70 Pages«<4748495051>»
Lamu/Mpeketoni
#481 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 1:12:20 AM

guru267 wrote:
The alternative view is that we have local alshabab trained youth amongst us who can be contracted for specific assignments like mpeketoni. And that's why the attackers burnt the two vans they were using and strolled back home in the neighborhood l. Why would anyone burn their only means of transport after undertaking a murderous operation hundreds of km inside enemy territory? That is unless you are a suicide jihadist.

@jaggernaut it would have taken the attackers just about two and a half hours to get to a boat by foot and flee to Somalia

But the above theory is the most likely one! The cells had their graduation ceremony shown by Al Jazeera so they must have returned with military training!

If they wanted to get to the sea-shore and back to somaliya, they would have driven to the east, not escaping further inland to the west towards witu and malindi.

Also, imagine you were the commander of alshabab/alqaeda in kismayo, somalia. Yaani, you are heading an outfit that downed American helicopters in the 90s and dragged the soldiers in the streets of mogadishu. You have hijacked numerous ocean liners and gotten billions in ransom. You also hit Kenya's most prestigious mall in 2013 due to kenya's meddling in somali affairs, and this gave you worldwide publicity. And now you are tasked to find the next target. Where would your next high profile attack be?

- mitumba sellers in gikomba market?
- a githurai/mwiki bus?
- some small scale farmers in an isolated rural village called mpeketoni?

My view is that alshabab would never ever go for such 'insignificant' targets. So all the attacks that we have been having in kenya have nothing to do with alshabab, except the high profile westgate attack, but rather these are locally executed attacks with individuals hiding under the cover of the alshabab.

@Jagger very valid points. Cause insecurity to force dialogue! BS.
jawz1
#482 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 1:23:53 AM

C&P

I have seen the script more times than I care to
remember. A spark is lit in an unpretentious
method in a far off outpost, just like Mpeketoni.
Two days later, the small embers generate some
heat. 65 dead turn to 100, then 300, before long,
thousands are dead. Massive rapes, wanton
destruction of property; the whole land is lit.
This is the fight on social media, “Kill them,
useless people,” “Hang all by the neck until they
die,” “Circumcise them with a blunt knife,”
“Washenzi wauawe wote,” “Somebody should find
reason to send a bullet into RAOs head,” “Uhunye
should burn in hell,” the vitriolic battle on
facebook is real.
Soon enough they generate enough heat, then hell
breaks loose. The first victims are far off. Then
the battle drums are beaten in your county, then
in your district before it reaches your
neighborhood.
Long before the battle reaches your village, you
soon realize that you cannot access the nearest
town, hakuna magari, hakuna unga in the dukas.
You cannot even get a Safaricom scratch card za
kununua internet bundles. So you are cut off from
the social media. The same one you used and
depended upon to “kill” your presumed enemies.
Before you know it, you escape death by a
whisker, but with a deep cut on your right
shoulder. No dispensary is open anywhere. No
hospital either. The fight for your community’s
right to be included in the Jubilee government
turns into a fight for your own life. The leaders
who egged you on are nowhere to be seen, or
heard. They are watching events unfold in the
safety of Sheraton Hotel by the Nile River,
Uganda.
Humanitarian organizations hurriedly put up
refugee camps. Maybe in a Catholic Church
compound. Maybe the UNHCR has erected tents
in Busia, Uganda. Or Moyale, Ethiopia. The UN
compound in Nairobi is turned into a huge
meeting place where all communities gather. And
you end up in one of the camps.
Fighting
for the few tents becomes the order of the day. A
few rations reach your perched throat three days
later. The gush on your right shoulder in
gangrenous. The overworked Medicines Sans
Frontier doctor is busy with a dying child next to
your bed in a stinking, wet, humid tent hospital.
There is wailing outside. You pray for death. But
it takes its sweet time.
Anderson Cooper and his trademark black T-Shirt
has made it to your camp. The wide view camera
catches you gnashing your teeth with high fever
and bloody bandages over your right shoulder.
Your picture is seen worldwide, thanks to
globalised 24 hour media.
Omondi meets with Karanja and Omar and
Werunga in the camp. They converse in low tones
in Swahili wondering where the rain started
beating them. They cannot remember when they
last took a bath. They share a lone cigarette
bootlegged in the camp by Mutiso.
In the meantime, in the Hilton Hotel, Addis Ababa,
the political leaders hammer a truce negotiated by
the Prime Minister of Ethiopia, Hailemariam
Desalegn and the AU. They share out government
positions.
But you cannot celebrate the truce. For you see,
three days before it happens, you, together with
43 others, are buried in a mass unmarked grave
12 miles outside the refugee camp. None of your
relatives will ever learn of your fate. Your
amputated right arm is food for the vultures and
hyenas in the refugee camp dump site.
Yes, my friend, war is real. It kills real people; it
leaves real women widowed, real children orphans,
real men maimed. Before you click ‘send’ that
bigoted, egotistical hate message on facebook,
twitter or whatsApp, think twice. Come on now,
burn Kenya with the “share” button. CNN and Al-
Jazeera will gladly cover you, for the whole world
to see you dying in a refugee camp.
WAR, MY FRIEND, BEGINS NOTHING, SOLVES
NOTHING, AND ENDS NOTHING!
By Peter Gaitho |
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
#483 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 1:27:16 AM

