wazua Sun, Aug 3, 2025

108 Pages«<4142434445>»
EPL 2011-2012
#841 Posted : Sunday, November 20, 2011 10:30:44 PM

they're being to harsh on Andre Villas-Boas. Need to give him time to build his own squad. He inherited this one from Ancelotti.
#842 Posted : Sunday, November 20, 2011 10:56:53 PM

Chelsea never 1-2 win against the big boys.
#843 Posted : Sunday, November 20, 2011 11:01:14 PM

Chelsea needs an overhaul. Terry has aged.
Marty
#844 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 7:24:16 AM

Interesting weekend.

The gunners continue their fine run. RVP still on fire, not sure what will happen when he hits a dry patch. He needs to keep healthy first, probably then he must be wrapped in cotton wool.

Man U game was rather boring for a neutral fan. Anyone could have been forgiven if they dozed off.

Man City ended Newcastles undefeated start. Who will beat the Citizenz?? Anyone?? And the Magpies might not get a single point in 3 matches.

The biggest march for the weekend was kinda evenly balanced but couldn't help but notice that the Blues were constantly caught out in defence. I guess the high line does not serve them well. Tactically, AVB is yet to grasp the best system. Someone needs to tell him that Gus, Abramovic's friend is currently jobless.
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#845 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 8:28:42 AM

@Karisblue got the City & Man Utd predictions spot on, @Taz got for his team as well, sadly I was also right about my team (after I changed from my earlier prediction). Now that we have lost Cleverley till Christmas, I foresee us playing the same dull football we've been playing since the Cleverley Anderson midfield partnership was ruthlessly brought to an end by the asshole called Kevin Davies (hope someone gives him some dose of ankle ligament damage). After that the goals dried up, Rooney now goes deep to get the ball and is no longer in goal scoring positions. Thankfully, our defense is now solid so we're not leaking goals.

The Kop always amaze me at how they put up good performances in big matches then go and get a nil nil draw at home against teams like Swansea (no offense)...hopefully they'll have a big game against City at Anfield and bring them back down to earth (and reduce the deificit to 2 points)

AVB just needs to change his tactics, sacking him will not help - the problem is defense and midfield since the back are playing a high line and the mid is not doing their defensive duties

Arsenal better pray for RvP's continued good health because he'll continue scoring, they have no big game coming up for now so I expect them to continue picking up points if the hold their own against small opposition (fulham, wigan and everton) before they face another real test in City at Emirates.

After December we'll have a better picture of how the table might end up in May.
#846 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 8:33:31 AM

Coolio wrote:
Chelsea needs an overhaul. Terry has aged.

Its official Terry is old and going by yesterdays game,he should retire and give room for more young blood.
@Sober congrats at least ur team got 3points.
Arsenal we are on our way up those who thought we would stay at number 17 forever better start to run.
#847 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 9:07:32 AM

mwenza wrote:
And with that loss chelsea joins asenane in bidding farewell to the EPL title this season.

I knew chelsea defence was pedestrian when they were torn apart by a pretty average asenane team a few weeks ago.

I really don't think you are a Man Utd fan because all you talk about is Arsenal. Ati sijui we are an average team, Newcastle are ahead of us mara ati we've bid farewell to the title....only 7 points separate 2nd and 7th place in the league. By the time we get to Christmas mambo itakuwa tofauti. Here you were telling us how titles are lost 10 games into the season.

One thing i'm sure of with Arsenal is that incase RVP gets injured someone else will take up the role of scoring goals. I really can't wait for Wilshere's return in January...

#848 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 9:16:51 AM

@Taz, am sure someone else can score for arsenal but not with the same consistency and effectiveness, that's what I mean. Did you see the way Gervinho rounded the keeper only to give him the ball back? And then Song cleverly passed the ball to RvP for Arsenal's second coz not only was Gervinho off but Song probably thought, this guy will probably blast the ball over.

The depth of City is quite enviable but I think Newcastle were really unlucky - up until the first goal City just dominated possession bila looking very threatening and the 3rd penalty killed off the contest. Had Ben Arfa's shot that hit the post gone in, who knows? But a win is a win, ask Man Utd, playing poorly and getting 3 points (we're good at that) but I don't know how many trophies we will win with such play
kangi
#849 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 9:28:34 AM

@Taz, am sure someone else can score for arsenal but not with the same consistency and effectiveness, that's what I mean. Did you see the way Gervinho rounded the keeper only to give him the ball back? And then Song cleverly passed the ball to RvP for Arsenal's second coz not only was Gervinho off but Song probably thought, this guy will probably blast the ball over.

