wazua Sat, Jul 26, 2025

5 Pages«<2345>
Your Electricity Bill
#61 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 5:55:00 AM

If you care to dig into the bills... you find that KPLC has the least 'take' in the deal for the service they provide... The gava chews up most of the cash through taxes & levies.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
kishtash
#62 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 8:22:00 AM

What about the fuel adjustment they include? Its double the monthly bill before taxes! Since fuel prices came down,why cant KPLC reduce the fuel adj&gt;&gt;&gt;? phew

tash
mozenrat
#63 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 10:36:00 AM

Sasa hii mambo ya taxes,KPLCs take imetoka wapi? Reox asked about unwarranted reconnection fees... Hizi zingine ni porojo...
#64 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 12:38:00 PM

It is all is spelt out in the annual report available online.

***The fuel surcharge goes to the IPPs & KenGen as a 'pass-through' cost. KPLC keeps zero of the fuel surcharge/adjustment.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
CLK
#65 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 1:13:00 PM

@Reox,i had a similar problem,consulted a friend who works at KPLc,she told me they charge once the disconnection order is out,only that the guys who are supposed to disconnect dont actually do it.
could you be paying your bills through the post office? such payments arrive late (it takes a while before they are reflected at KPLC) reason why they assume you havent paid when you have actually paid.
make your payments at KPLC offices or Co-op Bank they are reflected immediately (so they claim,i havent tried it myself)

hope things will change with ZAP and M-PESA

The real measure of your wealth is how much you'd be worth if you lost all your money. ~Author Unknown
reox
#66 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 2:14:00 PM

Thanks @CLK,....... now how long does it take for them to reflect a refund on the bill as they had promised? a whole kshs 1,740 isn't little money and I want it back any KPLC in the house i give details?????

Be proactive not reactive
Don't let urgent deflect you from the important

jerry
#67 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 6:19:00 PM

@VVS. What was the FCA and FOREX Adj. last month? This conduit or ' cost pass' is too high and runs into billions per month. May b we should go without 'light' but put these billions into hydro or geothermal!

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#68 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 9:56:00 PM

The FCA & Fuel adjustment is shown for the full year (& half year) on the website as part of the financial information provided. I can't provide numbers for each month.

*** You have hit the nail on the head when regarding 'use'. KPLC/KenGen/MoE has agreed to provide 'reliable' electricity rather then rationing if only using hydro & geo-thermal.

*** Kenya has NOT exploited enough geo-thermal. Yet.
*** Hydro is the cheapest type but the low rainfall has hurt production thus the 'top-up' using fuel-oil. The most expensive is using diesel basically large scale generators.

*** Finally,there is electricity loss through theft. This also costs the consumer. I hope KPLC disconnects the non-payers & illegal connections. It will reduce my cost.

#69 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 9:58:00 PM

Kenyans need to use 'less' electricity OR find sources for cheap production. We do not have enough 'water' to produce enough electricity. The major rivers are Tana & Athi flowing to the east. Kenya is not allowed to dam rivers flowing into L. Victoria due to some weird/unfair Nile River Treaty.

#70 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 5:12:00 AM

Could someone give an overview of how they calculate their Charges? Can one predict the electricity bill once meter readings have been taken?

Work like you will die tomorrow,plan like you will never die
#71 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 1:07:00 PM

KPLC or ERC publishes the formulas for the charges. For the month to month... sijui...

LK
#72 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 6:21:00 AM

@tebes,i had a problem,n i asked thier customer care how they charge on consumption,its 4 bob for the first 50 units,and 8 bob for the extra units of consumption.

hizo fuels charges n s*** sina idea!

Invest wisely!!
ispoa
#73 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 9:25:00 AM

My bill just seems to keep shooting up. Octobers 09 fuel cost adjustment was up to a whooping Ksh 7.75 per kWhr. Yaani i am paying more 4 the fuel cost adjustment than for my actual consumption.

So much for school holidays, elnino and the toi's spending more time in the house!

Already dreading my Nov n Dec Bills

He that rides the Tiger,cannot dismount
#74 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 11:08:00 AM

Sept/Oct bill is sh3,000

Much better than the sh5,900 that I paid around this time last year.

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#75 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 5:24:00 PM

Fuel Cost Adjustment & forex adjustment goes straight to IPPs & KenGen... (loans in forex)

Kirethi
#76 Posted : Thursday, November 05, 2009 1:15:00 PM

There was an article in the papers about KPLC'S big dividend payout and since we cannot do without electricity I would advice all to buy KPLC and Kengen shares to enjoy the dividends which will somewhere appease all on the huge power bills.

And hopefully with more investors the cost of power will go down as the two companies will reduce borrowing funds from banks at high interest rates.

Watu wachangamuke
#77 Posted : Thursday, November 05, 2009 8:02:00 PM

Investors want low power bills yet high interest rates (12.5% after taxes) from KenGen... U can't have your cake & eat it too...

Kamaa
#78 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2009 8:06:00 AM

i think the p-unit's song 'juu tuu sana' is befitting my Oct 09 electricity bill...

it really shot up!

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
jerry
#79 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 6:56:00 PM

@ispoa. I wonder how the dollar strength relates to the FOREX adjustment. If the dollar loses in value against the KES as it has been happening,do we expect a higher forex adjustment? Forex adj for Oct was 91 cents up from is it 59?

Crocodile tears: If you can't assist me when I'm alive en you attend my funeral.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#80 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 7:11:00 PM

Stronger KShs (vs US$ or other currencies in which KPLC & IPPs have borrowed) means the forex adjustment will DROP... I think the base price was set when the $ was around 65 (when the safcom IPO came out) thus we see the forex adjustment unless $ drops to 65. Of course,there are other currencies involved.