wazua Wed, Jun 17, 2026

Case againist the Tyranny
#21 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 5:17:20 PM

So... mTachoni aki"Run" will that mean that Bukusus cannot run? if a Tugen runs - will that mean that a Nandi or Kipsigis should not run? how about a Giriama? will that decide the fate of a Rabai? do you see the ridiculousness of the proposition?
#22 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 5:26:58 PM

So... mTachoni aki"Run" will that mean that Bukusus cannot run? if a Tugen runs - will that mean that a Nandi or Kipsigis should not run? how about a Giriama? will that decide the fate of a Rabai? do you see the ridiculousness of the proposition?

The proposition is rubbish and there is no need of getting mad about it. I had this old friend of mine (RIP) who had 7 kids. First born married to a Kaleo, second born to a Taita, third born to a Maragoli,fourth and fifth to Agikuyu, sixth to a Chagga and the last born to a Canadian Odiero. What would we say of the grandkids of this departed man?
#23 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 5:51:42 PM

The formula we might is how to break the block voting which is tribal in nature!!!
Ash Ock
#24 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 6:08:16 PM

Thinking outside the box...

Why not have an electoral systems similar to the American one, whereby each of the 47 counties have a certain number of electoral votes proportionate to the population?

"The candidate who receives an absolute majority of electoral votes for the office of president is elected to that office."

Of course, there are enough critics of the system but I find the following interesting when hinking of Kenya and our tribal-centric voting patterns:

"Proponents of the Electoral College claim the Electoral College prevents a candidate from winning the presidency by simply winning in heavily populated urban areas [i.e. Tyranny of numbers]. This means that candidates must make a wider geographic appeal than they would if they simply had to win the national popular vote.

The United States of America is a federal coalition which consists of component states. Proponents of the current system argue that the collective opinion of even a small state merits attention at the federal level greater than that given to a small, though numerically equivalent, portion of a very populous state."
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
#25 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 6:15:03 PM

I have never really understood how a country that the largest ethnic group has about 20% of the population is thinking this way. sasa kama tungekuwa na some people having 50%? hii yote kuzuia some 20% of the people? how come these 20% have always "beaten" some others? the nice thing about kenyan elections is that they will be alliances and no one will arrogate themselves at others. lets assume some 20 + 16 group "gang" up. what happens to the 64%? like really?
#26 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 6:28:32 PM

@Ash Ock,

Knowing Kenyans, lots of big brown briefcases a la Qidero type, would change hands and our country would be mortgaged to Al-Capone even though he is long dead.
#27 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 6:50:56 PM

It's not about the 20% people. Even if we had the American system,the big seat would be owned by the big tribes who would always form alliances and rotate power among themselves

People from mixed tribe families still pick on some tribe and align themselves with it. Very few Kyuks-almost none-can claim to be pure Kyuk. Hata Jomo mwenyewe told us in his book that he had Maasai blood courtesy of his grandma. Wangari maathai pia. Waiyaki family say their patriach was a Maasai who moved to Kafete as a boy probably due to f amine. Now all these with their mixed blood do not become different from the 'pure breeds' when it's siasa time. You become one with those you identify with.

This country is divided just because of 1 big seat which we could make rotational even if on annual basis.
#28 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 7:02:51 PM

Rotation would also make political parties relevant. It pains me to see us spend money funding those personality cults called parties

These parties will then grow stronger and develop ideologies. Currently, there's no difference between the 2 coalitions.
Fullykenyan
#29 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 7:04:35 PM

I am from a mixed marriage, my parents named me after my maternal grandpa. The funny thing is that, everyone i meet, classifies me according to my name. My genetics and story doesn´t interest them. My grandmothers are also from different tribes but am never associated with them. My wife is also from a different culture but my kids are still classified with their surname, despite them having 1/32 of the genetics of the said tribe. We chose Swahili names for our kids but their surname will always betray them
#30 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2016 7:08:29 PM

It's not about the 20% people. Even if we had the American system,the big seat would be owned by the big tribes who would always form alliances and rotate power among themselves

People from mixed tribe families still pick on some tribe and align themselves with it. Very few Kyuks-almost none-can claim to be pure Kyuk. Hata Jomo mwenyewe told us in his book that he had Maasai blood courtesy of his grandma. Wangari maathai pia. Waiyaki family say their patriach was a Maasai who moved to Kafete as a boy probably due to f amine. Now all these with their mixed blood do not become different from the 'pure breeds' when it's siasa time. You become one with those you identify with.

This country is divided just because of 1 big seat which we could make rotational even if on annual basis.

That's a sure way to war