wazua Sat, Jul 4, 2026

68 Pages«<3637383940>»
Garissa university attack.
MatataMingi
#371 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2015 3:46:09 PM

We need gun laws that are friendly to the citizens. Like most if not all citizens of majority age should be able to own and use a gun effectively. This may mean a change in politics, but I suspect it's the change we've yearned for.

With all due respect @tycho, I don't think we as a country and people are remotely ready to own guns. All the thugs will be armed.
MatataMingi
#372 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2015 3:52:54 PM

I was wondering why would a human being kill/maime another human being s/he has never met before?Then I realised it's possible going by what happens here on wazua;Our hate for team otoyo,2pm gang, lakers, mountaineers is too much yet we have never met, what if that hate is taken offline?....I suspect the death toll will be higher than the 147

We are all terrorist.The Alshabab are more bold than we are! We are a bunch of cowards terrorists

Until we are all allowed to have guns. Then we will ambush and shoot each other - instead of hating each other here.
MatataMingi
#373 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2015 4:00:07 PM

The al Shabaab will change Kenya in a way that probably none of us can imagine. And that's the scary thing. They are determining our behavior, they are changing our relationships, our politics, and our worldview. This means that so far, they have the upper hand.

A war can be won before it begins. And so can it be lost before it's started. And this one so far, seems to be the latter.

I see very tough times ahead. We say so many things, so many recommendations and opinions. . . but how exactly do they matter? How are we forming them? And even most importantly, why are we awash with opinions and suggestions? The answer to the last question is simply because we have no confidence with the government. Now, isn't that a sorry state of affairs?

It's like playing with a grenade.

Great points right there @tycho
#374 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2015 4:01:23 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
We need gun laws that are friendly to the citizens. Like most if not all citizens of majority age should be able to own and use a gun effectively. This may mean a change in politics, but I suspect it's the change we've yearned for.

With all due respect @tycho, I don't think we as a country and people are remotely ready to own guns. All the thugs will be armed.

I have a suspicion that if a thug needs a gun right now then he'll surely get it. Guns aren't so out of reach.
MatataMingi
#375 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2015 4:02:29 PM

Robinhood wrote:
What I really hate is the way the gava has found a way to explain away things. We vowed revenge after westgate. Nothing happened. We found the political networks crap for Mpeketoni. We explained away (and ''killed 100 terrorists'' when tens of teachers and quarry workers were massacred. Now we are busy blaming the failure to recruit 10,000 police men for this sickening situation.

We have no strategy against terrorism - other than of course knee jerk reactions, unrelated bombings, excuses, and of course securing the scene (an euphemism for doing nothing for hours on end as kids are murdered). When will we develop a coherent strategy? When will we realize that war was declared ages ago and go for the enemy before he kills our kids.

And finally, when will we professionalize the security forces, introduce meritocracy (not ukabila), and kill corruption? When jameni? when?

I like this
D32
#376 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2015 4:03:21 PM

MatataMingi wrote:

Mata, kinda looks like thugs are already armed. Think it's about time citizens had firepower. Hand guns are a start, with training obviously.
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
D32
#377 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2015 4:05:02 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
Robinhood wrote:
What I really hate is the way the gava has found a way to explain away things. We vowed revenge after westgate. Nothing happened. We found the political networks crap for Mpeketoni. We explained away (and ''killed 100 terrorists'' when tens of teachers and quarry workers were massacred. Now we are busy blaming the failure to recruit 10,000 police men for this sickening situation.

We have no strategy against terrorism - other than of course knee jerk reactions, unrelated bombings, excuses, and of course securing the scene (an euphemism for doing nothing for hours on end as kids are murdered). When will we develop a coherent strategy? When will we realize that war was declared ages ago and go for the enemy before he kills our kids.

And finally, when will we professionalize the security forces, introduce meritocracy (not ukabila), and kill corruption? When jameni? when?

I like this

Said it well.
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#378 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2015 4:08:24 PM

Shak wrote:
Alba wrote:
Revenge and counter revenge will not defeat Al Shabab. Kenya needs to do basic things better like intelligence analysis or even just taking intelligence seriously.

Kenya needs rapid response forces stationed in Mandera, Wajir and Garrissa. GSU should now focus on training to confront terror and not training to beat up protesting wananchi.

Its a shame that Kenya does not have significant military presence in Garrissa. Fat Police wearing pati pati should not be responding to acts of terror.

Like!

There's actually a KDF army barrack at garrisa, thats where those soldiers and tanks that you saw during the attack came from. Also note that garissa was the provincial police hqts for NE province and thus has heavy police presence.
#379 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2015 4:55:41 PM

Shak wrote:
Alba wrote:
Revenge and counter revenge will not defeat Al Shabab. Kenya needs to do basic things better like intelligence analysis or even just taking intelligence seriously.

Kenya needs rapid response forces stationed in Mandera, Wajir and Garrissa. GSU should now focus on training to confront terror and not training to beat up protesting wananchi.

Its a shame that Kenya does not have significant military presence in Garrissa. Fat Police wearing pati pati should not be responding to acts of terror.

Like!

There's actually a KDF army barrack at garrisa, thats where those soldiers and tanks that you saw during the attack came from. Also note that garissa was the provincial police hqts for NE province and thus has heavy police presence.

Even with all the military presence and might, the battle against radicalism cannot be won if we all don't become alert. And i know many will bash my thoughts here but as long as we have no mechanisms of reporting anything suspicious or any response mechanism that is worth its salt then we have no hope.

After 911 and several school shootings, almost all schools in the US have a school police post. All employees have to be vetted thoroughly(background checks). The American public is always alert such that if anyone comes across some substance on their way to sch/work etc they immediately call 911 even if its Unga ya ugali, who knows could be some anthrax powder. We have to accept that we live with evil beings, and its a worldwide phenomenon. The public needs education, not to be told that the RECCE squad is not well paid. Who is anyway?

The laxity within our police is a Kenyan thing. Go anywhere, no one takes their job seriously
Alba
#380 Posted : Monday, April 06, 2015 5:36:47 PM

The reports I am readings suggest that it took 7 hours for KDF/GSU to respond to the Garrissa attack and that the respondents were flown from Nairobi and not Garissa. If this is true then it is sheer madness.

Given all the terror prevalent in Northeastern, Kenya needs rapid response units stationed in Mandera, Wajir and Garissa

Its good to have a tank battalion in Garissa but more critical is unit that specifically deals with acts of terror.

When you look at the slow and bumbling response that Kenya has to acts of terror compared to the quick and decisive actions that other countries have, you can only feel embarassed and sad.

Part of the problem I believe is that we have political appointees and not competent appointees.
68 Pages«<3637383940>»