wazua Fri, Nov 29, 2024

9 Pages«<34567>»
Marende gives verdict
#81 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 6:17:00 AM

Now Kaloser wants to go to the courst......akwende!!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
Mr.Tea
#82 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 6:19:00 AM

This collision cannot hold for long......while Marende is hailed for making his ruling which some consider to be wise,in my opinion,he failed to rise to the occasion(tread where other mortals fear) and thereby assign himself a place among the great. His decision was not to decide and so many only read the implied meaning rather than the actual(Indecision). His was and will continue a display of cowardise in the face of a great challenge. Inasmuch as he staved off a titanic battle albeit momentarily,he left open sore wounds which will only fester with time. That is no mark of a great leader.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
Fundaah
#83 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 6:24:00 AM

It looks like Kalonzo is just fighting for his survival(vice presidency).

The interest of the nation is more important than an individual.Neither ODM nor PNU won or lost. Kenyans won from Marende's decision.

BTW is the decision legal?

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me? Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Brewer
#84 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 6:31:00 AM

Kweli wewe fundaah! At Kalonzo did what? Such big issue you trivialise and personalise- Kwani Kalonzo alijichagua kama wengine?

Seriously,Marende failed to rise to the occasion- he thought he was called upon to show wisdom when all we want is for him to follow the law.
#85 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 6:34:00 AM

The decision borrowed heavily from SOs........It's more of a parliamentary privilege which cannot be challenged in a court of law

Guka wa bijuti...
Fundaah
#86 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 6:44:00 AM

my friend tmatekwa,come and rescue me,im being brewed by the brewer for speaking my mind. @ brewer,Kalonzo is going to court to sue Marende for his decision(to temporarily take what Kalonzo thinks is rightfully his).Njung'e has just confirmed that a parliamentarily priviledged decision cannot be contested in court.So how far will kalonzo go?

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me?

Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Brewer
#87 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 6:58:00 AM

fundaah nini tena. your opinion is safe- express and keep it! Sure Kalonzo said PNU is going to court. I repeat,PNU is going to court. I do no see them succeeding in asking the court to order the Speaker to get his ass off the HBC chair or accept so and so as Leader of government business. The issues are weighty and some guy called wanguhu ng'ang'a is ahead of them and has already filed suit on the same issues.
Bareta
#88 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 7:05:00 AM

Fundah et al,

Worry not about those who criticise Marende's decission for they belong to the class which believes things should remain the way they are and MK should continue doing nothing.

Marende's decission had earlier in the day been endorsed by RAO. This is the 'wild card' Stad Newspaper predicted in the issue of jana. MK and by extension Kalooser are incapable of making any hard decissions desperately needed by the country. They have to be taken head-on now!

Look around and you will see any lawyer who loses a high profile case will always put up a brave face for the cameras 'We are going to appeal'. That's what Kalonzo was doing. His threat to go to court (though he has a right to) will just fizzle out.

Kalonzo is a very insecure man because he owes his appointment to a favour! He didn't earn it. He is a worried man lest MK decides this guy is not serving the purpose for which he was 'favoured'.

Chief
The General
#89 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 7:05:00 AM

Symptoms

Illusions of invulnerability creating excessive optimism and encouraging risk taking.
Rationalising warnings that might challenge the group's assumptions.
Unquestioned belief in the morality of the group,causing members to ignore the consequences of their actions.
Stereotyping those who are opposed to the group as weak,evil,disfigured,impotent,or stupid.
Direct pressure to conform placed on any member who questions the group,couched in terms of 'disloyalty'.
Self censorship of ideas that deviate from the apparent group consensus.
Illusions of unanimity among group members,silence is viewed as agreement.
Mindguards &mdash; self-appointed members who shield the group from dissenting information.

Prevention

Leaders should assign each member the role of 'critical evaluator'. This allows each member to freely air objections and doubts.
Higher-ups should not express an opinion when assigning a task to a group.
The organization should set up several independent groups,working on the same problem.
All effective alternatives should be examined.
Each member should discuss the group's ideas with trusted people outside of the group.
The group should invite outside experts into meetings. Group members should be allowed to discuss with and question the outside experts.
At least one group member should be assigned the role of Devil's advocate. This should be a different person for each meeting.

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
tmatekwa
#90 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 7:12:00 AM

Sorry PANUA guys. This debate is not adding to the pieces of chicken on my plate.

