sad!
#41 Posted : Tuesday, October 17, 2017 5:18:17 PM

So Kyuks hate luos but the hate is not reciprocated?

Great question. These apologists siku moja watajua hawajui.

I advocate watu wajitetee kivyao.

The hypocrisy is out of this world, we all hate each other, as long as we have competing interests. Which tribe doesn't have a name for the other

Please correct your statement with the words I interchanged with we.

Not everyone thinks like you. Or is that how you sleep at night.

Also try to use the word disagree rather than the word hate.

Again, it's only prudent to tell people what you personally feel rather than what you think others feel.

#42 Posted : Tuesday, October 17, 2017 5:24:06 PM

Julie wrote:
My confession...my mechanic is Luo.
He makes sure am not grounded anytime I call him even when I forget to shift the gear lever to neutral after parking my car after a night out with Guks....

Where is Guka at that time smile smile smile
#43 Posted : Tuesday, October 17, 2017 5:59:11 PM

I heard that Jomo cursed his vp then, told him that he and his descendants will never occupy that seat.

But that aside, let's be honest, it's not that kyuks had/have an issue with a luo presidency, it's the sycophancy that will come with it. You'll hear a common phrase that 'huku hakutakalika'. To be honest, quite a number would prefer baba over WSR.

#44 Posted : Tuesday, October 17, 2017 6:13:12 PM

I heard that Jomo cursed his vp then, told him that he and his descendants will never occupy that seat.

But that aside, let's be honest, it's not that kyuks had/have an issue with a luo presidency, it's the sycophancy that will come with it. You'll hear a common phrase that 'huku hakutakalika'. To be honest, quite a number would prefer baba over WSR.

Sad to read words like these from your "mouth"!

Shame on you @2012 for sharing myths instead of teaching people correct history...

Oginga Odinga was nationalist, he was not a tribalist. Instead he fought against negative ethnicity by championing the fight against poverty and liberation of all its victims across the land. And if Odinga had not fallen out with Kenyatta and had become second president of Kenya, like President Nyerere of Tanzania, he would have transformed Kenya into a country and society not consumed by negative ethnicity as it is today.

Odinga best demonstrated his nationalism by fighting hardest for the release of Jomo Kenyatta, who was not a Luo like him but a Kikuyu.

Odinga fought for the release of Kenyatta when neither Tom Mboya nor any Kikuyu leader could stand up for Kenyatta
#45 Posted : Tuesday, October 17, 2017 7:28:43 PM

The twitter thread I was alluding to by @oowaah has been one of the most read today with very many retweets.

Now now now. Everyone and I mean everyone is asking the same question. How can we fix this mess ? How can we make sure we don't impart this madness to the next generation ?

But guess what ? 99% of tweets by my brothers and sisters from uthamakistan are denying there is hatred towards Luos. They actually insist we are victims of hate. They have accused @oowaah of being a Luo propagandist. Until someone points out that he is actually a Kiuk.

And then I came back to Wazua and the trend is the same. Kenyans looking for a solution, our people denying there is a problem. "Gukana thakame iri miromo"
#46 Posted : Tuesday, October 17, 2017 9:49:00 PM

The twitter thread I was alluding to by @oowaah has been one of the most read today with very many retweets.

Now now now. Everyone and I mean everyone is asking the same question. How can we fix this mess ? How can we make sure we don't impart this madness to the next generation ?

But guess what ? 99% of tweets by my brothers and sisters from uthamakistan are denying there is hatred towards Luos. They actually insist we are victims of hate. They have accused @oowaah of being a Luo propagandist. Until someone points out that he is actually a Kiuk.

And then I came back to Wazua and the trend is the same. Kenyans looking for a solution, our people denying there is a problem. "Gukana thakame iri miromo"

Total nonsense! How many patients in the country ever bother to know the name/tribe of the doctor who attends them in public institutions? It's your kind of reasoning (and your fabricated stories) that is messing up things in kenya. You and Ndii should stop your kasumba.
#47 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 1:24:02 AM

This spinning and fabrication will be the end of you one day.

