#41 Posted : Saturday, July 01, 2017 7:23:30 AM

sanity wrote:
hamburglar wrote:
aemathenge wrote:
hamburglar wrote:
aemathenge wrote:
hamburglar wrote:
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/amp/article/2001245245/political-parties-banned-from-sending-vernacular-messages

Ban all vernacular languages. They are avenues of hate.

No. Keep them but use them as avenues to educate the masses on the futility of hate in a language they would understand.

If we got rid of them we wouldn't even need to teach the masses on the futility of hate in the first place because there would be no reason for tribal hate if there are no tribes. We would instead teach them how to prosper since hate will be out of the way and we can now focus on more important teachings of prosperity and other things that bring development and make people's lives better. Tribes are holding us back. They add absolutely no value to Kenyans, they only breed hate.

What you propose requires a time span of no less than thirty eight years.

We have got thirty eight days to the erections.

Unless we discuss "Elections" in this 38 day context, then I regret this conversation reverts to one best reserved for the halls of the "Ivory Towers."

I said earlier that this would not benefit our generation but would greatly greatly benefit two generations or so down the road. Wouldn't it be amazing to see Kenyans being able to settle anywhere they want without having to worry about their tribe? Every Kenyan speaking in one national language and everybody being able to communicate without any language barriers? Everybody loving each other as Kenyans and not as somebody from my tribe? Right now we have people who can't even do business with people from other tribes. Ujinga ndio hiyo. Excuse my French but f*** tribes. They don't belong in a civilized society.

How uncivilized are the citizens of the United Kingdom?

Or Canada with their English-French divide?

Like it or not our tribes are our heritage.We should be proud of Our diversity.If you think being civilized is eradicating tribes and languages,then you are lost somehere in the jungle of reality.I love my tribe and I wouldn't give it up to be a 'civilised English or Frenchman.'And the fact that I love my tribe doesn't necessarily mean that I hate other tribes..No..It just stupid politicians who like to make us belief so.

Nobody is asking you to be an Englishman or a Frenchman. We just need to be Kenyans. Not Kikuyu or Luo or Luhya. How does this heritage help us eradicate tribalism? If we didn't have tribes these politicians that you speak about would not have anything to manipulate leaders with and will then have to evaluated based on character, integrity, leadership skills and not their last names. Isn't that what we want when we choose leaders?
Mtu Biz
#42 Posted : Saturday, July 01, 2017 11:04:27 AM

You have a point.

Ndugu zetu wa Bongo licha na kutokea makabila mbali mbali kwa kina hujitambua kama wa Tanzania.

Nawaomba wasije wakaiga mfano wetu.
Sola Scriptura

#43 Posted : Saturday, July 01, 2017 11:18:29 AM

Mtu Biz wrote:
You have a point.

Ndugu zetu wa Bongo licha na kutokea makabila mbali mbali kwa kina hujitambua kama wa Tanzania.

Nawaomba wasije wakaiga mfano wetu.

You might want to look at their last erections particularly in the Zanzibar theater.
#44 Posted : Saturday, July 01, 2017 11:56:16 AM

hamburglar wrote:
Nobody is asking you to be an Englishman or a Frenchman. We just need to be Kenyans. Not Kikuyu or Luo or Luhya. How does this heritage help us eradicate tribalism? If we didn't have tribes these politicians that you speak about would not have anything to manipulate leaders with and will then have to evaluated based on character, integrity, leadership skills and not their last names. Isn't that what we want when we choose leaders?

So.

You prefer the "Ivory Tower" discourse on Kenian Tribalism rather than issues surrounding the 36 nights to the 8817 erections.

Very well. Knock yourself out.

Here then is an interesting coda from David Ndii, an economist, currently serving on the National Super Alliance’s technical and strategy committee, in which he leads Nasa's policy team.

Yada, yada, yada.

Governor Charles Eliot wrote in April 1904, four months before the first agreement:

“I have no desire to protect Masaidom.

It is a beastly, bloody system, founded on raiding and immorality, disastrous to both Masai and their neighbours.

The sooner it disappears and is unknown, except in books of anthropology, the better.”

In Kibe Mungai, and President Kenyatta I daresay, Sir Charles has worthy successors.

My take?

Long after Gikuyu culture has been bastardised into God knows what by avarice and debauchery, “Masaidom” will still be here.

Source Link:
#45 Posted : Saturday, July 01, 2017 12:34:52 PM

Now this is the stuff that makes Erections 8817 much more fun to watch than 24 or the blacklist.

Welcome to the Punjabi Derby in Kiambu.

Extracts:

Mr Waititu has promised Mr Kabogo a more embarrassing defeat than what he experienced during the party primaries.

While expectations had been that Mr Kabogo would pump up his Hummer’s tyres, strip it of Jubilee’s colours and fly to all corners of the county with his helicopter, he has sought to portray a different side.

....Mr Kabogo headed to Ruiru town, where he was photographed waiting for his turn at a barbershop in an iron sheet building and after being shaved, having his head washed by a girl who couldn’t mask her excitement.

Mr Kabogo then walked through a filthy lane while interacting with wananchi without the usual contingent of aides that always surrounded him before having his dark brown shoes polished while seated on a wooden stool.

