wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

6 Pages«<23456>
PCEA vs Kikuyu Kiama
#61 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 3:30:11 PM

If one can do some advanced math with symbols is that a religion? If someone does not understand what am doing does that make me religious just because i have mentioned Jesus. Is mentioning any factual aspect of the life of Jesus "religion" when he actually existed? Does believing in Keynesian economics or Freidman theory make them religions? d'oh! , are they factual? Why are they studied in university if they are not FACTUAL, they must be religions, right smile What if what i read in other subjects in Bible strikes me as factual, that this figures existed, the fact that i believe this "debatable" element of my existence does not make me religious, because if the history is correct, am just a historian, just like Flavius Josephus the historian in Jesus time. What did Flavius say about Jesus?

Maths is maths - tuwachane na maths.
I once asked @Alph a question that I am asking you - what if I said
Yesterday, I was watching the Matiba Funeral Service on TV and when I was glued on it - I saw my child jump on top of the sofa and fly around the room

My son is factual and the sofa is factual... the thing most people have issues believing is that my son actually flew!

Secondly, yes... Keynesian economics, the Austrian school of thought, Socialism, Nationalism, Capitalism, Imperialism, Veganism,Humanism, Individualism, Consumerism, Materialism are just really newer 'religions'. They have no 'god' per se and are less concerned about life after death but are almost all prescribe that their way is a better way of living. Kinda like Budhism I guess
Taurrus
#62 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 4:16:31 PM

Taurrus wrote:
Picking a fight with the Kiama, at a time when traditional institutions have been on a renaissance everywhere, is scoring a stupid own goal.

Stupid own goal? Is the role of the church to encourage people to fill up church without caring what they believe in?

That would be a big interreligious social club! Not church.

The church has one big role-pointing people to Christ. Of course people offering sacrifices to ancestors defeats this aim!

ancestor in American. (ˈænˌsɛstər ; anˈsesˌtər; also, ˈænsəstər ; anˈsəstər; ˈænsɪstər ; anˈsistər) any person from whom one is descended, esp. one earlier in a family line than a grandparent

Sasa what's more important than where you descended from? it's a sure thing,not a myth as @masukuma puts it, to me it's worth a goat now and then.Shame on you

Your ancestors are not a myth - what drives your reverence to them IS! the idea that makes you subjectively deduce that 'reverence to your ancestors is worth a goat now and then' is the myth we are talking about! it's an idea... something in your head... that is why you said
it's a sure thing,not a myth as @masukuma puts it, TO ME it's worth a goat now and then.
- very subjective. let's test this - what happens if you don't give a goat "now and then"? what happens?

Happiness! yes happiness Don't happen TO ME!
kuna kukaa na kuishi.
#63 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 5:10:34 PM

Taurrus wrote:
Picking a fight with the Kiama, at a time when traditional institutions have been on a renaissance everywhere, is scoring a stupid own goal.

Stupid own goal? Is the role of the church to encourage people to fill up church without caring what they believe in?

The church has one big role-pointing people to Christ. Of course people offering sacrifices to ancestors defeats this aim!

ancestor in American. (ˈænˌsɛstər ; anˈsesˌtər; also, ˈænsəstər ; anˈsəstər; ˈænsɪstər ; anˈsistər) any person from whom one is descended, esp. one earlier in a family line than a grandparent

Sasa what's more important than where you descended from? it's a sure thing,not a myth as @masukuma puts it, to me it's worth a goat now and then.Shame on you

Your ancestors are not a myth - what drives your reverence to them IS! the idea that makes you subjectively deduce that 'reverence to your ancestors is worth a goat now and then' is the myth we are talking about! it's an idea... something in your head... that is why you said
it's a sure thing,not a myth as @masukuma puts it, TO ME it's worth a goat now and then.
- very subjective. let's test this - what happens if you don't give a goat "now and then"? what happens?

Happiness! yes happiness Don't happen TO ME!
kuna kukaa na kuishi.

exactly... it's a promise - if you could only do X - you will be 'happy'!
#64 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 5:13:09 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
FundamentAli wrote:
Na free masonry ni ukristo?

