wazua Thu, Nov 14, 2024

5 Pages«<345
Toyota NZE vs Nissan Sylphy
Chaka
#81 Posted : Friday, June 06, 2014 10:02:23 PM

[quote=Coolbull]Nissan B15 going strong.
I still wonder why the owner sold the car to me.
Great fuel economy...isn't 15/16KM per litre great?
Very low maintenance...usual oil filter, air filter, etc replacement.
Handles well on the highway.

Downside
- Does not behave like a land-rover off-road. he he. That's expected.

When my mechanic saw it for the first time, he advised me to dispose it soonest and get a Toyota. With time, he has changed opinion.

I also think to some extent driving skill might be the 50% that makes one form a good or bad opinion regarding a car brand. [/quote
Seconded..mine does about 14 km/litre(AT)..sack your mechanic..Where do you buy genuine spares from?
Money Whisperer
#82 Posted : Saturday, June 07, 2014 10:21:33 AM

Chaka wrote:
[quote=Coolbull]Nissan B15 going strong.
I still wonder why the owner sold the car to me.
Great fuel economy...isn't 15/16KM per litre great?
Very low maintenance...usual oil filter, air filter, etc replacement.
Handles well on the highway.

Downside
- Does not behave like a land-rover off-road. he he. That's expected.

When my mechanic saw it for the first time, he advised me to dispose it soonest and get a Toyota. With time, he has changed opinion.

I also think to some extent driving skill might be the 50% that makes one form a good or bad opinion regarding a car brand. [/quote
Seconded..mine does about 14 km/litre(AT)..sack your mechanic..Where do you buy genuine spares from?

guys like stereotyping cars. fact is there are no bad cars nowadays its just different technology, driving skills and epertise of the mech. Look at KIA my mouth waters when I see the Sorento. I had a B14 and everybody thought I was nuts but nakwambia till today I miss that car; it was muc much more spacious than AE100, yet guysused to say hio chain driven ni mbaya hio chain ikikatika brah bla bra, ooh maflow itasumbua....bure
"Money never sleeps"
Money Whisperer
#83 Posted : Saturday, June 07, 2014 10:36:03 AM

pleasecallme wrote:
Between Toyota Corolla NZE and Nissan Sylphy G11 (2006/7+), which one is better in terms of handling, engine performance and reliability?

Forget about comfort, style or design. Asanteni!

In my previous motoring life I have owned a toyota (AE100) and also a Nissan (B14) and the Toyota was more superior in terms of performance (EFI engine), handling, reliability, comfort (independent suspension) and also the design. I believe it must be the same for newer models. The toyota was also more expensive to buy.

I should have added that on the hand I had to change the Toyota's waterpump and timing belt. Also at one time the toyota's sidemirror and corner light were ripped off in town centre and had to replaced. The worst came when the corolla was stolen from a parking lot in town but luckily it was recovered by police after 3 days having been abandoned in some isolated side road in lavington. The thugs had forced open the doorlocks and ignition which I had to replace, also the window electric motor not to mention repainting the bumper since it had a few dents.

For the Nissan it was happy motoring. The only thing I changed was the rear brake light bulb. And it seems the thugs were never interested in the car, or its sidemirrors.

For both cars I had to change the shocks however the nissan's rear shocks were different (oil shocks) and never needed changing.

Looking back, I'd say I spent more money maintaining the corolla due to the said mechanical and crime issues.

And as someone has observed above once you own a corolla, despite it being a good car, you feel like you want to move on and get a different model for a change. Thus my present car isn't a corolla, though its still a toyota.

hadn't seen this. I have nostalgia about my B14. the space inside beat 100's yes the beam suspension is not all that especially in corners. but all in all it was a great car never did any serious servicing. it was a great car, reliable and no thief bothered with it. my bro had a AE100 and he was car-jacked on lang'ata and I happily drove my B14 to rescue him. after that he would exchange cars with me whenever he went drinking late in the night in unfamiliar places
"Money never sleeps"
Tungz mwenyewe
#84 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 8:35:23 AM

mkenyan wrote:
[

wouldn't touch that transmission. especially on a 7 year old vehicle.[/quote]

Well, the new Toyota Corolla bbeing sold by Toyota Kenya rides on a CVT.
smitha
#85 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 9:57:46 AM

Guys,

What are your opinions on a 2007 Allion new shape sold by SBT with 188,000km on the clock? Apparently the engine has been overhauled?
Money Whisperer
#86 Posted : Monday, June 09, 2014 8:01:11 PM

Tungz mwenyewe wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
[

wouldn't touch that transmission. especially on a 7 year old vehicle.

Well, the new Toyota Corolla bbeing sold by Toyota Kenya rides on a CVT.[/quote]
mafans wa toyota niwaajbu sana. they criticize and laugh at others kumbe toyta ndio iko nyuma. you should have heard/read their take on Mitsu's GDI engine now they are driving toyo's D4
"Money never sleeps"
Kihara joni
#87 Posted : Sunday, July 20, 2014 9:54:09 PM

Ill ignore the Toyota guys and get the 2007 Bluebird, I test drove it last week and its quite a cool car and a looker too classy interior its going for 750k, I would have picked the new fielder but it would cost me 1.2m Nah let me have this
Braza
#88 Posted : Sunday, July 20, 2014 11:37:26 PM

All this talk issue about some aged cars, that some Asian has been desperate to dispose?
Well.... some forums out there are on 2013s /14s cars.
Admin, Luckily; age will one day transform me into an Elder.
#89 Posted : Monday, July 21, 2014 10:03:31 AM

Braza wrote:
All this talk issue about some aged cars, that some Asian has been desperate to dispose?

shida iko wapi? some forums are on the 1960s /70s cars and some forums are on 2020s / 2030s cars.
Money Whisperer
#90 Posted : Monday, July 21, 2014 6:04:08 PM

Braza wrote:

bure kabisa! si uanze yako ya 2017 tuone
"Money never sleeps"
Braza
#91 Posted : Monday, July 21, 2014 7:30:37 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
Braza wrote:

bure kabisa! si uanze yako ya 2017 tuone

Acha langu jamvi nikunje, Makonde ya mtandaoni sitoyaweza, na swala la mitumba niliache.
pumzi kesho nivute.
Admin, Luckily; age will one day transform me into an Elder.