#31 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 9:24:00 AM

Fyatu wrote:
While some people are struggling to buy 50 by 100 plots there are people with 11,000 acres around Nairobi!!! Ni sawa tu. Wacha wajenge, at least they are investing in Kenya. It is better than buying castles in Europe.

While some people fathers and grandfathers were still hunters and gatherers, running naked chasing after Guinea fowls and bush rats, some people grandfathers and fathers were in Europe studying, writing books and organizing political movements....I dont blame them for being rich. I blame my grandfather

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I once passed by South C with my grandfather and he told me that in his heydays the land there was being sold cheap and he was offered since he worked for sirikal, but opted not to get it since animals would cross over from the park, he did not see value...ona sasa

huyo ungechapa kofi!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Reminds me of a story I heard of Mountaineers who in the 60s changad money to buy large pieces of land from wazungus at the coast. So the land is divided into small plots and members can choose which ones they want. Some people took their wives from Muranga and went to inspect the land. The ladies looked at the plots closest to the ocean (beach plots) and declared, "Guku no muthanga mutheri, hatiri kindu ki ngikura haha, kaba nakuria iguru kundu tungikuria irio." (This place is all sand, nothing can grow here, it is better those other plots [furthest from the ocean] because we can grow food there. So they left the beach plots alone and chose plots 4 or 5 rows from the beach. Only smart guys like Matiba could see the value of land close to the ocean so they bought those ones.

The power of education and co-operative/tion. The key phrase here is that "they changad money to buy large pieces of land from wazungus"....People were not given land for free. If my grandfather had not insisted with his hunter gatherer tendencies then perhaps d'oh!

smile smile pole
Jitahidi
#32 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 9:36:36 AM

Fyatu wrote:
While some people are struggling to buy 50 by 100 plots there are people with 11,000 acres around Nairobi!!! Ni sawa tu. Wacha wajenge, at least they are investing in Kenya. It is better than buying castles in Europe.

While some people fathers and grandfathers were still hunters and gatherers, running naked chasing after Guinea fowls and bush rats, some people grandfathers and fathers were in Europe studying, writing books and organizing political movements....I dont blame them for being rich. I blame my grandfather

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I once passed by South C with my grandfather and he told me that in his heydays the land there was being sold cheap and he was offered since he worked for sirikal, but opted not to get it since animals would cross over from the park, he did not see value...ona sasa

huyo ungechapa kofi!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Reminds me of a story I heard of Mountaineers who in the 60s changad money to buy large pieces of land from wazungus at the coast. So the land is divided into small plots and members can choose which ones they want. Some people took their wives from Muranga and went to inspect the land. The ladies looked at the plots closest to the ocean (beach plots) and declared, "Guku no muthanga mutheri, hatiri kindu ki ngikura haha, kaba nakuria iguru kundu tungikuria irio." (This place is all sand, nothing can grow here, it is better those other plots [furthest from the ocean] because we can grow food there. So they left the beach plots alone and chose plots 4 or 5 rows from the beach. Only smart guys like Matiba could see the value of land close to the ocean so they bought those ones.

The power of education and co-operative/tion. The key phrase here is that "they changad money to buy large pieces of land from wazungus"....People were not given land for free. If my grandfather had not insisted with his hunter gatherer tendencies then perhaps d'oh!

Last Saturday I had a chat with a 90 years old man who owns a number of acres near kamakis (eastern bypass) and near where this city is being built. He was telling me they were buying 1acre and a quarter at Kes. 1,000 in 1968. Now he is a millionaire. Our grandfathers were asleep when others were buying land
#33 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 10:11:25 AM

Fyatu wrote:
Alba wrote:
Jomo Kenyatta used his position to grab land or allocate land to himself irregularly whichever way you want to describe it. He grabbed land from peasants, from the colonialists who were leaving, he excised foreast land, beach plots etc

Some of this land had originally been grabbed by Europeans from the peasants. When the Europeans left , it should have been returned to the peasants. Jomo and other big wigs took it instead.

Too bad most people's grandfather did not have the wherewithal to ammass such large portions of prime land.

I blame Kenyatta for the mess that is Nairobi city. he set the precedent for land grabbing and irregular allocation that has bedeviled towns all over Kenya. Today land that was supposed to be set aside for road reserves is grabbed by some big wig. So there is no space left to expand roads or other infrastructure.

- So when you are stuck in endless traffic,
- When you see a primary school land being grabbed
- When a playing field for neighbour hood kids is grabbed
- When the city authorities have no space to build much needed amenities like fire stations or even hospitals.
- When you face constant water shortage or power outtages due to poor city planning

You can thank the founding father of the nation for creating this land grabbing culture whose ramifications are seen all over today.

