wazua Thu, Feb 27, 2025

8 Pages«<23456>»
Tighten your seat belts!!!!
#61 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 7:00:52 PM

Did somebody just tell me that even humanitarian aid will now be taxed!!!
#62 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 9:07:46 AM

@Willingtolearn:

Can we now compute the new prices after VAT:

We start with the Nation Newspaper:

Was 50/= and now is 60/= but should be 58/= strictly appying the 16% VAT.

This will cut across the board, it's an opportunity for the producers to increase their prices across the board.
#63 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 9:40:56 AM

Leo kila mtu anakunywa chai ya ofisi!! Even those who have previously not...
#64 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 10:21:00 AM

You voted for devolution. Time to pay up #ChoicesHaveConsequences
rryyzz
#65 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 10:33:28 AM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I am these people who fika home like this na thermos ya chai pap. I seriously have to tighten my belt, yesterday I told myself, hiyo afternoon chai ya ofisi, i'm never gonna leave, kwanza ikiwezekana 2 cups.
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
The Clown
#66 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 10:35:36 AM

Very unwise of this regime to deliberately increase the price of food e.g. milk and milk products. You can be sure that even if the VAT on these items is removed, the prices will not go back to what they were before.

Political blunder if you ask me.

Yet we know that the extra money is simply going to fund the astronomic wage bill and not the development budget.
#67 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 10:35:52 AM

rryyzz wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I am these people who fika home like this na thermos ya chai pap. I seriously have to tighten my belt, yesterday I told myself, hiyo afternoon chai ya ofisi, i'm never gonna leave, kwanza ikiwezekana 2 cups.

Mluhya wewe!

#68 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 10:38:25 AM

rryyzz wrote:

Mluhya wewe!

siri ni chai ndefu sasa 1 cup of milk for tea to last the whole day ama ununue ngombe!
#69 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 10:44:58 AM

Deleted
#70 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 10:49:20 AM

Not true
PART B
ZERO RATED SUPPLIES TO PUBLIC BODIES, PRIVILEGED
PERSONS AND INSTITUTIONS
The following taxable supplies shall be zero-rated when supplied by a registered person
7. Relief goods supplied or imported for emergency use

Taxable goods for emergency relief purposes for use in specific areasand within a specified period, supplied to or imported by the Government or its approved agent, a non-governmental organization or a relief agency authorized by the Cabinet Secretary responsible for disaster management,
#71 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 11:08:21 AM

Tebes wrote:
[quote=McReggae]Did somebody just tell me that even humanitarian aid will now be taxed!!!

Yap. Check this out:

Foreign missions alarmed!
thuks
#72 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 11:26:20 AM

@Willingtolearn:

This will cut across the board, it's an opportunity for the producers to increase their prices across the board.

I think it should kes 59.52 since it is based on selling price. 60 is ok after rounding up.
I care!
#73 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 12:03:59 PM

thuks wrote:
@Willingtolearn:

I think it should kes 59.52 since it is based on selling price. 60 is ok after rounding up.

Just been spotted at the supermarket buying 5 packets of Milk and now Julie Gichuru wants to feature me on "Who Owns Kenya"
#74 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 12:07:31 PM

thuks wrote:
@Willingtolearn:

Just been spotted at the supermarket buying 5 packets of Milk and now Julie Gichuru wants to feature me on "Who Owns Kenya"

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly When you buy milk, you carry it proudly home (even stop at the newspaper vendor to read free newspaper)...Hakuna kuweka maziwa kwa black paperbag...it's a status symbol!
#75 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 12:14:48 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Tebes wrote:
[quote=McReggae]Did somebody just tell me that even humanitarian aid will now be taxed!!!

Yap. Check this out:

Hakuna cha bure, there is no "free food" there, ask bulk handling, remember how "free maize" was stolen/raided by former PM na kijana wake? Chakula ni pesa, they are almost the same. Let them do it to uncover "the mysteries".
Meru Holiness
#76 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 12:17:58 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Tebes wrote:

Yap. Check this out:

1.5% is for the Railway development Levy on imports, not VAT.
#77 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 12:19:01 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Tebes wrote:

Yap. Check this out:

Hakuna cha bure, there is no "free food" there, ask bulk handling, remember how "free maize" was stolen/raided by former PM na kijana wake? Chakula ni pesa, they are almost the same. Let them do it to uncover "the mysteries".

Let them tax kabisa...they should actually increase it.
#78 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 12:47:25 PM

Tebes wrote:

Not true
PART B
ZERO RATED SUPPLIES TO PUBLIC BODIES, PRIVILEGED
PERSONS AND INSTITUTIONS
The following taxable supplies shall be zero-rated when supplied by a registered person
7. Relief goods supplied or imported for emergency use

Taxable goods for emergency relief purposes for use in specific areasand within a specified period, supplied to or imported by the Government or its approved agent, a non-governmental organization or a relief agency authorized by the Cabinet Secretary responsible for disaster management,

Normal aid like for people living wih Aids are not emergncy and in this case most likely be taxed.......infact USAID has said they might have to shift the aid to other countries as they can't seek aid only for the garment to come and tax it!!!
#79 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 12:53:48 PM

@Willingtolearn:

@MCreggae. I never contested what the new prices will be. My point was and still is prices of most goods and services have always been one way...Up.

#80 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 1:21:04 PM

Instead of mourning how life is worsening we should be asking ourselves how are the people we have entrusted with taxes and this devilution thing handling the current taxes?

Unless and until we sit down and cost the true expense of the county gaarments believe you me the worst is yet to come

we have just devolved unchecked graft and wastage of our taxes 47 times

i read stories like this one and i want to lynch a governor

Counties : Kisumu Assembly team Uganda trip sparks outcry