At what point was it pointed out that Oowah is a kiuk?So comments stopped when people discovered he is a kiuk?what nonsense is this you are spinning?

its2013
#48 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 6:43:19 AM

It's observed that people who take social media too seriously tend to delude themselves into a different reality. They also tend to follow/friend people who reason like themselves and funny enough, assume that's representative of society. One spends an entire day chatting with about 5 to 10 people and concludes that's the opinions of the entire world. A statement that gets 100 or even 1000 retweets/shares is actually not always public opinion or reality.

Talk to your neighbour. Talk to the people in the market. Talk to the people on the streets. That's where you'll find reality as it truly is. And away from keyboards, away from engineered stories and scripted debates you'll find there's more love, better reasoning and more cohesion in society.
Pretty hurts
#49 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 8:07:56 AM

Shame on you @2012 for sharing myths instead of teaching people correct history...

Oginga Odinga was nationalist, he was not a tribalist. Instead he fought against negative ethnicity by championing the fight against poverty and liberation of all its victims across the land. And if Odinga had not fallen out with Kenyatta and had become second president of Kenya, like President Nyerere of Tanzania, he would have transformed Kenya into a country and society not consumed by negative ethnicity as it is today.

Odinga best demonstrated his nationalism by fighting hardest for the release of Jomo Kenyatta, who was not a Luo like him but a Kikuyu.

Odinga fought for the release of Kenyatta when neither Tom Mboya nor any Kikuyu leader could stand up for Kenyatta

@Alph,I thought we were being honest? Is it a myth that Raila said 40 vs 1 in the 2008 election? How is that nationalism? This elections are between 'uthamakism' vs 'odingaism' anyone saying otherwise is a liar. Let's just be honest else we're just pretending.

#50 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 8:14:05 AM

its2013 wrote:
It's observed that people who take social media too seriously tend to delude themselves into a different reality. They also tend to follow/friend people who reason like themselves and funny enough, assume that's representative of society. One spends an entire day chatting with about 5 to 10 people and concludes that's the opinions of the entire world. A statement that gets 100 or even 1000 retweets/shares is actually not always public opinion or reality.

Talk to your neighbour. Talk to the people in the market. Talk to the people on the streets. That's where you'll find reality as it truly is. And away from keyboards, away from engineered stories and scripted debates you'll find there's more love, better reasoning and more cohesion in society.

Ukweli mtupu.Applause Applause Applause
innairobi
#51 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 8:57:45 AM

kwanza nairobians take twitter too seriously. twitter is a very tiny elitist part of kenyan society and is hardly representative. there are far more kenyans on facebook and whatsapp.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#52 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 8:58:13 AM

@Alph,I thought we were being honest? Is it a myth that Raila said 40 vs 1 in the 2008 election? How is that nationalism? This elections are between 'uthamakism' vs 'odingaism' anyone saying otherwise is a liar. Let's just be honest else we're just pretending.

Sorry @2012, I'm responding to your first paragraph about Jomo vs his VP Jaramogi... That is the myth...
#53 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 9:06:06 AM

Say it louder please
Iganamagana
#54 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 9:56:19 AM

muganda wrote:
This doctor claims things are thick everywhere...
Education is the ability to listen to almost anything
without losing your temper or your self-confidence. Robert Frost

• Needless to say I doubt I'll be seeing them again..
• It's sad really.. The level of hate and dehumanisation that has gone on towards various communities in this country..

Hehehe... eti someone spat on the doctor's face after seeing his name? Another fake story. Lots of propaganda going on online. Anyone can create a twitter handle and come up with their fairy tales.

After medical school doctors are posted all over the country irrespective of tribe or home region and no patient cares about the tribe of the doctor.

