Garissa university attack.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/14/2011 Posts: 870 Location: nairobi
I think having mandatory military training and allowing more people to own guns is something to consider. I think people now need to protect themselves as clearly people are on their own hoping against hope.
I was wondering why would a human being kill/maime another human being s/he has never met before?Then I realised it's possible going by what happens here on wazua;Our hate for team otoyo,2pm gang, lakers, mountaineers is too much yet we have never met, what if that hate is taken offline?....I suspect the death toll will be higher than the 147 We are all terrorist.The Alshabab are more bold than we are! We are a bunch of cowards terrorists If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
In my opinion this war was declared after Westgate, but we lost focus. Mpeketoni followed..... they get bolder and more daring with each episode. We the citizens see it as gok work and ridiculed PORK when he said security begins with you. A declaration of war is what I see as the only solution to the AS menace, entire frontier should be Militarize and a mop up of all suspected recruits undertaken. Unless and until we hit back harder, we'll remain lame ducks. Waiting for the next attack and another round to lecture UK et al on how to stop AS. Let's take the war to them to the sheikhs, madrassas, streets, every shop, every school every corner. Let them have nowhere to hide. We are all affected a good starting point would be recruiting relatives of affected families into the hunt for the killers. Let their blood not be in vain..... I refuse to surrender to AS, I refuse to condemn the government (not that they are without blame), but that's what AS aspires for from us.
http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/q1lvr7/-/index.html
Kenyan fighter jets on Monday bombed two Al-Shabaab camps in southern Somalia, the army said, days after the Islamists carried out their worst ever massacre in Kenya. "We bombed two Shebab camps in the Gedo region," Kenyan army spokesman David Obonyo told AFP. "The two targets were hit and taken out, the two camps are destroyed." The airstrikes follow threats by President Uhuru Kenyatta that he would retaliate "in the severest way possible" against th Al-Qaeda-linked militants for their attack on Thursday on Garissa University College in which nearly 150 died.
Swenani wrote:I was wondering why would a human being kill/maime another human being s/he has never met before?Then I realised it's possible going by what happens here on wazua;Our hate for team otoyo,2pm gang, lakers, mountaineers is too much yet we have never met, what if that hate is taken offline?....I suspect the death toll will be higher than the 147
We are all terrorist.The Alshabab are more bold than we are! We are a bunch of cowards terrorists If I were to meet the wazua terrorist and his jihadist bride.......
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
Shak wrote:Alba wrote:Revenge and counter revenge will not defeat Al Shabab. Kenya needs to do basic things better like intelligence analysis or even just taking intelligence seriously.
Kenya needs rapid response forces stationed in Mandera, Wajir and Garrissa. GSU should now focus on training to confront terror and not training to beat up protesting wananchi.
Its a shame that Kenya does not have significant military presence in Garrissa. Fat Police wearing pati pati should not be responding to acts of terror. Like!  I thought i saw an interview of Nkaissery b4 he took power saying those fat askaris only eating chicken will go back to the field to trim them bellies !!
jaggernaut wrote:http://www.nation.co.ke/news/KDF-bombs-Al-Shabaab-bases/-/1056/2677290/-/q1lvr7/-/index.html
Kenyan fighter jets on Monday bombed two Al-Shabaab camps in southern Somalia, the army said, days after the Islamists carried out their worst ever massacre in Kenya.
"We bombed two Shebab camps in the Gedo region," Kenyan army spokesman David Obonyo told AFP.
"The two targets were hit and taken out, the two camps are destroyed."
The airstrikes follow threats by President Uhuru Kenyatta that he would retaliate "in the severest way possible" against th Al-Qaeda-linked militants for their attack on Thursday on Garissa University College in which nearly 150 died. He should organize Mungiki to invade Eastleigh and Jamia mosque on Friday at midday to teach the terrorists a lesson.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
The al Shabaab will change Kenya in a way that probably none of us can imagine. And that's the scary thing. They are determining our behavior, they are changing our relationships, our politics, and our worldview. This means that so far, they have the upper hand.
