15 Pages«<23456>»
Unga limited takeover
#61 Posted : Saturday, February 10, 2018 11:30:40 PM

starx wrote:

The beloved KK you keep on praising was whooped by Kengen last year for a bet that I have since written of.

Surely a whole Chief cannot pay a mere USD 120?

I want to! How can I do so anonymously? M-Pesa shows my name. I owe you 12,000/-!!! It rankles me.

Both VVS and Sparkly want to remain anonymous. For a small cut, myself I do not worry about anonymity. If you both agree, I could pick the winnings from VVS at his favourite KK station in cash (drive-by) and pass it to Sparkly in the same fashion or any other way he wishes
Proposed commission Ksh. 2,000.00 each way smile

OK wish you well!!+ 2000 ngai Sad

Hehehe

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#62 Posted : Saturday, February 10, 2018 11:55:23 PM

Spikes wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:
CMA should lift suspension of trading in this counter after say two working days (i.e. from Monday 12th February 2018) and allow for price discovery in the market...my two cents

That makes sense. After all we know the offer by Seaboard is 40/- and if someone wants to offer more then let them do so...

I recall Access, Rea, KQ followed the same path.. In simple logic if someone buys at above KES 40 they shall be forced to sell it for KES 40 based on the 50 plus one vote. I guess that's why it had to be suspended

What the above two guys are asking for is for the suspension to be lifted to allow for price manipulation aka price discovery-Let's not pretend it will not happen.

What is this new information that was not factored into the share pricing that will cause the share price to magically increase after a takeover bid has been declared?

Price Discovery is not Price Manipulation. Period.

True

I agree price discovery is not price manipulation in normal course of trading but in this case does it mean NSE is an inefficient market?

What will be the motive of the guys(speculators) buying the stock in those two days?

What is this new information/knowledge that was'nt there before that warrants this price discovery apart from the takeover?

I can see @vvs and @obiero are inspired by greed and they can say anything that could add value into their holding. It's okay to be greedy but lifting Unga trading suspension is tantamount to price manipulation. The market has already spoken.

False. Where's the price manipulation?
You do not need to buy the shares.
You do not need to sell the shares.
Seaboard needs not offer a different price for the shares.
A shareholder/investor may choose to buy/sell shares as they so please.
Why should a shareholder be locked in [Carbacid had been suspended for ages and Matiba sold out to Centum at a low value] until the end of the Offer Period?

What does it achieve to "lock" investors into Unga (or any shares) for another 7 months? Unga shareholders cannot exit and re-invest in other opportunities. Perhaps I want to sell Unga at 35 today and buy KK at 15 but now i am stuck.

And YES, I invest to make money NOT as charity. Offer me 22/- for KK and they are yours!

The beloved KK you keep on praising was whooped by Kengen last year for a bet that I have since written of.

Some people come across as billionaires on Wazua kumbe they could be struggling to buy monthly internet bundles in real life Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Sorry! I had to borrow to buy a bundle! 😂😂😂
#63 Posted : Sunday, February 11, 2018 6:07:33 AM

Spikes wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:
CMA should lift suspension of trading in this counter after say two working days (i.e. from Monday 12th February 2018) and allow for price discovery in the market...my two cents

That makes sense. After all we know the offer by Seaboard is 40/- and if someone wants to offer more then let them do so...

I recall Access, Rea, KQ followed the same path.. In simple logic if someone buys at above KES 40 they shall be forced to sell it for KES 40 based on the 50 plus one vote. I guess that's why it had to be suspended

What the above two guys are asking for is for the suspension to be lifted to allow for price manipulation aka price discovery-Let's not pretend it will not happen.

What is this new information that was not factored into the share pricing that will cause the share price to magically increase after a takeover bid has been declared?

True

I agree price discovery is not price manipulation in normal course of trading but in this case does it mean NSE is an inefficient market?

What will be the motive of the guys(speculators) buying the stock in those two days?

What is this new information/knowledge that was'nt there before that warrants this price discovery apart from the takeover?

I can see @vvs and @obiero are inspired by greed and they can say anything that could add value into their holding. It's okay to be greedy but lifting Unga trading suspension is tantamount to price manipulation. The market has already spoken.

