wazua Wed, Jun 17, 2026

7 Pages«<23456>»
'Bandit Economy'
¿
#31 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2016 11:42:03 PM

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate-News/Ex-Moi-aide-s-firm-seeks-compensation-for-prime-city-land/-/539550/3038966/-/rtdsh9z/-/index.html

Now this one wants to be paid for stealing. Kweli hii ni nchi ya majambazi. You grab a road reserve, create titles to the land and then when the Government wants to construct the road you want to be paid billions.

These guys never change. Singh did the same thing with Processional way, that road that links Nyerere road near Serena to State House Road. He actually returned one title but had already used another one to borrow millions from a bank. I wonder how the bank handled that, maybe just a bad loan while mwananchi bears the burden.

What if we're looking at things wrong? Like Mutunga is expecting a world dominated by good, enlightenment. Is that reasonable? I think not. Man of all creatures, happens to be the least domesticated animal. So, if the jungle is too 'thick' and our institutions don't fit, why not work out how to survive given the reality on the ground?

'Bandit' may be a misnomer. It may be directing our thinking the wrong way. 'Survivor', preying on others and others preying on you, things happening to you and around you that you can't fully control. Weakness and strength experienced together.

You know every time I try to create order, the more I create disorder. The more I try to be good, the more I embrace evil. Evil, is good. Everything is good.

Think about this; the nation state, society is glued with violence, war and the monopoly of it. But most citizens are made to believe in non-violence, non criminal behavior. A few are taken and taught how to kill and are used to kill other humans. And these who know how to kill, and take by force, keep the order. Now what happens when the killers go out, and kill and kill? They get sick in the mind. We're in the kingdom of 'madness'. And that too, is good.

Corruption is good. We should embrace it. We should use it to advantage. Like getting compensation for a building on a road reserve. That's good! See how to eradicate corruption?

In other words, we're deluding ourselves in the current metaphors. Mutunga for example, isn't being as pro-change as he'd have us believe. @Kusadikika is trying to deal with cognitive dissonance by posting and hoping to affirm Mutunga's ideals, which happen to be the ideals we've grown up believing. Consequently many if not most of us languish as slaves. Like me! And that, too, is good.

Every act of mine, must be good. Must affirm reality. The world. That sense sense of responsibility is what we're escaping. Better to hide in feeling guilty and making others feel guilty and justify this guilt by blaming others, the system, history. In this regard, Cain must have been a very virtuous and good man. He couldn't be Abel's keeper. The homicide was justified. Why take to a vengeful God all the goodies? Why try to be good and avoid evil?

Optimal corruption, is corruption without regret, a sense of being guilty or in danger. When we pray or speak against corruption we're only fooling ourselves. And fooling others.

Wow.
keraka
#32 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 3:19:00 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Alba wrote:
The president is just insulting everyone's intelligence. He is not serious about corruption and has never been. Primary school land is being grabbed most likely by his deputy and instead of criticizing the theft of the primary school land, he criticizes those who used the pupils to hold a demonstration. If he wants to show people he is serious then lets start seeing some high profile arrests aka kusema na kutenda. Lets see the land stolen from Langata primary and Lavington primary returned to the school complete with a title deed.

when will you ever understand that the president does not arrest, I am sure you are the same person who criticized the former president mo1 for arbitrary detentions. or you would want us to go back to a president who can order detention at will.

Hear hear."Whom did you want to reprimand Arap Machozi?" the OCPD langata right??
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
#33 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 3:36:22 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Alba wrote:
The president is just insulting everyone's intelligence. He is not serious about corruption and has never been. Primary school land is being grabbed most likely by his deputy and instead of criticizing the theft of the primary school land, he criticizes those who used the pupils to hold a demonstration. If he wants to show people he is serious then lets start seeing some high profile arrests aka kusema na kutenda. Lets see the land stolen from Langata primary and Lavington primary returned to the school complete with a title deed.

when will you ever understand that the president does not arrest, I am sure you are the same person who criticized the former president mo1 for arbitrary detentions. or you would want us to go back to a president who can order detention at will.

sitaki.kujulikana
#34 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 4:23:11 PM

keraka wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Alba wrote:

Hear hear."Whom did you want to reprimand Arap Machozi?" the OCPD langata right??

Thats why I say kenyans just love gossip and hearsay, why on earth did we move away from a system where the president could order arbitrary arrests, why on earth did we move to create institutions independent of the president.
so now you want the president to order the arrest of the dp, if arap machozi grabbed land then the relevant institution should move to have him arrested, and yes its the police under the order of the ocpd that do the arresting, or kanjo ama the anti corruption guys.

or it just makes you feel good when you say the president is not arresting the bad guys, ohh wait, its your leader who told you that.
Alba
#35 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 4:28:59 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Alba wrote:

And when will you learn to read? I never said he should arrest anyone. There are numerous things he can do.
- He can fire corrupt officials
- He can name and shame corrupt officials
- He can stop his cohorts and other bigwigs from grabbing land
- He can appoint only officials of the highest moral calibre
- He can push for legislation that strengthens the anti corruption authority
- He can enhance transparency. For example by outlining us how government bonds are used.

Magufuli is at least trying to fight corruption in Tanzania while Uhuru and his sycophants on wazua are making excuses for him.
#36 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 5:33:42 PM

Alba wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Alba wrote:

And when will you learn to read? I never said he should arrest anyone. There are numerous things he can do.
- He can enhance transparency. For example by outlining us how government bonds are used.

Magufuli is at least trying to fight corruption in Tanzania while Uhuru and his sycophants on wazua are making excuses for him.

