Let’s learn kikuyu
#41 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2019 8:00:25 PM

hamburglar wrote:
Sansa wrote:
Haiya Hamburglar ... Do you need a hug?

No one is forcing you to learn Kikuyu or any other language. Kama hutaki it's your choice. Let the ones who want to learn follow the link.

Wewe unaelewa even what the discussion is all about? Nobody has denied anybody to learn whatever language they want, heck, people can learn all of them for all I care, what am debating is if these languages serve any purpose to us as Kenyans. What is their benefit to society? Do they add any value?

Comprehend the discussion first before you start giving out unsolicited hugs. Lol.

Relax @hamburglar. The world is the way it is, people are the way they are. Things do not exist because they are useful, they first exist then the uses come later and there are many things that we are as yet to find uses for but they just exist. For example what is the use of hair in the armpits, or on the face or even on the head or in the groin. If you find use for it, it does not mean that is the reason it exists. I think it was Masukuma who once gave the example that you can use your leg to kick a ball but it does not mean the leg was created or it exists to kick balls.

Different languages exist in Kenya and that is just the way it is.

Yaani @hamburglar, you can go to a wedding and find people singing Ruth Wamuyu's Amukira Ngatho and you don't nyita anything? That is sad... even wazungu's, jaluos, luhyas etc usually want to know what is being said in that song when they hear it.
#42 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2019 9:30:28 PM

Least we forget what this thread is about, how about a reminder.

[quote=Blackie]
Hello Wazuans’,

ever wanted to learn to speak kikuyu but didn’t know where to start?

Look no further than this channel... “ let’s learn kikuyu “ on YouTube, you will thank me later.

https://youtu.be/gNPndEnXbXs[/quote]
Sansa
#43 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2019 9:43:29 PM

hamburglar wrote:
Sansa wrote:

No one is forcing you to learn Kikuyu or any other language. Kama hutaki it's your choice. Let the ones who want to learn follow the link.

Wewe unaelewa even what the discussion is all about? Nobody has denied anybody to learn whatever language they want, heck, people can learn all of them for all I care, what am debating is if these languages serve any purpose to us as Kenyans. What is their benefit to society? Do they add any value?

Comprehend the discussion first before you start giving out unsolicited hugs. Lol.

I understand quite clearly what the discussion is about. I just don't see why you are getting so riled up about it.

#44 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2019 10:44:41 PM

hamburglar wrote:
Mathenge, I know you have bile with me because I question your hero Waiguru’s integrity and it rubs you the wrong way. I am all for integrity my guy if a politician is crooked they are crooked. Period.

I asked you a simple question about Waiguru. How did she afford to buy a 120 million home in Kihingo plus a 20 million Aston Martin car for her son? She had only been CS for less than 3 years and she was magically able to afford all these? Am sure there is more property she acquired but these are the two that we all know about. Can you explain to me how she acquired such wealth in such a short time?

You get riled by the truth because you don’t want to hear the truth. These people are stealing your kids future and you are on the frontline cheering them on. Dude, people have to be held accountable for their actions. If somebody stole public money they need to be prosecuted and have their property and money seized. It’s as simple as that. People who support known looters like Waiguru and Ruto clearly demonstrate the type of people that they themselves are. Scambags. No other way to describe them. Birds of a feather flock together. You can’t support somebody who the whole world knows that they grabbed airport land to build a hotel on. Don’t you people have a conscience or is it that you are just as sociopathic as these rogue leaders you support? Your hero Waiguru couldn’t afford a house in Kihingo within three years of being a CS, the hell is wrong with you?

Copy and Paste from a post in "Friends Who Like Classic 105 Kenya"

Imagine a Kikuyu lady is married to Kipchoge Keino.

Then they have a son together.

And they visit shags.

Women will be like:

Wakeino niwacera,kai keino kia nenehire atia?