Why should a shareholder be locked in [Carbacid had been suspended for ages and Matiba sold out to Centum at a low value] until the end of the Offer Period?

What does it achieve to "lock" investors into Unga (or any shares) for another 7 months? Unga shareholders cannot exit and re-invest in other opportunities. Perhaps I want to sell Unga at 35 today and buy KK at 15 but now i am stuck.

And YES, I invest to make money NOT as charity. Offer me 22/- for KK and they are yours!

I want to! How can I do so anonymously? M-Pesa shows my name. I owe you 12,000/-!!! It rankles me.

Well you don't need to worry about your identity since I have written off that miscellaneous amount. In any case what will I do with your identity... stalk you? steal your KK shares? send hitmen?
#64 Posted : Sunday, February 11, 2018 1:13:05 PM

Spikes wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

True

Well you don't need to worry about your identity since I have written off that miscellaneous amount. In any case what will I do with your identity... stalk you? steal your KK shares? send hitmen?

In my books, you won that 12k fair and square!

LMAO... You had mentioned bitcoin [or another cryptocurrency]...
Do you have one in mind?
How does it work?
Does it allow for anonymity?

I was invited for an ICO but it seemed like a pyramid scheme to me and I was like the "bottom" guy!
#65 Posted : Sunday, February 11, 2018 2:19:17 PM

Spikes wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

True

Do you have one in mind?
How does it work?

I was invited for an ICO but it seemed like a pyramid scheme to me and I was like the "bottom" guy!

Just go hustle for your weekly bundles. Your debt is forgiven.
#66 Posted : Sunday, February 11, 2018 2:24:22 PM

Spikes wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

True

Do you have one in mind?
How does it work?

Nah, gotta pay it. Just need to find a way.
starx
#67 Posted : Sunday, February 11, 2018 7:30:28 PM

Spikes wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

True

Do you have one in mind?
How does it work?

There you go again! Just in case you missed post #59

Starx wrote:
Both VVS and Sparkly want to remain anonymous. For a small cut, myself I do not worry about anonymity. If you both agree, I could pick the winnings from VVS at his favourite KK station in cash (drive-by) and pass it to Sparkly in the same fashion or any other way he wishes

Ebenyo
#68 Posted : Sunday, February 11, 2018 9:04:41 PM

starx wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

True

Do you have one in mind?
How does it work?

Starx wrote:

If vvs does not want his name to be known via mpesa;he just need to give the cash to a nearby mpesa kiosk with sparky number for direct deposit.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
Spikes
#69 Posted : Sunday, February 11, 2018 10:03:52 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
starx wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

True

Do you have one in mind?
How does it work?

Starx wrote:

If vvs does not want his name to be known via mpesa;he just need to give the cash to a nearby mpesa kiosk with sparky number for direct deposit.

Direct transactions are forbidden by terms and rules of Mpesa.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#70 Posted : Sunday, February 11, 2018 10:28:45 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
starx wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

True

Do you have one in mind?
How does it work?

Starx wrote:

Case closed. The Warren Buffett of Wazua is a typical Kenyan hustler. If only his KK had won, I would had made him 12k richer.
#71 Posted : Sunday, February 11, 2018 10:34:00 PM

Spikes wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
starx wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

True

Do you have one in mind?
How does it work?

Starx wrote:

It depends on how you network.. I could send you some trial money incase you are in doubt

Spikes
#72 Posted : Sunday, February 11, 2018 11:53:23 PM

Spikes wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
starx wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

True

Do you have one in mind?
How does it work?

Starx wrote:

It depends on how you network.. I could send you some trial money incase you are in doubt

No need,thank you .
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
Ericsson
#73 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 7:21:48 AM

You guys are being hard on vvs.
KK was haplessly beaten by Kengen and it's painful for him.
As much as vvs talks about consistent dividends,company stability and management,capital gains in the NSE is a very important factor.

Let's go back to Unga holdings and takeover tuachane na mambo ya sparkly and vvs,kengen and kk for another topic.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#74 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 7:57:04 AM

Ericsson wrote:
As much as vvs talks about consistent dividends,company stability and management,capital gains in the NSE is a very important factor.

Let's go back to Unga holdings and takeover tuachane na mambo ya sparkly and vvs,kengen and kk for another topic.