PCEA has linkage with that fraternity. They have never disowned it

Not just PCEA. Most mainstream Church Cathedrals were built by the Guild of the free Masons. That is how practically every Free Mason lodge came to be located near a Church. It was a shelter for 'watu was mjengo'

True that. In Nairobi it is near St Andrews,All Saints Cathedral, Lutheran ,Holy family minor basilica and even the Synagogue!
#65 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 6:40:05 PM

Kaigangio wrote:

You still have not answered my question and I repeat again...What does Muratina in Ciama cia Athuri or other Kikuyu ceremonies symbolise?

Absolutely no idea. But I had an akward encounter a while back. An old friend had built a home in the village and had invited us for the house warming. Turns out most of his friends were "athuri a kiama". The muratina was brought and a "ruhia" given to each of us. At some point one of the wazees pointed at me and wondered why i was holding the ruhia wrongly. Of course I laughed it off. Only to realize the rest of the guys were not amused. I had to apologize and one of the guys took me on a crash course on how to drink muratina from a ruhia.

That is why I likened the ciama to a members club with very strict protocols.
#66 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 9:17:47 PM

Kaigangio wrote:

You still have not answered my question and I repeat again...What does Muratina in Ciama cia Athuri or other Kikuyu ceremonies symbolise?

Absolutely no idea. But I had an akward encounter a while back. An old friend had built a home in the village and had invited us for the house warming. Turns out most of his friends were "athuri a kiama". The muratina was brought and a "ruhia" given to teach of us. At some point one of the wazees pointed at me and wondered why i was holding the ruhia wrongly. Of course I laughed it off. Only to realize the rest of the guys were not amused. I had to apologize and one of the guys took me on a crash course on how to drink muratina from a ruhia.

That is why I likened the ciama to a members club with very strict protocols.

The party that your friend invited you to was just like any other ordinary goat eating session which from the traditional view point had no purpose or reason. That is why those wazees allowed you in their midst. For a normal Kiama session they would not allow you to sit with them unless you have been admitted to the Kiama, but here again you still cannot be allowed to sit with them unless you have graduated from hako to Ndegwa. Doing things right in Kiama is a part of the lessons you get not forgetting that at some point in time you will be expected to give the same lessons to young learners. All in all traditionally any slaughtering of ngoimas had a reason and a purpose and so did the brewing of muratina.

Believe me, Ciamas are not a members club, but rather they are open to any young man (Mûkamatimû) who wishes to join. At least the fathers (who must be members of kiama) usually do clear the road for their sons by giving the hako (ngoima) to the Kiama.

As for symbolic meaning of mûratina in Agîkûyû ceremonies and other traditional practices it had to be there being provided by the owner of the ceremony. To start with though we call it Njoohi (meaningless beer nowadays) it is actually supposed to be Njohi (something that ties together). In say for example where dowry and the in-laws (Athoni) are concerned, the mûratina brew had to be present as a symbol of unification of the two families following the intended union of their daughter and son and is taken in very small amounts. As to when it was delivered and the container is fodder for another day. In Ciamas mûratina brew symbolizes the unification or unity of the participating members such that whatever the members will deliberate on will be done in one voice. Here one may take as much as he wants so long as he does not get drank to the point of talking disrespectively.

I hope that opens your eyes kidogo as to purpose of the Ciama cia Athuri and how they operate.

#67 Posted : Saturday, May 26, 2018 6:59:57 AM

@masukuma, myths are not the triffling things that you present them as.

And myths are never arbitrary.

Also know there can never be pure intersubjectivity without objectivity.

Far from it -myths are some of the best things we humans have ever come up with. they guide our everyday lives and have fashioned us into the species we are today. this does not change the fact that they are MADE UP! some are important, cute but still MADE UP! Just like movies - not all myths are rated the same. some are better than others. Newer movies tend to be better than old movies as more thought has been put in and they have been developed around a more comprehensive worldview. The same thing with myths - not all myths are the same and GENERALLY speaking... myths that have had more thought put into them and developed in the context of a much more comprehensive worldview are more productive to the adherents than older parochial myths.
We therefore cannot allow ourselves to be bullied into following myths that have no consequence - it's rather daft to allow yourself to do so. What is the appeal of this 'Kiama' myth? what is the threat being used to lure people into this 'Kiama' myth and propagate it??

