wazua Wed, Nov 5, 2025

70 Pages«<3839404142>»
SGR Progress thus far
#781 Posted : Sunday, June 11, 2017 8:42:16 PM

Liv wrote:

Thika superhighway 45 km long used sh 36 Billion to construct. Yet it doesn't have any direct revenue as users of the road don't pay anything directly. What is the payback period for this road?

I think you misunderstand the reason for infrastructure development. If the reason for building roads is to get direct revenue from the road then some areas will never have roads.

#782 Posted : Sunday, June 11, 2017 10:33:15 PM

Business Daily journalist Bonface Otieno shares experience from his maiden Nairobbery-Mambatha standard gauge railway journey.

Yada, yada, yada we are subjected to the same security checks as those at the airports.

I overhear some passengers with first class tickets complaining that they have been made to stand in the same queue as the ones with economy class tickets.

“Dear passenger, for safety purposes, you are reminded not to lean on the door when the train is moving.

Do not smoke, do not carry any firearm, throw your litter in the dustbin, do not carry any explosives and kindly make sure that your bag is well placed in the luggage carrier,” says the announcer.

This is followed almost immediately by a song by Kenny Rogers, The Gambler.

It makes me feel as if I’m in a plane, as the train snakes its way through the picturesque landscape.

Inside the economy class, navy blue seats, an (sic) extra legroom and a table at the side make the travel relatively comfortable.

You can work while travelling and charge your phone from a power socket adjacent to the table.

There is a luggage carrier with a total capacity of 70 tons and a sleepers coach.“Not many passengers are using the luggage carrier so far.

We are yet to decide on the amount of kilos each passenger will be allowed to carry,” says Bonface Muema, one of the senior attendants on the train.

It also comes with a complete kitchen on coach number six which can hold up to about 50 customers at ago.

They serve juices, sodas, water, juices, sandwiches and fruits. Alcohol is also sold in the kitchen.

A 250ml packet of (Peek n’ Peel) juice costs Sh150, a 150ml packet of juice Sh100 and a 350ml soda Sh100.

An apple in the costs Sh50 while sandwiches go for Sh250.

A 500ml canned Tusker costs Sh350.

Even though the attendant declines to disclose to me how much they normally make in a day, business looks good as the sale area is filled to capacity.

I can spot a number of middle-aged travelers enjoying their drinks.

Yada yada yada.

Full Article Link:
Liv
#783 Posted : Sunday, June 11, 2017 11:07:21 PM

Liv wrote:

Thika superhighway 45 km long used sh 36 Billion to construct. Yet it doesn't have any direct revenue as users of the road don't pay anything directly. What is the payback period for this road?

I think you misunderstand the reason for infrastructure development. If the reason for building roads is to get direct revenue from the road then some areas will never have roads.

Both you and hardwood misunderstood me. My point was that for government projects like SGR and thika superhighway, economic justification (payback, NPV, etc) is not the only consideration. There are other evaluation factors used to justify such projects including impact on the country's growth, country positioning, attractiveness to investors, politics, etc. Those saying SGR will take long to pay back should be asked how long superhighway will take for payback period.
#784 Posted : Monday, June 12, 2017 7:32:29 AM

#785 Posted : Monday, June 12, 2017 8:01:10 AM

Why does baba think kenyans are fools? The initial cost was 340B (400B in todays exchange rate) and Ohuru did it with 327B saving Kenya 13B (73B in today's exchange rates). He also completed the reli 1 year earlier. Baba should be ashamed of his lies.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/132uoky/-/index.html

On December 2, 2012 Business Daily wrote:

The Mombasa-Nairobi standard gauge railway, whose construction starts next year, is set to open up at least 40 business centres but divert business from the road to the port city. Construction of the line is estimated to cost Sh340 billion ($4 billion), according to disclosures contained in a regulatory filing. Kenya is planning to build 40 stations along the line, 33 of them once the railway becomes operational.
(Read: New commuter rail service to ease traffic jam)
Construction is expected to take five years beginning July next year through June 2018, with the railway running through Mombasa, Kilifi, Kwale, Taita-Taveta, Makueni, Kajiado, Machakos and Nairobi counties and opening up remote areas. However, some towns will face challenges because they depend on long-distance truck drivers as a key source of revenue.
#786 Posted : Monday, June 12, 2017 8:25:13 AM