Osama bin Laden
Mr.Tea
#91 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 7:35:00 AM

@ Bareta,

Prof Mwanzia (sp) at the height of YK92 sought to correct an extreme view widely held within the group which was that anyone who opposed or held a different standpoint from the one the group was propagating was hellbent on unleashing chaos or mad. Such generalities as the one you hold only generate much heat and little light.The fact that Marende's decision was actually 'indecision'. to pacify quaralling factions does not prevent others from seeing this as gainworthy and one that warrants a public holiday of saintly nature. The wisdom of this'indecision' can only be measured in the breadth of time.

B.Timer
#92 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 7:48:00 AM

@Sly kat
Dont allow yourself to be whiped into place. Let goatherds go find some Ungulates to herd and collect them together under tethers.
Think independently as you demonstrated in this thread. Of course you've seen for yourself that when you dare think so you are branded bla bla bla....
Dont you find it funny.
Any lessons to be learnt thereof???

Marende was too shy to decide.
Of course that helped bring down the unnecessary tensions that had built.
However in his long preamble,he suggested who ultimately Govt. is,- i.e where the buck stops. But probably in order to placate his benefactor for the post he holds,he surreptiously opted to bury his head in the sand and avoid making the lawful decision.

I am not sure face-saving for certain people is part of his brief as Speaker of National Assembly.
In essence he only deffered the matter,as opposed to dispensing with it conclusively.

Great statesmen are bold and courageous enough to make the right and longterm decision that may appear unpopular at the time but wait for time to vindicate them.

Implications?
Only relevant in the house and for the house only.
Marende postulated that the matter was only covered by the standing orders for the house,and no where else in law.
The courts only can interpret the Constitution and other laws for general consumption/use.
Raila managed to spite Kibaki this time.
Suppose Kibaki also chose to make him feel his weight too!!!!!
Kibaki can call back the out riders,
He can assign him a lower cadre Merc,e.g C200.
He can down grade his guards.
etc
Lesson,dont start a war you can never win.
Of course Railas last resort is Mass action.
The Somali Pirates also operate on loosely the same terms.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
Bareta
#93 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 8:08:00 AM

Bwana Chai,I hope you have acres of tea!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I do respect your opinion as I do to all other contributors to this site and anyone else. This however does not mean that I'm estopped from holding a divergent position. This is my democratic right which I'm not willing to forfeit.

Having said that,we all here have to admit that this country needs change,urgent reforms,and strong leadership more than ever before. MK has failed to lead. Kenya is going in the wrong direction,and going there pretty fast but the driver has closed his eyes! Not that I hate the individual but rather his style of leadership (or lack thereof).

If it is necessary to take control of the House to speed up reforms,and that Marende's decission will usher into this,so be it!

And if you feel pained by this move maybe because it distorts the balance of power or alters the status quo,sorry but that's life.

There are Kenyans from all walks of life who want to see change in this country; change they can touch,feel and identify with. Such people will continue to relentlessly fight for that change.

Not that RAO is perfect. He has had his fair share of gaffes but he always talks his ways out and people can clearly see the direction he is going to.

Chief
The General
#94 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 8:27:00 AM

@ B Timer,

are you a leader somewhere?

B.Timer
#95 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 8:40:00 AM

@General

Niw'o,Kuya wumiloni wa sua.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
The General
#96 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 8:51:00 AM

translation?

Fundaah
#97 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 8:55:00 AM

@ general =&gt; B.Timer 's translation: yes,in eastern province i.e from Kalonzo's stronghold,no wonder.Kalonzo in the house?

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me? Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
The General
#98 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 8:59:00 AM

You will live and you will learn

B.Timer
#99 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 9:02:00 AM

@General,

Easy buddy.

Just a commentator plain and simple.
Lakini tutakubaliana sote kwamba mambo mengine hata hayaijaji mtu awe Nuerosurgeon kuya-comprehend.

Mimi kwisha sirika sana kuona mtu ingine nakataa kufungua macho,ama ni bongo. Na si yule mnyama.
That was for easing nerves.

Cheers.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
Mr.Tea
#100 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 9:14:00 AM

By not declaring Raila or Kalonzo leader and chairman of HBC,Mr. Marende has proved that he is a leader cut from the same cloth as the principals.He has also refused to rise above parochial interests and shown himself as one held captive by powers that span him to the heights from which he is about to fall with a great thud. Just a matter of time.