wazua Mon, Mar 23, 2026

6 Pages«<23456>
Is Equity a political bank?
kokwa
#31 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 2:54:40 PM

@fellifel,
Its good to find that you care abt the amt of salo they take homeSad .the only problem according to JM is that its the best bet for any employee at that given time otherwise he/she is just free to move to a better paying employerPray .

EB is very lucky to have a very strategic MD at the top.he who recogonizes an opportunity and/or loop holes created by other market leaders and makes good use of it.he never discriminated on the basis of 'poor',soily rurals,'illitrates',blah blah blah.............Shame on you .how many times have you gone to EBs banking halls and found them stained by the mud or seen the money from the ATMs all soiledShame on you ????.

if you can't beat them,join them..........Applause !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
mozenrat
#32 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 3:16:00 PM

Come on @yekeyeke... Where does fairness come in?

The 4billion deal was a private one... privately negotiated between two banks... Nothing to do with government, nothing to do with politics...

Haaaaiiiiya... yaani Kenyans now want companies to be waiting for their competitors to wake up and think. First it was Safcom, sasa Equity... If the MDs of Coop, KCB, BBK and the rest are too slow (or maybe were not interested) to chase this kind of deals, how does that become EBs problem...

And please note who the beneficiaries of the fund are supposed to be... Typical EB clients (SMEs). Maybe thats why StanChart for instance wouldn't bother..
wote
#33 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 3:24:22 PM

mozenrat, in China there is nothing such a private deal with 100% government banks.
mozenrat
#34 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 4:43:40 PM

Doesn't change the point... Whether Equity negotiated a deal with a private or public or government or devilish entity, where does fairness come in... Should Equity have called for a conference of all banks to ask them if they would like to be included in the deal??
#35 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 5:21:21 PM

does it really matter whether it is or not? if it bring bizn to shareholder n customer, then am cool with it. fyi am neither a customer nor a shareholder.
kivairu
#36 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 6:19:22 PM

I'm neither a customer nor a shareholder...but one thing i know is for sure.Board meetings in all the major banks are never concluded without the big guys in those meetings asking what EB is doing or what EB is up to.EB has curved a niche for itself and we got to respect that and applaud them, even if the bulk of the customers are the 'scums of the earth', no malice intended.

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 6:53:26 PM

if it was not 4 equity how many would be banked. hands up!
#38 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 9:04:10 PM

it is not a political bank. it is a political party

KQ ABP 4.26
#39 Posted : Tuesday, May 18, 2010 9:31:38 PM

kivairu wrote:
I'm neither a customer nor a shareholder...but one thing i know is for sure. Board meetings in all the major banks are never concluded without the big guys in those meetings asking what EB is doing.

Not only do I agree with you @kivairu, I share your same position. Surprising how Equity commands the same goodwill as Grameen bank which allows them to be viewed as vehicles to empower the poor.

Hence they attract funds from development agencies and international organisations even when they've transitioned to a bank.

I know for a fact that Equity was greatly assisted by these same institutions to grow as a building society and eventually...
#40 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 7:14:21 AM

fellifel wrote:
I just hope they improve there employees salaries!!!

Just like any other business, employees of EB are paid what they are worth. Those who think they are worth more than they are being paid walk out and get other jobs.

As JM puy it during a recent investor briefing, "business is not charity. The customer comes first, the organisation second and employees a distant third!"

By the way, I didn't think EB employees are poorly paid. Those I meet appear very happy with their jobs.
6 Pages«<23456>