wazua Tue, Oct 8, 2024

6 Pages«<3456>
Prime Minister Raila Odinga shows leadership by paying tax arrears.
#81 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 11:11:18 AM

In all these nobody seems to putting the blame rightly where it is: KRA and PSC......we hate our MPs so much that we want to crucify them yet their taxes are supposed to be deducted at source, from their employer!!!!
#82 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 11:12:38 AM

@Mukiha

You are certainly entitled to your opinion which I most respect, however, to reduce RAO's decision to pay taxes to that of a tax dodger who finally decides to pay is pedantic. Remember this MP's have been living off our spweat for 50 years and that one of the principals choosing to pay will whip the rest in line.

What should now happen is for the rest of the MP's to follow suit.

On another note, RAO gave 3 cheques to clear 3.9M, I wonder how they are going to clear be it that the amounts are over 1m, unless he banks in the same bank as KRA
Insurgent
#83 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 11:19:03 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

@Mukiha, It is so unlike you write such "glass half empty" rhetoric. What exactly is your problem here, is it the cheques that RAO brought or the media coverage.

The only reason RAO appeared on TV paying taxes was because it is news and not because he called them, the reason why it made news was probably for its symbolic value.

If the Prime Pig is serious, it should first return the around 15 acres in Malindi to the landless. He knows the land was set aside by the government to settle squatters, but given half a chance, he and his wife bought the same from former mayor of Malindi. Kwani shamba iliisha Naivasha ama Narok etc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=teWWtmLcoOY

Is that not a press conference he called to tell the world that he had paid taxes. Ai, hata kama nikumtetea, that is his podium. At times tower, are there journalists who camp there or how fast did they learn about Amolo's going to the counter and they appeared like superman.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fuo0jGW18yg

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

#84 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 11:21:28 AM

@ Obi....Surely someone in the office of the PM must have informed the media that the RAO would be heading to KRA to pay his taxes otherwise we wouldn't have seen him walking from his offices to Times tower (ati kama mwanachi wa kawaida) and pretending that pia yeye anaweza queue.....the guy even had a press conference after that to blame KRA for the unclaimed tax issue. Sometime back last year Kenyans demanded for Mps to pay their taxes but no one (apart from Muthama and PK) felt philanthropic enough to do so, now that the consitution demands of them to pay ndio wana anza kujifanya ati pesa si shida....BK!
#85 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 12:04:18 PM

@Insurgent/Taz

You are disappointed that RAO (someone you have never spoken well off in this forum) decided to pay his taxes, so now you are shifting the goal posts and arguing that it means nothing.

Out of interest, would you rather the other 218 mpigs don't pay their taxes because they did not start paying when PK and Muthama started paying?
Insurgent
#86 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 12:15:30 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
@Insurgent/Taz

You are disappointed that RAO (someone you have never spoken well off in this forum) decided to pay his taxes, so now you are shifting the goal posts and arguing that it means nothing.

Out of interest, would you rather the other 218 mpigs don't pay their taxes because they did not start paying when PK and Muthama started paying?
Come to think of it,their taxes wont make a difference in the one year. Those who have been paying for the last five yrs are the mature leaders. 700,000 is peanuts for an economy with a budget of 1.2 trillion.

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

#87 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 1:54:27 PM

...The loser has paid. Did he have to follow footsteps!!!
#88 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 2:06:33 PM

Thought he has just said that he is willing to pay only that nobody has told him how much he owes besides he doesn't keep money under his pillow. ABK!!
#89 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 2:13:25 PM

RAO: Hii si mambo ya yes/yes/no/yes...lipa ushuru, halafu EMK afuatilie
#90 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 3:46:41 PM

On a light note:
Honourable Kalonzo Musyoka will embark on a shuttle diplomacy campaign around Africa for support in opposing the taxation of MPs.
#91 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 3:56:20 PM

Wachaneni na Kalonzo aendelee kupitia katikati ya Raila na Kibaki. Today he will say he will pay [like Raila]; the tomorrow he will say he won't pay [like kibaki]!
#92 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 5:47:50 PM

mwenza wrote:

Thought he has just said that he is willing to pay only that nobody has told him how much he owes besides he doesn't keep money under his pillow. ABK!!