I agree. The old man has made dividend worth KES 9,000 in the last three years and @sparkly is seeking KES 12,000.. It's simply not fair and I am glad he chose to write it off

#75 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 8:41:36 AM

Sending money anonymously
1. Mobile transfer from you internet banking-If your bank supports it
2. Direct deposit-If you have a specific mpesa vendor your transact with(KYC)
3. Give the money to office messenger, your guard, househelp, cousin,mpango wa kando to transact
#76 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 9:01:44 AM

1. Mobile transfer from you internet banking-If your bank supports it Yes, it does but it's not anonymous. Pesalink shows the sender as it should when one considers KYC.
2. Direct deposit-If you have a specific mpesa vendor your transact with (KYC) This I do not understand. I do not have a specific M-Pesa vendor to deposit or withdraw. One of the "beauties" of M-Pesa is the ubiquity.
3. Give the money to office messenger, your guard, househelp, cousin,mpango wa kando to transact That seems the most logical move! Except for the MWK Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly coz that might never get to @Sparkly

#77 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 9:28:05 AM

Ericsson wrote:

On a serious note [for an old chap like me]:

1) Experience is the best teacher. I did not understand the "privacy" issue re: Cryptocurrencies and now I understand why central banks, security agencies, tax authorities and governments are "anti cc" ...
2) I see the attractiveness of CCs for some. I had read about the "Silk Road" and my experience makes it clearer to me why CCs were used. This reminds of the days when an askari was given cash to go buy muratina [or busaa] so individual students were not exposed to the school authorities nor the sellers.
3) Whereas I still cannot fathom buying CCs as a commodity, there is a place for them as a "currency" if well implemented.

So short of "trading" in CCs [no interest in CC as a commodity] how does one "invest" in CCs, its application and the process [Blockchain] in Kenya?

BTW, @Ericsson - I was beaten fair and square by @Sparkly and owe him his winnings.

I still believe KK will out-perform KenGen but I made a mistake i.e. I went TA vs FA and chose a (short) timeframe. I did not see PIC (SA) coming in. It's an error I made due to hubris and I am chastened.

Back to Unga: This is a core holding for me and I support the group opposing the low bid. BD reported/quoted Karim Jetha of Sayani Investments and the name appears on the shareholder list.

IMHO, at the minimum, the price offered should match the NAV/share [+ estimated PAT for FY 2017/18 - any bad debts not taken + fair values not shown - any write-downs].

Another potential takeover target is KK and if a precedent is set that disadvantages minority shareholders, it will destroy our confidence and value in some firms.
starx
#78 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 9:28:13 AM

1. Mobile transfer from you internet banking-If your bank supports it Yes, it does but it's not anonymous. Pesalink shows the sender as it should when one considers KYC.
2. Direct deposit-If you have a specific mpesa vendor your transact with (KYC) This I do not understand. I do not have a specific M-Pesa vendor to deposit or withdraw. One of the "beauties" of M-Pesa is the ubiquity.
3. Give the money to office messenger, your guard, househelp, cousin,mpango wa kando to transact That seems the most logical move! Except for the MWK Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly coz that might never get to @Sparkly

One more time @VVS
Starx wrote:
Both VVS and Sparkly want to remain anonymous. For a small cut, myself I do not worry about anonymity. If you both agree, I could pick the winnings from VVS at his favourite KK station in cash (drive-by) and pass it to Sparkly in the same fashion or any other way he wishes (M-Pesa, Direct bank deposit, Tuskys purchase vouchers, safaricom credit or bundles (hehehe), etc etc)

#79 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 9:29:40 AM

Ericsson wrote:

I agree. The old man has made dividend worth KES 9,000 in the last three years and @sparkly is seeking KES 12,000.. It's simply not fair and I am glad he chose to write it off

Wewe! You owe me 100k. Send @Sparkly 12,000/- and keep the 88,000/- in "reserve" Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#80 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 9:44:49 AM

The mobile transfer I'm talking about is different from the pesa link. This one limits your to 70K per transaction. The recepient receives a message like this

FACKHER confirmed.You have received Kshs 12,000 from KenolKobil Bank Mpesa pyments Ac on 12/02/2018 at 9.43pm. New mpesa balance is Kes 12001. Buy bitcoins with mpesa

But again, this depends with your bank