A war can be won before it begins. And so can it be lost before it's started. And this one so far, seems to be the latter.
I see very tough times ahead. We say so many things, so many recommendations and opinions. . . but how exactly do they matter? How are we forming them? And even most importantly, why are we awash with opinions and suggestions? The answer to the last question is simply because we have no confidence with the government. Now, isn't that a sorry state of affairs?
It's like playing with a grenade.
What I really hate is the way the gava has found a way to explain away things. We vowed revenge after westgate. Nothing happened. We found the political networks crap for Mpeketoni. We explained away (and ''killed 100 terrorists'' when tens of teachers and quarry workers were massacred. Now we are busy blaming the failure to recruit 10,000 police men for this sickening situation. We have no strategy against terrorism - other than of course knee jerk reactions, unrelated bombings, excuses, and of course securing the scene (an euphemism for doing nothing for hours on end as kids are murdered). When will we develop a coherent strategy? When will we realize that war was declared ages ago and go for the enemy before he kills our kids. And finally, when will we professionalize the security forces, introduce meritocracy (not ukabila), and kill corruption? When jameni? when? Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Rank: Member Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 399 Location: Where everyone knows you
whiteowl wrote:Mukiri wrote:limanika wrote:whiteowl wrote:limanika wrote:tycho wrote:I realize that some of us are deeply interested if not involved with security matters, and mostly intelligence. I have been interested in these matters also.
So, I'd like to ask a question that has been in my mind. . .
What would make the al Shabaab claim that it's going to be 'a long and gruesome war'? The war lords and somali businessmen, many in Kenya and many in Somalia used to benefit from access to kismayu and piracy. The moment KDF captured kismayo, their fortunes all but dwidled. Those in Kenya who were rich have sons who have seen their family fortunes change overnight. They remember the 'good old days' with nolstagia, and also know one thing..only KDF stands in their way back to those days. Hence, they just need KDF to withdraw, they can easily deal with Somali army. Since we have snatched their bread and butter, hence the statement. It means things will get worse so long as we stay in somalia. Sometimes I wonder, if we withdraw, won't these shabaab be too busy fighting amongst themselves, and then international community finds ways of dealing with piracy? Before KDF went to Somalia, pirates were having a field day hijacking vessels so I can't support withdrawing troops before there is a stable govt. Cost of business at the mombasa post had gone up n insurance premium for cargo had gone up.The only people that had an upper hand were people importing goods through Kismayu though that meant they were bankrolling AS. Like a certain governer who imported tonnes of sugar, repackaged n sold it n declared magical profits year on year.There are at least two other companies I know that did the same.On another twist, some powers that be don't want Somali to be stable coz it poses great economic threat to Kenya. They have a massive coastline that would render mombasa n Lamu ports almost irrelevant. Nobody has said the problems will end overnight when we withdraw. Since Ethiopia seems to be safe, why not for instance ask them to take over the sourthern sections and we leave it to them. In a nutshell, because of our system failures / clueless agencies, kenya will suffer in both cases, whether our troops are in somalia or not. But since we are not able/willing to employ the correct counter terrorism measures, kenya will have more problems when the troops remain in somalia. It is a case of choosing the 'lesser evil' There's a reason why people don't negotiate with terrorists. Give them an arm, they'll want a leg. Get those war lords and businessmen you are talking about, and 'withdraw' them. See if their minions want to emulate them anymore. When a listed company and a leading supermarket were the top customers of Kismayu port,then that should tell you KDF is in Somalia to clean our own mess.Troops withdrawal calls are based on the notion that the AS threat originates from Somalia. We've all been supporting AS knowingly or otherwise. Even if you go through the top 10 financiers/customers of kismayu of AS are all Kenyans n most aren't Muslims. Those businessmen in Eastleigh are just poster boys.I only know of one businessman who was dealt with but the rest are roaming free. Then again in the long-term, there is the risk of such militants curving out a portion of our country if left to grow. Corrupt people,officials & looters will use any avenue to enrich themselves. They don't have to be Muslims.
Garissa university attack.