguru wrote:1. Keep distance. You should drive "3 seconds" behind a car while driving at all speeds.
4. Keep left unless overtaking. Don't overtake on the left. I think this is the most abused rule on our roads. Does the Highway Code still exist? Do people know that a rule called Lane Discipline exists? wait until you come across the guys who love taking their sweet time on the inner lanes, you will wait forever for a chance to overtake I see KeNHA has put big road signs all along Thika Highway saying "Keep Left Unless Overtaking". But who is following this rule anyway? Kenyan drivers cannot read road signs! Or completely ignore them! At KCA University there was a trailer doing 20kph on the rightmost lane. if only we could hv nice cops who stop the driver and ask...'what does that road sign mean?' then maybe most will remember..but alas hii ni Kenya.. You cant win, unless you first begin....
Has anyone ever paid the penalty for late transfer of ownership to shed some light on this? “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
The L sticker is it a must for first timer? Can 1 print for themselves ama you have to pick it from somewhere?
Impunity wrote:Na usitumie miguu/tire ya Longlilo...nunua miguu za maana. I noted that one in every 5 cars in Uganda (Kampala) is on Linglong tyres. I dont think the tyres are that bad. Also, In Kenya, mashinani motorists are Longling people. Please check. "You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Rank: Member Joined: 2/7/2013 Posts: 447 Location: Nairobi
Burning Spear wrote:Impunity wrote:Na usitumie miguu/tire ya Longlilo...nunua miguu za maana. I noted that one in every 5 cars in Uganda (Kampala) is on Linglong tyres. I dont think the tyres are that bad. Also, In Kenya, mashinani motorists are Longling people. Please check. if not Longling...then which? But wont that depend on the depth of my pocket? You cant win, unless you first begin....
Meduza wrote:Burning Spear wrote:Impunity wrote:Na usitumie miguu/tire ya Longlilo...nunua miguu za maana. I noted that one in every 5 cars in Uganda (Kampala) is on Linglong tyres. I dont think the tyres are that bad. Also, In Kenya, mashinani motorists are Longling people. Please check. if not Longling...then which? But wont that depend on the depth of my pocket? GTR, made in Indonesia as well as Maxxis will serve you well. I get crazy mileages out of those. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Meduza wrote:Prime wrote:Meduza wrote:What do you need to know about cars especially being a first car? or should I just expect the mechanic to do everything. Be gentle with it. Treat it well and it will reciprocate. Dont fill a sal oon car with 10 of your pals when from a rave. Fuel at reputable stations. Not those selling fuel at 5 bob below market prices.Accelerate gently, Release the accelerator early enough when you anticipate you will need to brake. Service it regularly. Use "original" parts. Cheapest may not last long. Wax your car at least once a month. Avoid omo. Weka seat covers esp of those beige fabrics. Second from last... To the best of your ability, be stingy with it. Only help those who you know beyond a shadow of doubt that they will take good care of it. Not those funny college dudes who will use it for drinking sprees and street racing. Last, and most important... Dont overtake on blind corners (or where you cannot clearly see ahead), Remember to drive within reasonable speeds, and within a reasonable distance from the person ahead. Isnt all I have said common sense anyway? Thanks alot...and ooh yes I plan to be stingy..LOL Don't be stingy, however my rule is, i can only give my car to :- 1. someone who owns a car and its been well taken care off 2.the above mentioned human being can afford some 40k to replace my headlump just incase, yaani sio mtu wa kulia saa yote. Hata wewe unaweza omba gari siku moja. also do not get too attached, cars can really disappoint and avoid those silly scratches with ma3 and other motorists if you can. Brakes will make the difference as to how soon we see you in the obituaries. enjoy your new ride...
jaggernaut wrote:Realize that many drivers are idiots who always flout traffic rules and thus always give way. I learnt it the hard way when I refused to give way to an idiot who was trying to overtaking me while there was an oncoming vehicle. I refused to slow down to give him space to get back to the correct lane (i wanted to teach the idiot a lesson) and he opted to hit my car kwa side to avoid a head-on collision with the oncoming vehicle. I nearly wept due to the damage to my car, though he did pay for the repairs. So always give way to those matatu and probox idiots, for the sake of your life and to avoid unnecessary police/insurance cases and hours at the garage. They call it defensive driving. You are lucky, try this stunt in slow traffic with overlappers but not on the highway, talk of kumuagikiwa na damu if you happen to be nearby where two people are fighting. But seriously, that guy could have died and other people too including you
wilyum wrote:The L sticker is it a must for first timer? Can 1 print for themselves ama you have to pick it from somewhere? Its not a must, however depends on whether we are talking about a first time car owner or a first time driver. for the later its advisable, only that personally i find Nairobi drivers harass you when they see the sign but can live with you making stupid mistakes until you get to know. I hear you need to have someone else who is an experienced driver in the car with you if you have the 'L' sign, otherwise its an offense, the argument is who are you learning from? i can be corrected on this.
CLK wrote:wilyum wrote:The L sticker is it a must for first timer? Can 1 print for themselves ama you have to pick it from somewhere? Its not a must, however depends on whether we are talking about a first time car owner or a first time driver. for the later its advisable, only that personally i find Nairobi drivers harass you when they see the sign but can live with you making stupid mistakes until you get to know. I hear you need to have someone else who is an experienced driver in the car with you if you have the 'L' sign, otherwise its an offense, the argument is who are you learning from? i can be corrected on this. Si nitasema ni mama anajifunza and I cant keep on peeling the sticker on and off any time we are swapping cars
Prime wrote:CLK wrote:wilyum wrote:The L sticker is it a must for first timer? Can 1 print for themselves ama you have to pick it from somewhere? Its not a must, however depends on whether we are talking about a first time car owner or a first time driver. for the later its advisable, only that personally i find Nairobi drivers harass you when they see the sign but can live with you making stupid mistakes until you get to know. I hear you need to have someone else who is an experienced driver in the car with you if you have the 'L' sign, otherwise its an offense, the argument is who are you learning from? i can be corrected on this. Si nitasema ni mama anajifunza and I cant keep on peeling the sticker on and off any time we are swapping cars Nothing legal in this advice.My practical experience in Nairobi was you get a lot more stress with that 'L' sign as a new driver.I removed it after a day and my driving life has never been better. You were put on this earth to achieve your greatest self, to live out your purpose, and to do it fearlessly.
Market
Technical
First timer-Cars