wazua Thu, Jun 27, 2024

7 Pages«<23456>»
The Car infront is Always. . .Tyranny of the TOYOTA
CLK
#61 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 1:57:55 PM

[quote=Siringi]Agreed.Top gear especiaaly the UK version are openly biased towards European cars.Sad

See what they score the VW golf volvo benz etc compared to cars from JapanShame on you Shame on you Shame on you

They annoyed me when they called the Honda CRV gari ya stay at home mothers for shopping and dropping kids to school kids soccer, drama etc! ! !

Aussies and Edmunds give fairer reviews.
I particularly like the comments and reviews of actual drivers (except Subarus)
Careful cause some people suffer from post purchase dissonance

Hiyo ni ugonjwa gani??
The Honda Pilot is the one for stay at home mums. lots of space..

#62 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 2:00:04 PM

Lets debunk the myths and. Separate facts from fiction

Why I love my Toyota:
1. Cheap to run - typical service after 5k km
Engine Oil Kes. 1200 4litres Hapo shell
Oil filter Kes 250 air Filter Kes 350
Denso plugs @Kes 150 = 600 after 10,000 to 15000 km
Tip the mechanic at the service station Kes 500

ATF once a year after Xmas ,
Where is that guy calling Toyota expensive...? Alete hiyo yake hapa

Do the math halafu add your reasons why you love or hate the car Infront
CLK
#63 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 2:02:52 PM

commando wrote:
luttz wrote:
@ Commando & rryyzz! How many people fall in that category?

Someone may not need to exactly fit this script, but this is an example to a bigger picture. Take an example of taking a 9M mortgage where you pay 110K pm for 15 yrs(11.75 interest p.a) to own a 3BR in Kitengela. Some1 else will chose to buy a plot in Kitale and put up 6 rental units and make 60K pm, and chose to pay 25K rent p.m in Nai. I agree the people may not be too many, but the point is parking a serious car in a rented house is not always a stupid act.

And i know someone who can afford to buy a house but chooses to invest the money in trucking business and gets a handsome return at the end of every month, he thinks paying 100k a month for 15 years to own a house is stupid. He has however grown his business and says the day he chooses to build a house, he will do it in a flash, in the meantime, he rents a house hapo Doni near the parking lot for his trucks...
#64 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 2:02:55 PM

commando wrote:
luttz wrote:

Someone may not need to exactly fit this script, but this is an example to a bigger picture. Take an example of taking a 9M mortgage where you pay 110K pm for 15 yrs(11.75 interest p.a) to own a 3BR in Kitengela. Some1 else will chose to buy a plot in Kitale and put up 6 rental units and make 60K pm, and chose to pay 25K rent p.m in Nai. I agree the people may not be too many, but the point is parking a serious car in a rented house is not always a stupid act.

For 9m I get 30acres in Ushago where I practice agriculture instead of buying a 2 bedroom apartment in Hurlingham.Let me continue renting and parking a car in a rented house, after all I dont intend to live in Nairobi all my life.
#65 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 2:03:19 PM

Siringi wrote:

Why I love my Toyota:

Boss sio toyota zote ni NZE familiy!!!!
#66 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 2:08:20 PM

CLK wrote:
commando wrote:
luttz wrote:

And i know someone who can afford to buy a house but chooses to invest the money in trucking business and gets a handsome return at the end of every month, he thinks paying 100k a month for 15 years to own a house is stupid. He has however grown his business and says the day he chooses to build a house, he will do it in a flash, in the meantime, he rents a house hapo Doni near the parking lot for his trucks...

Even Ephraim Maina pays rent!!!!
luttz
#67 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 2:18:24 PM

I guess we all have valid points depending on one's priorities and finances. As for me I always consider sustainability above everything else; I do not borrow to support lifestyle
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
theman192000
#68 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 2:54:46 PM

luttz wrote:
I guess we all have valid points depending on one's priorities and finances. As for me I always consider sustainability above everything else; I do not borrow to support lifestyle

I agree 100%.

I know a loan shark (note that he is not a friend of mineLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ) who tells me many guys in their 50s approach him to lend money against their expensive family mansions in Runda because they don't have investment income after paying mortgages all their lives until retirement.

#69 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 3:05:04 PM

@MC point is 90% of the cars Infront that cause jam will be serviced by Onyi and Ouma at the service station at costs within those ranges +- from the Allion/Premio Mark II , X , Korobois Ist, Vitz, Cami Runx/Allex , Rush,
The Sibuor VX can go queue @Toyota (k)

But my mboys kina Wambua and Anwar At the Garage do Kluger / Harrier Lexus RaV 4 etc
And the bills add or take cannot buy decent drinks at the local.

Not sure about the alphard lakini ya Noah Isis ipsum hiace nayua

Nataka kuona hapa bills za Eluopean aka Germany cars

Hapana kubali kugongwaShame on you

Siringi wrote:

Why I love my Toyota:

Boss sio toyota zote ni NZE familiy!!!!

#70 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 6:03:39 PM

Priceless vintage Toyota : somewhere in Mara Maasais heading home in a Toyota
theman192000
#71 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 6:11:52 PM

This picture ^^^ is too large and it's messing the page.
#72 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 6:12:32 PM

Habari ya watu nyumbani?