Looking through his Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages and you will see the governor playing pool at a dimly lit bar, alighting from a matatu, shaking hands with a woman at a market, taking selfies with youngsters, eating chapati at a shack with a polythene bag as his glove and many other similar images.

This is a far cry from the Kabogo of earlier times, with a Hummer and a huge truck whose make many struggled to tell.

He also does not hand out the Sh300 per person referred to as muchere (rice) and which had some referring to him as mukawa (hotel).

“Let me tell here (sic), and you better listen, the Raila Odinga’s dynasty and the Kenyatta’s dynasty are coming to an end. It’s coming to an end.

“This is the last one for the Kenyatta’s and last one for Raila, and from there we move on,” the governor said.

Source Article Link:
#46 Posted : Saturday, July 01, 2017 1:06:15 PM

Source Article Link:

For the past three months, Kenyans have been ´tortured´ with Nasa and Jubilee´s primaries, promises and propaganda.

We eat, breathe, sleep and drink Nasa and Jubilee, and from time to time, have IEBC for dessert.

Since 2002, Kenya has tended to go into a kind of Alzheimer’s´ condition every election year.

We forget who we are and why, our government forgets its promises and the opposition forgets it was once in power.

Promises and dreams fly right, left and centre.

There is excitement on the outside and fear on the inside.

Since 2007, every election season is a sad season, full of uncertainty, suspicion and threats.

It is as if every five years we lose our “Kenyanness” and become poisonous, vitriolic hatemongers.

We speak in low tones of those “others” and how they are trying to cheat us.

We judge, accuse and condemn neighbours, workmates and colleagues, based on biased prejudices and hearsay.
#47 Posted : Tuesday, July 11, 2017 6:37:58 PM

A New Politics?

In 2017, voters are not just rejecting six-piece voting and exercising their judgements over local candidates beyond party loyalty. They are also being vocal and visible about it.

This is the first time in recent memory that we’re seeing national political figures appear uncertain before their own supporters during their own rallies.

The sight of Kenyatta, a sitting president, being heckled – not once, but fairly consistently during the election period − is novel.

That people at a Odinga rally would shout anything that wasn’t a synonym for ndio baba (“yes father”) is unprecedented.

Of course, more things have changed in Kenyan politics since 2013 than those examined here.

But these changes, amongst others, have thrown a significant measure of unpredictability into the landscape.

Political punditry in Kenya has always been fixated on the ethnic question, but this time around, it’s not going to be that simple.

Ethnic loyalty is still important, but it is no longer absolute.

Voters have changed, politicians are adapting, and everything is getting a lot more…interesting.

Article Source Link:
#48 Posted : Thursday, July 13, 2017 2:08:21 PM

Trump (The United States) 'unprepared' if Kenya elections turn violent.

Extract from an article by KEVIN J. KELLEY in the Business Daily Newspaper.

Article Source Link:

They want to help prevent a repeat of the 2007-2008 election violence, Mr Bellamy said.

But, he added, it is not clear if they are “willing to do that at the expense of sanctifying what could be a seriously fraudulent election.”

The intensive diplomatic intervention that helped halt the bloodletting 10 years ago is unlikely to occur this time, he warned.

If violence does erupt next month, the Trump administration appears unprepared to respond in as concerted a manner as the Bush administration did a decade ago.

In contrast, top Africa posts in the State Department and White House remain vacant nearly six months after Mr Trump's inauguration.

There is also no indication that the president himself is paying attention to Kenya.

Godfrey Musila, a researcher at the Pentagon-affiliated Africa Centre for Strategic Studies, predicted at Wednesday's think-tank session that the National Super Alliance will win a narrow victory next month.

Billed as a preview of next month's elections, the Wednesday panel discussion took place at the Centre for Strategic and International Studies, a prominent international-affairs research institute based in Washington.
thuks
#49 Posted : Thursday, July 13, 2017 2:43:42 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Trump (The United States) 'unprepared' if Kenya elections turn violent.

Extract from an article by KEVIN J. KELLEY in the Business Daily Newspaper.

Article Source Link:

They want to help prevent a repeat of the 2007-2008 election violence, Mr Bellamy said.

But, he added, it is not clear if they are “willing to do that at the expense of sanctifying what could be a seriously fraudulent election.”

The intensive diplomatic intervention that helped halt the bloodletting 10 years ago is unlikely to occur this time, he warned.

If violence does erupt next month, the Trump administration appears unprepared to respond in as concerted a manner as the Bush administration did a decade ago.

In contrast, top Africa posts in the State Department and White House remain vacant nearly six months after Mr Trump's inauguration.

There is also no indication that the president himself is paying attention to Kenya.

Godfrey Musila, a researcher at the Pentagon-affiliated Africa Centre for Strategic Studies, predicted at Wednesday's think-tank session that the National Super Alliance will win a narrow victory next month.

Billed as a preview of next month's elections, the Wednesday panel discussion took place at the Centre for Strategic and International Studies, a prominent international-affairs research institute based in Washington.

The venue and participants are telling! On a lighter note, Trump doesn't know whether Russia assisted his campaign either.
I care!