guru267 wrote:
The alternative view is that we have local alshabab trained youth amongst us who can be contracted for specific assignments like mpeketoni. And that's why the attackers burnt the two vans they were using and strolled back home in the neighborhood l. Why would anyone burn their only means of transport after undertaking a murderous operation hundreds of km inside enemy territory? That is unless you are a suicide jihadist.

@jaggernaut it would have taken the attackers just about two and a half hours to get to a boat by foot and flee to Somalia

But the above theory is the most likely one! The cells had their graduation ceremony shown by Al Jazeera so they must have returned with military training!

If they wanted to get to the sea-shore and back to somaliya, they would have driven to the east, not escaping further inland to the west towards witu and malindi.

Also, imagine you were the commander of alshabab/alqaeda in kismayo, somalia. Yaani, you are heading an outfit that downed American helicopters in the 90s and dragged the soldiers in the streets of mogadishu. You have hijacked numerous ocean liners and gotten billions in ransom. You also hit Kenya's most prestigious mall in 2013 due to kenya's meddling in somali affairs, and this gave you worldwide publicity. And now you are tasked to find the next target. Where would your next high profile attack be?

- a githurai/mwiki bus?

My view is that alshabab would never ever go for such 'insignificant' targets. So all the attacks that we have been having in kenya have nothing to do with alshabab, except the high profile westgate attack, but rather these are locally executed attacks with individuals hiding under the cover of the alshabab.

Im so done with this argument!

The gaps will soon all be filled...
#484 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 12:15:01 PM

guru267 wrote:
[quote=jaggernaut]The alternative view is that we have local alshabab trained youth amongst us who can be contracted for specific assignments like mpeketoni. And that's why the attackers burnt the two vans they were using and strolled back home in the neighborhood l. Why would anyone burn their only means of transport after undertaking a murderous operation hundreds of km inside enemy territory? That is unless you are a suicide jihadist.

^^^^ There are people who should be assisting police with investigations.

it seems people predicted this thing kitambo
kama huyu

Rink: Mpeketoni-ni-ya-walamu-milele

what does this imply? ===>

"
Lamu people have been grievously wronged by the Kenyatta regime. This historical injustice must be addressed now for the sake of genuine peace and stability in the area.

Above all, the new influx of IDPs which is further displacing the people of Lamu must be brought to an immediate end and the new arrivals returned whence they came from. If steps are not taken to deal with this situation, do not be surprised if you come to hear Lamu youth crossing the border into Somalia to train as terrorists and return back to fight for their homeland. What is happening now is recipe for future violence. Be warned Kenyans and start championing the cause of Lamu people for justice."

kizee1
#485 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 1:22:27 PM

guru267 wrote:

- a githurai/mwiki bus?

is it just me or does this sound like a warning?
#486 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 3:41:57 PM

kizee1 wrote:
guru267 wrote:

- a githurai/mwiki bus?

This could help fill in the gaps:

C & P from a close friend on the ground:

The Mwarabu driver (was spared as he was Muslim) let it out of the bag.

It all began in a local Al Shabaab cell in Majengo #The masjid Musa cell planned and executed it.. The 2 Kambas who were murdered - the brothers had transported the gang in 3 trips. Taken to forest, tied up: - goons went to Mpeketoni, killed, came back and murdered him and his brother much later. Shot thru the mouth to ensure no trace of the spoor.