Huku ni kwa kina nani?

The matatus that never got full especially in nyanza.
This guy was told bado gari wazi kama kanisa jumapili

two hours later. . . After nyama choma and the dere has cleared with mama pima
#73 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 8:54:16 PM

Was watching Top Gear a few days ago and was shocked at how they trashed the Range Rover Sport......they said it's a 'terrible car' that's only bought by 'brainless EPL footballers'.

I watched that episode too and couldn't believe it. Na vile wengine wetu hold it in such high esteem Sad
webish
#74 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 9:01:11 PM

CLK wrote:
kamundu wrote:
For me, a car is not an asset. Hence for now i drive a car I can easily maintain and dispose off. That for me is a Toyota or maybe a Nissan. I have had two corollas, and these cars are unbreakable.
However, once I am financially stable, have my own business, have kidogo investments, and live in my own house, i will let my investments buy me my luxuries. A german car may come that time. Right now I spend 500k max on a used car.
Too many of my young colleagues are living beyond their means. I find serious german cars parked outside rented flats.

Drivers of this cars go to such places to pay rent, they do not live there, lol..

Or maybe to collect RENT.

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
#75 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 9:05:21 PM

Siringi wrote:
Agreed.Top gear especiaaly the UK version are openly biased towards European cars.Sad

See what they score the VW golf volvo benz etc compared to cars from JapanShame on you Shame on you Shame on you

They annoyed me when they called the Honda CRV gari ya stay at home mothers for shopping and dropping kids to school kids soccer, drama etc! ! !

Aussies and Edmunds give fairer reviews.
I particularly like the comments and reviews of actual drivers (except Subarus)
Careful cause some people suffer from post purchase dissonance

d'oh! d'oh!
#76 Posted : Thursday, August 22, 2013 9:14:08 PM

Siringi wrote:
Habari ya watu nyumbani?

Huku ni kwa kina nani?

The matatus that never got full especially in nyanza.
This guy was told bado gari wazi kama kanisa jumapili

two hours later. . . After nyama choma and the dere has cleared with mama pima

I still recall one that had the statement 'There is always room for one more in my matatu' boldly written on the backdoor.
#77 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 4:54:40 AM

Must have been Arsenal fans cause i read somewhere one of the Range Rovers was 'designed' by Victoria Beckham.Laughing out loudlysmile Laughing out loudly smile Laughing out loudly

Rankaz13 wrote:
Was watching Top Gear a few days ago and was shocked at how they trashed the Range Rover Sport......they said it's a 'terrible car' that's only bought by 'brainless EPL footballers'.

I watched that episode too and couldn't believe it. Na vile wengine wetu hold it in such high esteem Sad

#78 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 4:59:55 AM

Before the tyranny of the car infront this is how those real men who have arrived travelled to Kericho Kisumu Naxvegas pia Ameru and occassionally NyeriShame on you apana kuingia kwa matatu na mimi iko na haraka

CLK
#79 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 7:52:31 AM

Siringi wrote:
@MC point is 90% of the cars Infront that cause jam will be serviced by Onyi and Ouma at the service station at costs within those ranges +- from the Allion/Premio Mark II , X , Korobois Ist, Vitz, Cami Runx/Allex , Rush,
The Sibuor VX can go queue @Toyota (k)

But my mboys kina Wambua and Anwar At the Garage do Kluger / Harrier Lexus RaV 4 etc
And the bills add or take cannot buy decent drinks at the local.

Not sure about the alphard lakini ya Noah Isis ipsum hiace nayua

Nataka kuona hapa bills za Eluopean aka Germany cars

Hapana kubali kugongwaShame on you

Plugs KES 6000 every 15000km i think
Pads KES 6500 depends on driving mine still ok at over 10000km
Oil Synthetic 3000 recommended every 10000km do mine at 7000km
Filter KES 2000 10000km but do mine at 7000km
labour ya Mwaniki is 1500-2000 bob

above rates are when i go the roadside way.

otherwise nikienda CMC kwa counter

plugs 13k
pads 11k
oil 8k
filter 5k (not sure)
not sure about labour but najua gari yako ikiingia hapo na kutoka ni kama 10k

najua kuna mtu atarusha mawe, but i took my car to toyota Kenya once for a major service, parted with a clean 27k and no plugs or pads were changed, later bought brake pads at 14k za mbele, and the day they stole my side mirror, i wanted not to support the business of stolen side mirrors, bought a new one at 12k.

You understand why i will opt for a German car any day?? of course comparing oranges to oranges not VW polo to Toyota VX as McDoba said..

CLK
#80 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 7:58:33 AM

Siringi wrote:
Must have been Arsenal fans cause i read somewhere one of the Range Rovers was 'designed' by Victoria Beckham.Laughing out loudlysmile Laughing out loudly smile Laughing out loudly

Rankaz13 wrote:
[quote=jaggernaut]Was watching Top Gear a few days ago and was shocked at how they trashed the Range Rover Sport......they said it's a 'terrible car' that's only bought by 'brainless EPL footballers'.

The Evoque?? cute car i hope nitaonekaniwa siku moja...