@masukuma, to make this discussion easy I'll ask you the following:

1. What is/are the myths involved in this case?

2. Who made them up?

3. Why were they made up?
#68 Posted : Saturday, May 26, 2018 12:13:02 PM

But considering guys are being hounded by yam eating lions and 'auctioneers', I can understand why @alma has become a theologian.

His ancestor is not Gikuyu but is Constantius. And even if it is Gikuyu he has absolutely nothing to do with the Man. Maybe Adam Kadmon.

Or, Gikuyu is a made up story and we have no need of it now.

We have been washed by the blood of Jesus.

I'd love to know what Dr. Githii is saying about this.
#69 Posted : Saturday, May 26, 2018 5:14:54 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:

So you think numbers don't matter? Why do you bother with all those Ministry for Christ etc stuff?

Because reaching as many people as possible for Christ is the great commission. But if within your ranks you have people who think ancestral worship is superior, then you should do some internal housekeeping. Before going out there, preach to those in church so that they can see the light
#70 Posted : Saturday, May 26, 2018 5:19:38 PM

I hope that opens your eyes kidogo as to purpose of the Ciama cia Athuri and how they operate.

Interesting insights gizzard.

But that part for offering sacrifices is the source of conflict. You say it's not usually there but others say it's there and they'll keep doing it. Infact, they justify it by drawing parallels with biblical sacrifices by Abraham etc
#71 Posted : Sunday, May 27, 2018 2:44:23 PM

But that part for offering sacrifices is the source of conflict. You say it's not usually there but others say it's there and they'll keep doing it. Infact, they justify it by drawing parallels with biblical sacrifices by Abraham etc

My friend read all my posts on this thread. I have given the account of admission to the Kiama kia Athuri, explained the promotion to the various stages within the hierachy of the Kiama, explained the agenda of Kiama kia Athuri. Here I have already told you that you will never know what is discussed in those Ciamas unless you are a member. You will only know two very unimportant things, eating the ngoimas and drinking muratina, nothing else.

I have also explained briefly which ceremonies require sacrifices to be done to God (Ngai). For your information in Agikuyu traditions there is nothing like sacrificing to the ancestors. This falsehood is peddled by those people who have absolutely no idea about the Agikuyu traditions, their cultural practices and ceremonies and their meanings.

A question for you @Lolest, Why would you draw a pararell between Jewish cultures in the Bible and the Agikuyu traditions?? That is very foolish of those people who do that...really foolish. The manner in which the Jews offered their sacrifes to God and the way the Africans offered theirs, wherever there was similarities was purely coincidental. Africans knew and worshiped God in their own way long long long before 15th century when the first white man (Bartolomeu Dias)first landed in Africa (Table Bay) following his arrival in a single ship in 1488.

I would like to refer you to a speech made by Lord Macaulay to British parliament in 1835 about India which also applies to Kenya literally word for word:

That is what the colonisers and missionaries wanted and did to our traditions and cultures in order to contain and dominate Africans...you are still tied to the foreign culture and that is why you always think that your rich culture and traditions stink.
Baratang
#72 Posted : Sunday, June 03, 2018 12:56:14 AM

@kaigangio. Some of the things that you told us here about the Kiama kia Athuri I have never heard about.

It seems you share the same opinion with the writer of the article below:
PCEA waache upuzi

Thanks boss for the insight.
#73 Posted : Sunday, June 03, 2018 8:22:32 PM

Just why should the culture of a man from muranga or Siaya be considered inferior to the culture of a man from Manchester England? All humans are equal and none should dictate to the other.
#74 Posted : Monday, June 04, 2018 3:02:26 AM

Just why should the culture of a man from muranga or Siaya be considered inferior to the culture of a man from Manchester England? All humans are equal and none should dictate to the other.

