Investor
Economy
The International community threat and it's impact on our economy....which way??
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
guru267 wrote:the deal wrote:most Zimbabweans only survived because of neighbouring countries who have strong economies...the exodus still happens today...now where will Kenyans run to? Uganda or Tanzania? What about Somalia, S. Sudan or Ethiopia?? Members of those countries are currently in Kenya in droves there is a reason to that...well go and vote...let the wrong person win...let that person refuse to work with the ICC...or the West refuse to work with him...you will see what will happen in a year...seeing is believing. For now I'm hopeful the right person will win.
Rank: Member Joined: 11/16/2011 Posts: 196 Location: united states of africa
Thats the reason why I keep on saying that in order for Kenya to protect itself, it must unlearn all the shitty ass values it has inherited from the West, arm itself up to the teeth and finally, start giving these leaders the boot if they continue with their nonsense. Anyways, am happy that people are waking up to the day light robbery that has been perpetuated by the west and the home guards since 1961. Energy.
Cde Monomotapa wrote:NB: @Josi Zim has been on a cash budget since '09 & running on the USD (hence can't print like the Fed) and also w/o a T-Bill/Bond to fill in short/mid/long budget gaps. However, the money mkt is set to be revived this year & pursuant to the Zim Accelerated Arrears clearance Debt & Development Strategy (ZAADDS) launched last year, WB/AfDB/IMF/IFC/EIB e.t.c funding is set to resume soon. Bank sector deposits up from USD3.6B in '11 to USD4.4B '12 [can all fit in KCB ]. Banking sector confidence is yet to fully re-up but EcoCash (MPesa) has shaken things up big time since '11. #StayTuned | Download the latest Zim Monetary Policy Statement & learn more about the New Zim (not @deal's or foreign media's hostile versions) Jan 2013 MPS.pdf http://www.rbz.co.zw/pdf...PS/Jan%202013%20MPS.pdf
Unfortunately, that PDF refused to open... Anyway, thanx for giving me another picture of Zimbabwe.
Most welcome & apologies @josi try this one. Download zimbabwe-monetary-policy-jan-2013.pdf http://sirnigelsjourney....tary-policy-jan-2013.pdf
As broad as day, Uhuruto are complying with the ICC and as long as that persists please let's tone down the noise. You do your part & VOTE PEACEFULLY.
Cde Monomotapa wrote:As broad as day, Uhuruto are complying with the ICC and as long as that persists please let's tone down the noise. You do your part & VOTE PEACEFULLY. In the event they don't, there is a legal mechanism in the Constituition to have them Impeached - clear as day. (I'll personally join the Civil 'busy bodies' on the streets for that) VOTE PEACEFULLY
the deal wrote:guru267 wrote:the deal wrote:most Zimbabweans only survived because of neighbouring countries who have strong economies...the exodus still happens today...now where will Kenyans run to? Uganda or Tanzania? What about Somalia, S. Sudan or Ethiopia?? Members of those countries are currently in Kenya in droves there is a reason to that...well go and vote...let the wrong person win...let that person refuse to work with the ICC...or the West refuse to work with him...you will see what will happen in a year...seeing is believing. For now I'm hopeful the right person will win. We can move to Namibia & triple the population. 2M*3 ;-)
murchr wrote:Kenya is not a banana republic. Who owns the flower, tea and coffee farms, the holiday and game resorts? Is it not their cousins and their relatives who refused to pack their bags and call themselves Kenyans today? Will Tullow and Africa Oil withdraw from exploring oil in Turkana? Will Base titanium give up exploration in Kwale etc? The truth of the matter is they walk out the Chinese check in. The reason baba was focused on looking for markets in the Middle East and Asia was to avoid hii panganga.
If you haven't noticed, the sanctions have started...dint they ban miraa? Refuse to pay KDF its dues? How long shall we lick their boots? But notice they cant keep off our markets, because what is to come is very enticing.
