wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

7 Pages<12345>»
Roselyn Akombe resigns - one IEBC commissioner out
Fyatu
#41 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 11:47:10 AM

Julie wrote:
Her departure is a well calculated move to cripple IEBC and forth coming elections!

There is no vacuum(Kenyan saying).
I don't think she was that crucial. The wheel can continue turning without her.

In my head, i am looking at a hypothetical situation where Chebukati pulls a fast one next week by resigning....However, i am not scared at all because some people in their own wisdom sponsored an elections reform bills that is in the President's in-tray on his desk at Statehouse. On Akombe's resignation, i say good riddance.My take is that this was obvious from August 8th. Her letter and her timing betrays her allegiance(and probably the whole no-election scheme of things) in what she loosely refers to as "political forces". Huku mashinani(Mombasa rural), folks are not sure if there will be elections. However, from the debates at the bodaboda shed outside my school, all are in agreement that they will not interfere with the IEBC and neither will they stop anyone from voting for Ekuru Aukot.Trust me, Kura itapigwa on the 26th August
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#42 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 11:48:05 AM

I hope she had cleared all her emails and logs and cookies in her computer before leaving otherwise...

This looks well planned including the BBC/media interviews.For IEBC with so little time the last thing they needed is a loose cannon
Fyatu
#43 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 11:59:24 AM

muganda wrote:
'We got to pray just to make it today. I say we pray, pray!' MC Hammer

This is where Uhuru goes wrong. It is not his job to assure Kenyans that elections will be held on 26th. That is Chebukati's job. Infact, i would like to suggest to Chebukati(if he visits wazua) to call a presser at 7PM on live TV and assure Kenyans that elections will be held on 26th. Most Kenyans huku mashinani(Mombasa rural) are not sure if there will be elections.

P.S. So far no one has told me they will not vote. What i know is widespread pessimism. Its as if Kenyans are hoping/waiting for Maraga and Mwilu to postpone it again though they all agree that this will not be in their best interest. Most are fatigued by the extensive siasa season.(
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#44 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 12:08:13 PM

Fyatu wrote:
muganda wrote:

This is where Uhuru goes wrong. It is not his job to assure Kenyans that elections will be held on 26th. That is Chebukati's job. Infact, i would like to suggest to Chebukati(if he visits wazua) to call a presser at 7PM on live TV and assure Kenyans that elections will be held on 26th. Most Kenyans huku mashinani(Mombasa rural) are not sure if there will be elections.

P.S. So far no one has told me they will not vote. What i know is widespread pessimism. Its as if Kenyans are hoping/waiting for Maraga and Mwilu to postpone it again though they all agree that this will not be in their best interest. Most are fatigued by the extensive siasa season.(

It's gok's job to ensure there is security for both IEBC staff and voters.
kimanimsc
#45 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 12:25:28 PM

Fyatu wrote:
muganda wrote:

The presser coming up shortly @ 12:45pm

#46 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 12:59:45 PM

Fyatu wrote:
muganda wrote:

Boss, this is politics and political speak, that's how you should read it. Uhuru is addressing his supporters. Why is it wrong for Uhuru to say there will be elections on the 26th and not wrong for baba to say there will be no elections?
I don't think he is contradicting anything after all IEBC has said the same not to forget that he's one of the main players.

I also don't believe Chebukati went to the Supreme Court to ask about vote tallying, I think he was going to get 'authentication' from the court on whether he should proceed with 26th, had nothing to do with 34 A, Bs & Cs. The court would have stopped him from proceeding if they thought otherwise.

Baratang
#47 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 1:09:31 PM

Akombes departure, what it means and was she clean as she wants us to believe? see the analysis below:

C & P

1. MY LIFE IS IN DANGER

Now Roselyn Akombe claimed that her life was in danger. But, was it? The answer is a firm No!

She used her years as an employee of UN in New York to ensure her family enjoyed the American Dream.

The only person she had been unable to take abroad is is Steve Mosati her younger brother and the claims of her life enabled her to finally get him and family to USA under political asylum.