Rais Moi retired in 2002. Read the constitution and open the newspapers. How many have taken the Presidency to court over being fired?

Anybody who wants land just needs to ask NLC the President is not a commissioner.

Naming and shaming without evidence is criminal. The constitution gives the powers to a body called EACC one "C" reads Corruption, the other Commission. The Presidency has no hand in running the affairs, he appointed a few commissioners who were vetted by Parliament( that one part Govt) and sworn by the Chief Justice (the other part of Govt). The Presidency should not usurp the powers of the other parts of GOK.

Legislation is done in parliament where both the ruling party and opposition sit, self interests take center stage. He has taken back some of these powers like the appointment of the police chief but there are those challenging it. Others dont want to retire, Police, Judiciary.

Last. Govt is not run like your mom and pops kiosk. Everything has to abide by the constitution which I believe you have not read. How about you start there.
keraka
#37 Posted : Wednesday, January 20, 2016 9:00:25 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
keraka wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Alba wrote:

Thats why I say kenyans just love gossip and hearsay, why on earth did we move away from a system where the president could order arbitrary arrests, why on earth did we move to create institutions independent of the president.
so now you want the president to order the arrest of the dp, if arap machozi grabbed land then the relevant institution should move to have him arrested, and yes its the police under the order of the ocpd that do the arresting, or kanjo ama the anti corruption guys.

or it just makes you feel good when you say the president is not arresting the bad guys, ohh wait, its your leader who told you that.

Yes he cant be involved in everything but if he had the audacity to criticize whoever used school children in a riot he also had the capacity to do more just to show his dissatisfaction on the state of things.That said i know and bealive Uhuru means well for Kenya and so far i think he is the best offer we have amongst the current crop of politicians problem is he is held captive by tribal lords and arithmetics of survival given the nature of our current politics.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
Alba
#38 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 5:48:21 PM

Rais Moi retired in 2002. Read the constitution and open the newspapers. How many have taken the Presidency to court over being fired?

You mean to tell me the president cannot fire an official he appointed even when there is glaring evidence that said official is corrupt? And so what if he takes the president to court. If said official was fired with just cause, the courts will rule in the presidents favour.

Naming and shaming without evidence is criminal.

I never said name people without evidence. Its not that difficult to gather evidence. The president has the ability to command his people to perform thorough investigations.

Legislation is done in parliament where both the ruling party and opposition sit, self interests take center stage

True about self interests. But that self interest starts at the very top with the president. As the leader of the Jubilee party he can propose legislation ask his MPs to vote for it. That is called leadership !
As Mutunga says, corruption goes to the very top. This means the president himself is either corrupt or is coddling corrupt politicians.

Last. Govt is not run like your mom and pops kiosk. Everything has to abide by the constitution which I believe you have not read. How about you start there.

People like you just keep hiding behind the constitution. That is exactly what corruption is worse today than it ever was when Moi was president. Our president is not hamstrung. At the very least he should lead by example.
By the way when Uhuru was campaigning, he promised to effectively tackle corruption.
When Obama visited he promised Obama 10 steps he would take to tackle corruption

Yet corruption has gotten progressively worse. You now claim that Uhuru is helpless because of the constitution. Are you suggesting Uhuru is a liar?
Is he just going around lying to people that he can clamp down on corruption?

If Uhuru is hamstrung by the constitution as you claim then he should stop lying to Obama and to the public that he is capable of clamping down on corruption.

#39 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 6:12:58 PM

Alba wrote:

You mean to tell me the president cannot fire an official he appointed even when there is glaring evidence that said official is corrupt? And so what if he takes the president to court. If said official was fired with just cause, the courts will rule in the presidents favour.

Naming and shaming without evidence is criminal.

I never said name people without evidence. Its not that difficult to gather evidence. The president has the ability to command his people to perform thorough investigations.

Its not the President's job to investigate corruption. So which people are these?

Legislation is done in parliament where both the ruling party and opposition sit, self interests take center stage

True about self interests. But that self interest starts at the very top with the president. As the leader of the Jubilee party he can propose legislation ask his MPs to vote for it. That is called leadership !
As Mutunga says, corruption goes to the very top. This means the president himself is either corrupt or is coddling corrupt politicians.

Mutunga knows very well who is corrupt...eg who sold to the judiciary the CJ's house Did you ask yourself why he refused to move in?

People like you just keep hiding behind the constitution. That is exactly what corruption is worse today than it ever was when Moi was president. Our president is not hamstrung. At the very least he should lead by example.
By the way when Uhuru was campaigning, he promised to effectively tackle corruption.
When Obama visited he promised Obama 10 steps he would take to tackle corruption

Yet corruption has gotten progressively worse. You now claim that Uhuru is helpless because of the constitution. Are you suggesting Uhuru is a liar?
Is he just going around lying to people that he can clamp down on corruption?

If Uhuru is hamstrung by the constitution as you claim then he should stop lying to Obama and to the public that he is capable of clamping down on corruption.

Who writes tuko.co.ke? Corruption has been there since time immemorial, its just that now we have more than one way to get to know of it.
sitaki.kujulikana
#40 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 11:08:00 PM

Alba wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Alba wrote:

you are a very funny individual, you can deny what you clearly stated, or its the 'person of interest' school of thought.

come on, you seem to be an enlightened and intelligent person, don't go the cult way, you can question what your leader tells you.
Remember, I tell you again the major reason we came up with the new constitution was to move away from the strong man system, to one where institutions are strengthened, institutions that are meant to outlive individuals.
7 Pages«<23456>»