Kenya Versus Al Shabaab
If you think these al-shabab elements are not in Nairobi already, you are mistaken. Its worse to get rid of an approaching enemy than that which is in your midst. The war that Kenya has started is simply a waste of life and resources. http://www.theeastafrica.../-/jdldjpz/-/index.html
Jaina wrote:If you think these al-shabab elements are not in Nairobi already, you are mistaken. Its worse to get rid of an approaching enemy than that which is in your midst. The war that Kenya has started is simply a waste of life and resources. http://www.theeastafrica.../-/jdldjpz/-/index.html
For me this is gibberish, the US and the reats have been contributing to something that does not affect them directly, in this case we are talking about al shabaab undermining our olwn country with the 'UTADO' mentality, if you say they are in Nairobi, let them attack as they threatened, I think al shabaab is highly overated making them think that they can do whatever they like.....NEVER!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
simonkabz wrote:Scaremongering, aimed at the likes of @Jaina. Thats exactly what they want...Kenyans to get scared shitless. Nothing can be worse than the PEV, not these rag tag walking hangers. @ Kabz Its very easy to chest thump, but in reality ther e will be no meaningful gain from attacking Somalia. They have nothing to loose while we have everthing to loose. Ethiopians were there, The US knows better why not get into munky somalia battles. Or has Kenya Govt discovered something new 20 years after the collapse of Somalia Govt?.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/24/2011 Posts: 407 Location: Nairobi,Kenya
@Jaina,You are so very right..but what options did we have?al-shabaab actually declared war on us by attacking us with impunity...they are attacking our tourists,abducting our soldiers,they are even recruiting our youth.Now if we continue sitting back because we are afraid of losing so much...they will interpret that as ineptitude and continue their attacks.in the long run we would loose more.for sure even if our govt didn't decide to pursue them now,we would be forced to pursue them sooner or later..We are just unfortunate enough to share a long border with somalia.this put us in a damned position..if we go to war with alshabaab we stand to loose alot,if we dont go to war we still stand to loose alot.damn them! Hope is not a strategy
JAINA(NAIJA)= DEFEATIST Life is an endless adventure
@Jaina, what u fail to understand is, these clothehangars revere the Ethiopians kama moto. The Ethiopians simply taught them a tough lesson, n thats precisely what we r doing. Cowardice by ua kind is totally mystifying n unacceptable. Were u around during the 2008 PEV? I was in the target community. Let them beat that!!! OVERATED skunks. Im glad most Kenyans are putting a brave face. Show them fear, n u r doomed! Ati they taught US a lesson?? N u can beleive such holy crap? The 20 or so US soldiers were abandoned n killed by the angry Somali population, NOT the stupid coat-hangars. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
..And why are we taking women to the battle front? kwani wanaume wameisha..(saw it in the NTV clip) If you are an eagle don't hang around with chickens; chickens don't fly....
Too much adrenaline for us citizens. Please lets not get addicted to this feeling. Our army killing the enemy.....big up!
Rank: Member Joined: 6/17/2011 Posts: 129 Location: Nairobi
[quote=jesski]we are at war: Kenya to fight Al-Shabaab: http://m.standardmedia.c...lines.php?id=2000044910[/quote] This is the most reckless decision by a cabinet minister in Kenya...Kenya is not experienced in combat fighting and the al shabaab are spoling for a fight at Afmedow where the battle is headed...It is going to be a costly war and we can ill afford it.... As long as you're going to be thinking anyway, think big
Rank: Member Joined: 5/26/2009 Posts: 326 Location: Nairobi
@Jaina please be careful. We are in war mode and you are either a walushababu propagadist or a sad coward.
Two other observations:
1. why hasn't the army bombed a target in Eastleigh or South C?
2. RAO is MIA
We are at war. Anyone trying to scare Kenyans not to go at war is on the other side. Arguments on the virtue of going or not going were held before and I was one of those who said not to go. But once your country goes to war, you are are at war and we should support our brave men and women 100%. Otherwise, go to the other side! Let us beat the crap out of them. If they revenge here, we revenge harder until they are non-existent! Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
I expect us to inflict long term damage on Al Shabaab, my only worry is Al Shabaab could inflict more pain on unsuspecting citizens locally which will arouse a lot of emotion and weaken government resolve and tempt them to quit or embolden them into a fully fledged combat with Al shabaab. I am not overly worried about cross border progress of the military, what I am worried about is our soft underbelly - our local situation.
