Case againist the Tyranny
masukuma wrote:So... mTachoni aki"Run" will that mean that Bukusus cannot run? if a Tugen runs - will that mean that a Nandi or Kipsigis should ngot run? how about a Giriama? will that decide the fate of a Rabai? do you see the ridiculousness of the proposition? OR shd Meru, Aembu, Ambeere be locked just coz cousins have been huko thrice? That's detail
Why war @swenani? The current system is more likely to take us there. I was once against this when you proposed it. We need a united Kenya. Wewe ulichukuliwa na Martha ukasahau hiyo risto
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
here is a more practical proposition... just out of the box thinking. instead of focusing on writing laws for something as fluid as ethnicity - why not write laws to make the presidency much less a trophy or the results of a tournament? that's more future proof proposition - don't you think? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Lolest! wrote:Why war @swenani? The current system is more likely to take us there.
I was once against this when you proposed it. We need a united Kenya.
Wewe ulichukuliwa na Martha ukasahau hiyo risto what happens when your annual rotation is over but you dont want to leave. Kenyans are not that civilized as you want to think If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,058 Location: Gwitu
Blacks in US had to wait for over 200 yrs. Maybe rotation can work over there. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
1 Man 1 vote works perfectly, Uhuru won 2013 coz he did his homework, planned well and was able to put together a coalition that gave him more votes. We just need govt accountability and more devolution of of services including Education, Health, Security etc. People also need patience, 5 years is not a long time, if you lose an election, you have 5 years to prepare for the next, if you can't prepare properly in 5 years, then you don't deserve to be elected anyway. This tyranny thing is not even that accurate; Kiuks+Kaleos = Luos+Luhyas+Kambas. All the other tribes are up for grabs "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:1 Man 1 vote works perfectly, Uhuru won 2013 coz he did his homework, planned well and was able to put together a coalition that gave him more votes.
We just need govt accountability and more devolution of of services including Education, Health, Security etc.
People also need patience, 5 years is not a long time, if you lose an election, you have 5 years to prepare for the next, if you can't prepare properly in 5 years, then you don't deserve to be elected anyway.
This tyranny thing is not even that accurate; Kiuks+Kaleos = Luos+Luhyas+Kambas. All the other tribes are up for grabs That equation can not stand for ten years. Even Luo's and Kikuyus have been on the same side against Kalenjins at some point. It all depends on the main players. We however need to wean ourselves from this ethnic dependency and move to issue or ideology based politics.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
Iganamagana wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:1 Man 1 vote works perfectly, Uhuru won 2013 coz he did his homework, planned well and was able to put together a coalition that gave him more votes.
We just need govt accountability and more devolution of of services including Education, Health, Security etc.
People also need patience, 5 years is not a long time, if you lose an election, you have 5 years to prepare for the next, if you can't prepare properly in 5 years, then you don't deserve to be elected anyway.
This tyranny thing is not even that accurate; Kiuks+Kaleos = Luos+Luhyas+Kambas. All the other tribes are up for grabs That equation can not stand for ten years. Even Luo's and Kikuyus have been on the same side against Kalenjins at some point. It all depends on the main players. We however need to wean ourselves from this ethnic dependency and move to issue or ideology based politics. that's my point! it's always been about alliances. the presi has to get 25% in how many counties? even Kibaki got 25% in Nyanza in the old law. it's alliances and us looking at the thing as "tyranny" is misguided and thus creating laws to prevent an non existing phenomenon is really silly. let's focus on making the seat less of a trophy and more accountable such that it won't matter who is on it. instead of screwing up unborn children's ambitions because Kibaki was president. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
irrespective of the system used, the presidency will be a preserve of the big 5 ethnics for Kenya's foreseeable future with the rare small ethnic president every once in a blue moon. its only logical given the big 5 comprise 60% of the population (70% if you include gikuyu cousins of meru, embu, mbeere). only the configurations of the tyranny of numbers will change. the gikuyu will drop to 3rd most populous community within the next 20-30 years but gema could remain the largest coherent voting block for longer than that. even the united states has been unable to fully shake off ethnic block voting. i dont see any alternative other than diluting central government more by disbursing a larger amount of money and responsibility to the counties. though to be honest, kenya will be at peace as long as the 5 largest ethnics each have their turn in the presidency (president or deputy). with due respect, the small ethnic groups are not sizable enough politically to push through their objectives. All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:1 Man 1 vote works perfectly, Uhuru won 2013 coz he did his homework, planned well and was able to put together a coalition that gave him more votes.
This tyranny thing is not even that accurate; Kiuks+Kaleos = Luos+Luhyas+Kambas. All the other tribes are up for grabs Good thinking bro Ras Kienyeji Man
Case againist the Tyranny