6 Pages«<23456>
July deadline for ban on cash for bus fare
#61 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 12:48:05 AM

No gov has forced anyone to use any platform the regulations that have been set were formulated by the sector together with the gov. Safcom and Equity are just early birds catching worms. Those other laggards will complain later.

Its wrong no matter how you look at it...where was the common mans input?

Welcome to reality. Common man will accept and move on or buy his car

Appalling...living in Utopia.
#62 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 2:07:31 AM

No gov has forced anyone to use any platform the regulations that have been set were formulated by the sector together with the gov. Safcom and Equity are just early birds catching worms. Those other laggards will complain later.

Welcome to reality. Common man will accept and move on or buy his car

Appalling...living in Utopia.

Bookmark this page. When Kidero said parking fees ni 300/- someone ran to court. Someone else will run to court but the outcome will be the same. Tuongee hio wakati

the law wrote:
Operation of PSV vehicles
8. The operator of licensed public service vehicles shall:

(a) Display on the vehicle a sticker as an identification mark approved by the Authority;
(b) adhere to the approved schedule or timetable and route;
(c) Ensure that passengers are treated with courtesy and respect;
(d) Ensure that passengers are issued with tickets and or receipts for fare paid;
(e) with effect from 1st July, 2014 all PSV operators licensed under
these regulations will be required to implement and operate a cashless payment system for all fares;

(f) Ensure that its drivers obey traffic laws and regulations;
(g) Report accidents immediately to the relevant authorities
(h) Every seven days inspect the vehicle for mechanical and other
defects according to a check list drawn up by a qualified - - 4 mechanic which shall cover at a minimum tyres, lights, safety belts, brake system for warning horn, wipers, record the defects
identified and action taken to rectify the defects.

http://transport.go.ke/i...SV%20Regulations2013.pdf
#63 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 8:10:55 AM

@murchr, some laws will never be implemented. You can pass them as much as you wish, but that one will never work. There is a law about seat belts that has never been implemented. This one will go the same way.

And like I said before, this is a law about TAXATION. More gov't taxation. Nothing to do with safety or safeguarding the matatu owners interest. The moment you issue a receipt, VAT is next.

We accept and move on to the next TAXATION target of the njumbiree gov't. I'm telling you these laptops will come, mpende msipende.
#64 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 8:25:28 AM

@murchr, some laws will never be implemented. You can pass them as much as you wish, but that one will never work. There is a law about seat belts that has never been implemented. This one will go the same way.

And like I said before, this is a law about TAXATION. More gov't taxation. Nothing to do with safety or safeguarding the matatu owners interest. The moment you issue a receipt, VAT is next.

We accept and move on to the next TAXATION target of the njumbiree gov't. I'm telling you these laptops will come, mpende msipende.

Isorait, wait for it
#65 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 10:11:35 AM

What level of education does "common man" have? vis-a-vis, what weight should be given to his ideas? He passed the constitution he has voted the President (That was his input actually), now let him relax and leave the thinking to others please! Communist used to like this "common man" argument very much, iliwapeleka wapi? Division of labor is a natural thing.
A New Kenya
#66 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 10:12:29 AM

this thing is dead in the water! gava can dictate what it wants to be paid taxes in but cannot force transactions between private parties to be carried out using some other form. they have provided legal tender just incase we don't agree. if they want to be paid taxes using bebapay or lipa na m-pesa... that is fine. but the last time i checked the notes i have in my pockets are "legal tender for the payment of debts" and if one does not want to be paid using them then.... angoje mbaka sikuile nitasubscribe kwa m-pesa.
Ole Lenku
#67 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 11:41:07 AM

UK's government is moving from one mistake to another. Their agenda is hopelessly stalled. There is no clear strategy on how to solve the country's problems. This is why the opposition is quiet of late, when your enemy makes mistakes, do not interrupt them.
#68 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 4:12:49 PM

By the way, were the Matatu owners part of the deal when these new rules were drafted?
Zanze
#69 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 7:33:56 PM

