Kenya Airways...why ignore..
#6461 Posted : Tuesday, November 01, 2016 3:29:47 AM

mibbz wrote:
winmak wrote:
There must be something the Emiratis are doing right

Yeah, like drilling for oil in one of their company parking lot.

6% of Dubai's budget is funded by oil.Just 6%. Rest comes from tourism, financial services, etc.

Yes oil played a role at an earlier stage in their economy but they got their act right before hand. No one steals money for emirates, etihad o Qatar to invest in their own families.

Funny how all these Harvard alumni have really decimated KQ, their certificates should be recalled by their alma mata.

You are very right @mibbz. The emiratis realized a long time ago that oil is a finite resource and decided to prepare for a world without oil.

Dubai doesn't depend on oil as its major source of income but Abu Dhabi still does. Each Emirate is sort of its own "country" but in a federal arrangement.
ArrestedDev
#6462 Posted : Tuesday, November 01, 2016 3:32:28 AM

mibbz wrote:
winmak wrote:

6% of Dubai's budget is funded by oil.Just 6%. Rest comes from tourism, financial services, etc.

Yes oil played a role at an earlier stage in their economy but they got their act right before hand. No one steals money for emirates, etihad o Qatar to invest in their own families.

Funny how all these Harvard alumni have really decimated KQ, their certificates should be recalled by their alma mata.

You are very right @mibbz. The emiratis realized a long time ago that oil is a finite resource and decided to prepare for a world without oil.

The aviation sector identified long ago that it plays a key role in the economy by them. Tourism and hospitality relies heavily on aviation so as logistics and hence a free port/ free trade zones, zero income tax and subsidies for manufacturing companies.

Airline fully subsidized at the hub - Dubai ( no landing, handling and other related fees, fuel, etc since the Cos offering these services are govt owned i.e. part of the aviation investment, the right people at the top management ( Tim Clark) and one of their own ( CEO is from the Royal family), training for customer facing staff, capital injection in form of aircraft leasing/ concession loans, negotiation of landing rights/ contracts at outstation, zero tolerance to corruption ( Any manager caught flouting rules at the outstations is summarily dismissed), manpower fully utilised i.e. pilots fly on a very tight schedule,no calling sick,lower cadre staff on lower wages, no unions, very high service level on board the aircraft i.e, three course meal and a wide selection of movies ( KQ is the opposite - Ngunze is cutting meals on board yet food is very cheap in Kenya and instead of using it as an advantage, they are stucked with expensive contracts with the catering Cos at JKIA owned by the who is who.

#6463 Posted : Tuesday, November 01, 2016 8:51:23 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:
mibbz wrote:
winmak wrote:

The aviation sector identified long ago that it plays a key role in the economy by them. Tourism and hospitality relies heavily on aviation so as logistics and hence a free port/ free trade zones, zero income tax and subsidies for manufacturing companies.

Airline fully subsidized at the hub - Dubai ( no landing, handling and other related fees, fuel, etc since the Cos offering these services are govt owned i.e. part of the aviation investment, the right people at the top management ( Tim Clark) and one of their own ( CEO is from the Royal family), training for customer facing staff, capital injection in form of aircraft leasing/ concession loans, negotiation of landing rights/ contracts at outstation, zero tolerance to corruption ( Any manager caught flouting rules at the outstations is summarily dismissed), manpower fully utilised i.e. pilots fly on a very tight schedule,no calling sick,lower cadre staff on lower wages, no unions, very high service level on board the aircraft i.e, three course meal and a wide selection of movies ( KQ is the opposite - Ngunze is cutting meals on board yet food is very cheap in Kenya and instead of using it as an advantage, they are stucked with expensive contracts with the catering Cos at JKIA owned by the who is who.