Muthuri ndagikenaga ni keino kuneneha

ni urimu.
#45 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2019 10:52:38 PM

aemathenge wrote:
hamburglar wrote:
Mathenge, I know you have bile with me because I question your hero Waiguru’s integrity and it rubs you the wrong way. I am all for integrity my guy if a politician is crooked they are crooked. Period.

I asked you a simple question about Waiguru. How did she afford to buy a 120 million home in Kihingo plus a 20 million Aston Martin car for her son? She had only been CS for less than 3 years and she was magically able to afford all these? Am sure there is more property she acquired but these are the two that we all know about. Can you explain to me how she acquired such wealth in such a short time?

You get riled by the truth because you don’t want to hear the truth. These people are stealing your kids future and you are on the frontline cheering them on. Dude, people have to be held accountable for their actions. If somebody stole public money they need to be prosecuted and have their property and money seized. It’s as simple as that. People who support known looters like Waiguru and Ruto clearly demonstrate the type of people that they themselves are. Scambags. No other way to describe them. Birds of a feather flock together. You can’t support somebody who the whole world knows that they grabbed airport land to build a hotel on. Don’t you people have a conscience or is it that you are just as sociopathic as these rogue leaders you support? Your hero Waiguru couldn’t afford a house in Kihingo within three years of being a CS, the hell is wrong with you?

And they visit shags.

Women will be like:

ni urimu.

Laughing out loudly Aki uria uko na ujiga. Yaani! I know that boy, anyway...
#46 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 6:50:02 AM

aemathenge wrote:
hamburglar wrote:

And they visit shags.

Women will be like:

ni urimu.

Julie
#47 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 7:00:33 AM

Some humour at last...
#48 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 8:48:10 AM

Julie wrote:
Am personally very proud of my tribe and will do all i can to make sure my children learn to speak and appreciate their tradition.
As a parent, am instilling virtues that will integrate my children with society no matter the tribe or economic status. Am playing my part as a parent.

@Hamburglar
Am so sorry for you. You have no sence of belonging!
Will pray for you all the same and any other like minded individuals on this forum.

@Hamburglar, It's not tribe that divides Kenyans but political idiologies. If we were all one tribe, politics would always find a way of dividing us either by region, religion, beliefs etc. Diversity should only strengthen a nation and not divide. I'm proud of my tribe, it existed before me and will continue after me.

hamburglar
#49 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 10:03:14 AM

Julie wrote:
Am personally very proud of my tribe and will do all i can to make sure my children learn to speak and appreciate their tradition.
As a parent, am instilling virtues that will integrate my children with society no matter the tribe or economic status. Am playing my part as a parent.

@Hamburglar
Will pray for you all the same and any other like minded individuals on this forum.

@Hamburglar, It's not tribe that divides Kenyans but political idiologies. If we were all one tribe, politics would always find a way of dividing us either by region, religion, beliefs etc. Diversity should only strengthen a nation and not divide. I'm proud of my tribe, it existed before me and will continue after me.

NO. It’s TRIBE that divides Kenyans. People in mashinani don’t know and don’t care about political idiologies. It’s TRIBE. Period.
#50 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 10:10:30 AM

aemathenge wrote:
hamburglar wrote:

And they visit shags.

Women will be like:

ni urimu.

Laughing out loudly Aki uria uko na ujiga. Yaani! I know that boy, anyway...

Haiya anga Niui Gigikuyu?

Ukirikuo ta ndaka.

Njugaga uri was Ruguru.
hamburglar
#51 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 10:11:05 AM

Sansa wrote:
hamburglar wrote:
Sansa wrote:

I understand quite clearly what the discussion is about. I just don't see why you are getting so riled up about it.

Am not riled up at all, in fact I am all smiles over here, sometimes I just like to ruffle feathers and heat up emotions and that’s why am always looking for controversy around here. It’s fun. I was bored yesterday. Now you know. Hehehe
#52 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 10:17:39 AM

Julie wrote:
Some humour at last...

