wazua Fri, Nov 22, 2024

MBA
#41 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 12:49:00 PM

Thanks Manja

I dont have to have done an MBA in both colleges for me to understand the situation. You shop around and talk to people who have experienced it before you get into it. and these are sentiments from those who have experienced it. Luckily,i have experienced strathmore,THE and another private university and i know the difference!!

When someone said all about attitude,the enviroment dictates how you behave and thats what happens to the lecturers too. If you are a full time in THE and have some part time classes in private colleges,which dictates the standard of customer service and relations that you uphold,you of course change accordingly.

if thats impossible then why dont we see people behave in church the same way they behave in bars?? Or are they different people? C'mon!!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
#42 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 12:52:00 PM

@Wendz,

I wish you could listen to those same lecturers telling regular students how the people they teach in private unis are dunders and take ages to understand simple concepts!!!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
Moibutu
#43 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 1:08:00 PM

For an MBA degree,l would highly recommend USIU. The university has a well stocked library with the latest editions readily available.Unlike UON where a class is will have over 150 students,in USIU an MBA class has around 30 students ensuring a one to one interaction with the lecturers.

The strath MBA is also commendable but is more of an executive thing for managers who mostly share their work exeperiences. The other state universities' MBA are not worth due to shortage of books and over crowding.

die trying
#44 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 1:29:00 PM

@moibutu........at USIU students are GUARANTEED to get the damn certificate provided they pay school fees

if students fail in any subject the lecture is roasted for failing students..........its like aliwafanyia exam

hiyo tegree ya USIU ni bure kabisa..........wewe unaitaji maombi

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it does not belong in stocks.
#45 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 1:39:00 PM

Who said that few students is a class guarantees quality,havent you guyz witnessed Olympic primo in Kibera producing excellent results despite the congestion there.

UoN is congested coz Kenyans want education and most people will not stand being ripped off their money in the name of Private Unis,guyz talking of books,I mean in current age you can get any book you want as long as your are serious!!!!

Fundaah
#46 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 1:44:00 PM

Ya Usiu na UON may be bure .........lakini Strathmore? Remember the quality of education at Strath has been top cream as evidenced by KCSE exams ..... always top 5 in the country,CPA best students mostly come from Strath and exam is external it follows that they can't be wrong with their MBA given that MBA is a business course just as CPA.

Do not judge me by my name.I'm a super star******
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Moibutu
#47 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 1:52:00 PM

@ Kingfisher its good to contribute from a point of information.lts public knowledge students in state univeristies are notorius of (STD sexually transmitted degrees). l used to think a degree in USIU was guaranteed till l landed there and l had to work so much for my degree.Mind you l passed well in forth form (b+).

Olympic primary school used to perform well when primary school was 'private' and the ratio of students to teachers was managable. Where was olympics primary in last year's KCPE results? Bure kabisa like free education.

Why should you attend an MBA class in an overcrowded class? USIU receives many students but they have to be put in manageable class for effective teaching. UON they are hungry for money and that's why pack a class with so many students in one class. Am told some students take notes from the window. What a shame?

Please join USIU.

die trying
#48 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 2:01:00 PM

@Moibutu,

Come to think of it,the classes are crowded,how will most students get the STDs...think man!!!

The same lecturers at UON lecture in these private unis,kwani their thirst for sex disaapears when they teach in private schools!!!

Fundaah
#49 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 2:08:00 PM

We have dwelled on this topic for long .I'm out of it

Leave Andash to make his/her decision now. Enough of it .No need to confuse him/her.Everything has its pros and cons.

Do not judge me by my name.I'm a super star******
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Pablo
#50 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 2:10:00 PM

Did my MBA at a one of the colleges youre talking about.

My take. MBA's are to make you more employable,if this is what you want go ahead,but if you want to make real money use the money you have to start a business. E.g Irrigation Farming,youll be better off in the longer term.

However if you have your parents and old school guys advising you the best they know is '.. go to school and get a good job...'. Bill gates and Michael Dell are serious when they they advise graduates.