Are all humans really 'equal'? how
#75 Posted : Monday, June 04, 2018 3:25:37 AM

Are all humans really 'equal'? how

Yes. In their architecture, function, resources and objectives.
#76 Posted : Monday, June 04, 2018 7:15:49 AM

Kaigangio wrote:

My friend read all my posts on this thread. I have given the account of admission to the Kiama kia Athuri, explained the promotion to the various stages within the hierachy of the Kiama, explained the agenda of Kiama kia Athuri. Here I have already told you that you will never know what is discussed in those Ciamas unless you are a member. You will only know two very unimportant things, eating the ngoimas and drinking muratina, nothing else.

I have also explained briefly which ceremonies require sacrifices to be done to God (Ngai). For your information in Agikuyu traditions there is nothing like sacrificing to the ancestors. This falsehood is peddled by those people who have absolutely no idea about the Agikuyu traditions, their cultural practices and ceremonies and their meanings.

A question for you @Lolest, Why would you draw a pararell between Jewish cultures in the Bible and the Agikuyu traditions?? That is very foolish of those people who do that...really foolish. The manner in which the Jews offered their sacrifes to God and the way the Africans offered theirs, wherever there was similarities was purely coincidental. Africans knew and worshiped God in their own way long long long before 15th century when the first white man (Bartolomeu Dias)first landed in Africa (Table Bay) following his arrival in a single ship in 1488.

I would like to refer you to a speech made by Lord Macaulay to British parliament in 1835 about India which also applies to Kenya literally word for word:

That is what the colonisers and missionaries wanted and did to our traditions and cultures in order to contain and dominate Africans...you are still tied to the foreign culture and that is why you always think that your rich culture and traditions stink.

Ahsante sana Kaigangio. This desecration of a beautiful original culture by people who barely know anything about it really pains me.

Interestingly, you'll see the same fellas accepting dowry for their daughters, or even participating and enjoying such ceremonies. They will circumcise their sons. But they will insult the elders with their relentless intellectual and religious bullshit......implying that elders shouldn't follow their own culture.

There is a lot of symbolism in all cultural and religious matters. Sacrifices and kanywaji are mere symbolisms. It is disheartening to see any party attacking the other, claiming superiority like the PCEA church. With their onslaught, I can as well tell them off, as a mzungu church full of double standards and corruption.......but that will not help anybody.

We must strive to ward off EXTREMISM in our religious institutions. The PCEA church has started, and suddenly and without any warning, has condemned a large section of the populace as witches. That is how terrorism is born. Slowly by slowly, you might start seeing PCEA youths burning old men in Mt Kenya. That church is now preaching extremist ideologies and intolerance, and must be condemned by every sane Kenyan.

1. Religion/culture are important as a MORAL COMPASS. They guide us. They nourish our spiritual being. Strictly speaking, there's probably nothing more to them.

2. Religion/culture is like a pleasure drug. Partake too much of it and you end up killing people or getting yourself killed (fundamentalism).

#77 Posted : Monday, June 04, 2018 10:02:09 AM

kawi254 wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:
That fight between the biggest church in Kikuyuland in the colonial days is back. Back then it was about female circumcision and traditional dances, today, it's something called mburi ya kiama.

The bile on that post on their fb pageSad See comments
https://web.facebook.com/pceaonline/

At this rate they will even oppose circumcision. Let the kiama kia ma be its one of the few items of custom that remains after the "church" demonised all else.

Asking for the Latin speakers, "What is mburi cia kiama ?"

I see nobody is answering your question. Here we go. Direct translation means "mbuzi ya chama". Chama here meaning the elders council. For you to be admitted into the council, your old man takes a goat to the wazees. Quite an elaborate process as explained by @kaigangio. By the time you become one of them, a number of goats will have gone.

Personal opinion. The church is right. And it will win this hands down. Of all the functions, @kaigangio explained up there, the council does nothing to advance the community's interests. It's just like a members club which gives you bragging rights. Apart from the meetings, eating goat meat and drinking muratina from cow horns (ruhia), there is nothing much a young man would gain by joining.

What does a young man gain by getting circumcised?

What does a young man gain by paying dowry while there is come-we-stay?

What does a young man gain by going to church or a mosque?

