#681 Posted : Saturday, January 20, 2018 12:43:32 PM

#682 Posted : Saturday, January 20, 2018 12:48:56 PM

#683 Posted : Saturday, January 20, 2018 6:08:00 PM

If karen residents don't want kiosks, why are they buying from them?
#684 Posted : Saturday, January 20, 2018 6:39:41 PM

What we're witnessing is the beginning of the end of Sonko's lucky political run. He is now very wide open for sabotage from within and his party. I can predict that if he doesn't play ball with State House, he will run on a Wiper ticket in 2022 and lose miserably to Igathe or someone else from Jubilee or whatever it will be called then.

#685 Posted : Saturday, January 20, 2018 8:57:54 PM

If karen residents don't want kiosks, why are they buying from them?

They can move to Nanyuki and be flying to Nbi daily like real cowboys. There are even flats and students hostels in Karen and the owners are residents.
#686 Posted : Sunday, January 21, 2018 1:45:29 AM

What we're witnessing is the beginning of the end of Sonko's lucky political run. He is now very wide open for sabotage from within and his party. I can predict that if he doesn't play ball with State House, he will run on a Wiper ticket in 2022 and lose miserably to Igathe or someone else from Jubilee or whatever it will be called then.

Will Jubilee exist in 2022? Sonko still enjoys the support of common Nairobians dont be fooled by twitterans. Thats why there's so much silence from all quarters that would be talking big by now.
#687 Posted : Sunday, January 21, 2018 9:02:31 AM

Will Jubilee exist in 2022? Sonko still enjoys the support of common Nairobians dont be fooled by twitterans. Thats why there's so much silence from all quarters that would be talking big by now.

My friend, Nairobi is tough. Sonko won't make it back if he doesn't perform. If we still have mountains of garbage, no water, dirty foot paths, potholes, corruption in city hall, brutality by city askaris, no new markets, traffic jams etc. I can assure you he won't make it back. The party can easily sabotage him because all they need to do is withdraw support by MCAs and he is cooked. And you know how cheap MCA are..

#688 Posted : Sunday, January 21, 2018 4:51:16 PM

My friend, Nairobi is tough. Sonko won't make it back if he doesn't perform. If we still have mountains of garbage, no water, dirty foot paths, potholes, corruption in city hall, brutality by city askaris, no new markets, traffic jams etc. I can assure you he won't make it back. The party can easily sabotage him because all they need to do is withdraw support by MCAs and he is cooked. And you know how cheap MCA are..

5yrs is a long time. Keep watching
wukan
#689 Posted : Sunday, January 21, 2018 8:32:51 PM

so the the 90's muggings are back in the CBD around archives, kenya cinema and junction of moi and kenyatta avenue, the hawkers and chokoras are all over, PYTs can't walk with human hair weaves in town or nice earrings.

CBD is becoming the Gangstas paradise
#690 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2018 8:30:28 AM

Idiot policies and tactics from an idiot Governor.
#691 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2018 8:36:05 AM

wukan wrote:
so the the 90's muggings are back in the CBD around archives, kenya cinema and junction of moi and kenyatta avenue, the hawkers and chokoras are all over, PYTs can't walk with human hair weaves in town or nice earrings.

The Kibaki era was a false dawn. KANU is back in power.
Expect more gabbage,wanton grabbing,unprecedented crime levels, road rage and collapse of parastatals
#692 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2018 10:51:46 AM

wukan wrote:

CBD hasn't been secure for loooooonnggg

3 years ago I was accosted on Kimathi street by young smart looking guys at 7.30pm. I ducked into a restaurant very fast. On sharing my experience, I gathered that there are young fellows who were targeting guys with bags that look like they could be having laptops.

But the latest and most dangerous is those big groups that surround you and steal from you. They do it so fast that you can't be helped
#693 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2018 10:56:49 AM

wukan wrote:

3 years ago I was accosted on Kimathi street by young smart looking guys at 7.30pm. I ducked into a restaurant very fast. On sharing my experience, I gathered that there are young fellows who were targeting guys with bags that look like they could be having laptops.