The western baffoons are just making noise out of their interest.Let no Kenyan of stable thinking believe that they are doing this for our interest.The ICC tool was orchestrated long time ago to give their prefered candidate raila a direct ticket to state house.They have just realized that this will not be and they are now bucking so the citizens can help them salvage their candidate.Truth be said,the masses dont know what sanctions are and in any case hate mzungu....no wonder the phrase MAUMAU is taking shape
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Cde Monomotapa wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:As broad as day, Uhuruto are complying with the ICC and as long as that persists please let's tone down the noise. You do your part & VOTE PEACEFULLY. In the event they don't, there is a legal mechanism in the Constituition to have them Impeached - clear as day. (I'll personally join the Civil 'busy bodies' on the streets for that) VOTE PEACEFULLY ...if they comply (and win) they will be absentee president and vice president. I dont believe in that business of ruling by video conference, email and phone even for one second. Consider this: the court runs just like a normal working day, say 9 to 5. So at the end of the court day Uhuruto can start leading Kenya, but alas, allowing for time difference between Netherlands and Kenya, it is already 7pm in Kenya, our hardworking technocrats have gone home! Are we going to redefine working hours for some government types? Besides that, how can they concentrate, give Kenya the mindshare that is due to it given that they are encumbered with personal responsibilities for all 8 hours a natural working day? Besides stating simply that they can rule via technology, they havent explained how. Clearly, you can see it is very impractical and untenable. This is why I am convinced the ticket is for selfish and nefarious reasons, they know clear as day its near impossible to govern effectively from distant, cold lands. Which brings me neatly to my second point. Some say that there are institutions and structures in place ...and some to come up just to deal with this new precarious position we'll find ourselves in. The presidency itself is an institution, it cannot be a vacuum, otherwise, why vote? For this reason, I am predicting a move to impeach even if Uhuruto comply with ICC for the simple reasons of ineffectiveness and absence; We might get trapped in repeated grabs for power, leading to unstable government, like India and Japan some years back when there was a government falling every 6 months or so. In conclusion, a vote for Uhuruto is a vote for instability and uncertainty for the next 5 years. I wonder why an ordinary mwananchi who needs to toil hard everyday would risk his livelihood for billionaires. True heroes sacrifice a lot for the people they want to liberate, they dont use people as shields and seek positions of comfort, power and affluence. In any case, it is not a fight of we against them, this is not 1963. I am able to do pretty much what I want if its not breaking the law without a foreigner standing in my path.
@quicksand natural justice dictates that one's innocent untill proven guilty and thus, absenteesim can only be if they're locked up & that is still out there. Otw, Kenya has structures & the Speaker fills in. I mean, even presidents/employees fall sick go out for a time & are back in action - no difference. A company doesn't stop when the Chairman/Board is away & he's no KYM anyway. Let's not preclude too much (unless for propaganda). Let the process unfold. Vote who you like, VOTE PEACEFULLY. PS: For 10yrs Kenyans have alleged Baks absent & not doing anything just coz they don't see him on TV daily like MO-1 or Obama but Kazi Imeendelea. So let's just keep sober. VOTE PEACEFULLY
& it would be great that the Legal Tourism be directed to the ICTR in TZ. I hope the UN can approve of that.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
@cde ..I agree with you on the need for peace and rationality in debates, which I hope is what I am trying to do. I am not in the propaganda business, just trying to dissect scenarios logically. That being said, this is not about natural justice, but about power. I said as much in a post on this very thread http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...amp;m=365123#post365123
I have been waiting for someone to make a counter argument but no one has ventured. Why? Because everyone has gone against a powerful opponent at some point in their life in one circumstance or another and know firsthand how painful it can get. You are wrong about absenteeism. Its not about being locked up, its about being away from office. If you went to play golf in Scotland or went hiking without making reasonable input toward meeting your obligations for 3 years you would be judged absent. Normally there are allowances that cater for circumstances like illness, or international engagements, and they permit a limited or total transference of power for the time it lasts. This hardly stretches to 3 years. Such allowances can only cover for an extended period of time at the benevolence of other power hungry politicians - my point being an extended absence makes valid grounds to move for impeachment, ergo power grab attempt. If they were unable to effectively rule, leaving the Speaker to it, that would not help matters either. We did not elect to be perpetually governed by a speaker. This is a very plausible scenario. About MK, he wasnt an absentee president, not by a long shot. That is a badly misguided perception. There is no law that requires the president to have his face in cameras all the time; reduced media presence does not mean he was not working or making decisions. The parallel doesn't fit, therefore doesnt apply here.
Hey..absenteeism & being away, what's the difference? There's a reason I don't visit the other sections of Wazua & not today either. I'm just reciting the very law Kenya passed & in the event of an Impeachment, the Speaker's the boss for atmost 90 days to another elections I think. There is no power vacuum. As far as the Prez & VP hopping in-out the country together whether official or OTW, the Speaker will always be there & for that & other reasons he is presumed impartial. Enough of the politics. Vote who you like, VOTE PEACEFULLY.
Hunderwear wrote:murchr wrote:Kenya is not a banana republic. Who owns the flower, tea and coffee farms, the holiday and game resorts? Is it not their cousins and their relatives who refused to pack their bags and call themselves Kenyans today? Will Tullow and Africa Oil withdraw from exploring oil in Turkana? Will Base titanium give up exploration in Kwale etc? The truth of the matter is they walk out the Chinese check in. The reason baba was focused on looking for markets in the Middle East and Asia was to avoid hii panganga.