I agree with you. Doctors from all tribes are working all over the country comfortably... Look around and see who are the specialist doctors? Even kina @bigchik and sure either her gynecologist or pediatrician is/was a Luo... Myself in normal day, I interact with almost half of Kenyan tribes... and I do biz with all comfortably! I even have best friends from Kale, Luhyia, Luo, Kyuk, Coast, Somali, Masai (although they like conning me), Kambas etc

Can't help but laugh. When we were growing up, I heard that it is easy to con a Maasai. Now the foot is in the other shoe. This serves you right Laughing out loudly on behalf of all those who spread those silly lies. You carry their burden.
#55 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 10:08:51 AM

Sorry @2012, I'm responding to your first paragraph about Jomo vs his VP Jaramogi... That is the myth...

@Alpha,it's true, it's a myth as far as I know but I heard that it was actually true from the people from that era. When mzee kosanad with Oginga at the height of his defiance and multiparty advocacy, he told him in anger that he and his descendants will never ascend to that position. I hear it's quoted in a book written by one of the politician from that period. So I'm not making it up.

#56 Posted : Thursday, December 14, 2017 6:29:04 PM

Dear Mr President.

I’m optimistic that this plea will in one way or the other get to you.

I’m a Kenyan citizen born in a poor family some 30 years ago in Emuhaya, Vihiga County.

I sat for my KCPE in 2000 scoring 457 out of 700 marks.

Due to school fees challenge, I moved from one school to another, eventually sitting for my KCSE in 2006 and scoring a B - (minus).

After Form 4, I enrolled for a diploma in Disaster Management at Masinde Muliro University.

I graduated in 2010.

Seven years later, I’m still jobless.

Mr President, I feel discriminated [against].

When you tell us to move on, I ask: To where?

Do you really know what it means to go on an empty stomach— when your appetite is high but there is nothing?

What if they were your children going without a meal because you can't provide for them?

My family has been discriminated [against] in Kenyan employment.

Imagine this: Five of us in my father's family are unemployed though we hold diploma qualification and above.

Look at this:

1. Simeon Okang'a, Diploma (disaster management), graduated 2010, unemployed.

2. Bath Mwenesi Okang'a, diploma 2011, degree 2015 (Medical Lab Tech), unemployed.

3. Joseph Okang'a, degree, (Education), 2015, unemployed.

4. Jane Nyangai Okang'a, diploma, (ECD), 2011, unemployed.

5. Faith Mihava Okang'a, P1, graduated 2012, unemployed.

Mr President, how can you tell a family like mine to move on?

To where?

I believed in Nasa, I voted for them on 8th August and boycotted on 26th October.

I was ready to be tear-gassed for them until December 9 when they postponed the swearing-in of Raila.

I discovered that following them is like going after a beautiful butterfly: When about to catch it, it flies to the next flower!

Let me ask this: If the Okang'as were from your family, the deputy president's, Raila’s, Kalonzo's, Musalia's, Wetang’ula's, Orengo's, Matiang’i's, Muigai's, Kiunjuri's, Esipisu's, Mailu's, could all of us still be unemployed?

That is why I feel we have been discriminated.

It pains me more when I have to wake up daily to do boda boda (in company of Standard Four, Five and Six dropouts).

Often, I’m the laughing stock and the point of reference of cases where education has no value.

Mr President, the Okang'a's are also Kenyans.

We are requesting for employment.

Not demanding for those high-end jobs but what is equivalent to our level of education— something I can use to put a roof over my children, something to cover their nakedness and a meal for their hungry stomachs.

Only that, Mr President.

I know you have done it in the past. And you can do it again.

Yours truly,

Simeon Okang'a

Kenyan.

#57 Posted : Thursday, December 14, 2017 6:50:13 PM

muganda wrote:

Dear Mr President.

I’m a Kenyan citizen born in a poor family some 30 years ago in Emuhaya, Vihiga County.

Due to school fees challenge, I moved from one school to another, eventually sitting for my KCSE in 2006 and scoring a B - (minus).