Im sure you have no definite answer to all these questions and many more, my brother.

The african is confused and lost, cultureless and very colourless. I see conservative societies everywhere I go, outside Africa. All religions with their very own unique and beautiful cultures outside the bible and Quran.

Blessed those who attempt to trace their roots and culture. Culture is sweet and beautiful.

Bloody africans are all over admiring other cultures and even paying top dollar touring the world "to see diverse cultures" while they spit phlegm on their own.

We are Bure kabisa. Its no wonder we were colonized with great impunity.

It is a requirement in the Catholic church to give wazee their mbuzi, and seek their blessings, guidance and wise counsel before ordination. This is the tolerance we want.

Intolerance and division by the church must be frowned upon and rebuked.
#78 Posted : Monday, June 04, 2018 11:19:23 AM

This is where I'm coming from. Tolerance.

Seeing a black african telling me that my very beautiful, tolerant, harmless culture is abominable, and that I must STRICTLY follow that of the white man through the bible is quite sth.

Is belief so singular? Cant I like maths, drama and sports at the same time? This is how I view these cultural-religious matters. If you choose singularity , go ahead, live, let live and move on, just don't pollute the airwaves with your hate dogma, intolerance and bigotry. If you choose multi-polarity, even better, because there shall be tolerance and greater understanding. Pick the good cherries in each.

Insulting senior citizens from the church trenches like PCEA and Alma are doing, in the name of a religious sect, continues to erode my belief in the church as a whole, and makes me doubt their real intentions in Africa. The last time I heard insults like those hurled by Alma up there was on this same website, by the same fellow, a "PCEA Christian". This is also the first time I've heard a local culture being equated to witchcraft, by a mzungu church....a church full of Kaburas, Ngiritas, homosexuals, slay queens, thieving clergy and the like.

Gutiri mubea na muthungu.

#79 Posted : Monday, June 04, 2018 12:15:24 PM

Interesting post… only thing am not sure is if Kiama kia Ma would be happy with all their information shared here.d'oh! d'oh!
#80 Posted : Monday, June 04, 2018 2:59:29 PM

While humans groups differ slightly biologically - the biggest differences happen to occur in the myths they intersubjectively choose to believe in. That's it... tofauti ya mwafrica na mzungu ni hiyo tu!the state that mzungu lived was no different from that ya mwafrican 1500 years ago. We were exactly the same for 65,000 years! The biological differences between mzungu and mwafrica did not start juzi. Tofauti ya Mkenya na Mtanzania ni hiyo pia... the myths we choose to believe in. Tofauti ya state of mkenya na mtanzania sio 100 years old. Same as the state of Kenyans and South Sudanese or Somali. Mjaluo wa Kenya and MDinka have very little biological difference but the myths they choose/forced/grew up with are different and it explains their differences. So the stark difference even in Kenya between one group of people (can be a family or an ethnic community or brothers are the myths they believe in). We do agree that some people are 'ahead' of others on some fronts. Denmark for example is a much nicer place to be when you are an old person than south sudan. All these differences are caused by 'culture' - the collection of myths we live our lives by. Unlike the differences in the biology of people - the differences in culture are HUGE... there are SUPERIOR CULTURES and there are RETROGRESSIVE CULTURES. The very fact that we have 'our' culture is a myth... enforced by these cultures to help them stay relevant and propagate. Each culture that did not have an effective 'propagation' mechanism -died when the guy who imagined it died! Once others choose to believe it... the culture lives on... if we don't - it dies ... most of these myths were indoctrinated to us when we didn't know better - when young and impressionable. The only way a RETROGRESSIVE MYTH can be propagated to a person who knows better is through guilt! But let's not fall for it! let's be held at ransom to hold on to what is demonstrably inferior and self-serving JUST BECAUSE OUR ANCESTORS COULD NOT COME UP WITH A BETTER MYTH especially because we know better myths exist! You are not your ancestor! It's quite likely that the ancestor who first dreamed what you were being guilt tripped into believing and enforcing knew what you know - they would not come up with what they came up with. They can be excused for their ignorance - you cannot!

What a load of bullcrap you have written up there.