wazua Thu, Dec 5, 2024

6 Pages<12345>»
Equity bank collapse: Impact...
mtaalam
#41 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 2:45:00 PM

Si kwa ubaya - this is a personal view that I've been unable to shrug off. It's not supported by any facts or evidence but a thing in my head that just won't go away....

...when I think Equity I see Enron.

The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time is now.
Tusker Baridi
#42 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 2:54:00 PM

@simon

That is a very poor analogy,renting from a thief does not create a risk to the renter. Now if the said thief asked me to give him my hard earned money in form of deposit or as part of a share in his future endeavors,then I would be very afraid.

Try another one.
BAAK
#43 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 3:18:00 PM

For the doom prophets&hellip;Why waste too much of your time discussing a company you are not interested in? Actually the risk of collapsing is more to the other banks,A HUNDRED TIMES more than EB. Why? People become accustomed and used to their banks with time&hellip;so if you look at the big banks other than EB,you realize most of the account holders are either middle aged or pensioners&hellip;EB became a bank 5 years ago&hellip;anyone starting their career or business in the last 5 years would choose EB..because they are friendly to small people&hellip;As time goes by&hellip;and EB maintains a foot hold&hellip;these people will not leave&hellip;On the other hand &hellip;for other banks&hellip;they are not getting very many new entrants&hellip;.so am very worried for them in 5-10years time..Please&hellip;someone change this thread&hellip;and ask how much other banks are at risk&hellip;SCB recorded a dip in profits last year&hellip;KCB had a very dismal performance in Q1&hellip;I am very much worried for other banks...The greatest lifeline for any bank is deposits..
Tusker Baridi
#44 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 3:32:00 PM

@BAAK

Yours is a very lame argument,even Trade Bank in its hey days attracted young depositors. There is a reason those old pensioners bank with proven banks that have been around for years,it is because they dont want to take a risk with the only source of their livelihood. And as people grow older,they acquire more wealth and become more risk averse,so a young person who might have banked his meagre savings with Trade Bank in the 1980 would now prefer to bank his millions with Barclays.

Jaribu tena.

BAAK
#45 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 3:57:00 PM

TB,

EB has 3,000,000 account holders in Kenya,they control 50% of CDS accounts at NSE,they have massive projects in CSR,they support small businessmen,they encourage the saving culture in the downtrodden..the list goes on&hellip;Your posts here imply you would be very happy if they collapsed&hellip;if this is the case you are a REAL enemy of Kenya&hellip;you should be talking to KACA and anti-banking fraud teams&hellip; give them the information you have so they act and save the bank&hellip;if you meant well&hellip;. but deep down we know and you know we know you know&hellip;.that you are just trying to prove a point&hellip;I bow out from this endless and profitless Ponzi discussion&hellip;Bye
Tusker Baridi
#46 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 4:08:00 PM

@BAAK

Eti talk to KACA and anti-corrupion,are you serius. Who has Ringera ever convicted of corruption. In Kenya we have had 40 years history of corruption and except for that AIDS Board director that Kiguoya sacrifised early in first term. nobody else has ever been convicted of corruption.

Ringera's sole role is to abate corruption investigations,not prevent or prosecute it,it is that 'ngo sroo' culture of thieves. Mwangi's role in the collapse of Trade Bank is public knowledge and if you dont know this fact then you are naive indeed about Kenya banking industry.
#47 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 4:32:00 PM

pliz dont hate on eb anyone.its a stable bank and at that we dont need to malign it or pray for its collapse. you dont even discuss about the death of a person when he/she is alive do you??

hasta la vista
Waria
#48 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 4:55:00 PM

@TB

I cant wait for the day 'jaruos' take over the govt to see whether their 'ringeera' will be any different

I hope EB doesnt die since its the first bank to seriously patner with NEP residents

Me first,U next
jmm
#49 Posted : Wednesday, May 13, 2009 9:13:00 PM

i totally disagree with haters of EB,the bank is here to stay their customer base is growing as well as their credit portfolio not even to mention their expansion to reach the mwananci(majority) were we not here last year when big banks were sacking and EB was hiring. i am not even suprised when they announce billions profits as you just need to watch the congestion on their ATMS lobbies and do the maths x30 bob per head

tripple m
nanfor
#50 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 4:39:00 AM

It is well known that I question Equity and its business model as it doesn't make sense to me at all.

Having said that,I am not one to support a bank failing. Those like TB who take a falling bank as political capital have serious mental and emotional issues and must be ignored.

I preach against Equity and Kenyan banks because I love my country and not blinded by Equity multiple orgasms like some Equity lovers here are. Protecting this bank just because it gave you a loan is just as silly as TB hating it because it is owned by someone he thinks is a Kikuyu.

If Equity was to fail,so would the Kenyan economy. That is why it is important to ask questions of it any time it is not working as it should. So for those who love it,and are shareholders,instead of just going to those meetings and accepting everything they say as Prophetic,it is your duty to ask questions.

Questions such as,why their ATM's are always down. It is not enough to say everything is fine six months after this started.

So insist on accountability and this topic will be mute. Then please stop asking such questions as they have a habit of being asked elsewhere and life has a habit of self-fulfillment.

As for TB

I hate romour mongers so I will go by YOUR OWN rather than Mwangi's history. After someone reads your posts on this forum,it would be a stupid person who listens to your advice on anything. In fact,for that reason,I will support those that are supporting Equity on this particular topic.
Tusker Baridi
#51 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 5:20:00 AM

@nanfor

Are you bipolar or something? Reading your post,I cannot tell what the heck your msimamo is.

And what part of Mwangi's history is a rumor. So are you saying that Trade Bank collapse was just a rumor,that Mwangi was in fact never a senior finance manager at Trade Bank,that Mwangi did not buy a substantial part of Equity with stolen funds from Trade Bank. Hizi ni facts,you see Muhika is quiet on Mwangi's Trade Bank past that he would rather not mention it.