@AD...I have always asked myself why cant KQ especially at this time they are facing challenges prod the government to subsidise almost everything to minimise its cost?
#6464 Posted : Tuesday, November 01, 2016 9:39:06 AM

Once again on the gainers list.... KES 7 to be tested. Now I don't do Bolingo bands and such, like @karasinga but the supply has dried up points to a steady rise in price .. Good times ahead

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
#6465 Posted : Tuesday, November 01, 2016 9:49:10 AM

Once again on the gainers list.... KES 7 to be tested. Now I don't do Bolingo bands and such, like @karasinga but the supply has dried up points to a steady rise in price .. Good times ahead

This Friday or when the plateaud is reached (awaiting PEV fever) I shall disembark...I really want to time it.

Thank you @obiero.

If touches above 8 anytime this year, please come for a mbuzi offals on my budget.

Spikes
#6466 Posted : Tuesday, November 01, 2016 2:00:53 PM

And signs of caving in start!
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
HaMaina
#6467 Posted : Tuesday, November 01, 2016 2:05:14 PM

Why KQ Could Plunge Deeper Into Problems

http://nse-digest.blogsp...eper-into-problems.html
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
#6468 Posted : Tuesday, November 01, 2016 4:29:18 PM

HaMaina wrote:

Huyu HaMaina ametumwa?

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
Pesa Nane
#6469 Posted : Tuesday, November 01, 2016 8:26:11 PM

HaMaina wrote:
Why KQ Could Plunge Deeper Into Problems - 13 JUNE 2016

http://nse-digest.blogsp...eper-into-problems.html 13 JUNE 2016

Huyu HaMaina ametumwa?

Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
HaMaina
#6470 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2016 7:42:22 AM

HaMaina wrote:

Huyu HaMaina ametumwa?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Wacha wasiwasi Obiero, hii habari imepitwa na wakati, lakini soma na uchunge.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
#6471 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2016 10:28:03 AM

A donkey painted black and white. Very soon the paint will wear off and the donkey will be exposed.. Not a zebra.
#6472 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2016 8:22:47 PM

A donkey painted black and white. Very soon the paint will wear off and the donkey will be exposed.. Not a zebra.

2,080,100 KQ shares traded today

Spikes
#6473 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2016 9:10:05 PM

Sometimes huge volumes are misleading into believing a rally is coming soon only to find yourself in the hot red! Huge volumes forming a plateau. ..Tafakari hayo. A rally will come alongside a new catalyst for market excitement. The current stimulant has ran out of steam, completely exhausted. It will take awhile for the next leg north. Accumulation stage has taken over.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#6474 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2016 9:34:55 PM

Out of 1.5B issued shares.
#6475 Posted : Thursday, November 03, 2016 7:16:54 AM

Out of 1.5B issued shares.

LOL. Did you expect KLM or GOK to trade

#6476 Posted : Thursday, November 03, 2016 7:22:28 AM

#6477 Posted : Thursday, November 03, 2016 7:31:30 AM

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate-News/KQ-reveals-additional-Sh3bn-accounting-loss-/539550-3439020-mj8qis/index.html

The wise Ngunze saved KQ from certain collapse

#6478 Posted : Thursday, November 03, 2016 7:47:03 AM

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate-News/KQ-reveals-additional-Sh3bn-accounting-loss-/539550-3439020-mj8qis/index.html

You wish...
ArrestedDev
#6479 Posted : Thursday, November 03, 2016 10:30:24 AM

You wish...

Ngunze is a total mess. I cannot wait for his exit for his blunders to be unearthed. There is more to come.

@maka,I am not sure where Business Daily is getting the additional aircrafts to be leased out to Turkish and Oman Air!
#6480 Posted : Thursday, November 03, 2016 10:49:41 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:

You wish...

Ngunze is a total mess. I cannot wait for his exit for his blunders to be unearthed. There is more to come.

@maka,I am not sure where Business Daily is getting the additional aircrafts to be leased out to Turkish and Oman Air!

Cashed out 411,000 KQ shares