wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

66 Pages«<4445464748>»
UEFA Champions League 2013/14
#901 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 1:06:43 PM

I don't understand what you mean by outplayed if the Bavarian keeper, Neuer, was busier than DeGea. Secondly, United's defenders did what they are paid to do, that is defend. Thirdly, 70% possession including back passes to the keeper, defensive midfielders, etc, never gives the true picture. The question still remains, what did they do with the possession. The answer is, they didn't make the superiority count in any way. Tactics, my friend. Tactics.

He will go on and on about possession when the game should be played with tactics, those defenders were United players, paid to do their job!!!!

First of all I've never been a fan of "parking the bus", i think if Hull or Norwich were to play with 9 defenders against Bayern, they would probably come out with a decent scoreline. Secondly, about 70% of the match was played in Man Utd's half with akina Vidic busy blocking goal-bound shots, which i have already applauded.

Bayern did everything right with their possession but couldn't penetrate the Utd's defense. At some point i think they tried to walk the ball into the net kama Arsenal. Truth be told, the Vidic goal was actually scored against the run of play. Man Utd would probably need a similar kind of performance from their defenders to win the second leg, problem is that they'll need to score not Bayern...which might open them up at the back.

Like i said the result doesn't really give a true picture of the match, Bayern were simply dominant but everyone is praising Man Utd because they did not concede as many goals as expected.....which i think was quite impressive. Btw Fellaini was poor last night, i think he was your weakest link.
#902 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 1:20:22 PM

I don't understand what you mean by outplayed if the Bavarian keeper, Neuer, was busier than DeGea. Secondly, United's defenders did what they are paid to do, that is defend. Thirdly, 70% possession including back passes to the keeper, defensive midfielders, etc, never gives the true picture. The question still remains, what did they do with the possession. The answer is, they didn't make the superiority count in any way. Tactics, my friend. Tactics.

He will go on and on about possession when the game should be played with tactics, those defenders were United players, paid to do their job!!!!

First of all I've never been a fan of "parking the bus", i think if Hull or Norwich were to play with 9 defenders against Bayern, they would probably come out with a decent scoreline. Secondly, about 70% of the match was played in Man Utd's half with akina Vidic busy blocking goal-bound shots, which i have already applauded.

Bayern did everything right with their possession but couldn't penetrate the Utd's defense. At some point i think they tried to walk the ball into the net kama Arsenal. Truth be told, the Vidic goal was actually scored against the run of play. Man Utd would probably need a similar kind of performance from their defenders to win the second leg, problem is that they'll need to score not Bayern...which might open them up at the back.

Like i said the result doesn't really give a true picture of the match, Bayern were simply dominant but everyone is praising Man Utd because they did not concede as many goals as expected.....which i think was quite impressive. Btw Fellaini was poor last night, i think he was your weakest link.

Bayern, utterly dominant in possession from the off, created very little considering all of the possession the team had. A team doesn't keep possession and is unable to penetrate then you say they did everything right. They should have changed their strategy, that's where they went wrong. And again, when you have a weakened side, and the opponents are the best team in Europe, you don't go gungho, you play to your strengths. That's what United did. They defended. We could even have played Ben Amos in goal and he wouldn't have been noticed. Bayern were expected to be brutal, United had one up their sleeves. Guess which team went home frustrated.

"If Bayern are still undisputed favourites for this season’s trophy, this game suggested they maybe shouldn’t quite be the “super favourites” that Arsene Wenger argued they were."
#903 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 1:44:26 PM

Bayern, utterly dominant in possession from the off, created very little considering all of the possession the team had. A team doesn't keep possession and is unable to penetrate then you say they did everything right. They should have changed their strategy, that's where they went wrong. And again, when you have a weakened side, and the opponents are the best team in Europe, you don't go gungho, you play to your strengths. That's what United did. They defended. We could even have played Ben Amos in goal and he wouldn't have been noticed. Bayern were expected to be brutal, United had one up their sleeves. Guess which team went home frustrated.

"If Bayern are still undisputed favourites for this season’s trophy, this game suggested they maybe shouldn’t quite be the “super favourites” that Arsene Wenger argued they were."

bayern drew with arsenal and were beaten by man city - either way an away draw in a highly defensive game is a good result, plus a team frustrated by an away draw speaks volumes.
#904 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 2:18:38 PM

This is what the Bavarians thought of proceedings...

http://espnfc.com/news/s...anchester-united?cc=3888
#905 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 2:25:49 PM

I still think they are the favourites for this season's title, last year Arsenal almost knocked them out at the Allianz Arena but they still went on to crash Juventus and Barca on their way to the final. Man Utd had nothing to lose last night, almost everyone expected them to suffer a heavy defeat but they redeemed themselves with a good defensive display. Let's wait and see how they perform next week on Wednesday before writing them off. IMO Man Utd at the moment ni kama those small teams in the EPL which play to frustrate the big boys.
#906 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 3:48:52 PM

I still think they are the favourites for this season's title, last year Arsenal almost knocked them out at the Allianz Arena but they still went on to crash Juventus and Barca on their way to the final. Man Utd had nothing to lose last night, almost everyone expected them to suffer a heavy defeat but they redeemed themselves with a good defensive display. Let's wait and see how they perform next week on Wednesday before writing them off. IMO Man Utd at the moment ni kama those small teams in the EPL which play to frustrate the big boys.

