wazua Sun, Jun 28, 2026

12 Pages«<34567>»
Kibaki's Legacy
#41 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 8:56:56 AM

Well I would rather have a good economy than appear to have fairness, coz there will always be complaints - If I have a market for my produce and I buy fuel at an affordable price, If my family security is guaranteed and my children have a good education ....
then I don't care about the tribes of the people making it happen.

Some of us seem to live in a very good Kenya,affordable prices?????????????the cost of everything has risen.
And insecurity is the order of the day nowadays.
Surely nakujua you must be living in a different Kenya.
meme
#42 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 10:07:42 AM

Truth is Kenyans and humanity in general is made up of more fools than clever people.
Kibaki is not perfect. Far from it..... He hasent done much to stop corruption, tribalism or create more jobs. But surely you must feel for the thousands of poor kids who can now access FPE.... its not perfect but there is a poor bright kid somewhere who now believes that despite all odds one day he/she will amount to something. That for me......IS ENOUGH REASON TO CELEBRATE THE OLD MAN!
Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
#43 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 10:33:11 AM

dossy7 wrote:

Well I would rather have a good economy than appear to have fairness, coz there will always be complaints - If I have a market for my produce and I buy fuel at an affordable price, If my family security is guaranteed and my children have a good education ....

Some of us seem to live in a very good Kenya,affordable prices?????????????the cost of everything has risen.
And insecurity is the order of the day nowadays.
Surely nakujua you must be living in a different Kenya.

I am not saying this is the case, but hypothetically given the choice between good economy and tribal balance, I would choose a good economy every time.

Well, Kenya has its good and bad part - just check the roads as an example and tell me how many guzzlers you will count despite the increase in fuel prices, so yes there is a different Kenya than the one you know.

just so you may know this is the Kenya I live in;
Wake up at 5 AM in the morning, wait at the stage for around 10 - 20 minutes for a matatu; pray hard that the driver and the conductor will get into town instead of dumping us hapo Ngara ...
#44 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 10:47:05 AM

Do you guys have siblings/nephews/nieces and the rest in Govt primary schools especially in machinani?????....there is nothing like FPE!!!!
#45 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 11:02:55 AM

Do you guys have siblings/nephews/nieces and the rest in Govt primary schools especially in machinani?????....there is nothing like FPE!!!!

Tell them...I hear pple saying FPE and I pity them...The govt just abolished tuition fee i.e paying for teachers but development fees are still intact in some schools..actually even though you cant compare if the schools were not subsidised.

The schools which offer Free education are so poor that even the quality of education from those schools is shcoking.
#46 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 11:07:40 AM

selah wrote:

Tell them...I hear pple saying FPE and I pity them...The govt just abolished tuition fee i.e paying for teachers but development fees are still intact in some schools..actually even though you cant compare if the schools were not subsidised.

The schools which offer Free education are so poor that even the quality of education from those schools is shcoking.

Last year I paid 3800/= for a KCPE candidate in a below average primary rural school!!!!
cmk
#47 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 11:08:18 AM

So kibaki has done nothing worthwhile going by this thread??kenyans are pathetic grumblers and idlers.if you have nothing good to say about this topic shutting up would be better.
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
#48 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 11:47:54 AM

cmk wrote:
So kibaki has done nothing worthwhile going by this thread??kenyans are pathetic grumblers and idlers.if you have nothing good to say about this topic shutting up would be better.

So in your opinion Kibaki legacy is so up there no one is supposed to grumble....Ok lemmi enumerate the good thing about this wimp.

1.I can call him a wimp and still get away with it..free speech in a way has been respected by his government apart from a few hiccups here and there.

2.Planning for the future has been his main points actually if you look at vision 2030 he is following it to the latter...the problem is that those entrusted with the execution are not all, in most cases, in the same page...derailing some of the plans by engaging in graft or cheap politics.

3.His laissez faire mode of governance though good for first starters like PS Ndemo and those who have a thirst for developing Kenya..I hear He likes doers rather than talkers.... in some way this has also given room for corruption to thrive unabated because pple have abused the freedom in their line ministries crippling some of the most successful sectors of the economy i.e Education,Trade,transport and agriculture are some of the few where abuse of office has contributed to immense waste of our money and time.

4.I cant recall anything else apart from those unintended humorous moments.....Or may be am an idler who dont know anything but grumble.

#49 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 11:51:57 AM

I believe back in 2003, RAO was the minister in-charge who set the ball rolling, when he brought down houses for the Northern bypass and there was grumbling that he is destroying people's hard work...There is no contradiction here!!...as indicated, Franklin Bett is the current Roads Minister and we know who he reports to...that is Kibaki and possibly why we've seen roads heading to Central expanded (this is where you will talk about cabinet decisions etc)...it will do good for the trade in the area, and access to the airport etc....

Enyewe wewe ni a typical RAO sycophant. You do realize that its the Chinese who have been MK's major strategic dev partners and are the ones funding all these projects. From figures i obtained elsewhere China pumped a total investment of Sh40.2 billion into Kenya, while developed economies such as Germany, Canada, Israel and Italy invested less than Sh500 million in Kenya last year. No wonder they've been complaining ati he's become extremely difficult to reach or he declined an invitation to visit the United Kingdom.....he's given them a cold shoulder, no a** L****. Look at the Roads that have been constructed or are under construction around the country, are they all in Central Kenya? Its only a fool who would criticize construction of Thika Rd Superhighway.

Given the circumstances i'd say MK has done fairly good but like someone has said he has not been perfect. We cannot single him out on mambo ya corruption, tribalism and all that....NARC and the current govt have all been some sort of coalitions, i think its only in Kenya where we criticize individuals instead of putting the entire administration to task. Look at the leading candidates you have now, they've all held powerful positions in govt....ati agents of change ABK!

Cronyism is still a form of corruption and is in no way a measure of eradicating tribalism.
#50 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 1:44:26 PM

I honestly think he was looking for merit in his appointments - his so called tribal appointments did a wonderful job, I would not mind if all positions were filled by a single tribe as long as they deliver.
For me the biggest failure is in his handling of the violence in 07 and 08

Just think of the dozens of well educated Luos, Kurias, Swahili, Borana etc being by passed as someone from Mt Kenya got a big job as PS or head of parastatal.

You cannot just ignore the impact of this on national unity. It easily gave fodder to the twin fires of ODM popularity and ethnic hatred that almost ground this country to a halt in 2007.

You cannot just be good on the economic front and hope people will be happy with whoever you give positions to. You've got to be fair or at least appear fair!!

We have Luo, Swahili, Luhya, Kamba ... PS's and heads of parastatals - its not as if all senior positions are heald by people from a certain community, just the ones that appear vital. All over the world those who win elections give the most important dockets to individuals they trust.
I would have an issue if those individuals were not qualified.
If RAO or Mudavadi or whoever becomes president gave vital positions to people he trusts as long as they are qualified, I woudn't see any big deal in that.

national unity is always messed by politicians not appointments.

This is the height of arrogance, you are assuming that only the people close to Kibaki can properly manage the economy.
12 Pages«<34567>»