wazua Sat, May 9, 2026

7 Pages<12345>»
why do brilliant minds accept govt jobs ?
#21 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2016 2:45:00 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
Allowances and job security........my peers working at the lands get paid allowances of 11k per day for nights spent out of Nairobi.............averagely 7 days a week wako field!!!! not bad your young professionals

so they are permanently in the field, why pay the allowance? smile
#22 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 2:05:48 PM

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, I resurrect this thread in light of the kenya pipeline MD hiring debacle.

As expected, with keter as cs, the main qualification was always going to be tribe, home county and family connection in that order.

Now the chairman of kpc is investment banking guru John Ngumi. He has been the brains behind every syndicated loan in the country. He is the father of structured refinancing. Someone once told me that his bonus is usually so huge it's paid quarterly by his employer.

And he is just sitting there with tribal kingpins who are only interested in milking the parastatal.

Am assuming he doesn't need more money than he is making at stanbic.

Why not walk away while you still have some dignity left. Ama all of us are looking for an opportunity to dip our fingers in the till.
#23 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 2:22:16 PM

Now the chairman of kpc is investment banking guru John Ngumi. Am assuming he doesn't need more money than he is making at stanbic.

He left the bank mid last year to start his own outfit ..... consultancy. Wonder how he is fairing?
#24 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 4:14:58 PM

Now the chairman of kpc is investment banking guru John Ngumi. Am assuming he doesn't need more money than he is making at stanbic.

He left the bank mid last year to start his own outfit ..... consultancy. Wonder how he is fairing?

Thanks for the update. Didn't know he left. Kpc is where serious money is made. Before him was a highly connected power broker from Nyeri called wamahiu. Was taken to nock where they unleashed those shenanigans of firing the MD. Yaani ni kama tulirogwa.
#25 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 4:40:07 PM

Thanks for the update. Didn't know he left. Kpc is where serious money is made. Before him was a highly connected power broker from Nyeri called wamahiu. Was taken to nock where they unleashed those shenanigans of firing the MD. Yaani ni kama tulirogwa.

Who is the current KWS Director-General and what was he doing previously? Sometimes you cannot understand some of these career moves....
Um Sayala
#26 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2016 10:34:37 AM

'Why do brilliant minds accept govt jobs"
As a young graduate I once asked my uncle why he was working with the govt 'while there was more money in private sector', according to me then.

My uncle didnt answer me that day, but a month later a friend of his visited us in Nrbi from Tz. The friend, an Ectrical Engineer had taken up a job with an international company and was posted in Tz. After they chatted the evening away, I still felt the Tz guy was doing much better.

But 18 yrs down the line, Ive learn't not only thro the uncle( Who is a Mechanical Eng)but also others that in Kenya, govt is the best employer cz your 'hard work' and 'brilliance' pay more than the same qualities would give you in private sector.

For in this country a govt employee with a gross pay of 50k, for example, would build flats within a record time, cz he works hard and salary is not the only source of income.
Ni hayo tu
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
#27 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2016 1:26:08 PM

I have been toying with this question in my mind over and over.

You are a brilliant chap, at the pinnacle of your professional path, and then you take up a govt job that undoes all you have built over the years. Examples may suffice.

Amos wako was an internationally recognized lawyer who once served as UN special rapporteur for east Timor. Joined moi's govt and the rest is history. Dr. Wilfred Koinange of goldenberg and that other Harvard educated economist who received a msomo from justice bosire during the goldenberg inquiry.

My question is based on the assumption that when you take up a govt job, you are being set up to fail.

I can understand prof githu muigai wanting to serve nyumba, but what about Philip Kinisu? He knows for sure he is being set up to fail. After working on your professional reputation for all these years, why risk it all with a govt job ? Is it worth it ? And poor Nzioka Waita ?

And my second question, why not try to stand out and leave a mark and a legacy ?

Two names here. Brig. Boinett and former CGS Daudi Tonje. Moi must have thought these were fellow tribesmen but each left a mark that changed the institutions they headed for ever. They refused to swim with the tribal tide and thought about posterity and future generations. After the 2002 elections, the clowns from the MoPW refused to build a dias that would accomondate kibaki's wheelchair. Brig. Boinett supervised the construction and made it clear to Moi, he had to respect the people's will.

Uhuru has one in the name of CBK gov Dr. Patrick Njoroge.

Funny enough, I don't remember any name that stood out during kibaki's reign. Arguably our greatest president ever.

Turns out Philip Kinisu is not only a well respected auditor but a tenderpreneur par excellence. DN headline today.

Yaani a tenderpreneur is our anti-corruption chief ! Smh...
#28 Posted : Sunday, July 17, 2016 1:34:26 PM

I have been toying with this question in my mind over and over.

You are a brilliant chap, at the pinnacle of your professional path, and then you take up a govt job that undoes all you have built over the years. Examples may suffice.

Amos wako was an internationally recognized lawyer who once served as UN special rapporteur for east Timor. Joined moi's govt and the rest is history. Dr. Wilfred Koinange of goldenberg and that other Harvard educated economist who received a msomo from justice bosire during the goldenberg inquiry.

My question is based on the assumption that when you take up a govt job, you are being set up to fail.

I can understand prof githu muigai wanting to serve nyumba, but what about Philip Kinisu? He knows for sure he is being set up to fail. After working on your professional reputation for all these years, why risk it all with a govt job ? Is it worth it ? And poor Nzioka Waita ?

And my second question, why not try to stand out and leave a mark and a legacy ?

Two names here. Brig. Boinett and former CGS Daudi Tonje. Moi must have thought these were fellow tribesmen but each left a mark that changed the institutions they headed for ever. They refused to swim with the tribal tide and thought about posterity and future generations. After the 2002 elections, the clowns from the MoPW refused to build a dias that would accomondate kibaki's wheelchair. Brig. Boinett supervised the construction and made it clear to Moi, he had to respect the people's will.

Uhuru has one in the name of CBK gov Dr. Patrick Njoroge.

Funny enough, I don't remember any name that stood out during kibaki's reign. Arguably our greatest president ever.

Turns out Philip Kinisu is not only a well respected auditor but a tenderpreneur par excellence. DN headline today.

Yaani a tenderpreneur is our anti-corruption chief ! Smh...

Sad story kabisa...
#29 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2016 8:23:35 AM

GetIT411:
NGO linked to EACC boss Philip Kinisu under probe over suspected money laundering, diversion of aid involving over Sh5b. www.capitalfm.co.ke
#30 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2016 10:21:07 AM

The truth about the EACC boss Philip Kinisu and the NGO whose board he chairs will eventually come out.

It started with a gun attack at his office shortly after he took over and it has now come to use of some elements in civil society as well as the Fourth Estate.

Corruption is fighting back. Read through the lines.

Link - http://www.standardmedia...-eacc-boss-philip-kinisu
7 Pages<12345>»