wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

151 Pages«<2930313233>»
Law Capping interest rates
#601 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 9:52:08 PM

guru267 wrote:
So now even JM has said he has no other option but to cut Wanjiku out of his portfolio.. Equitel loan products are looking shaky!

Interesting times indeed.,

Blackmail won't work. It is the law
. He will have to pay 7% to wanjiku

He has no problem with the law... Wanjiku will just have to come up with the minimum deposit of KES 1,000,000 to open an interest bearing savings account...

#602 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 10:08:36 PM

guru267 wrote:
So now even JM has said he has no other option but to cut Wanjiku out of his portfolio.. Equitel loan products are looking shaky!

He has no problem with the law... Wanjiku will just have to come up with the minimum deposit of KES 1,000,000 to open an interest bearing savings account...

There is a good portion of Kenyans that will and can afford to raise that minimum 1m sum

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
tom_boy
#603 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 10:20:54 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
kawi254 wrote:
Does this also affect mobile banking loans e.g Equitel (24%p.a), M-shwari and such?

M-suruari is 90%pa...7.5&% pm.

No

@muchr, please clarify. Does the new act differentiate between normal loan and mobile loan.

The bill addressed BANKS and FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS only. If the loan is from a BANK expect it to be capped. Your accessing the money through mobile, TT, Cheque, SWIFT, cash, etc should be immaterial.

That was my reading of the act. Fafanua Muchr, hii mobile loan haitoki kwa bank !
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#604 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 10:24:11 PM

tom_boy wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
kawi254 wrote:
Does this also affect mobile banking loans e.g Equitel (24%p.a), M-shwari and such?

M-suruari is 90%pa...7.5&% pm.

No

@muchr, please clarify. Does the new act differentiate between normal loan and mobile loan.

The bill addressed BANKS and FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS only. If the loan is from a BANK expect it to be capped. Your accessing the money through mobile, TT, Cheque, SWIFT, cash, etc should be immaterial.

That was my reading of the act. Fafanua Muchr, hii mobile loan haitoki kwa bank !

Mobile is just the delivery platform. Loan is from Bank!!!!! Cap it all!!!
mikanjoroge
#605 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 10:25:35 PM

Won't the banks find a way round this. For example, increase fees. Like if you want to borrow a million, they say there is an "application fee" of 10,000, a monthly payment processing fee of 5,000, branch visit fee, tech fee, . e.t.c..

We were told free primary education was "free", but many other little fees cropped up all over the place.
#606 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 10:54:30 PM

guru267 wrote:

There is a good portion of Kenyans that will and can afford to raise that minimum 1m sum

Good for them... Too bad that portion is a minority...

The majority will be at 0% on deposits and will then be shafted by increased transaction fees..
#607 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2016 11:20:56 PM

guru267 wrote:

The majority will be at 0% on deposits and will then be shafted by increased transaction fees..

Then the transaction fee will become the next battlefront. Banks can run but they can't hide. The law does not set a minimum deposit limit for interest bearing thus the minimum is presumed to be Ksh.1.bytheway with the heat on banks it would be insane to set the 1 million minimum. They will just be vindicating the president and mps
alotoftalk
#608 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 12:20:58 AM

alotoftalk wrote:
If Uhuru signs the Bill this will be hat-trick against his own interests. From an economic perspective (inflation, capital flight, contracted lending etc), a business perspective (CBA) and political perspective (due to economic trouble, loss of credibility among the business class, political donations, RAO already pushing for it etc)

I actually want him to sign it, the same way I want Americans to elect Trump and how I wanted Britons to vote for Brexit. These are real life experiences on the effects negative or otherwise of populist policy.

This year already looks like one for the records. Everything that you think is unimaginable will happen.

Brexit,interest rate cap, even KQ became entered the matatu industry...next it's Trump
Investment philosophy development in progress...
#609 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 12:31:59 AM

Bankers and people who have bank shares should just stop lying to people on this forum and in their lives.

We told you Uhuru had to sign or go home.

You kept on talking about Wanjiku suffering etc.

You are still talking about Wanjiku suffering.

Listen carefully.

Those shylocking tabias just died. Including that msuruari thing.

If you make it harder for potential customers to borrow from you, life for you shall go the Ekuete vs Barclays way....There shall be another alternative soon and you too shall die.

Hii dunia sio ya Kenyan banks na Wanjiku sio mama yake.

If they increase those rates, I'm sure another law shall be created just for that.

Lakini shylocking in the name of lending just had to go....Now this masurauri thing, cofek should take to court kesho.

You can already see they want to pretend the money is not from financial institution....Kweli CBA ni burukenge?

alotoftalk
#610 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 1:00:37 AM

Bankers and people who have bank shares should just stop lying to people on this forum and in their lives.

We told you Uhuru had to sign or go home.

You kept on talking about Wanjiku suffering etc.

You are still talking about Wanjiku suffering.

Listen carefully.

Those shylocking tabias just died. Including that msuruari thing.