After Form 4, I enrolled for a diploma in Disaster Management at Masinde Muliro University.

I graduated in 2010.

Do you really know what it means to go on an empty stomach— when your appetite is high but there is nothing?

What if they were your children going without a meal because you can't provide for them?

Imagine this: Five of us in my father's family are unemployed though we hold diploma qualification and above.

Look at this:

2. Bath Mwenesi Okang'a, diploma 2011, degree 2015 (Medical Lab Tech), unemployed.

To where?

I believed in Nasa, I voted for them on 8th August and boycotted on 26th October.

I was ready to be tear-gassed for them until December 9 when they postponed the swearing-in of Raila.

I discovered that following them is like going after a beautiful butterfly: When about to catch it, it flies to the next flower!

Let me ask this: If the Okang'as were from your family, the deputy president's, Raila’s, Kalonzo's, Musalia's, Wetang’ula's, Orengo's, Matiang’i's, Muigai's, Kiunjuri's, Esipisu's, Mailu's, could all of us still be unemployed?

It pains me more when I have to wake up daily to do boda boda (in company of Standard Four, Five and Six dropouts).

Often, I’m the laughing stock and the point of reference of cases where education has no value.

Not demanding for those high-end jobs but what is equivalent to our level of education— something I can use to put a roof over my children, something to cover their nakedness and a meal for their hungry stomachs.

Only that, Mr President.

Yours truly,

Simeon Okang'a

Kenyan.

Has Okanga participated in any disaster management initiative even as a volunteer at redcross or he was waiting for a job to fall from the sky because Raila his tribes man is President?
#58 Posted : Thursday, December 14, 2017 7:38:14 PM

muganda wrote:

Dear Mr President.

I graduated in 2010.

Look at this:

To where?

Only that, Mr President.

Yours truly,

Simeon Okang'a

Kenyan.

I read this letter and I wondered (let me play devil's advocate) is this family lazy, unlucky, looking for opportunities in the wrong places? How would a different government created jobs for this family? Saa zingine 'serekari saidia' is not the answer.
This family simply lucks ambition. Yaani I wish he had said at least one is in business but now it sounds like the entire family is bumming at their folks. Sad indeed.

#59 Posted : Thursday, December 14, 2017 7:47:31 PM

muganda wrote:

Dear Mr President.

I graduated in 2010.

Look at this:

To where?

Only that, Mr President.

Yours truly,

Simeon Okang'a

Kenyan.

I read this letter and I wondered (let me play devil's advocate) is this family lazy, unlucky, looking for opportunities in the wrong places? How would a different government created jobs for this family? Saa zingine 'serekari saidia' is not the answer.
This family simply lucks ambition. Yaani I wish he had said at least one is in business but now it sounds like the entire family is bumming at their folks. Sad indeed.

You know, kitambo once you completed college, you got "POSTED" to work as a teacher to a certian school (I think TSC still does that) or as a Nurse to a certain hospital/health center. Unfortunately, some people are still stuck to that mindset of waiting to be POSTED.
#60 Posted : Friday, December 15, 2017 8:29:33 AM

muganda wrote:

Dear Mr President.

I graduated in 2010.

Look at this:

To where?

Only that, Mr President.

Yours truly,

Simeon Okang'a

Kenyan.

You know, kitambo once you completed college, you got "POSTED" to work as a teacher to a certian school (I think TSC still does that) or as a Nurse to a certain hospital/health center. Unfortunately, some people are still stuck to that mindset of waiting to be POSTED.

Where I come from once a guy is through with college,as he waits to be posted,he does odd things here and there (small farming,hawking,driver wa matatu,broker of everything and anything,Volunteer ).In the process he meets someone who helps him get what he aspired for or realises that the hustles are also not bad.

What Okang'a and his family have is the Serikali saidia mentality.Truth is the population is too big relative to the available jobs in government.This family should stop being lazy.We have even househelps earning a living and educating their kids.