wazua Wed, Aug 6, 2025

108 Pages«<4344454647>»
EPL 2011-2012
#881 Posted: : Sunday, November 27, 2011 9:03:15 AM

Sober wrote:
TiggerTiggy wrote:
seems sir Alex forgot to mpesa the linesman tonight! go man city go!

Mpesa was undergoing a system upgrade and whenever je tried the zap one the referee didnt check as he didnt expect SAF's transation on that network.

Whatever the Mpesa issues, it was so thrilling and throbbing to see the Magpies hold on in the last 10 minutes.
Applause Applause

#882 Posted : Sunday, November 27, 2011 12:09:49 PM

The blues had a reason to smile finally.
#883 Posted : Sunday, November 27, 2011 1:03:16 PM

Thomas Vermaelen is the 31st player in Premier League history to score a goal and an own goal in the same game.
safariant
#884 Posted : Sunday, November 27, 2011 3:42:14 PM

Wales Manager Gary Speed passes on. Just when his managerial career was beginning to flourish.

www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-15909277
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#885 Posted : Sunday, November 27, 2011 4:57:09 PM

Gary speed left way too soon...
#886 Posted : Sunday, November 27, 2011 6:02:36 PM

He was only 42, too bad. This guy was a real legend. Raised the tea, from postion 115 to 50. We need a Gary Speed
#887 Posted : Sunday, November 27, 2011 6:08:01 PM

RIP Gary Speed,

Liverpool today YNWA!!!!
#888 Posted : Sunday, November 27, 2011 6:20:43 PM

In other news, barca are now 6 points behind Real Madrid after losing 1-nil to lowlt Getafe!!!
#889 Posted : Sunday, November 27, 2011 9:10:52 PM

If only that linesman had made the right call jana......NKT, congrats Liverpool for almost overcoming Shitty, Joe Hart was awesome!!!!
TiggerTiggy
#890 Posted : Sunday, November 27, 2011 10:42:52 PM

safariant wrote:
Wales Manager Gary Speed passes on. Just when his managerial career was beginning to flourish.

www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-15909277

dude hanged himself. whats up with that? nways RIP Gary speed. in other news, HOW MANY GOALS DID A LIVERPOOL PlAYER SCORE AGAINST MANCITY?
Marty
#891 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 6:52:02 AM

A strange weekend, what with losing a legend via a suicide. What happened to this dude, family problems?? ama ni nini. He was doing quite well as a manager.

Some results in the EPL were unexpected, the Gunners really laboured for the draw, I guess the champions league escapades really had a toll on them.

The ref made very wrong calls during the Man u game, in a way he had a direct influence on the results. It was clearly not a penalty, even the second yellow card on Gutierrez did not seem clear cut.

Chelsea had to win, nuff said.

Man City Liverpool, the only prediction I got right, was quite a cracker. Me thinks Liverpool just know how to deal with big teams. If they can find a way of dealing with mid table and small teams, they can be quite a force.

Tottenham are slowly climbing up and no-one seems to notice them, am not sure to call them contenders but they seem to be doing stuff right.
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#892 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 8:03:35 AM

That was a cruel PENALTY call by the Newcastle Linesman. If only Keane was around but again the god's watched and ensured that City drew at Anfield and Gunners had similar fate too. The events at OT had contrived to provide for a nightmare weekend but Gunners and Shitty couldn't take advantage.

RIP Gary Speed.
#893 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 8:03:46 AM

Referees:

Devils vs Magpies - Philip Dowd
Reds vs Citizens - Martin Atkinson

For that reason, I have revised my earlier 1:1 prediction at Anfield to 2:1, I believe there will be a penalty/controversial decision in this 2 games

These seem to be the only predictions I got rightSad

By the way @Karisblue,good stuff, got the Spurs and Anfield predictions spot onApplause

Anyway,now I know how it feels to be on the worng end of the wrong refereeing decisions!The penalty was never there and that Hernandez goal that was ruled off was marginal (I've seen those given before)- that linesman must be a closet City fand'oh!

I agree with the pundits that they should restore the touch line video monitor that they used to have initially where in such a dead ball case, the 4th official would quickly look at the replay and tell the referee he is right on his first decision to rule a goal kick and he should therefore over-rule the blind linesman!

