wazua Fri, Jun 12, 2026

16 Pages<12345>»
M7 Social Media TAX -Excellent
#21 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2018 9:25:11 AM

Hii maneno mimi bado elewa.

1. If I use my FB app, using Safaricon data, is there any financial transaction that takes place between Safaricon and FB? And if there is, who pays who, and for what?

Safaricom does not pay Facebook Anything. Facebook Does not pay Safaricom Anything. If safcom dies, FB will not even know.

2. Is there any money that leaves our economy courtesy of FB, other than the repatriated Safcon (vodafone) data profits?

Safcom is the bad one here as they are the ones who repatriate their profits. If we say we start taxing because monies is leaving our country, then we should tax Alibaba, Dailymail and even pornhub. Wazua should also pay taxes in the UK as there are a lot of wazua users in the UK.

3. FB does free marketing in our territory, and makes money via adverts. Isn't it just a matter of time before they start paying taxes to host countries?

FB does not do free marketing in Kenya. It is you and your friends who go there willingly. FB pays taxes in their host country which is where they are incorporated.

Someone elaborate.

Maybe, just maybe, Uganda will be the trigger!

This taxation thing will also mean that the people in Uganda also pay taxes for accessing wazua, nation and standard newspapers.

Taxation is meant to be charged at source. Otherwise at this rate, you shall grow your cabagges in Nyandarua and get taxed there. Then your buyer in Mombasa shall also be taxed because they bought Cabbages that did not come from Mombasa.

In short.

Upus.

#22 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2018 9:54:01 AM

M7 is generally very misguided and behind times. he should simply come out and tell Ugandans that he has introduced a tax on their data use, which will be borne by Ugandan people or the companies, period. Ugandans will get to pay more for the same product while the rest of the world will feel no impact.

Social media is not a product that should be taxed, its a platform for use, like a book and pens, or a library, etc.

Question is who here has been charged for using facebook, or whatsapp. You buy data, and use it as you wish, some use it to surf porn, others use it to sell their wares etc.

For me its a consumption tax like any other tax, good for the govt as its broad but bad for the people as it makes goods expensive.
#23 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2018 10:05:07 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
M7 is generally very misguided and behind times. he should simply come out and tell Ugandans that he has introduced a tax on their data use, which will be borne by Ugandan people or the companies, period. Ugandans will get to pay more for the same product while the rest of the world will feel no impact.

Social media is not a product that should be taxed, its a platform for use, like a book and pens, or a library, etc.

Question is who here has been charged for using facebook, or whatsapp. You buy data, and use it as you wish, some use it to surf porn, others use it to sell their wares etc.

For me its a consumption tax like any other tax, good for the govt as its broad but bad for the people as it makes goods expensive.

yeah... why be charged to a tax specifically for a product you have already bought - DATA? no data is free! They charge tax on data buying (credit or ISPs). It's synonymous to buying electricity - getting taxed on it and then getting a separate charge on electricity itself when you use that electricity to watch Movies in your house not cook, or light up your house or iron your clothes e.t.c. just watching movies! because watching 'watching movies' is deemed as being 'being idle' by some dude in authority! How absurd is this? People should be free to use their electricity as they want... they have bought it... you have taxed it already... let them BE! Taxing them for watching movies is just hurting them while hoping that the people who make those movies in the US feel the pinch when the person in Kenya is paying this absurdity tax.
#24 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2018 10:26:57 AM

Realtreaty wrote:
Africans never start anything before the white and the Indians exhaust it.

If this was introduced by Britain we would just jump in.

Britain is a beneficiary as they own Vodafone that milk our men and women.

The USA govt owns most of the social media and so we run and pay them without any tax going back to us but they receive wholesome as we again run to borrow from them

We tend to be too clever doing nothing (Professor Obel explained the weakness of being African)

We want to speak more English more than the English people but it does not help us as we do not still understand it.

Just because M7 started it (and he is not first one as those owners pay taxes they import from foolish countries) he skim him and call him names.