#787 Posted : Monday, June 12, 2017 8:29:21 AM

#788 Posted : Monday, June 12, 2017 8:31:57 AM

#789 Posted : Monday, June 12, 2017 8:41:09 AM

The proposed SGR Phase 1 budget breakdown was:

Civil works - 220B
Rolling stock (trains, wagons etc) - 95B
Land compensation - 30B
Total - 345B

But brilliant Ohuru used 327B saving the country 18B, and completed the reli 1 year earlier.

https://www.standardmedi...ee-after-ditching-raila

http://www.businessdaily...1942-113q3yg/index.html

Pesa Nane
#790 Posted : Monday, June 12, 2017 8:48:09 PM

Ogas also have something to say Laughing out loudly

Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#791 Posted : Monday, June 12, 2017 9:14:32 PM

MY MAGICAL TRIP ON THE SGR TRAIN FROM NAIROBI TO MOMBASA

Life is full of surprises and excitement. I felt like a child as I walked towards the SGR Nairobi Terminus at Syokimau for a trip to Mombasa on the new service. I was probably the first Governor to take the train to the coastal town and it reminded me of my days as "Msafiri."

It was a cool Saturday morning of 10 June, 2017 and my blood was pumping full of excitement. I love train trips and the ability to travel from Nairobi to Mombasa in four hours in safety and comfort was exhilarating.

With my lovely Lillian to my side, I dragged our suitcase towards the entrance. The terminus building is captivating - high open spaces and looking like an international, modern airport terminal than a regular train station.

The station's toilets are brand new, good, but in a mark of shame, had no water (despite the station being new). The ladies toilet had water spilt everywhere on the floor but the taps were dry and the stench was starting to build. I hope Gen. Kianga, Chairman of Kenya Railways and able CEO Atanas Maina will move with speed and have no mercy as they take care of this Third World mentality failure common in Africa.

After security check, we went up the escalator and were greeted by a crowd of passengers - thousands of travelers, also on the same trip. I had heard that this Madaraka Express was popular but I was amazed by how popular it is.

I scanned my ticket at the entry gates and they opened automatically and we walked through. Wow. Very efficient. Great use of light and signage declared that this was a modern day wonder.

We found our coach (or is it carriage?), settled and at 9 am sharp, the train rolled out of the station and we were on our way, together with thousands, to Mombasa.

The train journey was comfortable. The coaches are clean, have plugins for charging phones and clean toilets. Contemporary and popular music was piped down the 15 carriages. I bobbed my head to Lucky Dube, Sauti Sol and even shuffled my feet to Tekno's Pana (which I happen to love).

The train's movement was a surprise - very smooth and deceiving in terms of speed. I looked at the trees and grasslands pass slowly outside. You do not notice the speed unless you look down at the tracks. Signs on an LED display on each end of the couches indicated the speed - averaging 110 to 120 kilometers an hour. However, it felt as if we were only doing 40 kph. Well controlled air conditioning added to the comfort.

We chatted with some of the 29 crew members on the train. Irene Chebett from Eldoret told me how she spotted an employment advert in the newspapers last year and applied. Justus Mutunga Nzesa from Mwingi also saw the advert. All the crew members from their supervisors Stella Ndiwa and Kennedy Mugo to crew members Jeniffer Sambu and Brian Timothy Karmanga, all saw the newspaper adverts, applied, were interviewed hired and trained. They all come from every corner of Kenya.

I took a walk down the coaches and chatted with fellow travelers. I got the notion that most were traveling down to Mombasa because now they could on the train. Some told me they had chosen to go down for the weekend so as to sample the train.

Family members, children, tourists and adventure seekers chatted, happy that what was once a dream was now a reality.

I noticed some travelers had carried their own snacks and drinks.

"Wewe Governor Mutua, ambia Uhuru awachilie hawkers wauze chakula ndani ya SGR," one man shouted on seeing me. "Chakula hapa haitoshi na bei yake in kali sana. Chupa Ndogo ya maji ni mia Bwana."