...Kwani hana bank kwa nyumba...Real men have banks in their homes!!!
...Aaache ujinga, My man RAO did not carry a sack of money to KRA...Bur
e kabisa!
#93 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 6:29:12 PM

what did you expect? Anyone after the big seat must do so. The court of public opinion will be harsh on anyone who doesnt pay. And...Raila has already made it political
#94 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 7:14:59 PM

@Obi .... umeguzwa pahali?? why all the venom? Kwani RAO puts ugali saucer on your dinning table? Listen my brother, don't get so personal on other guys here, they are just stating the naked truth. THE ONLY MPIGS WHO DESERVE CREDIT IN THIS PAYE MATTER ARE TWO, PK and MUTHAMA. OTHERS ARE CRAP, RAO INCLUDED!!! HE HAS JUST BOWED TO OUR PRESSURE, NO LEADERSHIP BY EXAMPLE THERE. HE HAD NO OPTION, JUST LIKE THE OTHERS, ONLY THAT HE SUCCUMBED AHEAD OF OTHERS. HIO TU.

And the upper case above are intentional!!
#95 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 7:27:16 PM

@Obi, my friend, RAO is just the opportunist he is. And many people, including you, have fallen for his PR antics, praising him for his 'leadership'. Like Kingfisher and others have said, only PK and Muthama can be hailed as the true leaders. When the constitution was passed, didnt he know he had to pay? When PK and Muthama started paying, kwani alikuwa wapi? Now when the new constitutional order is being put in place ndio anatoka kusema, "Oh, sina deni yoyote". That is what we call Bure Kabisa PR.
#96 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 7:31:18 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
@Mukiha

You are certainly entitled to your opinion which I most respect, however, to reduce RAO's decision to pay taxes to that of a tax dodger who finally decides to pay is pedantic. Remember this MP's have been living off our spweat for 50 years and that one of the principals choosing to pay will whip the rest in line.

What should now happen is for the rest of the MP's to follow suit.

Actually I think he was whipped in line by Wanjiku and the constitution.
QW25071985
#97 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 8:10:28 PM

am waiting for ruto,Pogisho and all the other presidential aspirants..i love the way this simple issue has been politicized...
if this isnt a PR stunt will RAO and the rest still be lining up the next time their taxes are due ?????? tufunguwe macho..Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
raszag
#98 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 9:33:10 PM

Bishop,Dr,Mpig Wanjiru.....Mpig.Mbuvi aka Mike sonko aka fence climber aka metal/grill boxer with bare knackers .....and Mpig. Wavinya wanifinya have also followed the precedence set by Mpig Raila and Musyimi....ABK..

Hongera kwa Peter Kenneth, Muthama and Jonny come late KRA( as they say Better late than never).....But all Hongera to the Mwananchi for passing the new katiba....

The new katiba is the best thing that happened to Kenya leave alone the 'fake' independence we got in 1963, the real thing happened last year in August....

Pongezi tena kwa wananchi wote...
Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
#99 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 10:53:09 PM

Njore wrote:
If anything, credit should go to J. Muthama and P. Kenneth and not to any other political leader who knowingly and willingly committed an economic crime for ten months with impunity. It is slowly coming to dawn on political leaders that days of impunity were buried with the old constitution. Incidentally, they are also not very sure what cards the new CJ may be holding under the table.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
real leadership come a long time a go by akina muthama and kenneth huyu mtu na media psykofants wake think he has done it out of free will.
he feared KRA and auctioneers knocking on his door alafu they auction kisumu molases plant...nooo... i keep forgetting thats a grabbed govt property..
come 2012 aende nyumbani like all the other old men
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
#100 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 11:05:37 PM

kalooser says he is willing and ready to pay but not sure wether he is able - jinga !!