If you haven't noticed, the sanctions have started...dint they ban miraa? Refuse to pay KDF its dues? How long shall we lick their boots? But notice they cant keep off our markets, because what is to come is very enticing.
The western baffoons are just making noise out of their interest.Let no Kenyan of stable thinking believe that they are doing this for our interest.The ICC tool was orchestrated long time ago to give their prefered candidate raila a direct ticket to state house.They have just realized that this will not be and they are now bucking so the citizens can help them salvage their candidate.Truth be said,the masses dont know what sanctions are and in any case hate mzungu....no wonder the phrase MAUMAU is taking shape You also need to understand that kenyans died in 2008 violence,and no one has ever been brought to book.Our judicial system was messed up and that's how the ICC came up.So,ICC orchestration as a tool is a lie. This two characters ,Uhuru and Ruto have been accused of this heinous crimes. You ought to understand that this characters are purely running to save their asses,using electorate to save their asses from facing justice. Its common knownledge,with no international support plus sanctions,Kenya will turn to another Zimbabwe and crumble. Eitherway,let it be,however it will be coz that's how God will intend it to be.
Real sad to see fellow citizens refuse to be objective at the behest of a Tribal King(s) on a self preservation mission that least caters for the hoi Polloi's interest when the tough times visit the Country! There are times when need arises to guide the delusional from perilous decisions e.g Fellows refusing go or to take their children to Hospital. This Country has a President in office at Present. He is not completely helpless on this matter even now though he could have tacked it better much earlier! What kind of Country does Kibaki want to bequeath to the younger genenration. Is the celebrated economist okay with seeing hte country wither a few years after he leaves office. I thought Leaders are there to provide leadership. There is no better time than now that our leaders leadership is yearned for! Kibaki, where are you! Dunia ni msongamano..
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2010 Posts: 2,220 Location: Sundowner,Amboseli
Let these mzungus go & go for good. I personally have lined up some lil money to buy up their properties in Gigiri,Karen & Nanyuki. Even bought a landrover from them not long ago Feels good @SufficientlyP
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
I didnt know some stupid comments like the one above can come from the mouth of an investor. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
Anyone stating that US and EU withdrawing their 'poverty' out of Kenya is/will be disaster is enemy No. 1 to Kenya's economic freedom. So, they have been singing sanction to kigali, what are the effects to date? Yeah, London and Canada firms are investing BILLIONS of USD right now in Turkana and Kwale, do you expect them to recoup them in less than 5 years after today? Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
faa wrote:Hunderwear wrote:murchr wrote:Kenya is not a banana republic. Who owns the flower, tea and coffee farms, the holiday and game resorts? Is it not their cousins and their relatives who refused to pack their bags and call themselves Kenyans today? Will Tullow and Africa Oil withdraw from exploring oil in Turkana? Will Base titanium give up exploration in Kwale etc? The truth of the matter is they walk out the Chinese check in. The reason baba was focused on looking for markets in the Middle East and Asia was to avoid hii panganga.
The western baffoons are just making noise out of their interest.Let no Kenyan of stable thinking believe that they are doing this for our interest.The ICC tool was orchestrated long time ago to give their prefered candidate raila a direct ticket to state house.They have just realized that this will not be and they are now bucking so the citizens can help them salvage their candidate.Truth be said,the masses dont know what sanctions are and in any case hate mzungu....no wonder the phrase MAUMAU is taking shape You also need to understand that kenyans died in 2008 violence,and no one has ever been brought to book.Our judicial system was messed up and that's how the ICC came up.So,ICC orchestration as a tool is a lie. This two characters ,Uhuru and Ruto have been accused of this heinous crimes. You ought to understand that this characters are purely running to save their asses,using electorate to save their asses from facing justice. Its common knownledge,with no international support plus sanctions,Kenya will turn to another Zimbabwe and crumble. Eitherway,let it be,however it will be coz that's how God will intend it to be. No one has ever denied that crimes were committed in 2008, but using scapegoats and shoddy investigations dint help the situation either. If there's anything that we should learn from the Chinese is that freedom is a choice. If everything and anything is dictated to you then your as good as a donkey. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2010 Posts: 2,220 Location: Sundowner,Amboseli
mlennyma wrote:I didnt know some stupid comments like the one above can come from the mouth of an investor. Pole if I offended you. So did you sell your shares together with @Stocksmaster & @guru Dec last year becoz of the impending sanctions? @SufficientlyP
Investor
Economy
The International community threat and it's impact on our economy....which way??