My impression is that this cell is made up of the kawaida fellows we encounter in the streets. That being the case, then we r in for plenty of trouble - these guys can strike anywhere - because they are everywhere! Al Shabaab cells must be coexisting side by side with us!

Fitting in the theory that the attackers were:

1. Not from Somaliya
2. Not on Al Shaabab conventional mission - (Q: Whose mission was it?)
3. Not commanded and coordinated from Somaliya or AS Hq
4. Were keen in concealing their foot prints
5. Did not escape in the direction of Somaliya.

Conclusion:
1. RENTED TERRORISM?
2. Evolution of Al Shaabab??

limanika
#487 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 4:01:31 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
kizee1 wrote:
guru267 wrote:

- a githurai/mwiki bus?

This could help fill in the gaps:

C & P from a close friend on the ground:

The Mwarabu driver (was spared as he was Muslim) let it out of the bag.

It all began in a local Al Shabaab cell in Majengo #The masjid Musa cell planned and executed it.. The 2 Kambas who were murdered - the brothers had transported the gang in 3 trips. Taken to forest, tied up: - goons went to Mpeketoni, killed, came back and murdered him and his brother much later. Shot thru the mouth to ensure no trace of the spoor.

My impression is that this cell is made up of the kawaida fellows we encounter in the streets. That being the case, then we r in for plenty of trouble - these guys can strike anywhere - because they are everywhere! Al Shabaab cells must be coexisting side by side with us!

Fitting in the theory that the attackers were:

1. Not from Somaliya
2. Not on Al Shaabab conventional mission - (Q: Whose mission was it?)
3. Not commanded and coordinated from Somaliya or AS Hq
4. Were keen in concealing their foot prints
5. Did not escape in the direction of Somaliya.

Conclusion:
1. RENTED TERRORISM?
2. Evolution of Al Shaabab??

Am no security expert. But with the goings on one can easily put the pieces together --- it is public knowledge the ‘baab’ have a local cell- ‘hijra’. Recent high level execution of rebel clerics, swoop on eastleigh, loss of piracy biz, etc etc must have angered this cell/their backers. ‘hijra’s’ hatred of govt is not a monopoly, maybe discussions were held in dark places to shave / teach the govt a lesson. The current political arena must have provided a loophole, what remained was just to get supplies & no objection from ‘baab’ themselves, then identify a weak spot where to strike, common interests….
#488 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 4:10:41 PM

@Rahatupu

You do not need to be a genius to know the assailants did not come all the way from Somalia to do just that.
the 5 who KDF says were gunned down may have been Somalis whose stay in the country would be risky for them or lead investigators to other members, so they opt to try and make it back home.

These group is what we call sleeper cells. The boys have been well trained in Somalia and are now back.

The problem is they could just be normal neighbours from Lamu, disappeared for a year or so, then came back.. Some probably live in Nairobi travelled south for the operation and are now back in the city.. others probably in Malindi/Mombasa.
Some may even have just remained in the town as survivors and left a day later as victims.

With proper training, the 'locals' probably do the scouting of targets, Plan, then they start converging in the area pole pole.. meet to strategise and perfect, then strike. I'm sure they go in, ready to die but if they find the opportunity to run due to slow response by security forces, they go for that option, lay low again and wait.
Remember the planners and commanders are very intelligent guys who have been to school, lived in luxury before in the West, got bored and probably fought in Afghanistan, Syria, Somalia etc. the foot soldiers on the other hand are idiots ready to die.
They can probably strike almost anywhere now.. no city or town is safe.
In the meantime Our beloved government will keep telling us it is the opposition.
#489 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 4:22:19 PM

Which way and whatever the scenario and cause of the mayhem, the administration cannot afford to shift blame, hata kama ni OAR wacha he be treated like the terrorist he is presumed to be(God forbid). If its AS then they must face the full force of our forces not the law (sorry but its not deterrent).
#490 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 4:45:25 PM

I find the Lamu gavana too quiet. He hasnt said a thing? When mps went to meet UK in statehouse he didnt go? 5 days after the attack bodies are rotting under a tent? He doesnt have money to deal with emergencies?
70 Pages«<4748495051>»