Guka ahana atia?

Ndimwiriga.
Julie
#53 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 11:31:23 AM

aemathenge wrote:
Julie wrote:
Some humour at last...

Guka ahana atia?

Ndimwiriga.

Ti múúru, ní mwega
Andú aaku mahana atía?
#54 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 12:54:46 PM

I see @Humbergler's point. For those born and brought up on this city... Tribes mean zero and native languages even less.. The reason is you are all a mix of everything and nothing breeds tribalism amongst your friends. You then develop your own 'tribe'.. Nairobians and language called Sheng.. That's how you roll. You never belong to any tribe. I know some people turning almost 50 who were born and raised here only to discover the tribe of their friends in 2007. They have not much connection with those who speak their parents languages. By they way, many of them speak to their parents in fluent mother tongue and that's it.

Tribe and languages and belonging are however, really valued by those who grew up mashinani... Why because that's what everyone spoke and they have bonds with those people.. Unfortunately, many of them moved into city life after campus and still imagine that their kids are like them... Your kids are urbanites...they will never value your tribe or customs or language like you do... You are among the last to value that language...
#55 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 1:44:23 PM

Julie wrote:
aemathenge wrote:
Julie wrote:
Some humour at last...

Guka ahana atia?

Ndimwiriga.

Ti múúru, ní mwega
Andú aaku mahana atía?

Nii ngoraguo mani solo papa.

Noo niwega ni kunjiciiria.
Mtu Biz
#56 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 2:49:00 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
I see @Humbergler's point. For those born and brought up on this city... Tribes mean zero and native languages even less.. The reason is you are all a mix of everything and nothing breeds tribalism amongst your friends. You then develop your own 'tribe'.. Nairobians and language called Sheng.. That's how you roll. You never belong to any tribe. I know some people turning almost 50 who were born and raised here only to discover the tribe of their friends in 2007. They have not much connection with those who speak their parents languages. By they way, many of them speak to their parents in fluent mother tongue and that's it.

Tribe and languages and belonging are however, really valued by those who grew up mashinani... Why because that's what everyone spoke and they have bonds with those people.. Unfortunately, many of them moved into city life after campus and still imagine that their kids are like them... Your kids are urbanites...they will never value your tribe or customs or language like you do... You are among the last to value that language...

Yep,

I'm a 2nd generation Nairobian with some years growing up in Mombasa as well.

I remember one day in my early teens in shags gathering some courage to speak up in front of some folks and the repressed laughter that resulted..(cant blame them). I consciously made a decision not to ever bother trying again, i remember thinking, will this 'come in the exam? (KCSE).
That was the end of my trying.

Na kukaenda hivyo.

As for banning languages/tribes? I don't support.
Sola Scriptura

#57 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 3:15:21 PM

The company Ancenstry.com has revenues of about 70 billion Kenya shillings a year. Do you know what they do? They tell people what their tribe is. Ukitaka kujua kabila yako unawalipa Ksh.2,000 a month..... and they are proud to have more than 20 million members.
#58 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 3:24:21 PM

One is born a luo, okuyo, bukusu, mkamba etc. You can never change your tribe even if you refuse to learn the language of your people. You belong to the tribe forever whether you like or not.

We should be proud of our tribes and cultures including out tribal languages. Even in public places, matatus etc a person eg a luo, okuyo should be proud to communicate in dholuo, gikuyu to a fellow tribesman.
#59 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 4:08:10 PM

bwenyenye wrote:

I doubt these days there's much difference between born taos & born ochas in terms of tribalism. Language, yes.
#60 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2019 6:43:53 PM

hamburglar wrote:
Julie wrote:

@Hamburglar

NO. It’s TRIBE that divides Kenyans. People in mashinani don’t know and don’t care about political idiologies. It’s TRIBE. Period.

Without politics tribe is inconsequential.