The depth of City is quite enviable but I think Newcastle were really unlucky - up until the first goal City just dominated possession bila looking very threatening and the 3rd penalty killed off the contest. Had Ben Arfa's shot that hit the post gone in, who knows? But a win is a win, ask Man Utd, playing poorly and getting 3 points (we're good at that) but I don't know how many trophies we will win with such play

@smano am also doubting the credentials of your team.At the Liberty, only the profligacy of Sinclair and the colorful Dyer was enough to see you take the three points at the boring game.Otherwise, the team looks beatable unlike at the beginning of the season.

Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
#850 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 10:01:45 AM

@Kangi, I agree...the difference between us and the Chelsea of last season, is that we're still winning.

That's enough to take us through what (on paper) is an easy December:
Villa away
Basel away
Wolves home
QPR away
Fulham away
Wigan home
Blackburn home

We'll hopefully play better when the full team is back (Rafael,Smalling, Clevereley, Anderson, Young)
#851 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 10:52:42 AM

I think Man-City will face their 1st defeat this weekend going by how Liverpool has been playing and you know what happens to morale in EPL after a defeat. Btw, I'm not a Lpool fan but mad respect after their match yesterday.

#852 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 2:49:56 PM

mwenza wrote:
And with that loss chelsea joins asenane in bidding farewell to the EPL title this season.

I knew chelsea defence was pedestrian when they were torn apart by a pretty average asenane team a few weeks ago.

I really don't think you are a Man Utd fan because all you talk about is Arsenal. Ati sijui we are an average team, Newcastle are ahead of us mara ati we've bid farewell to the title....only 7 points separate 2nd and 7th place in the league. By the time we get to Christmas mambo itakuwa tofauti. Here you were telling us how titles are lost 10 games into the season.

One thing i'm sure of with Arsenal is that incase RVP gets injured someone else will take up the role of scoring goals. I really can't wait for Wilshere's return in January...

Don't worry my brother, the winner of this season's EPL title will come from a very small set of two. This for me is not rocket science.

Make no mistake, what am not about to do is spend time praising Man U. How do you praise a winning club when the record is there for all to see? Did I hear somebody say 19?
#853 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 4:04:32 PM

I think Man-City will face their 1st defeat this weekend going by how Liverpool has been playing and you know what happens to morale in EPL after a defeat. Btw, I'm not a Lpool fan but mad respect after their match yesterday.

thanks for that..
Nobby
#854 Posted : Monday, November 21, 2011 4:46:37 PM

mwenza wrote:
Sober wrote:
mwenza wrote:
Sober wrote:
And new castle receive the first test of what top flight football means.

They looked like little boys playing against big men. Total mismatch!

they can as well argue that they haven't lost at home this season. consistency will help them a lot this season.

A better argument would be that they are still above a certain london club on the log.

Chelsea, West Ham, QPR, Spurs, which one?
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
#855 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 8:59:47 AM

Nobby wrote:
mwenza wrote:
Sober wrote:
mwenza wrote:
Sober wrote:
And new castle receive the first test of what top flight football means.

They looked like little boys playing against big men. Total mismatch!

they can as well argue that they haven't lost at home this season. consistency will help them a lot this season.

A better argument would be that they are still above a certain london club on the log.

Chelsea, West Ham, QPR, Spurs, which one?

A certain North-London club.

Thankfully after their win against Villa last night, another north london club, Spurs are now 3rd on the log.
#856 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 9:07:48 AM

mwenza wrote:
And with that loss chelsea joins asenane in bidding farewell to the EPL title this season.I knew chelsea defence was pedestrian when they were torn apart by a pretty average asenane team a few weeks ago.

Maybe a more correct statement should have been
"Chelsea have now officially joined asenane in the battle for fourth place". Hii sio siri.
#857 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 9:14:26 AM

@ Mwenza....So Man Utd, Spurs and Newcastle are in the race for second and third?
#858 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 9:22:30 AM

@ Mwenza....So Man Utd, Spurs and Newcastle are in the race for second and third?

Nope. Man U and Man city are fighting for first.
Burning Spear
#859 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 9:24:20 AM

I expect Arsenal my team to pick all the available 9 points in the next three matches before we get a point (draw with man city) on 18th December.

This will propel Arsenal to position 4 before 31st January. This having in mind that Chelsea have poor form and not solid to win against a good team,Magpies have tough games which they can win.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#860 Posted : Tuesday, November 22, 2011 9:33:56 AM

mwenza wrote:

Nope. Man U and Man city are fighting for first.

Didn't seem like much a "fight" last time the two teams met. Its still early we've only played 12 matches so far we are not even half way yet.