But the latest and most dangerous is those big groups that surround you and steal from you. They do it so fast that you can't be helped

Waah. I try to avoid CBD as much as possible
wukan
#694 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2018 11:57:44 AM

wukan wrote:

Broken windows theory-it starts off with allowing unruly matatus and hawkers in CBD then the chokoraas follow, then the muggings then you have kina rasta and wanugu and criminal gangs taking over. Swenani and other mido class avoid the CBD then CBD decays and you have the big businesses relocating. Same thing happening in Karen.

Mayors David Dinkins and Rudy Giuliani restored New york by cleaning up and revitalizing the CBD and pursuing aggressively the petty crimes like graffiti. In Singapore it started with cracking down on chewing gum. Try explain to Sonko on what broken windows means and he just doesn't get it. Those big groups are his Sonko rescue team who he hasn't paid for months. The bodas are now driving on pavements and they are calling CBD 'Sonko republic'

Anyway who cares!!!

Iganamagana
#695 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2018 12:11:13 PM

wukan wrote:

Broken windows theory-it starts off with allowing unruly matatus and hawkers in CBD then the chokoraas follow, then the muggings then you have kina rasta and wanugu and criminal gangs taking over. Swenani and other mido class avoid the CBD then CBD decays and you have the big businesses relocating. Same thing happening in Karen.

Mayors David Dinkins and Rudy Giuliani restored New york by cleaning up and revitalizing the CBD and pursuing aggressively the petty crimes like graffiti. In Singapore it started with cracking down on chewing gum. Try explain to Sonko on what broken windows means and he just doesn't get it. Those big groups are his Sonko rescue team who he hasn't paid for months. The bodas are now driving on pavements and they are calling CBD 'Sonko republic'

Anyway who cares!!!

Sounds like you have given up. The current situation does not give much hope but I believe something can be done. I drove through Thika town very early Saturday morning with a ten year old who commented that the town seems clean. It is actually cleaner (surprisingly) than the Kabogo error in-spite of the fact that the current leadership is also not very inspiring.

There is a glimmer of hope.
Fyatu
#696 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2018 12:32:53 PM

Iganamagana wrote:
wukan wrote:

Anyway who cares!!!

Sounds like you have given up. The current situation does not give much hope but I believe something can be done. I drove through Thika town very early Saturday morning with a ten year old who commented that the town seems clean. It is actually cleaner (surprisingly) than the Kabogo error in-spite of the fact that the current leadership is also not very inspiring.

This is the attitude i was talking about in another thread titled "Politics of water in Nairobi." Kenyans don't care about other Kenyans misfortunes as long as it does not affect them. And if affected, they have simply given up...(the sasa mnataka nifanye nini attitude)

One of the solution to most of Kenyas problem is saying "Enough is enough! to this bullshit. If the government bodies cannot instill discipline in some few rogue Kenyans(police, pickpockets, Nairobi water staff, Kenya power staff, the bodaboda guy), then wananchi should chukua sheria kwa mikono yao..I hate to use this word but Kenyans should RESIST
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#697 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2018 5:18:22 PM

5yrs is a long time. Keep watching

5 years is a very short time. But yes,let's keep watching.

#698 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2018 5:34:29 PM

Fyatu wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:
wukan wrote:

Anyway who cares!!!

This is the attitude i was talking about in another thread titled "Politics of water in Nairobi." Kenyans don't care about other Kenyans misfortunes as long as it does not affect them. And if affected, they have simply given up...(the sasa mnataka nifanye nini attitude)

One of the solution to most of Kenyas problem is saying "Enough is enough! to this bullshit. If the government bodies cannot instill discipline in some few rogue Kenyans(police, pickpockets, Nairobi water staff, Kenya power staff, the bodaboda guy), then wananchi should chukua sheria kwa mikono yao..I hate to use this word but Kenyans should RESIST

Security lies squarely on Uhuru and now Matiang'i. And its true, even with technology, security in the city has been deteriorating. I was away for an year and when I came back in 2014 i couldn't believe what I was seeing outside. Chokora kila mahali.

It would help if hawkers left the streets because they exacerbate the situation, but then, why do Nairobians buy from the hawkers?
hamburglar
#699 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2018 6:18:35 PM

Idiot voters voted in an idiot governor and now people are surprised that Nairobi is a shithole? d'oh!
#700 Posted : Monday, January 22, 2018 6:20:41 PM

hamburglar wrote:
Idiot voters voted in an idiot governor and now people are surprised that Nairobi is a shithole? d'oh!

Nairobi has been a shithole since Gakuo left City hall