wazua Fri, Mar 20, 2026

33 Pages«<23456>»
Centum
mkate_nusu
#31 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 4:07:10 AM

majimaji wrote:
Realtreaty wrote:
Malls make money from weekend/holiday/month end shoppers who shop, recreate and dine there.There are also conference and board rooms for MICE.
When my daughter forced me to take her to Dago corner for Nakumatt (you know girls think dads are rich and will ask for anything on the counter)
Where today Nakumatt lies was my favorite bar to see "Les Wanyika" who played music there and could even listen to music while lying on the grass near the time Kenya Science Teachers College (KSTC)
That Time Ngong road was smooth and never crowded.
So Lets meet at "Two rivers at least twice a Month!

smile Kweli wewe ni mzee, the club was called Bombax Club. By the time I became old enough to drink, it (the club) had died.

some people here are in their early 60's / over 50 in general
tuheshimu wazee
KEGN, KPLC, KQ, SCOM
enyands
#32 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 4:32:51 AM

mkate_nusu wrote:
majimaji wrote:
Realtreaty wrote:
Malls make money from weekend/holiday/month end shoppers who shop, recreate and dine there.There are also conference and board rooms for MICE.
When my daughter forced me to take her to Dago corner for Nakumatt (you know girls think dads are rich and will ask for anything on the counter)
Where today Nakumatt lies was my favorite bar to see "Les Wanyika" who played music there and could even listen to music while lying on the grass near the time Kenya Science Teachers College (KSTC)
That Time Ngong road was smooth and never crowded.
So Lets meet at "Two rivers at least twice a Month!

smile Kweli wewe ni mzee, the club was called Bombax Club. By the time I became old enough to drink, it (the club) had died.

some people here are in their early 60's / over 50 in general
tuheshimu wazee

Realtreaty is in mid 40's and is in east coast. Captured him admitting that he just woke up in the morning to post something to do with centum meanwhile it was 7pm huku Laughing out loudly
alotoftalk
#33 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 5:58:16 AM

I doubt there is a company that's more lucrative for employees than Centum. [Source: Annual Report pg. 75]

The CEO Mworia got KES 200 Million (close to USD 2 Million) in 2015. That's comparative to the CEO pay for the largest companies in Africa like Standard Bank and even most NYSE listed companies.

In 5 years he will be a newly minted KES billionaire. A good thing is that he's using some of that money to buy shares.

So if Centum goes the TCL way he'll have some skin in the game.

I also hope they start paying more of this in share options which increases skin in the game and can be easily clawed back. Plus efficient from a cashflow perspective.
Investment philosophy development in progress...
#34 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 6:24:34 AM

Realtreaty wrote:
And those speaking evil of malls should now stop it!!!
http://www.businessdailyafrica....71852-9qftupz/index.html

"The investment firm said it booked a gain of Sh3.1 billion on the Old Mutual deal alone, adding that the transaction gives the mall an implied valuation of Sh23 billion."

23B!!
MadDoc
#35 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 7:24:19 AM

Realtreaty wrote:

"The investment firm said it booked a gain of Sh3.1 billion on the Old Mutual deal alone, adding that the transaction gives the mall an implied valuation of Sh23 billion."

23B!!

If old mutual paid 6.4b for 50% of TRLC which owns the mall, wouldn't the implied valuation be 12.8b?d'oh!
Could someone clarify this?
#36 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 9:18:07 AM

Realtreaty wrote:

23B!!

Kenol Kobil with stations, most leased, all over EAC. A business that generates 3bn+ PBT has 1.5bn shares x 11.50 = 17bn valuation.

KenRe with business(es) in Kenya, West Africa and Southern Africa. Expected PAT 3bn. 700mn shares x 20 = 14bn valuation

Unga with a plants in Kenya and Uganda. Supplies an essential FMCG. 75mn shares x 33 = 2.5bn valuation
Ericsson
#37 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 9:42:54 AM

@MadDoc
Wachana na Centum.
Alot of creative and sugar coating accounting is at play huko
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Realtreaty
#38 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 10:05:46 AM

I do not want to count what they own but what I own in them by next year March. Its given everything will come up early enough save for Elections in August 2017.
This is the Month the doors are opening
Carrefour to spoil Kenyans with LED 32-47 inch TVs have price for the first 200 buyers.
They will as well gift shoppers shopping miles for free tickets and 2 day stay in Mombasa, Kisumu, Madagascar for Monthly shoppers of 10000 and above through draw for Xmas.
MadDoc
#39 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 10:13:08 AM

Ericsson wrote:
@MadDoc
Wachana na Centum.
Alot of creative and sugar coating accounting is at play huko

Lakini io 23bShame on you
#40 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 10:15:08 AM

alotoftalk wrote:

I doubt there is a company that's more lucrative for employees than Centum. [Source: Annual Report pg. 75]

The CEO Mworia got KES 200 Million (close to USD 2 Million) in 2015. That's comparative to the CEO pay for the largest companies in Africa like Standard Bank and even most NYSE listed companies.

In 5 years he will be a newly minted KES billionaire. A good thing is that he's using some of that money to buy shares.

So if Centum goes the TCL way he'll have some skin in the game.

I also hope they start paying more of this in share options which increases skin in the game and can be easily clawed back. Plus efficient from a cashflow perspective.

Son in Law smile
33 Pages«<23456>»