Just another half baked idea.
wazuaguest
#70 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 9:07:32 PM

By the way, were the Matatu owners part of the deal when these new rules were drafted?

yes they were part of the deal.Their reasoning is that they will stop losing money to conductors, mungiki, police...etc
Africa belongs to Africans.
urstill1
#71 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 10:35:15 PM

I'm telling you these laptops will come, mpende msipende.

urstill1
#72 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 10:37:19 PM

this thing is dead in the water! gava can dictate what it wants to be paid taxes in but cannot force transactions between private parties to be carried out using some other form. they have provided legal tender just incase we don't agree. if they want to be paid taxes using bebapay or lipa na m-pesa... that is fine. but the last time i checked the notes i have in my pockets are "legal tender for the payment of debts" and if one does not want to be paid using them then.... angoje mbaka sikuile nitasubscribe kwa m-pesa.

One of the very few times I have seen you not supporting the gaarment/Jub policies.
#73 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 10:47:19 PM

wazuaguest wrote:

yes they were part of the deal.Their reasoning is that they will stop losing money to conductors, mungiki, police...etc

So who is complaining?
#74 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 11:38:29 PM

wazuaguest wrote:

So who is complaining?

Common man smile Just like he's complaining now that he cant travel by bus at night
hamburglar
#75 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 8:03:39 AM

which part of the pictures above murchr, don't you understand. The rectangle thing with a 1 printed on it is CASH.

We are trying to copy ideas that don't even exist. Even the google card being touted by the gov't is a beta test that has not passed google engineers yet.

Cashless matatus my foot. Ati digital. Hii ni Taxation. Let's just accept and move on.

U are showing pictures of the 90s these days there are apps that can be downloaded from App store or google play for ticketing eg https://play.google.com/...dk.unwire.projects.dart

Very few of those buses remain these days mainly because many people park and ride so where you park ...you buy your ticket and go to work using train or bus.

Muchr. You obviously have no idea what you are talking about. All buses in the metro areas of every city and every State in America take cash. They have a coin box which dispenses tickets. You definitely have no idea how the park and ride works either. Am not sure where you are getting your information from. Trust me, i lived in the States for 16 years and have been to over 30 States so i think i might know a thing or two about this whole thing. Even Greyhound tickets are purchased using cash. The US is a widely cashless society, but nowhere you go is cash frowned upon. You can use cash anywhere you like, the main reason people prefer plastic is because of the convenience it offers.

This whole idea the Kenyan government is trying to implement on matatus is ludicrous. I won't go through all that trouble of sijui beba pay or whatever you guys are calling it, if i just want to hop into a matatu for a quick trip down the road. It just sounds very ill conceived and exhausting.

The government cannot dictate which form of legal tender i prefer to use, unless they want to do away with cash, i will use cash whenever it's convenient for me, and in matatus is one of those places that i refuse to use any other form of payment. If they don't take my cash then that's their problem, they can take me to small claims court where i will still pay them in cash anyway. Some ideas are very retrogressive. Why are Kenyans policy makers so devoid of common sense?
#76 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 9:54:33 AM

Totally stupid worthless project. Wasting time on rubbish while major issues are not addressed. Typical Jubilee govt...
#77 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 10:00:48 AM

urstill1 wrote:

One of the very few times I have seen you not supporting the gaarment/Jub policies.

There was a thread where 2013 goggles were to be left huko 2013. This is a good progress.

#78 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 12:22:19 PM

I would be pleasantly surprised if most complaining against the move use matatus. smile
#79 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 12:30:04 PM

I would be pleasantly surprised if most complaining against the move use matatus. smile

We have dependants, relatives, and even our own children who use mats. smile
Ole Lenku
#80 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 12:31:29 PM

People with private vehicles should shout the loudest."First they came for the communists, and I did not speak out—
because I was not a communist;
Then they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out—
because I was not a socialist;
Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out—
because I was not a trade unionist;
Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
because I was not a Jew;
Then they came for me—
and there was no one left to speak out for me"Martin Niemoller