Until they win the Champions League like Chelsea in 2011/2012....

Or until the opponent starts making quotes like "18th century football" yet they're the masters of such...

To frustrate a big team and get a result is much better than to play beautiful football and have nothing to show for it....especially in a cup tie
#907 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 3:55:17 PM

Or until the opponent starts making quotes like "18th century football" yet they're the masters of such...

To frustrate a big team and get a result is much better than to play beautiful football and have nothing to show for it....especially in a cup tie

Applause Applause Applause Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ....hiyo ya @TAZ is the mentality of a supporter of a small team!!!!
Murang'a
#908 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 4:28:18 PM

Manchester United defended like a handball
team, says Arjen Robben
Bayern Munich's Arjen Robben has criticized
Manchester United's approach at Old Trafford.
Arjen Robben has criticized Manchester
United's defensive approach during Tuesday
Champions League 1-1 draw at Old Trafford,
comparing it to the sport of handball.
Robben, speaking to the German media, said:
"It was not easy, as our opponents didn't leave
any gaps. We wanted to play football but they
tried to stop us. The English were just playing
on the counter and have played very
defensively, it was almost like in handball.
"But when you go a goal down you have to be
pleased with a draw. 1-1 is a very good result
that we can take home with us and then we just
have to finish it off next week."
Team-mate Toni Kroos agreed, saying: "It was
difficult: we were dominant all the time. It's
very difficult to play against a team that
consistently has all its players around their own
penalty area."
Philipp Lahm said Bayern were confident of a
positive result: "We wanted to win here, but if
you come back from 1-0 down you can be
satisfied. It puts us in a good starting
position."
Pep Guardiola, who also criticized the red card
shown to Bastian Schweinsteiger, said: "Its not
easy when you want to control the game and
there are nine players in the box, eight, nine
players there. So it's not easy. But we
controlled the game."
IMITATION IS LIMITATION
#909 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 4:28:33 PM

ION....

http://espnfc.com/news/s...it-transfer-ban?cc=3888

Ominous if upheld considering their back line....
#910 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 4:30:03 PM

UCL Quarters First leg tonight: Real Madrid vs Borusia Dortmund and PSG vs Chelsea. Tune in at 2145 EAT
#911 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 4:30:08 PM

Chelsea are probably the best at that because they have good defensive players but Man Utd sioni mkitoboa with the current squad, hata wewe unajua hivyo. Anyway no need of endless arguments wacha we wait for next week, you'll be back to your usual chorus of Moyes out!
urstill1
#912 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 6:15:47 PM

Buster
#913 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 10:02:18 PM

Early goals in both games unlike yesterday.
githundi
#914 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 10:41:59 PM

Very entertaining games to watch.
Although Dortmund are a shadow of their last year team.
Completely overwhelmed by Madrid.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
Buster
#915 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 11:35:28 PM

What a goal!!! Pastore a star in the making.
#916 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2014 7:42:50 AM

Kweli Chelsea ni team ndogo, no emotions, no comments, nobody seems to care!!!
#917 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2014 7:58:30 AM

The silence from London is welcome...where did @RicDees disappear to?

Anyway, that Pastore goal was a killer, it made the work at the Bridge all the more difficult, though Zlatan may not recover in time. I don't see Chelsea winning 2 nil or 4-1, I'm pretty certain PSG will sneak in a goal. But sisi tuko na shida zetu so hio haijalishi

Madrid overwhelmed BvB especially in the first half and could have scored at least 6 if it wasn't for Weidenfeller. But the funny thing is that BvB had 3 or 4 clear chances to score but poor finishing let them down, and the young players did not show belief going forward. Madrid's defense will be put to the sword when they meet better sides not ravaged by injuries like BvB.

This man Ronaldo. He equalled the scoring record set by Messi for the most goals in a CL season, and you can't put it past him to score the 15th in the return. What a goal scoring machine!!!
#918 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2014 8:06:46 AM

The silence from London is welcome...where did @RicDees disappear to?

Anyway, that Pastore goal was a killer, it made the work at the Bridge all the more difficult, though Zlatan may not recover in time. I don't see Chelsea winning 2 nil or 4-1, I'm pretty certain PSG will sneak in a goal. But sisi tuko na shida zetu so hio haijalishi

Madrid overwhelmed BvB especially in the first half and could have scored at least 6 if it wasn't for Weidenfeller. But the funny thing is that BvB had 3 or 4 clear chances to score but poor finishing let them down, and the young players did not show belief going forward. Madrid's defense will be put to the sword when they meet better sides not ravaged by injuries like BvB.

This man Ronaldo. He equalled the scoring record set by Messi for the most goals in a CL season, and you can't put it past him to score the 15th in the return. What a goal scoring machine!!!

The guy is phenomenal!!!!
iller
#919 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2014 9:15:03 AM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly washana na sisi
#920 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2014 10:21:34 AM

iller wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly washana na sisi

Mourhino spotted in London Heathrow!!