Fellow travelers cheered as they agreed with him. I made a mental note to inform the Kenya Railways CEO. There is a reason President Uhuru lowered the ticket prices to 700 shs. The train tickets and food sold on board should be of an affordable rate for the common mwananchi.

Outside, as we passed Tsavo National Park, elephants seemed to raise their heads and look at this iron snake as it sped from the highlands to the ocean.

We had a 10 minute stop at Mtito Andei to allow the Nairobi bound train to pass (It passed so fast that you only had time to say, "Is that the tra..?.."). Then, seeming to float in the air, we rolled into the magnificent Mombasa terminus at Miritini just after 1:30 pm.

And just like that, four and half hours after departing Nairobi, Lillian and I walked out of the Mombasa station proud that now Kenyans' lives were being transformed by the SGR train service. It was a magical train trip and I encourage all to try it. I am now working on how to get the SGR service to Machakos.

As we say in Maendeleo Chap Chap, Inawezekana na Itawezekana.

Dr. Alfred N. Mutua
#792 Posted : Monday, June 12, 2017 9:20:45 PM

Why SGR is more expensive..

KE SGR VS ET ELECTRIC TRAINS
Fyatu
#793 Posted : Monday, June 12, 2017 9:40:14 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Ogas also have something to say Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly We have been vindicated
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#794 Posted : Monday, June 12, 2017 11:23:01 PM

These vloggers are having a field day.

Kysse....approximately how many TEUs are these?

#795 Posted : Tuesday, June 13, 2017 7:29:14 AM

@ murchir I have managed to count 41 teus.
The camera man stopped filming so they are definately more.

Iganamagana
#796 Posted : Tuesday, June 13, 2017 7:40:40 AM

Why does baba think kenyans are fools? The initial cost was 340B (400B in todays exchange rate) and Ohuru did it with 327B saving Kenya 13B (73B in today's exchange rates). He also completed the reli 1 year earlier. Baba should be ashamed of his lies.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/132uoky/-/index.html

On December 2, 2012 Business Daily wrote:

The Mombasa-Nairobi standard gauge railway, whose construction starts next year, is set to open up at least 40 business centres but divert business from the road to the port city. Construction of the line is estimated to cost Sh340 billion ($4 billion), according to disclosures contained in a regulatory filing. Kenya is planning to build 40 stations along the line, 33 of them once the railway becomes operational.
(Read: New commuter rail service to ease traffic jam)
Construction is expected to take five years beginning July next year through June 2018, with the railway running through Mombasa, Kilifi, Kwale, Taita-Taveta, Makueni, Kajiado, Machakos and Nairobi counties and opening up remote areas. However, some towns will face challenges because they depend on long-distance truck drivers as a key source of revenue.

#797 Posted : Tuesday, June 13, 2017 8:49:33 AM

Wah! Imagine the capacity when double stacked
#798 Posted : Tuesday, June 13, 2017 10:24:41 AM

For my knowledge,what ate TEUS.

#799 Posted : Tuesday, June 13, 2017 10:27:46 AM

For my knowledge,what ate TEUS.

From Wikipedia:
The twenty-foot equivalent unit (often
TEU or teu ) is an inexact unit of cargo capacity often used to describe the capacity of container ships and
container terminals .[1] It is based on the volume of a 20-foot-long (6.1 m)
intermodal container , a standard-sized metal box which can be easily transferred between different modes of transportation, such as ships, trains and trucks. [1]
The container is defined by its length though there is a lack of standardisation in regard to height, ranging between 4 feet 3 inches (1.30 m) and 9 feet 6 inches (2.90 m), with the most common height being 8 feet 6 inches (2.59 m). [2] Also, it is common to designate 45-foot (13.7 m) containers as 2 TEU, rather than 2.25 TEU.
#800 Posted : Tuesday, June 13, 2017 11:11:47 AM

Why SGR is more expensive..

KE SGR VS ET ELECTRIC TRAINS

Was 100B stolen?
http://nairobiwire.com/2...-stolen-sgr-project.html