We already have too many Somalis from Somalia as part of us, so we can't really tell when Al Shabaab terrorists visit to inflict pain on us. WE WILL BE SITTING DUCKS. It doesn't help integrity and passion for the job are lacking in our police force, Some of our force members would sell their brethren for small sums or ignore signs because there is no money to be made by following up on the same.
We also have seriously soft targets in our midst. Look at big malls and how we flock there every weekend, T-mall, Sarit, West gate, UKay center etc. Some have basement parkings, pubs and lots of enclosed spaces, no one checks who walks in or drives in. If you look at what's been happening to Iraq one has to worry about our roads, how many times on Mombasa Road, Waiyaki way, Bunyala, Lusaka, Jogoo road etc do we see a convoy of fuel tankers in the queue together with private cars and public service vehicles? On the same roads you have trucks carrying highly inflamable chemicals and gases such as LPG, Oxygen and Acetyline BOC gases) . There ought to be some rules around road transport and better screening in those enclosed malls otherwise we could be caught unawares when Al Shabaab strikes.
alma wrote:We are at war.
Anyone trying to scare Kenyans not to go at war is on the other side.
Arguments on the virtue of going or not going were held before and I was one of those who said not to go.
But once your country goes to war, you are are at war and we should support our brave men and women 100%. Otherwise, go to the other side!
Let us beat the crap out of them. If they revenge here, we revenge harder until they are non-existent! Well said @ Alma. Our Army needs our support in any possible way. In any case once the decision has been made & order has been given to attack the enemy, the order has to be followed. Whether it was good or bad decision its the subject of debate. Here in Wazua we can only debate. It doesn't mean by supporting the Decision to attack you are brave or objecting to the decision you are a coward. We should be prepared to pay the price as well as enjoy the benefits of the aggression whatever the outcome.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
TPK wrote:This is the most reckless decision by a cabinet minister in Kenya...Kenya is not experienced in combat fighting and the al shabaab are spoling for a fight at Afmedow where the battle is headed...It is going to be a costly war and we can ill afford it.... I think this is long overdue and this is the best opponent to pick on as I doubt we can do well against a well organised army like Uganda's. We need to display our might and I'm sure the Americans (Obama) and NATO will back us strategically with info, maps, weapons and reconnaissance after all we're fighting terrorists where Americans failed. This is good for our honor. I only pity Somali businesses and their huge investments in Kenya because that is what is under threat if they retaliate in Kenya/Nairobi as they have threatened to do. BBI will solve it :)
@Kausha sasa wewe umenena. Those are precisely the realities that we must face as Kenyans. FACE, not dive for cover. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
Yesterday I saw the army getting into position in somalia and some media guys were infront of them filming..was that just an act or what?...are we going to see frontline action like in Sirte and Baniwalid in Libya from a local media houses. The only way the Govt can win this war is by subdividing the country into sections with Ethiopia controlling the northern part, TFG the southern part and Kenya the eastern part..Puntland can take care of the western regions. Alshabab is incapable of winning a war waged from 4 different regions cutting all its supply routes .... '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
Ethiopia taught those Somali dogs a few lessons, we should have them come in from the north and put those hounds under pressure. That country is curse....ancient Chinese landed on the coast of Somalia 4000+ years ago and chronicled in their books that no Chinese should ever visit there as all Somalis do is FIGHT. Hilarious isn't it? Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
A decision to go after Shabaab was long overdue. I have always said Somali's extended war is largely Kenya's irresponsibility just like Zimbabwe's extended problems are South Africa's irresponsibility.
Shabaab fund their wars from Kenya and we all know know the intelligence agencies know where and who the War loads sleep and sleep with. This may also turn out to be our saving grace because I doubt any Shabaab general has the bottle to call for a 'chafua' mission in Kenya.
The wealth and general comforts of Somalia somalis especially the war lords will be under serious pressure and it's a no brainer how that would progress. I actually believe Shabaab goofed going after Kenya. It's only Kenya who was well placed to finish them. I expect them to foolishly attempt something locally which will result in high emotions and Emilio's arm being twisted into going to full engagement in the entire Somalia, a situation America and the entire Europe would really relish and would fund and support with resources required. Shabaab are walking into a trap that will see them finished completely.
alma wrote:We are at war.
Anyone trying to scare Kenyans not to go at war is on the other side.
Agreed Alma.....in the words of G. Bush,"You are either with us or with the terrorists"....Simple! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
The only thing we need to be prepared for is the collateral damage the enemy does not respect the rules of engagement, he will definitely retaliate by orchestrating a local attack against civilians like the cowards they are ....I wonder if Kenya is prepared for such an eventuality. This war will definitely sharpen our boys. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
Kenya Versus Al Shabaab