DANGER AT NIC/ BUNYALA ROUNDABOUT
Lest we forget. Other hotspots for muggings...gues wat! Inside matatus especially plying the Langata route.When my colleague narated her ordeal s'time last year, in dec to be precise, thot was a joke till it occured to me LEO @ 11am inside a mat no.126 to Rongai. pple I lost ma phone in less than 5mins btwn Mada fly-over n Uhuru Gardens in a manner wel calculated beyond ma knowledge. trying to retrace the events in that mat, pple our mat condas are the real thugs.these gentlmen org thuggary with the prof thugs who dont fly in these mats bt only join when a prey has been spotted.still going thru ma ordeal bt any exp would be thankful for dear kenyans to be aware.,,,
Witnessed procession first hand on Sunday - moving and imposing - difficult to ignore. Motor bikes, everyone in white, red scarves, almost filled distance between the two roundabouts.
@xtina, your comments are valid. But this issue reminds me of American civil rights activist Rosa Parks. She was just one woman in a struggle against many victims and many heroes - but she was a galvanizing force.
Reading the story of Martin, the call to action is indeed compelling - "sensitise people to the dangers at Makaburini to avoid further attacks and loss of life"
He was ahead of me in high school too. I was so shocked to learn of his departure in such a cruel manner. I understand he was also recently engaged. My heart goes out to his fiancee...Did we have to loose a life to highlight the sense of insecurity on Uhuru highway? DID WE HAVE TO??? ......If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart....
Rank: Member Joined: 5/8/2009 Posts: 263 Location: Gigiri, Nairobi
Ric dees wrote: RIP Martin,
This indeed is a sad situation and a worrying trend seems to have developed overtime. Allow me to play the devil's advocate here.
Everytime i am on holidays in the country, i volunteer my time and services with a christian organisation called CRF, and my preffered location is always mathare slums.I abandon all the entrapments of the modern world and own the cause.Overtime i have come to understand the way of the slums and though it is not acceptable i can understand.
Case in point i have worked closely (2 years) with one Vitalis Ochieng - Mechanical engineer graduate and gangster, His mother is a prostitute, his dad well no-one knows and they are 8 siblings with only hime having gotten an education through blood,sweat,tears and well you know what else.In his own words the world favours the strong and courageous, 3of his sisters have children and last time he posed a question and it was, "Maze majunior hawajamanga siku mbili,ukienda jiji unacheki wadhii wamebeba manakumatt, ukiomba wanakuangalia na macho mbaya utado" I had a million and 1 things to tell him but like i said i try and see it in his own world and trust me my conclusion was not far from his.
I have tried what you call social psycho support though am not trained in this,and clarify that he has two work twice as hard as everyone else and that the world is not fare...but i hope it's not an exercise in futility thats why i keep on going back.And in my opinion this is where the root cause is, let it not be us against them but lets embrace them as our brothers and sisters and fight for a better tomorrow.
What saddens me most is the look in his eyes, like when you look at a lion in captivity it has those sad droopy eyes, for he did what was required ie go to school and get an education and the rest will be sorted..but look at where he is and as usual when we part ways and in his own words he says "Narudi works" my heart sinks but in my own zeal, i soldier own as am not captive to the past as tomorrow will be a different day and who knows.... @Ric dees
That's a tough one
If we did not elect hyenas for leaders
Maybe there would be enough to go round for every one.
Maybe our society would function properly once again.
Until the day we will stop supporting Raila as a leader cauze he entertains us
Until we get lid of Mafi ya kuku
Until we get lid of sons whose fathers stole from the society, stole land equivalent to Nyanza province but the same sons never see the need to return the stolen property to society but instead we elect or appoint them to high office
Until the day the government functions
Until the day to be a police officer you must be a graduate and not a school failure
Until the day Forensic labs are built and equipped and staffed with qualified personnel
Until the day electing a leader will not be pegged on tribe
Until we Kenyans become friends of reason, not enemies of reason
Until we elect the likes of ...............
We will never go anywhere.>>>>>> A thing of beauty is a joy for ever: Its loveliness increases; It will never pass into nothingness; But still will keep a bower quiet for us, and a sleep full of sweet dreams, and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats
>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people, 1. Those who make things happen, 2. Those who watch things happen 3. And those who ask what happened.
Where do you fall?
May Martin's soul and others unnoticed R.I.P.
From another version of the same story I heard from a friend,this thugs are even in a position to tell the route you will take after the drinking den, lets say you are clubbing @ choices,they'll do 'something' to your car so it will just stall on Uhuru highway, be ware if you as well club in Nairobi west.
40 ARRESTED In regard to this murder and assisting police with investigations. Ras Kienyeji Man
I sent the message posted by Intelligentsia to 2 email addresses available on the police website and believe you me the message bounced back.  Talk of napping on the job! Lord, thank you!
Back in skul an NSIS offier taking a soliology degree confessed to us that they give so much info to the police,he recounted some scenes when the police force was briefed on what is to happen where and when, I mean they give the police like a full crime forecast, but the blue men just lean back and wait for kitu kidogo,instances like karatina killings, they had been briefed, the proof of this was Hilary clinton's bombing plot which was thwarted a week before she landed,what we need is serious police reforms, it should start right from recruiting graduates.
What happened to martin was very very sad regardless of whether we knew him or not. So many people have been attacked in that area at night and even daytime.
One thing i have learnt from this is that sometimes when we hear/learn of insecurity issues in parts of the country (Mandera, Kisii, Karatina etc) we tend to overlook or ignore the cries of the locals, its only when it affects us directly or indirectly that we feel action should be taken. The time to demand for adequate security from our so called "leaders"is now. We must always try to stand up for others that are different from us if we want anyone to stand up for us in our time of need. R.I.P Martin!
DANGER AT NIC/ BUNYALA ROUNDABOUT