wazua Fri, Jun 19, 2026

Raila to 'forcibly" claim Migingo.
Alba
#21 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2016 3:13:40 PM

Kysse et al

Fishing rights are a secondary issue

Why is the Kenya government standing idle while Uganda police beat up employees of the Kenya government and Kenyan citizens. Why is it acceptable for a woman employed by the Kenya government to be beaten by Ugandan officials on Kenyan soil?
And you say nobody cares?
This has been going on since 2009. This is gross dereliction of duty by the Kenya government.
Alba
#22 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2016 3:15:24 PM

If maps were the authority we would never have any territorial disputes on the planet. For every claim there is a map.

The island is clearly in Kenya. Even Museveni has admitted this in the past. This is just his way of flashing his middle finger at Kenyans.
#23 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2016 3:54:52 PM

Alba wrote:

If maps were the authority we would never have any territorial disputes on the planet. For every claim there is a map.

The island is clearly in Kenya. Even Museveni has admitted this in the past. This is just his way of flashing his middle finger at Kenyans.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly That is what happens when you listen to Kenyan media....

The narrative of "Migingo is in Kenya but the water is in Uganda" is false!! false!! false!! he never said that but our hogwash press replaced "suba island" with "migingo island".
#24 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2016 3:58:23 PM

Masukuma why are the 2 islands on Kenyan side without occupants? What drove these guys to migingo and not ugingo or pyramid? Apart from fishing I am not aware of any other economic activity in migingo
The fish swim around migingo because of human waste emanating from there. If humans relocate the fish will follow.

sasa... how would I know?
kiash
#25 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2016 6:20:22 PM

Masukuma why are the 2 islands on Kenyan side without occupants? What drove these guys to migingo and not ugingo or pyramid? Apart from fishing I am not aware of any other economic activity in migingo
The fish swim around migingo because of human waste emanating from there. If humans relocate the fish will follow.

Si wewe ilisaliwa Migingo Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#26 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2016 6:39:43 PM

We are treating Museveni as an unwelcome visitor and urge him to stay away with his bad manners," said the ODM secretary for political affairs.

"We caution him that our people may be compelled to execute a citizen arrest against him should he set foot on our soil," Opiyo Wandayi added in a statement on Monday.
Alba
#27 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2016 7:27:09 PM

There is a video recording of museveni admitting that Migingo Island is in Kenya but the waters are in Uganda

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TGTdBkvGrhI

This happened after a joint Kenya-Uganda survey team was appointed to locate the island

It was only later that he rescinded his decision.

All that aside, how the heck is it acceptable for Uganda police to beat up a Kenyan female AP?
#28 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2016 7:28:09 PM

[/quote]

Interesting question @Kysse.....look at all that land..lol
Alba
#29 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2016 7:43:29 PM

Museveni likes to play such mind games with Kenya where he says or does something then denies it even when the truth is blatantly obvious.

Some time in the 1990s, an unidentified aircraft from Uganda dropped bombs in Lokichoggio killing four Turkana herdsmen. Uganda was suspected. Kenyan MPs complained. Museveni denied denied denied only to drop another bomb weeks later
#30 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2016 7:59:06 PM

Alba wrote:
Museveni likes to play such mind games with Kenya where he says or does something then denies it even when the truth is blatantly obvious.

not sure the context but on the matter of "water is in uganda and the island is in kenya" - I remember actually watching that on TV and the next day I was like... ati the media is saying he said what? do you remember a joint team to do the verification? they went and had some issues like 2-3 weeks later? but the narrative that Museveni said Migingo is in kenya and the water around it is in Uganda has always been false.