Where this land (Ruiru) sits there were no peasants then (1850 - 1960) Most peasants were in current Dagoretti, Kiambu town, Murang'a, Kirinyaga and Nyeri.Before the Mubeberu, land in central was communal. People started having their own pieces of land in 1957

Great. Can someone come forward with a title/lease and claim Jomo grabbed his land? I guess not.

Jomo did'nt grab somebody's land, he grabbed public land which belongs to the government.
Anti_Burglar
#34 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 10:13:29 AM

Jitahidi wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

huyo ungechapa kofi!

Last Saturday I had a chat with a 90 years old man who owns a number of acres near kamakis (eastern bypass) and near where this city is being built. He was telling me they were buying 1acre and a quarter at Kes. 1,000 in 1968. Now he is a millionaire. Our grandfathers were asleep when others were buying land

If you take advantage of the ignorant, you better make sure you keep him ignorant perpetually because when he enlightens, you will be in trouble. E.g. look at Narok.
Mosby
#35 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 10:43:25 AM

Some of our grandfathers missed the opportunities of their day...buying cheap land. There must be a present opportunity that shall be talked about in future the same way we talk about land now..Be careful lest ur grandchildren say the same of u in coming years.
Fyatu
#36 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 11:55:22 AM

Mosby wrote:
Some of our grandfathers missed the opportunities of their day...buying cheap land. There must be a present opportunity that shall be talked about in future the same way we talk about land now..Be careful lest ur grandchildren say the same of u in coming years.

From looking at large cities like Jo'berg, Lagos, Cairo etc, it is clear that any wazuan holding a clean 1/4 or 1/2 or even a 1/8 piece of land within 15 km radius of Nairobi, Mombasa or Kisumu will have done a great favour to his descendants. We learn from the mistakes of our ancestors and make corrections where they may have failed
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#37 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 12:37:59 PM

...the British government that forced (locals) to vacate their lands... to be used by the government for purposes of European settlement.

Then, they were made to sign a second agreement, which led to their eviction... with resultant loss of livestock and human life during the trekking.

In some areas, the Land Titles Ordinance passed in 1908 required all persons with claims to land to present them to the Land Registration Court,
failing which all unclaimed land was deemed to be crown land. Given the dearth of information and lack of verifiable evidence of ownership, the Africans
...were dispossessed and have continued to live as “tenants at will” at the mercy of those who made claims without their knowledge.

The programme was in 1961 renamed Assisted Farmers Scheme and formed part of the
independence negotiations as the Million-Acre
Settlement Scheme to be funded by both the World
Bank and the British government and handed over
to the incoming Kenyatta government.

The Million-Acre Settlement Scheme involved
the promotion of a rapid and orderly transfer of ownership of European-owned farms belonging to
those settlers who wanted to leave or who otherwise
could not stay after independence.

The scheme was designed for land to be sold to individuals who would be facilitated by a loan from the British government to buy out the departing settlers. The transfers were based on a willing-seller/willing-buyer principle, and the loans could only be given to those who qualified to repay or had the financial means to pay on cash basis. Thus, politicians with power and money and loyalists who had made their fortunes by being close to the colonial government, as well as businessmen with liquid cash, managed to acquire thousands of acres. The process created a new African elite, which left the penniless scrapping for tiny pieces of land.

Source
#38 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 1:55:06 PM

Alba wrote:
Jomo Kenyatta used his position to grab land or allocate land to himself irregularly whichever way you want to describe it. He grabbed land from peasants, from the colonialists who were leaving, he excised foreast land, beach plots etc

Some of this land had originally been grabbed by Europeans from the peasants. When the Europeans left , it should have been returned to the peasants. Jomo and other big wigs took it instead.

Too bad most people's grandfather did not have the wherewithal to ammass such large portions of prime land.

I blame Kenyatta for the mess that is Nairobi city. he set the precedent for land grabbing and irregular allocation that has bedeviled towns all over Kenya. Today land that was supposed to be set aside for road reserves is grabbed by some big wig. So there is no space left to expand roads or other infrastructure.

- So when you are stuck in endless traffic,
- When you see a primary school land being grabbed
- When a playing field for neighbour hood kids is grabbed
- When the city authorities have no space to build much needed amenities like fire stations or even hospitals.
- When you face constant water shortage or power outtages due to poor city planning

You can thank the founding father of the nation for creating this land grabbing culture whose ramifications are seen all over today.

Hii ni mpya sana, nimesikia leo!

#39 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 2:01:02 PM

#40 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 3:20:54 PM

Wait. Just wait and be patient. If three days pass without a comment from Cordiots, then it's clear to the horizonssmile
15 Pages«<23456>»