2. I AM DETAINED AT THE AIRPORT

Akombe called the US Embassy from the air port and complained that she was being stopped from traveling based on a travel clearance letter.

She also called several government officials. Her issue was sorted in a matter of minutes.

Apologies were made and her travel clearance letter was delivered, but the next flight was in the morning.

She was asked to go home but she refused and instead chose to spend at the VIP Lounge. At midnight KAA as usual asked to close the lounge but she stood her ground and made calls to journalists to sell her version of the story.

3. AKOMBE - ATTEMPTED SUICIDE AND UN MENTAL PROGRAMME

Roselyn attempted suicide in her early days as a UN staffer. She wanted to throw herself on a moving train, but some friends restrained her.

She was then put on a special staff programme for 'mental instability'.

Her frustration at the time was the fact that her baby Daddy had abandoned her - the baby Daddy, for your information is Richard Onyonka, who by the way is vying for an MP on a NASA affiliate party - Ford Kenya, in the Kitutu Chache South Parliamentary seat election set for November 7Th, 2017.

4. THE CHILOBA MEMO

The author of the famous show cause memo to IEBC CEO Ezra Chiloba is none other than Akombe.

At one time during the Bomas period, Chebukati admitted to the Nation that he could not do anything without Akombe.
She was the unofficial chair of the commission.

5. THE ORENGO NIGHT MEETINGS

After the Supreme Court decision, Akombe met several times with Senator James Orengo. The idea was simple, she was ready to use her leverage in the commission to present the opposition agenda.

In return, Nasa promised her a slot as CS Foreign Affairs. On this one she drop her guard and shared the "Good News" with her friends via text and calls.

Attempts to push her agenda however failed and that explains her exit.

Her exit was not a surprise, she prepared us through:

UN: IEBC's Akombe will return to the UN "fairly soon"

6. SO, WHAT WITH HER EXIT

Nothing!

The Commission is intact even in her absence.
The IEBC Act allows any commissioner to resign at any time of their career by writing to the President, after which such vacancy will be declared within seven days, and a new recruitment to start.

State House, PSCU, State House/Government Spokesman and even Itumbi have not indicated such a letter has been written.

You see Akombe was not being paid by the taxpayer and with no salary it was easy for her to quit.

President Uhuru must however sign the election Amendment Bill 2017 urgently.

#48 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 1:16:02 PM

Baratang wrote:
Akombes departure, what it means and was she clean as she wants us to believe? see the analysis below:

C & P

1. MY LIFE IS IN DANGER

Now Roselyn Akombe claimed that her life was in danger. But, was it? The answer is a firm No!

She used her years as an employee of UN in New York to ensure her family enjoyed the American Dream.

The only person she had been unable to take abroad is is Steve Mosati her younger brother and the claims of her life enabled her to finally get him and family to USA under political asylum.

2. I AM DETAINED AT THE AIRPORT

Akombe called the US Embassy from the air port and complained that she was being stopped from traveling based on a travel clearance letter.

She also called several government officials. Her issue was sorted in a matter of minutes.

Apologies were made and her travel clearance letter was delivered, but the next flight was in the morning.

She was asked to go home but she refused and instead chose to spend at the VIP Lounge. At midnight KAA as usual asked to close the lounge but she stood her ground and made calls to journalists to sell her version of the story.

3. AKOMBE - ATTEMPTED SUICIDE AND UN MENTAL PROGRAMME

Roselyn attempted suicide in her early days as a UN staffer. She wanted to throw herself on a moving train, but some friends restrained her.

She was then put on a special staff programme for 'mental instability'.

Her frustration at the time was the fact that her baby Daddy had abandoned her - the baby Daddy, for your information is Richard Onyonka, who by the way is vying for an MP on a NASA affiliate party - Ford Kenya, in the Kitutu Chache South Parliamentary seat election set for November 7Th, 2017.