Water under the bridge I guess, hope such decisions will not have an effect on the title like they did in the 2009/2010 season when 2 offside decisions were passed over as Drogba scored twice to ensure we finished the season 1 point behind Chelsea (that one was painful, especially after Gerrard quickly followed with an obvious back pass to Drogba at Anfield to seal our fate)

I didn't watch the Arsenal match but I understand they laboured for a draw - even City didn't look sharp at Anfield, which as @Marty rightly points out, is a pointer to the midweek CL exertions (apart from AC & Real, all big teams dropped points over the wkend after CL - Bayern lost to Mainz 2-3 and Barca lost to Getafe!!!:d/ )

City can thank Joe Hart for keeping out the Kop (so should the Magpies with Krul at OT)but I honestly think Man City now have what it takes to win that title - they're able to grind out results even in difficult matches, a thing Man Utd are best known for in the past. I won't be surprised if they lose to some lowly team (like we did to Wolves when we went 18 unbeaten games last season)but I prefer if they drop down to Europa league so as to be playing games on Thursdays and hopefully that will take their toll.

Spurs are going about their business quite well, picking up points against small opposition (which normally can win you a title if the only points you drop are against the big teams) but their credentials should be tested when they host Chelsea just before Christmas.

Carling cup coming up...
#894 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 8:22:01 AM

[quote=smano][

when 2 offside decisions were passed over as Drogba scored twice to ensure we finished the season 1 point behind Chelsea (that one was painful, especially after Gerrard quickly followed with an obvious back pass to Drogba at Anfield to seal our fate)

That incident always leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. A blue shirt a whole two yard Off and the linesman was just mute.

United played lackluster in first half. I was offended. Nani and Young particularly were out of position. SAF should replaced Nani at 70 with Macheda. hayo ni maoni yangu lakini. December used to be our Month. I hope we keep the tradition.
And to know that City had only one injury - Hargreaves:)
Karisblue
#895 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 9:13:06 AM

@smano, thanks smile smile smile

All in all a good weekend, we keep a clean sheet and close the gap on most of our rivals, except Spurs.

#896 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 11:09:54 AM

Some exciting fixtures coming up mid week!!!!

Tuesday, November 29, 2011
22:40 SS5 The Carling Cup Round 5: Chelsea v Liverpool
22:40 SSL Serie A: Napoli v Juventus
22:55 SS3 The Carling Cup Round 5: Arsenal v Man City

Wednesday, November 30, 2011
21:00 SS3 UEFA Europa League: Celtic v Atletico Madrid
22:40 SS5 The Carling Cup Round 5: Man Utd v Crystal Palace
22:55 SS6 Spanish La Liga: Barcelona v Rayo Vallecano
23:00 SS3 UEFA Europa League: Tottenham Hotspur v POAK
#897 Posted : Monday, November 28, 2011 11:48:14 AM

@McDoba, Liverpool and Man City are up in arms about playing top sides 2 days after playing each other, which I understand was beacuse of some protest rallies (or somesuch)planned on Wednesday in the respective towns - it's really unfair beacuse I would imagine City can field a very strong team B but would still want some regulars who played on Sunday to come in - Liverpool will have to play a Chelsea team that had the whole Sunday off to recuperate.

Expect wholesome changes therefore results for both games could go either way. But I see City's team B being too strong for Arsenal's youngsters (kina oxygen and co.) but football has a knack for surprises.
Marty
#898 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2011 8:34:17 AM

First managerial casualty, Steve Bruce. His Sunderland team has only won 2 matches out of 13. Next ni nani????????????? AVB?? I hope Abramovic does not sack this dude, I have a feeling he'll come good in the second half of the season and thereafter.
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#899 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2011 9:02:54 AM

Personally I think it was too soon to sack Bruce - not even half way through the season!Funny how it a former Man Utd player single handedly and effectively managed to get his coach, a former Man Utd player himself, fired.d'oh!

If anyone should have been sacked by now it should have been Steve Kean but what do those Indians go ahead and do??? Give him a new improved contract!!!d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Either they know something we don't or think football is like chicken business.

AVB's departure will not help Chelsea ( a team in transition) but I feel that if they're relegated to Europa league next week then the writing will be on the wall for AVB - Roman should have stuck with Ancelotti, what an impatient billionaire! Jose could have already delivered the holy grail that is the CL on a platter by now! That competition seems to getting tougher with each year and their best effort (Iniesta's 96th minute semi winner & Terry's epic MOscow final slip) might never be reached again.

Oh well,GGMUsmileApplause
www.eastafricanized.com
#900 Posted : Thursday, December 01, 2011 9:08:23 AM

For all you Chelsea funs like myself.. Take heart. We shall live to see another season..