Investor
Economy
SAFARICOM SAYS TO RAISE CALLING RATES BY 1 SHILLING ACROSS TARIFFS ON WEAK SHILLING,
Lolest! wrote:Impunity wrote:I mbought my initial Kencel SIM at KES 1,999, while my college roomate mbot a Safcon line at KES. 2,500; back in 2003/4! Things change. I bought my line around the same time. To the best of my recollection, it wasn't that expensive. But the cheapest credo was 250 Impunity, those are prices for 2001/2002.....by 2004 they were cheaper!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
Does it mean this market has left pple with nothing to talk about? "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/3/2010 Posts: 1,141 Location: Londokwe
mlennyma wrote:Does it mean this market has left pple with nothing to talk about? The only share that you can make money on now is paka. Buy low today sell high tomorrow.Im sure somebody is benefiting from the daily swings .Today the highest gainer tomorrow the highest loser. 2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
@user paka is too delicate that once you buy it you have to put your finger somewhere so that curtains dont close while inside. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
mlennyma wrote: Does it mean this market has left pple with nothing to talk about?
The only share that you can make money on now is paka. Buy low today sell high tomorrow.Im sure somebody is benefiting from the daily swings .Today the highest gainer tomorrow the highest loser.
I agree.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/19/2010 Posts: 1,308 Location: nairobi metropolitan
Some of us are very sensitive. I hamad to airtel both on voice and data. I used to spend to daily internet bundles, but now i buy 100 mb @ 100. Much cheaper, without expiry and use as i need, at the same speed on my phone. Do your simple maths. Democracy does not belong to the dead
githundi wrote: Some of us are very sensitive. I hamad to airtel both on voice and data. I used to spend to daily internet bundles, but now i buy 100 mb @ 100. Much cheaper, without expiry and use as i need, at the same speed on my phone. Do your simple maths. ??? "All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
This is a high risk strategy for SCOM. Previously, guys did not hama because SCOM countered price drops by the others, especially Airtel with simiilar moves or other interesting promotions.
The story this time is different. As long as I have an Airtel/Yu SIM, I can call Safaricom numbers at a lower rate than that, at which I call within SCOM. Soon enough the guys you are caling inform you that they also have an Airtel/Yu number and you then shift your calls to those numbers as they are even cheaper if you call within their networks.
I have not mentioned Orange above as their calls to other networks are priced at 4/= unlike Yu and Airtel who are on 3/=.
earthvoice wrote:githundi wrote: Some of us are very sensitive. I hamad to airtel both on voice and data. I used to spend to daily internet bundles, but now i buy 100 mb @ 100. Much cheaper, without expiry and use as i need, at the same speed on my phone. Do your simple maths. ??? if you have airtel internet settings, just use *111#, chose air tel broad band, and then choose airtel bundles....and there you go. Democracy does not belong to the dead
githundi wrote: Some of us are very price sensitive. I hamad to airtel both on voice and data. I used to spend to daily internet bundles, but now i buy 100 mb @ 100. Much cheaper, without expiry and use as i need, at the same speed on my phone. Do your simple maths. Democracy does not belong to the dead
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
@Iborian PROFITABILITY is the word. Safaricom is the only mobile operator in the green. There is no use of hogging all the subscribers if you can't break even. I think safaricom now has a critical mass of postpaid subscribers, data and mpesa users. The others are like rats, no loyalty to any particular network and not worth hussling for. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
githundi wrote:earthvoice wrote:githundi wrote: Some of us are very sensitive. I hamad to airtel both on voice and data. I used to spend to daily internet bundles, but now i buy 100 mb @ 100. Much cheaper, without expiry and use as i need, at the same speed on my phone. Do your simple maths. ??? if you have airtel internet settings, just use *111#, chose air tel broad band, and then choose airtel bundles....and there you go. Speeds? GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Rank: User Joined: 8/29/2011 Posts: 1,045 Location: Mtaani
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:githundi wrote:earthvoice wrote:githundi wrote: Some of us are very sensitive. I hamad to airtel both on voice and data. I used to spend to daily internet bundles, but now i buy 100 mb @ 100. Much cheaper, without expiry and use as i need, at the same speed on my phone. Do your simple maths. ??? if you have airtel internet settings, just use *111#, chose air tel broad band, and then choose airtel bundles....and there you go. Speeds?
sparkly wrote:@Iborian PROFITABILITY is the word. Safaricom is the only mobile operator in the green. There is no use of hogging all the subscribers if you can't break even. I think safaricom now has a critical mass of postpaid subscribers, data and mpesa users. The others are like rats, no loyalty to any particular network and not worth hussling for. @sparkly - I guess I am one of the rats you refer to above. I spend clsoe to 1,000/= a month on voice calls alone so I am well above the average revenue per user for SCOM. I don't like being tied to a specific spend per month, so I don't like the idea of going for POSTPAID. If there are enough of us who feel aggrieved that our calls within the network are cheaper than those guys calling us from other networks, then for sure SCOM will feel the pinch. I agree that SCOM has raised their rates to cushion profitability. SCOM however has a lot of fixed costs so if a large number of their subcribers (like me) reduce their spend that profitability could also be eroded. As to the other networks not being profitable, from a consumer's perspective, well, that's neither here nor there. BTW, I still retain my SCOM number but I am no longer using it for voice. As for Data, I am OK with the SCOM High Speed connection (Black Modem)but that's only because my Orange High Speed 3G Modem has been performing at dial-up speeds. Apparently, there is some kind of black hole in my estate as far as Orange are concerned.
Investor
Economy
SAFARICOM SAYS TO RAISE CALLING RATES BY 1 SHILLING ACROSS TARIFFS ON WEAK SHILLING,