Be greedy when others are fearful,be fearful when others are greedy.
Moibutu
#51 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 2:15:00 PM

You should see the state universitie's lecturers when they come to teach at USIU. They have to teach all allocated classes from day one. No time wasting like they are used to in their backyards at the UON. At USIU students have to apparaise their lecturers at the end of the semester.

The university does not entertain the 'parastal' mentality and hence the same lecturers who are known for STDs in their backyard become very productive at USIU.Its called the power of private sector.

die trying
#52 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 2:21:00 PM

Hakuna kitu kama hio,when you are teaching weaker students it follows that you must spend more time with them yah????.......LOGICALLY speaking!!!!

Moibutu
#53 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 2:29:00 PM

If they are sharp why are they in school? Lets face it the state universities are full of dirt. They still live in those days attending UON was the inthing. Those days are long gone and its time to wake up to reality.

The reality is that the public universities offer mediocre education,the libararies are not stocked and the lecturers still peddle those tired yellow notes written in 19 twende turudi.

Embrass modernity in a new era of technology in classes,well stocked library,one on one student to lecturer contact and performance appraisal Good bye UON and welcome to USIU.

die trying
#54 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 2:30:00 PM

Lets not confuse the preference due to proximity and demand for quality education. THE is very preferable because of proximity. THE is central to those working in various directions. A student working in town or on Mombasa Road would prefer to go to THE instead of USIU if money is an issue. and almost always,money is an issue. that doesnt necessarily mean that if the two universities had the same accessibility he would necessarily have chosen THE over USIU. that is the major contributor to THE being crowded.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Apple Bees
#55 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2009 3:08:00 PM

@moibutu...USIU papers will not take u anywhere unless u r joining a family biz or a company they had confused their MDs with MBA scholarships. Everyone knows anyone who lands in private universities for their 1st degrees were NOT high performers in high school. a B+ is the lowest pass. Of those sitting high school,more than 70% select THE as their first choice for some selected degree programs. Of those who get admitted to other public universities,only 10% had selected that university. and for privates,it was NEVER your first choice as u sat for KCSE. Ni vile tu mambo iliharibika

And you continue with the GIGO! Who are some of your outstanding alumni? Do the graduates of privates proudly mention their unis in a social conversation having guys from THE? Do they walk with their heads held up high?

THE remains the number 1 place that attracts the best brains in this country. If you are not the best,then you belong to others

Where else would it be?
Burning Spear
#56 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2009 5:25:00 AM

@applebees,

My argument with you revolves about your statement 'Do the graduates of privates proudly mention their unis in a social conversation having guys from THE? Do they walk with their heads held up high?'

All people cannot be accomondated in the 'THE' but pity to you if you still have that mentality and you are poor.
What is important is not the THE but how you can deliver.I work with chaps who are KEMU,Daystar,USIU and I can assure you they are good,I mean they can deliver.
Our CEOhas masters from Strathmore,my boss have masters from USIU and without any biasness,they can perform.

Do not be balkanised by the institution you attended but ask your self,can you deliver.
I pesonally attended the 'THE' but I can assure you that I will not do my masters there.Who cares whether you are THE person or USIU.The question is.......how does your education help you to live well......I mean wealthy and healthy.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#57 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2009 6:52:00 AM

Kila mtu critisizing THE claims that they were also in THE.....hakuna kabisa.....THE just remains in your dreams,I invite you all to attend the next THE alumni dinner at Carnivore,you will be proud of yourself.....if you had worked hard and remained focused of course!!!

Goals
#58 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2009 8:31:00 AM

academic qualification and job productivity are not correlated. UON has what it takes if you real need challenges. i ve been there,thinks of MBA but the lectureres attitude is terrible. private unis are also changing,earlier mentality was for those that fail and have cash to spend'
#59 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2009 9:56:00 AM

@Apple

what would you call those students who have scored highly at O level,have been admitted in public universities but their parents have opted to take them to private universities? Do they change to be stupid too? Granted the entry level for private universities is lower than public universities but is it because the students who did not join the universities were stupid or is it because the State can not accomodate all the qualified students? How many State universities have been build since you were born in relationship to the population growth?

atoti
#60 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2009 10:22:00 AM

My dear,do what you hear desires.

MONEY CAN BUY YOU A HOUSE BUT NOT HOME