Time to remember why we were called Niggers.!!!

Indians and Wazungus wouldn't do it... why because they know about it... the concept is the concept of NET NEUTRALITY.
Heck India just made a law to enshine net neutrality...

anyone who infringes on it will suffer stiff penalties.
At the core of this thing is a "FREE INTERNET" not "FREE" as in "FREE LUNCH" but rather "FREE PRESS".

#25 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2018 10:31:16 AM

If M7 wants to tax social media, he should be taxing heavily those local ugandan companies advertising using social media. There is no cash outflows from Uganda to FB, Twitter or whatsapp except the cash from advertisements.That's the only way he can save his Coffee dollars
tom_boy
#26 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2018 12:09:24 PM

M7 is brilliant to introduce social media tax. social media is such a distraction, should be classified a little lower than other social evils like smoking and alcohol. Social media , at some level has negative effects on the economy.

When I buy bread, I pay tax on the bread. The producer pays tax to produce the bread. The shop keeper also pays. basically, the way tax is structured, one gets to pay tax for anything that adds value to your life.

In social media, the only beneficiaries for far too long have been the facebook and instagram owners. they collect ad revenue and do not remit a cent to the country where the the ads were broadcast. They actually deplete goverment revenue because companies will claim the ad spend as a tax deductible expense.

Since social media seems to be adding some value to the individuals on it, its ok to tax them. This way, the goverment also benefits. The goverment should go a step further and impose an advertisement tax on all social media platforms that are active in our country. Yes, Google, whatsup, facebook etc should pay to Kenya goverment for the priviledge to allow kenyan eyes to look at their advertisements. Same way County govt charges fees for putting up a billboard.

They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#27 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2018 1:22:31 PM

tom_boy wrote:
M7 is brilliant to introduce social media tax. social media is such a distraction, should be classified a little lower than other social evils like smoking and alcohol. Social media , at some level has negative effects on the economy.

When I buy bread, I pay tax on the bread. The producer pays tax to produce the bread. The shop keeper also pays. basically, the way tax is structured, one gets to pay tax for anything that adds value to your life.

In social media, the only beneficiaries for far too long have been the facebook and instagram owners. they collect ad revenue and do not remit a cent to the country where the the ads were broadcast. They actually deplete goverment revenue because companies will claim the ad spend as a tax deductible expense.

Since social media seems to be adding some value to the individuals on it, its ok to tax them. This way, the goverment also benefits. The goverment should go a step further and impose an advertisement tax on all social media platforms that are active in our country. Yes, Google, whatsup, facebook etc should pay to Kenya goverment for the priviledge to allow kenyan eyes to look at their advertisements. Same way County govt charges fees for putting up a billboard.

What a bunch of really stupid people who don't understand simple concepts!
This is what McReggae used to call thumping you bony chests... boss... it's small rivers that join big rivers! Have you seen a Google, whatsup, facebook advert on your TV trying to ask people to join it? this action hurts no one else but social media users and will result is social unrests in the countries it's implemented in. Kenya has about 7 million facebook users - so little that Facebook does not really care. How many offices does facebook have in africa? 1... in Joberg... for the over 1 billion people in africa... 1 office? please... know your place. your actions will destabilize your country and not make a blip on facebook's graph.
Plus if people don't use internet to get to facebook, google, whatsapp - data ni ya nini? data is a huge cash earner for telcos and and in directly governments. hii upuzi ya double taxation ni nini? yes... When you buy bread you get taxed on bread... but how you CONSUME YOUR BREAD should not attract different taxes... ati when you eat your bread when cut... tax... when it's not cut.. hakuna tax. it's such a stupid idea. never heard anything like it. P.S. people don't survive just to make the economy grow... that's the greatest idolatry... people don't live for the economy!
Secondly, governments tax what you are calling 'social evils' because they can get away with it... you will not see a bunch of people protesting gambling taxes or rights of smokers coz it's seen by the population as being 'evil'. - hata malaya hutaka kulipa tax ndio wafanye kazi yao mainstream - no mainstream thing wants to be taxed!
Ugandans have already protested this silly tax... that on it's own tells you that it's MAIN STREAM... hebu tax unga uone... wananchi watakukujia.. utabeba placard kama ile Raila alibebeshwa na watu wa kibira
tom_boy
#28 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2018 2:04:32 PM

tom_boy wrote:

This is what McReggae used to call thumping you bony chests... boss... it's small rivers that join big rivers! Have you seen a Google, whatsup, facebook advert on your TV trying to ask people to join it? this action hurts no one else but social media users and will result is social unrests in the countries it's implemented in. Kenya has about 7 million facebook users - so little that Facebook does not really care. How many offices does facebook have in africa? 1... in Joberg... for the over 1 billion people in africa... 1 office? please... know your place. your actions will destabilize your country and not make a blip on facebook's graph.
Plus if people don't use internet to get to facebook, google, whatsapp - data ni ya nini? data is a huge cash earner for telcos and and in directly governments. hii upuzi ya double taxation ni nini? yes... When you buy bread you get taxed on bread... but how you CONSUME YOUR BREAD should not attract different taxes... ati when you eat your bread when cut... tax... when it's not cut.. hakuna tax. it's such a stupid idea. never heard anything like it. P.S. people don't survive just to make the economy grow... that's the greatest idolatry... people don't live for the economy!
Secondly, governments tax what you are calling 'social evils' because they can get away with it... you will not see a bunch of people protesting gambling taxes or rights of smokers coz it's seen by the population as being 'evil'. - hata malaya hutaka kulipa tax ndio wafanye kazi yao mainstream - no mainstream thing wants to be taxed!
Ugandans have already protested this silly tax... that on it's own tells you that it's MAIN STREAM... hebu tax unga uone... wananchi watakukujia.. utabeba placard kama ile Raila alibebeshwa na watu wa kibira

That's the problem of small brains and a lot of nonsense about small rivers joining big rivers. If facebook decides not to pay for Kenyan viewership, I can bet you any money that other platforms will be smiling with glee to take up that space. Wacha fikira ndogo bwana . Absence of facebook ET al equals a vacuum for entrepreneurs to exploit. Why are Africans scared of making tough decisions that favour Africans. We would rather put VAT on medicines than tax facebook who is spying on us and using our data to make money.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#29 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2018 2:12:32 PM

tom_boy wrote:

That's the problem of small brains and a lot of nonsense about small rivers joining big rivers. If facebook decides not to pay for Kenyan viewership, I can bet you any money that other platforms will be smiling with glee to take up that space. Wacha fikira ndogo bwana . Absence of facebook ET al equals a vacuum for entrepreneurs to exploit. Why are Africans scared of making tough decisions that favour Africans. We would rather put VAT on medicines than tax facebook who is spying on us and using our data to make money.

simple... it's because those decisions don't favour africans. they don't favour africans! they favour no one not the consumer... not the state... not facebook. it's all lose lose and small loss. Take it from me - Facebook will make money despite of your attempts to curtail it.
Perhaps the more important questions to ask is will your state survive curtailing facebook? tembea ulize watu Egypt how those measures worked for them.
PS. Facebook is a server seated somewhere - it's your users who seek it out - they don't come looking for you - it's your citizens who go looking for it.
#30 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2018 2:19:27 PM

tom_boy wrote:

Honestly, this statement about "the problem of small brains and a lot of nonsense"". You really should not have used it.

Ati if Facebook decides not to pay for Kenyan viewership.

Where exactly did you get the notion that FB pays for you to go and talk crap on their platform? Sasa wewe ni mjinga ama umezubaa tu?

Taxing Wanjiru for using Whatsapp or FB will never ever affect FB in any way. Nowhere.

Ama you think it is FB that is paying Museveni's tax?

It is you not FB. FB shall never and charo nefa pay tax in Uganda. Not today not kesho not ever. Ni wewe tu na ngombe za museveni.

16 Pages<12345>»