4. THE CHILOBA MEMO

The author of the famous show cause memo to IEBC CEO Ezra Chiloba is none other than Akombe.

At one time during the Bomas period, Chebukati admitted to the Nation that he could not do anything without Akombe.
She was the unofficial chair of the commission.

5. THE ORENGO NIGHT MEETINGS

After the Supreme Court decision, Akombe met several times with Senator James Orengo. The idea was simple, she was ready to use her leverage in the commission to present the opposition agenda.

In return, Nasa promised her a slot as CS Foreign Affairs. On this one she drop her guard and shared the "Good News" with her friends via text and calls.

Attempts to push her agenda however failed and that explains her exit.

Her exit was not a surprise, she prepared us through:

UN: IEBC's Akombe will return to the UN "fairly soon"

6. SO, WHAT WITH HER EXIT

Nothing!

The Commission is intact even in her absence.
The IEBC Act allows any commissioner to resign at any time of their career by writing to the President, after which such vacancy will be declared within seven days, and a new recruitment to start.

State House, PSCU, State House/Government Spokesman and even Itumbi have not indicated such a letter has been written.

You see Akombe was not being paid by the taxpayer and with no salary it was easy for her to quit.

President Uhuru must however sign the election Amendment Bill 2017 urgently.

Lol, Mko na jokesLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
wazuaguest
#49 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 1:18:51 PM

In 1519, Captain Hernán Cortés landed in Veracruz to begin his great conquest. Upon arriving, he gave the order to his men to burn the ships....

Akombe SHIP was always ready for take off, she new that she has a safety net...Whose life is in more danger Akombe or Chiloba?
Any leader should be ready to lead during tough times and smooth times.
Her double speak betrays her..Does it mean she was lying last week?
After Hassan Isack and team were outed of the IEBC job anyone taking it up the job with such a SHORT time to election should have know what the job entails.And Akombe being a Dr should have known better.
Africa belongs to Africans.
#50 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 1:26:17 PM

Why hasn't Uhuru signed the bill? Very strange...
Xymalos
#51 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 1:29:03 PM

8/8/2017 presidential votes are still in boxes ... and we have to go through this mess because we could not feed presidential results through electronic gadgets. Yet all MCAs, MPs and Senators were elected through the same process and they are now in office because voting results did not have to go through electronic gadgets. Something somewhere is terribly wrong. Surely, can't we come up with a legal mechanism to have 8/8/2017 presidential votes recounted?
#52 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 1:31:17 PM

Why hasn't Uhuru signed the bill? Very strange...

they will wait until the 24th. to avoid the courts dismantling an obviously unconstitutional law. its that simple

#53 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 1:31:34 PM

She shouldn't think she's safe in the US, even with citizenship she can be extradited to face charges of running away using taxpayers money. Nation had reported that she was planning to resign. Who knows that UN job could go away on integrity grounds.
#54 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 1:39:56 PM

She shouldn't think she's safe in the US, even with citizenship she can be extradited to face charges of running away using taxpayers money. Nation had reported that she was planning to resign. Who knows that UN job could go away on integrity grounds.

Americans dont have the habit of sending their citizens to countries where police dont follow court orders.

wukan
#55 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 1:40:06 PM

Like watching that old soap "Days of our lives"....BORING!!!

But please continue
#56 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 1:43:42 PM

Americans dont have the habit of sending their citizens to countries where police dont follow court orders.

All they need is evidence. , otherwise US cooperates with Ke on so much. But let's keep watching 7 days to go
#57 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 1:46:48 PM

All they need is evidence. , otherwise US cooperates with Ke on so much. But let's keep watching 7 days to go

i can assure you that you will wait until your kids have great grand children before you see an American being brought from America to a Kenyan court. Utangoja sana.

Lakini ngojea tu.

#58 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 1:56:23 PM

Chebu resigns?
#59 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 2:03:57 PM

Chebu resigns?

Highly likely
sitaki.kujulikana
#60 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 2:13:43 PM

Chebu resigns?

Highly likely

I think he will resign just before the elections.