11 Pages«<23456>»
Baba defends Kanyari & 310
#31 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 8:42:37 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:
I fail to understand the argument.

The separation between Church and State cannot be debated. If you want gov't to interfere with church, please move to ISIS territory.

I'm speaking as someone who doesn't attend church as many times as most people.

If someone wants to believe that Kanyari is the savior, that's he's religion and he should be let be. You can complain about it and make posts on wazua about it if you wish, but that's his personal choice. As long as it doesn't infringe on my rights, let them be.

Now for this gov't of all gov'ts to talk about corruption in a church is the height of all hypocrisy.

Now they want to have another avenue to tax people. Taxing people because of their religions.

Unlike other laws such as blogging laws, which apparently now include retweeting, this one I'm afraid shall go nowhere.

Why? Why do you want Pope who has told us that the authentic spirit of religion cannot be confined to personal space or conscience to go to ISIS territory? Is he an ISIS sympathizer?

Pope Francis: religion should not be confined to 'personal conscience'

Religion must be and should be and will be regulated. Watch this space!

I have this to tell you.

Whoever or whichever politician shall try to regulate religion shall be a one term or no term leader.

That you can bank.

With that in mind, and knowing your Kenyan politicians why did the President backtrack on his own cabinet proposal?

You may wish fake prophets to be arrested, but I remember Ruto and Uhuru at Prophet Owour's Healing Party not long ago.

You are jocking.

As long as human beings shall live, Politicians shall try to control religions. Religious leaders shall try to control politicians.

That is why it is paramount that church and state are completely separated. Even if Kanu said Kenya is a christian state, you should have learned that most of the things Moi said were not necessarily fact.

#32 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 9:15:20 AM

Kwani Jubilee thinks everything rests with creation of laws? Very poor leadership style i tell you!

Let religion be, and the gullible be shafted, it is part of nature. Regardless there has been 'planting of seed' even during one channel tv VoK/KBC and no mobile era!
#33 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 9:20:34 AM

Of course the Kanyari 'miracles' were immoral and criminal. But there are many pastors on TV who do the preaching and then ask you to give your donation (via Mpesa, paybill etc) to support 'God's work', which is ok. Even the preachers in kiashland ask people to make 'pledges', send cheques etc to support spread of the gospel.
#34 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 9:41:21 AM

He is guided by the book, just like doctors are guided by science and lawyers by the written law. Doctors and lawyers face consequences (accountability) when they go contrary to their guidelines, what about mr. preacher man? So God would ask Kanyari to approach me and use potassium to what? demonstrate that he is healing?

Are christians christians because the read the bible? what if Kanyari says that in the same way Paul was 'revealed' to... he recieved a revelation last night? Who says Christians have to follow the bible? if they do.. .which bible? Can I come up with my bible and people who follow me are called 'masumians'? Mr. Preacherman is not answerable to you! unlike the doctors that was created by a bunch of people who wrote guidelines. Mr. Preacher man is accountable to God not to man.. anafanya kazi ya nani?

we can't legislate against heresies!
#35 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 9:58:32 AM

Of course the Kanyari 'miracles' were immoral and criminal. But there are many pastors on TV who do the preaching and then ask you to give your donation (via Mpesa, paybill etc) to support 'God's work', which is ok. Even the preachers in kiashland ask people to make 'pledges', send cheques etc to support spread of the gospel.

And they build massive mansions and drive fuel guzzlers like the Kunas at the expense of the common man!!!!
#36 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 10:00:39 AM

Religion is a case of willing buyer willing seller.
Traditional churches are the best due…. ACK, PCEA, Catho, AIC
Liv
#37 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 10:44:52 AM

Isn't safaricom also using the same approach as church evangelists who ask for money on TV?

Lipa na Mpesa and you will win a house.

The commissions / charges you pay for using Lipa na Mpesa goes to enrich some people who are at and through safaricom..... Certainly it contributes to the Shs 10 million salary for the CEO. Everyone is "sowing" a seed at safaricom.

The only difference is that safaricom has added "terms and conditions" to do this within the law.

I know churches don't pay taxes on their revenues like safaricom but surely many people use their services hoping to win just the same way some people send money to preachers to support God's work hoping to be blessed.

Why should the government control how people worship or give their money in their religion?
#38 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 10:58:40 AM

People really don't understand what the separation of church and state means!! really!! you have been so used to be told what to do now someone is telling you what to believe!
Matters of state need to be secular since they are matters of FACTS! measurable with an authority. think about it... everything the state does has an authority and one that can take the stand. The church is different since the authority is God and he cannot take the stand!
The common man is shafted in all ways... by GOK, Sportpesa, Lotto, by their bosses, by men of god e.t.c. LET RELIGION BE!!! NO RELIGION IS SUPERIOR TO OTHERS!! DO AFRICAN TRADITIONAL RELIGIONS HAVE A COLLEGE? Just let religion be! they can dictate what happens on STATE RUN TELEVISION CHANNELS but not private (as long as it adheres to the media code of conduct).
Religions cannot have a code of conduct! the reason they are so many is a testement to that! You cannot have a bunch of evangelicals from different churches seated somewhere and instructing Kanyari or Owour (who has his own denomination) on what is 'scriptural'... he will look at them and say.... 'God told me BLAH BLAH BLAH'... and accuse them of having 'sin in their lives' and that is the reason they cannot hear from God. The circus will continue ad infinitum until the day God sends out a list of his approved agents and is able to state that Kanyari or Owour are not his representatives.
streetwise
#39 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 11:35:22 AM

Matters of truth be told. The Government must protect the ignorant and naïve citizens from Conmen who come in the name of God.

This is a sensitive subject but we need to be all sober to the fact that most of these churches are houses of trade not of worship.

#40 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2016 11:37:43 AM

streetwise wrote:
Matters of truth be told. The Government must protect the ignorant and naïve citizens from Conmen who come in the name of God.

This is a sensitive subject but we need to be all sober to the fact that most of these churches are houses of trade not of worship.

Please indulge us in sobriety. Name one.

11 Pages«<23456>»