If you make it harder for potential customers to borrow from you, life for you shall go the Ekuete vs Barclays way....There shall be another alternative soon and you too shall die.

Hii dunia sio ya Kenyan banks na Wanjiku sio mama yake.

If they increase those rates, I'm sure another law shall be created just for that.

Lakini shylocking in the name of lending just had to go....Now this masurauri thing, cofek should take to court kesho.

You can already see they want to pretend the money is not from financial institution....Kweli CBA ni burukenge?

This hurts very few players in the industry.

Wanjiku won't feel the pain now but will do when credit dries up and they'll be forced to go underground to borrow. And I as a shadow banker in an unregulated space will charge them a punitive rate since they have no where else to turn.

What hurts banks more is the deposit rate peg rather than the interest rate cap. Small banks which are already paying higher rates while being viewed as more risky; will pay higher.

This will kill all the small banks and open a new frontier of shadow banking (think credit only MFIs, online lenders etc)

A new normal has arrived and we'll accept and move on.

This has actually created a new opportunity for us the shadow banking entrepreneurs. All hail the chief!

Investment philosophy development in progress...
Spikes
#611 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 3:27:45 AM

A new battle front for deposits from Wanjiku by small lenders accepting interest bearing savings less than Kshs 100,000 shall emerge. Big sharks like Equity shall take the cue to avoid losing customers. A fierce competition to attract depositors is the way to go by lenders adding value to some of their products. Who will carry the burden of the cost associated with value addition? Obviously banks. Which means the industry leaders' profits likely to reduce to single digits accounting for a quarter of previous gains under draconian rules.

More than 50% decline in financials' stock prices in the offing. A time to ambush!

The shafter is now the shafted!

John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#612 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 4:08:06 AM

Spikes wrote:
A new battle front for deposits from Wanjiku by small lenders accepting interest bearing savings less than Kshs 100,000 shall emerge. Big sharks like Equity shall take the cue to avoid losing customers. A fierce competition to attract depositors is the way to go by lenders adding value to some of their products. Who will carry the burden of the cost associated with value addition? Obviously banks. Which means the industry leaders' profits likely to reduce to single digits accounting for a quarter of previous gains under draconian rules.

More than 50% decline in financials' stock prices in the offing. A time to ambush!

Are you saying that you want to buy a stock you know is about to be battered
Spikes
#613 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 5:11:29 AM

Spikes wrote:

I'll buy after significant decline, terrible bloodbath in the streets!
#614 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 5:19:45 AM

Spikes wrote:

And you'll buy because you believe banks will make money right?
Spikes
#615 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 5:25:04 AM

Spikes wrote:

Not really. Just to hold for speculation purposes in a short term basis. To invest in financials I must wait till the dust settles as from next year, 2017 Q1. I have to study this market prudently.
#616 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 5:27:18 AM

Spikes wrote:

Not really. Just to hold for speculation purposes in a short term basis. To invest in financials I must wait till the dust settles as from next 2017 Q1. I have to study this market prudently.

Banks are likely to remain profitable.. Reduced margins guaranteed but the stock prices are unlikely to retreat any further than currently trading

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#617 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 7:47:43 AM

Interesting discussion on NTVs am live ; State of the Economy
#618 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 7:53:01 AM

The mwananchi bank's are in real trouble. They have facilities called micro loans that are secured with household goods I.e. chattels mortgage.

Am looking at a letter of offer for 300,000 from coop bank.

Int rate : 2% pm flat
Nego fee : 2.5%

After adding insurance, guarantee and hypothecation fees, the APR is 45.2%.

You read that right. These pranksters have been shafting wanjiku in the name of availing credit to her.

Am told equity is much much worse. Will share once I see a sample offer letter.
#619 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 8:01:16 AM

guru267 wrote:

Then the transaction fee will become the next battlefront. Banks can run but they can't hide. The law does not set a minimum deposit limit for interest bearing thus the minimum is presumed to be Ksh.1.bytheway with the heat on banks it would be insane to set the 1 million minimum. They will just be vindicating the president and mps

The banks will do what the banks in other countries did to get such laws reversed... Simply lock out Wanjiku.. Send her back to saving in the mattress to avoid high transaction fees and borrowing from shylocks offering her legs as collateral.

This new law is very clear.. Cap minimum interest on interest bearing accounts... So the Banks will set a minimum balance of KES 1,000,000 to open an interest bearing account..

The rest of the accounts will be structured as current accounts earning 0%...
#620 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2016 8:03:03 AM

The mwananchi bank's are in real trouble. They have facilities called micro loans that are secured with household goods I.e. chattels mortgage.

Am looking at a letter of offer for 300,000 from coop bank.

Int rate : 2% pm flat
Nego fee : 2.5%

After adding insurance, guarantee and hypothecation fees, the APR is 45.2%.

You read that right. These pranksters have been shafting wanjiku in the name of availing credit to her.

Am told equity is much much worse. Will share once I see a sample offer letter.

Walk into your nearest bank and apply for a loan under the above security structure at 14.5% p.a. and all you will be looking at is a decline letter.