You guys are living in denial. What I am doing is no different than what I did to denouce the pyramid schemes when they were the rave hapa SK. It was not popular then to denounce those pyramid schemes. And one cannot discuss business in isolation,a lot of schemes to steal money from Kenyans are orchestrated with the help of politicians. Just look at all the collapsed political banks,Goldenberg,Anglo-Fleecing,pyramid schemes,maize schemes,mungikis,you name it and there is a politician somewhere involved.

Mainat
#52 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 6:47:00 AM

To respond to thimioni,there are many scenarios under which Equity could colapse. Its collapse would impact the economy seriously because of its spread as a bank as well as a counterparty to other banks. Am assuming in this case we are talking about a total collapse. Equity had 53bn of customer deposits in Dec 08. GoK won't be able to cover that. The loan side would also cause serious headaches.

As to the Mwangi Trade Bank rumour. Its a lie. As I did 3yrs ago,here is my and a pal's ofer. If you have any evidence of the Ksh200m that Mwangi took,plse contact me offline and we'll mobilise depositors who lost money via Trade Bank and take it to a court. PS- you can file these sort of cases in almost any court not just in Kenya.

PPS: for us to continue having a intelligent rather than bile-filled discussion about Equity and in particular JM's role,can I recommend a reading of this seminal document http://www.microsave.org...ST%20EBS%20Rebirth.pdf. You may need to register your email to access it. The title is 'Understanding the Re-birth of Equity Building Society in Kenya'

PPPS: Mukiha-kudos on the laying out the barefacts. Some of the past and present principal investors in Equity have been non-Kenyans because Equity recognised back in the early 90s that your bank can collapse for political reasons. The one favor that CBK did for Equity was to allow Hellios shareholders to hide their names. The same exemption was extended to Co-op

Finally-one of the reasons that Equity was not fungua-d in 1992 was JM. At the time,Moi had zero time for kiuks. Won't it have been an apt time to close down an org led by somebody who had stolen from Trade Bank?

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
The General
#53 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 6:50:00 AM

@ Mukiha,

am really struggling to put my point across in my words; so allow me to borrow from elsewhere:

It's not whether you're right or wrong that's important,but how much money you make when you're right and how much you lose when you're wrong. - George Soros

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
nanfor
#54 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 6:52:00 AM

TB

There was a time I wrote a very acid article here about mungiki. It might have been my first contribution to the forum.

Unlike you,I realised that I can make a point without going rancid while arguing. I grew up,moved on and I'm very happy now. You have a very serious mental and emotional issue and for your sake you need to grow up a bit.

There is no argument you bring up here that doesn't end up with a kikuyu angle. I am sorry,TB but your racism and shallow thinking are too obvious to ignore.

I am very specific in my points and go for particular issues in Kenyan banks. i won't be stopping now either. I am very vocal about bad management practises but find no pleasure in it. Any bank going down in this economy will affect even the railway terrorists. Just do yourself and your mental health a favour. Refrain thinking about Kikuyu angles even when you pee and you might get a hug.

However,please bring up your arguments,you might have a few friends here. In the meantime,I am only praying for the day that SK decides to add an ignore button to this forum.
#55 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 6:57:00 AM

@tb,using mukiha's figures,diagnose the two and tell us which one is more healthy....

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai
#56 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 11:39:00 AM

I don't want this thread to disappear before TB returns from his slumber,therefore,here is some more data:

Co-Op Bank

a) Liquidity Ratio 33.1%
b) Minimum Statutory Ratio 20.0%
c) Excess (a-b) 13.1

g) Core capital/total deposit liabilities 18.9%
h) Minimum Statutory Ratio 8.0%
i) Excess 10.9% 2.5%

j) Core capital/total risk weighted assets 22.0%
k) Minimum Statutory Ratio 8.0%
l) Excess (j-k) 14.0%

m) Total capital/total risk weighted assets 23.5%
n) Minimum Statutory Ratio 12.0%
o) Excess (m-n) 11.5%

It is no wonder all the so-called 'big & stable' banks are running scared of Equity's success!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Litoro
#57 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 1:48:00 PM

@ Mukiha Wewe ulisoma campo gani? Your facts makes ma day. Endelea na moyo huo huo.

@TB For the last time. Pliz stop posting ua self destructive ideologies in this forum.EB is here to stay upende usipende.
#58 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 2:26:00 PM

@Litoro:

Undergrad or postgrad? Anyway,this is not the time to reveal...

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Tusker Baridi
#59 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 3:22:00 PM

@Mukiha

Banking is the one industry where trust is paramount,without it,then there is no banking. Since cooking banking books is so easy,any legitimacy in earnings rests with the trust of the management. So if I dont trust the management,I will not trust any figures from that bank knowing how easy it is for banks to manipulate their figures.

And Mwangi's past involvement with the collapsed Trade Bank does not inspire any trust with me. So you can produce all sorts of facts,but so long as there is no trust in the legitimacy of the issuing party,it is all in vain.

Case in point,here in States,people lost faith in the financial sector because of all sorts of scams orchestrated by bankers. So the government decided to conduct a stress test,you cannot imagine all sorts of shenanigans that the government and the banks did to make it seem like everything is alright. So when the stress test came out last week,investors questioned the legitimacy of those figures and bolted out of the financials.

Back to Equity,as long as it is run by a thief who scammed thousands of innocent depositors of their hard earned money through Trade Bank,I will never trust the legitimacy and the sustainability of any figures coming from Equity. It is that simple,I have no trust in him.
#60 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2009 4:25:00 AM

@TB:

OK. You made your case; I made mine.

Let's agree to disagree. Sawa?